StarCraft 2 War Room, Multiplayer Strategies Only

TS-ZeN-
post Jul 29 2010, 05:16 PM, updated 16y ago

353 posts

This is the War Room

The only objective here is to improve ourself to be better in the Multiplayer part of SC2.
There should ONLY be discussion and sharing information of below 4 things.
1. Strategies - General Tips and so on. (Strategies section are general tips and hints. Can include links to online guides or unit information.)
2. Build Order - Build order discussion. (Recommended to be using the Build Order template at below sample)
3. Replays - SC2 replays or sc2 replays commentary. (Post youtube link or share replays among players by uploading to Hotfile or SC2 Replays site if you have the account)
4. Patch - Discuss unit changes and so on after patch.

I will ever try my best to arrange and organize useful information to this 1st page. So please dont spam too muchmaking it hard for me.

Example Build Order format :- (Taken from Shokz SC2 PF Rush Guide)

This post has been edited by -ZeN-: Jul 29 2010, 05:34 PM
Moonflown
post Jul 29 2010, 09:38 PM

DayDreamer
1,036 posts

7 Pool

8 Overlord

Spawn 6 lings drone and overlord all in

Profit!
ZeratoS
post Jul 29 2010, 11:51 PM

Oh you.
1,044 posts

Anyone play T here? I've been getting cheesed funny strats I've never seen before from Z/P.

I think my build order is bad, but I'm not quite sure how to improve it.

Tried 10 Depo but I couldn't block in time before the scout got in. Should I be sticking to 8 Depo?

This post has been edited by ZeratoS: Jul 29 2010, 11:54 PM
cyclone9
post Jul 30 2010, 12:20 AM

War Kills Love , Love Save War
2,949 posts

please add me DerekLee Code: 627
i wan practice partner that can play 3 races biggrin.gif
Rambo_pang43200
post Jul 30 2010, 03:32 AM

43 posts

haha~ you guys have facebook??

Can join the Vista Latsik tournament~ biggrin.gif
TS-ZeN-
post Jul 30 2010, 06:50 AM

353 posts

Some of us joined, me super noob also joined for fun.

@ Zeratos - Dont go 8 depo unless u super cheesing. Most scout always do get in before barrack finished. Zerg normally got overload flying over, and Protoss probe is brave cause got shield to regenerate. Normally is 10 Depo, after depo finish direct same unit barracks. Then marine come out make way point to the probe or drone or overload.

Zerg scout normally will take ur gas to harass u. But dont panic, early on u just need 1 gas anyway, just make sure doesnt have 2 scout stole ur gas. Same goes for protoss but probe will be normally hide a pylon inside somewhere ur base. Then later on use warpgate to warp in army, so make sure to check all around ur base when u killed off the probe scout.
SUSsoundsyst64
post Jul 30 2010, 06:53 AM

I'm No-Longer-Noobs
3,725 posts

Yesterday play with one LYN players, I've been defeated less than 10 minutes cry.gif

ayam so noob. sad.gif

I use my own style ; build the buildings first, create lots of army and send one to scout the area. Is it a bad move?

This post has been edited by soundsyst64: Jul 30 2010, 06:58 AM
TS-ZeN-
post Jul 30 2010, 07:05 AM

353 posts

@soundsyst - depend la... but most games ended in 10minutes if someone cheesing and the opponent didnt have a good opener.
Do check out this 2 youtube sc2 commentary, u can learn alot.
HuskyStarcraft youtube
HDStarcraft youtube

This post has been edited by -ZeN-: Jul 30 2010, 07:07 AM
Sky.Live
post Jul 30 2010, 08:43 AM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

I want to improve on a single race first, decide to play zerg.

Any tips?

Currently playing like

max drone 10/10
vespene gas 2x
drone 12/10
overload

then double hatchery, get like a dozen lings, and few roaches.

This is problematic when enemy rush me with air unit and sometimes invis unit. How am I suppose to know which you unit to defense against? I always feel helpless against Terran when I use Zerg as marine medic is really painful for lings.

Sometimes i would go mutalisk but not sure how to harass properly.

