Starcraft 2 Troubleshooting thread, Check first post for possible solutions
TSkianweic
Jul 29 2010, 09:41 PM, updated 16y ago
For technical support Q&A. GC Overheating in SC2?
QUOTE The following information was taken from: http://gameinformer.com/b/news/archive/201...eating-bug.aspx"Anyone else have StarCraft II try to melt their hardware? Blizzard admits that it's a known issue and has a fix for you. Apparently, the game's menu screens aren't framerate-limited. This means that when there's nothing else going on, your graphics hardware renders the bejeezus out of those screens, causing nasty overheating problems. The fix is easy, requiring players to add the following lines to your "Documents\StarCraft II\variables.txt" file: frameratecapglue=30 frameratecap=60 Good to know. Personally I would have appreciated a heads-up before my video card fried, but maybe this can save someone else from the hassle I've been dealing with since yesterday afternoon." Keep Bumped. --- "Come get some!" -Ash QUOTE Before reinstalling sc2, try doing repair.exe
via: C:\Program Files\StarCraft II\Support\repair.exe (depend on your installation directory/drive)
=edit= forgot to add this: do note before doing repair.exe, please be connected to the internet, and make sure your connection is stable (and preferably port forwarded) for patch/files download This post has been edited by kianweic: Sep 27 2010, 10:23 AM
TSkianweic
Jul 30 2010, 10:45 AM
QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Jul 30 2010, 08:38 AM) I always have problem to tab in and out, almost took me more than a minute to tab back in.. Sometimes my mouse would run out to my 2nd screen and made me tab out Which OS?
TSkianweic
Jul 31 2010, 01:33 AM
QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Jul 30 2010, 02:53 PM) win 7 ultimate, 1680x1050, ATI 4850, c2d 3ghz with 4gb ram.. I guess it's not a too bad rig to run sc2, only problem is that tab in and out taking forever. Maybe I should disable the other screen when I play sc2? need to switch to gamer mode for my keyboard too as always accidently press start button Auto-tabbing out from the game seems quite ok for me. No issues so far.
TSkianweic
Jul 31 2010, 09:51 AM
QUOTE(yeahh @ Jul 31 2010, 03:23 AM) can we have a minimum requirements thread?? see what are user feedbacks on their current rig .. be it ram/processor/graphics/OS hdd dun think need to specify ... as long as got space.. im running processor: core2dua e4600 @ 2.4ghz ram: 2 gig DDR2 graphics: nvidia geforce 9600gt 512mb os: winxp anyone running at this specs?? dun wanna buy it and then 'feel' i have to upgrade certain parts ...  Change your GPU to something more powerful, AMD5770 or GTX260 (if you can still find it). Starcraft 2 is quite GPU dependent.
TSkianweic
Jul 31 2010, 11:56 AM
To enable AA in Starcraft 2 for Nvidia cards, just use Rivatuner or the Nvidia drivers software.
So far I am playing at 1920x1200 resolution with ultra details for everything and 4xAA.
TSkianweic
Jul 31 2010, 12:02 PM
This is for technical support.
TSkianweic
Jul 31 2010, 12:08 PM
QUOTE(Grif @ Jul 31 2010, 12:06 PM) Anyone here experienced freezing after completing a mission? It's odd really. No harm done though as the game usually saves right before the game hangs. Describe your freezing experience. Completely crashes or just slow down during loading.
TSkianweic
Jul 31 2010, 12:12 PM
QUOTE(Grif @ Jul 31 2010, 12:10 PM) The screen just freeze. Usually happens while loading. (not slowdown, I tried waiting, no luck) Alt-Tab and the game doesn't respond anymore. The FPS during loading may sometimes drop to less than 10 fps. When you do that, do you have to end-task or just wait.
TSkianweic
Aug 1 2010, 10:28 PM
QUOTE(Vorador @ Aug 1 2010, 10:25 PM) Ah.. .now only I noticed this thread.... Ok for all the nVidia card user, how do u enable AA for this game, from nVidia control panel? I couldn't find any clue abt that. Use Rivatuner or Nvidia drivers. Go to Direct3D tweaks for Rivatuner.