How soon should hydra be pooping out?

ericpires
post Jul 30 2010, 09:06 AM

Arsenal FC
2,657 posts

Can i know whats the proper build to get warpgates? i mean do u go straight for them or how? only discover how to use warpgates last night hehe...
fizyboy
post Jul 30 2010, 09:36 AM

280 posts

Normally, warp gate should be researched as soon as you get cybernetic core because its so damn good! damn cheap too! only 50 mineral n 50 gas!
Its heavy on macro though since you can't queue up unit. Also, remember to use the 'W' hotkey to select all warp gates! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by fizyboy: Jul 30 2010, 11:25 AM
aLertz
post Jul 30 2010, 11:17 AM

Overconfidence is a flimsy shield
1,111 posts

hi guys...wanna ask, for zerg, when should i get the queen??
i heard straight after pool??
every straight also same straight after pool?? 12 hatch or 9 pool?
if 9 pool i dun think we'll have enough resource to get a queen tat early... hmm.gif
TS-ZeN-
post Jul 30 2010, 11:36 AM

353 posts

Just do your opener as usual but do get Queen ASAP, the creep tumour is very useful, but most useful is to get or larva. Super important, just like protoss got their chrono boost, and terran got their mule.
Honky
post Jul 30 2010, 11:46 AM

58 posts

ok this is a pretty noob question, but what are the numbers e.g. 10/12 beside the unit/building names mean on the build order list?
fizyboy
post Jul 30 2010, 11:53 AM

280 posts

Supply.

eg:

9/10 Pylon
12/18 Gateway

basically means

Build probes until you have used up 9 out of 10 supply (look at right top of the screen, besides mineral & gas), then send out a probe to warp a pylon near choke. Once this pylon is completed, your max supply will be increased to 18.

Continue building probes (remember to chrono boost) until you have 150 minerals, then build a gateway near your pylon, which usually your supply should be around 12.
ZeratoS
post Jul 30 2010, 12:30 PM

Oh you.
1,044 posts

QUOTE(-ZeN- @ Jul 30 2010, 06:50 AM)
Some of us joined, me super noob also joined for fun.

@ Zeratos - Dont go 8 depo unless u super cheesing. Most scout always do get in before barrack finished. Zerg normally got overload flying over, and Protoss probe is brave cause got shield to regenerate. Normally is 10 Depo, after depo finish direct same unit barracks. Then marine come out make way point to the probe or drone or overload.

Zerg scout normally will take ur gas to harass u. But dont panic, early on u just need 1 gas anyway, just make sure doesnt have 2 scout stole ur gas. Same goes for protoss but probe will be normally hide a pylon inside somewhere ur base. Then later on use warpgate to warp in army, so make sure to check all around ur base when u killed off the probe scout.
I've been going the standard Fact FE opening and its been working quite well I guess. I wasn't used to the strat so I lost like 5 games in a row due to cheesy builds or stuff I didn't anticipate. Been working on my macro and making better use of my scanner.

Auto-turret dropping seems to work quite well so far. I still need to learn expansion timing cause mine is VERY bad.
TS-ZeN-
post Jul 30 2010, 12:32 PM

353 posts

1st numeric is the probe/drone/scv count, and the 2nd numeric is the max supply.

let say for Terran u start with 7 scv, so supply will show 7/11.
When u building another scv then it will become 8/11, so the svc u building is scv#8.

10/11 Supply Depot - means on ur scv#10 use it to build the depot. (at least how i interpret it.)

Added on July 30, 2010, 12:35 pm@Zeratos - i not pro or even experience, but i read alot and watched quite some replays. Seem like the timing for expansion also based on your mineral and gas count. You need to keep them both around under 3 digit. That for me novice la the target i set. when reach almost 4 digit then i need to expand and use the money, no use saving up too much. So maybe u can based ur timing for Expand also.

This post has been edited by -ZeN-: Jul 30 2010, 12:35 PM
aLertz
post Jul 30 2010, 12:59 PM

1,111 posts

alwiz keep ur resources low. Eg: below 4 digit...
tat's a hard thing to do during late game...but if u manage tat...u are quite good de biggrin.gif
ZeratoS
post Jul 30 2010, 09:54 PM

Oh you.
1,044 posts

QUOTE(aLertz @ Jul 30 2010, 12:59 PM)
alwiz keep ur resources low. Eg: below 4 digit...
tat's a hard thing to do during late game...but if u manage tat...u are quite good de biggrin.gif
Yeap, I'm getting better I think! Silver league is bad. I'm being allowed to turtle in till thors come out (which doesn't take too long since armory comes after I bring out a banshee or two to harass his resources.) then just open up, the base, proxy expand as a failsafe and push out I guess..

Really depends on the map lah.. I'm still a baddie!
TS-ZeN-
post Jul 30 2010, 10:15 PM

353 posts

@Soundsyst & HulkSmash

Check out these few matches. Is TLO vs WhiteRa, the link are in order Game 1~4 (Some match got 2 parts)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SgxQLYgh0Wc
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5IL87AH2iUk
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gbEjrlt5tgM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=auiRiyiRvXk
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DbpChfhNBhs
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=snu381x0o3M
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CpDLFIsuvd8

This post has been edited by -ZeN-: Jul 30 2010, 10:16 PM
RangerRed
post Jul 30 2010, 11:08 PM

2,083 posts

WhiteRa always let TLO win... cuz teammate... haha
TS-ZeN-
post Jul 30 2010, 11:10 PM

353 posts

LoL u havent seen the 1 where WhiteRa trashed TLO?
xShinji
post Jul 30 2010, 11:24 PM

200 posts

try not to learn whitera opening 1st....it used void ray which is not advisable to newb/noob to me....its hard to multi task !

need at to train with multitask trainer...

currently i used standard opening

9 - pylon
11 gateway
13 assimilator
15-16 pylon
19 assmilitor

PvZ - few zealot 1st and do scout(roach = stalker(kite) or immortal, hydralisk = collosus)....seal the door
PvT - normally straight go for cybernetic core - > stalker - > century and always guard door to prevent rush while farming...
PvP - having trouble for this the most .....as always mass cannon defends and go for air. - phoenix early is good for counter

Soul-X
post Jul 31 2010, 12:44 AM

183 posts

Getting void rays needs alot of scout =)

If your opponent knows what you're doing, your voids rays are built for nth
TS-ZeN-
post Aug 1 2010, 10:47 AM

353 posts

Urgently need a few opener for TvT, TvZ and TvP.
Kena raped too much scared already.
kEazYc
post Aug 1 2010, 03:27 PM

1,314 posts

During the start of the game, you guys usually train your probe/scv/drones first then only command ur miner to mines, or command ur miner to mines first then only train?
xShinji
post Aug 1 2010, 03:32 PM

200 posts

@zen, just keep watch commentaries replay in youtube.....u will hear them say 9 supply bla bla bla...those are opening
12oY
post Aug 1 2010, 03:39 PM

108 posts

me always kena rape .... havr to learn more

kEazYc
post Aug 1 2010, 05:33 PM

1,314 posts

QUOTE(kEazYc @ Aug 1 2010, 03:27 PM)
During the start of the game, you guys usually train your probe/scv/drones first then only command ur miner to mines, or command ur miner to mines first then only train?
i need some love sad.gif
TS-ZeN-
post Aug 1 2010, 05:49 PM

353 posts

come kc match with me later tonight.
Wolf516
post Aug 1 2010, 05:50 PM

589 posts

Anyone can share few tips on how to counter early air units?

Its really annoying when someone drops off helions and thors behind your minerals
Moonflown
post Aug 1 2010, 06:13 PM

DayDreamer
1,036 posts

QUOTE(kEazYc @ Aug 1 2010, 05:33 PM)
i need some love sad.gif
These are very subtle things that won't affect your game much. But if you still insist I train worker after sending orders to mine
nikridhwan
post Aug 1 2010, 06:15 PM

123 posts

Marines!!! If ur using Terran And I think if got Thor not early game ready..

Wolf516

This post has been edited by nikridhwan: Aug 1 2010, 06:17 PM
iorikun
post Aug 1 2010, 06:28 PM

20 posts

As Protoss 1 v 1

Probably the most effective strategy especially against Terran or Protoss, not so with Zerg that much is to build pylon in their base and get 2 gateway there, hopefully you go unnotice and then terran will build their bunker/barrack/supply depot to block the ramp thinking you are cut off, then zealot rush in with 6 and its pretty much GG.
Mio4Ever
post Aug 1 2010, 06:55 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(iorikun @ Aug 1 2010, 06:28 PM)
As Protoss 1 v 1

Probably the most effective strategy especially against Terran or Protoss, not so with Zerg that much is to build pylon in their base and get 2 gateway there, hopefully you go unnotice and then terran will build their bunker/barrack/supply depot to block the ramp thinking you are cut off, then zealot rush in with 6 and its pretty much GG.
Haha, I do that almost all the time but it really depends on what map you're playing on.
iorikun
post Aug 1 2010, 07:10 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(Mio4Ever @ Aug 1 2010, 06:55 PM)
Haha, I do that almost all the time but it really depends on what map you're playing on.
What do you do when it fails? Is it pretty much GG for you? or you have a backup plan if zealot rush fail?
kEazYc
post Aug 1 2010, 08:33 PM

1,314 posts

QUOTE(-ZeN- @ Aug 1 2010, 05:49 PM)
come kc match with me later tonight.
Tonight got badminton session sad.gif

QUOTE(Moonflown @ Aug 1 2010, 06:13 PM)
These are very subtle things that won't affect your game much. But if you still insist I train worker after sending orders to mine
I see, so it doesn't affect much, then i will go with what i'm usually doing then. smile.gif
MmxZero
post Aug 1 2010, 09:30 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(Wolf516 @ Aug 1 2010, 05:50 PM)
Anyone can share few tips on how to counter early air units?