TSkianweic
Aug 1 2010, 10:34 PM
QUOTE(Vorador @ Aug 1 2010, 10:29 PM) @kianweic, sorry i have no clues at all, riva tuner is ok, but Nvidia drivers? i'm using it at the moment but where's the setting took place? Go to my computer then click on control panel then click on Nvidia Control Panel and finally click on Manage 3D Settings. Click on Global Setting Change AA mode to override any application settings then change AA settings to 4x.
TSkianweic
Aug 1 2010, 11:03 PM
QUOTE(Vorador @ Aug 1 2010, 10:59 PM) hm.... must be global setting? game program specific can? mcm ini: [attachmentid=1704571] Either way doesn't matter. That way will do too.
TSkianweic
Aug 1 2010, 11:15 PM
QUOTE(Vorador @ Aug 1 2010, 11:10 PM) @kianweic, Thx a lot  Added on August 1, 2010, 11:11 pmwhat's wrong? it might take a little while to load all the maps. Set it at 4x AA. I am not sure whether our GPU can handle 8x. If can, let me know because I'll replay the game at that setting.
TSkianweic
Aug 2 2010, 07:53 AM
QUOTE(Vorador @ Aug 2 2010, 12:14 AM) hm... I neer exp such prob? game never crash or freeze, only thing is when open the versus AI it takes a little while to load all the maps. @Kianweic, I tried just now, in the game I don't spot any different...  (using 1920*1080 res) Try zooming in, particularly for Protoss and Terran units.
TSkianweic
Aug 2 2010, 08:32 PM
Updated first post.
Will only update if I have the time.
TSkianweic
Aug 3 2010, 08:46 PM
QUOTE(popcorn513 @ Aug 3 2010, 02:26 PM) Anyone got problem when loading the SC2? Every time when i start up SC2 the loading page (the page showing Raynor) keep blinking until it go to the Battlenet logon page and ok already. However it do not give any big problem to me, just strange it keep blinking (when i test beta also same problem) Your PC specifications please.
TSkianweic
Aug 4 2010, 10:57 PM
QUOTE(Sib @ Aug 4 2010, 07:56 PM) i usually encounter freezes n had to restart when exiting d game....  When it freezes, did you need to go to the task manager to end task? That is one of the bugs during Starcraft 2 Beta.
TSkianweic
Aug 8 2010, 06:10 PM
QUOTE(Aeon_Clock @ Aug 7 2010, 07:28 PM) just a note...I added the two lines to my Variable.txt frameratecapglue=30 frameratecap=60 btw GPU still overheat although I managed to play several hours before it hang. That is probably not good for your desktop / laptop in the long run.
TSkianweic
Aug 9 2010, 07:57 AM
QUOTE(Aeon_Clock @ Aug 9 2010, 02:32 AM) I really wonder if the announcement is accurate...graphics rendering too fast for our processors. Frame already capped and its still problematic. just want to check...does the game crash on you guys during a mission or during intermission (armory/laboratory/etc) So far, never for me. This post has been edited by kianweic: Aug 9 2010, 07:58 AM
TSkianweic
Aug 10 2010, 07:56 AM
QUOTE(Aeon_Clock @ Aug 10 2010, 12:02 AM) you guys should try out TechPowerUp GPU-Z. I monitored my GPU and the temp doesn't go that high...59 degrees Celsius at most. Is that the temperature when your Starcraft 2 crashes?
TSkianweic
Aug 10 2010, 05:58 PM
QUOTE(Aeon_Clock @ Aug 10 2010, 05:53 PM) not sure. Coz it didn't crash yesterday. Hopefully its because of the new beta driver from ATI. But my friend's graphics card - 5850 had about 68-69 degrees Celsius heat after we played one round of multiplayer. That temperature still pretty ok. A bit on the high side but should do fine since the fan on the cooler would spin faster.