Its really annoying when someone drops off helions and thors behind your minerals
depends on what you get. Get scout or build some aa defense before going into your area.
Mio4Ever
post Aug 1 2010, 10:42 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(iorikun @ Aug 1 2010, 07:10 PM)
What do you do when it fails? Is it pretty much GG for you? or you have a backup plan if zealot rush fail?
Well, so far it hasn't failed yet. But I no longer use that style because as your rank increases, your opponents will be smarter and tend to scout its surrounding area.

iorikun
post Aug 1 2010, 11:48 PM

20 posts

yeah i figured that out the hard way in platnium league dammit wish they demoted me lol back to gold ladder

This post has been edited by iorikun: Aug 1 2010, 11:50 PM
RtP|DEV
post Aug 2 2010, 12:18 AM

266 posts

Protip - Go to BNET option -> turn off mature language filter. Now you guys can type my name without being censored.
Mio4Ever
post Aug 2 2010, 12:21 AM

59 posts

QUOTE(iorikun @ Aug 1 2010, 11:48 PM)
yeah i figured that out the hard way in platnium league dammit wish they demoted me lol back to gold ladder
Haha, is there anyway to get promoted to high tier leagues? Gold is pretty so-so if you ask me =)
kEazYc
post Aug 2 2010, 01:02 AM

1,314 posts

Keep playing then you will be promoted?
I<3LYN
post Aug 2 2010, 01:17 AM

614 posts

keep playing but keep losing also no point tongue.gif
fizyboy
post Aug 2 2010, 01:45 AM

280 posts

QUOTE(RtP|DEV @ Aug 2 2010, 12:18 AM)
Protip - Go to BNET option -> turn off mature language filter. Now you guys can type my name without being censored.
Pretty funny that Blizzard knows to censor 'Ganja' huh? tongue.gif

Anyways, can you guys please point out what i did wrong during this game:

http://games.wmhafiz.net/Starcraft2/Replays/View.aspx?id=8

I actually watched the replay and I see that my unit count were pretty even compared to his, but my army always been the one that got shot down to pieces..
Is my micro that bad? sad.gif also i think my unit production slipped up a little bit during mid game and let my resources stacked to 2k++
Please gimme tips to improve Sifu.. notworthy.gif
diasrandford
post Aug 2 2010, 03:14 AM

87 posts

fizyboy> He has an army that is capable of countering most of your units.
mass marauders = kills stalkers easily
collosus being countered by vikings.

Anyway, me myself still new and still practicing via guest mode.
incx
post Aug 2 2010, 07:58 AM

135 posts

QUOTE(iorikun @ Aug 1 2010, 06:28 PM)
As Protoss 1 v 1

I do this too but somehow most opponents I go against these days doesn't allow me to do it. Wasted effort and getting countered back is way too painful.
aLertz
post Aug 2 2010, 08:32 AM

1,111 posts

hm...is there any website tat list out which unit to counter which unit??? biggrin.gif
KLlee
post Aug 2 2010, 08:41 AM

845 posts

QUOTE(aLertz @ Aug 2 2010, 08:32 AM)
hm...is there any website tat list out which unit to counter which unit??? biggrin.gif
Battlenet says it all lol. Go under games then click on units.
fizyboy
post Aug 2 2010, 08:47 AM

280 posts

QUOTE(diasrandford @ Aug 2 2010, 03:14 AM)
fizyboy>  He has an army that is capable of countering most of your units.
              mass marauders = kills stalkers easily
              collosus being countered by vikings.

Anyway, me myself still new and still practicing via guest mode.
I see.. Zealot & Immortal would have been a better combination against these guys?
Or should i transited to Carriers & Mothership instead?
Other than that, what would you have done differently?
TQ..

QUOTE(aLertz @ Aug 2 2010, 08:32 AM)
http://sea.battlenet/sc2/en/game then select the race -> unit
aLertz
post Aug 2 2010, 08:50 AM

1,111 posts

QUOTE(fizyboy @ Aug 2 2010, 08:47 AM)
I see..  Zealot & Immortal would have been a better combination against these guys?
TQ..
thx for the webby...will read it up 2nite...at office nw...how i wish its 5.30pm nw so i can go back play...huhu T_T
KLlee
post Aug 2 2010, 09:03 AM

845 posts

QUOTE(fizyboy @ Aug 2 2010, 08:47 AM)
I see..  Zealot & Immortal would have been a better combination against these guys?
TQ..
U can try DTs rush.. Most terran dont have stealth detector early. Always go for the probes first. Sneak in 3 or 4 DTs. Kill probes and Command center if can. That will slow him down.

Mio4Ever
post Aug 2 2010, 10:57 AM

59 posts

QUOTE(KLlee @ Aug 2 2010, 09:03 AM)
U can try DTs rush.. Most terran dont have stealth detector early.  Always go for the probes first. Sneak in 3 or 4 DTs. Kill probes and Command center if can. That will slow him down.
Lol, most terrans I play with WILL always put up missle turrets near thier SCVs. So DTs are a no no for me.
ricky88
post Aug 2 2010, 11:01 AM

41 posts

I just realised that this is the place to learn how to be better @ StarCraft 2 (I created another thread earlier called "How to get better @ StarCraft 2", can someone help me delete that thread?)

Anyway, please find below the video we created of fastgg and xenofreak to help us all get better @ StarCraft 2.

------

XenoFr3ak talks to fastgg about getting better @ StarCraft 2.

---------

fastgg came out of retirement to play StarCraft 2.

He was 2nd runner up for 2004 WCG Malaysian StarCraft.

---------

XenoFr3ak is the founder of Team In clan

--------

fastgg and sizematters will be joining the VISTA Lasik Tournament: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1467984

Find more updates at our facebook page Malaysian StarCraft fans: http://www.facebook.com/sc.malaysia

This post has been edited by ricky88: Aug 2 2010, 11:02 AM
Moonflown
post Aug 2 2010, 11:02 AM

DayDreamer
1,036 posts

DTs are least effective against terran compared to other races. A scan will waste all your DTs and tech structure.
Currylaksa
post Aug 2 2010, 11:15 AM

1,616 posts

I think there should be one strategy topic for each race? blink.gif

This post has been edited by Currylaksa: Aug 2 2010, 11:15 AM
KLlee
post Aug 2 2010, 01:34 PM

845 posts

It all depends on the game play. Scout early. Yes Terran will scan but when he scan u can move away from the area. Till the scan wear off then only u hit them back.
Dont auto attack... Well its all depend on individual gameplay.

Quazacolt
post Aug 2 2010, 07:40 PM

Riding couple
5,365 posts

so, any plat/diamond players got a good counter to mech as zerg? /inb4idraimpossibleQQs
Currylaksa
post Aug 2 2010, 08:09 PM

1,616 posts

You too advanced for most of us rclxub.gif

I only noob enough to cheese roaches at lower levels

Quazacolt
post Aug 2 2010, 08:12 PM

Riding couple
5,365 posts

QUOTE(Currylaksa @ Aug 2 2010, 08:09 PM)

doesnt mean i dont have a problem. lol

and being in my league, theres PLENTIFUL of people that can rape me a new one EASY. and theres one more league above me too rclxub.gif
Wolf516
post Aug 3 2010, 11:19 AM

589 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 2 2010, 08:12 PM)
doesnt mean i dont have a problem. lol

and being in my league, theres PLENTIFUL of people that can rape me a new one EASY. and theres one more league above me too  rclxub.gif
laugh.gif I guess it won't hurt losing all 5 games for the league placement
aLertz
post Aug 3 2010, 12:56 PM

1,111 posts

QUOTE(Currylaksa @ Aug 2 2010, 08:09 PM)

u are better than me...i dun even know how 2 use roaches yet...oni lings laugh.gif
TS-ZeN-
post Aug 3 2010, 01:52 PM

353 posts

i am unranked yet, still didnt dare to go into league. did anyone lost all 5 matches and get silver?
Wolf516
post Aug 3 2010, 01:56 PM

589 posts

QUOTE(-ZeN- @ Aug 3 2010, 01:52 PM)
i am unranked yet, still didnt dare to go into league. did anyone lost all 5 matches and get silver?
sad.gif I accidently entered into a league matching but then I quit straight away coz I didn't intend to play league yet..... then automatically I lose 1 round edy... damn scary if suddenly streamyx dc when u playing league
TS-ZeN-
post Aug 3 2010, 02:21 PM

353 posts

definitely... super scary that tmnut will screw us over.
aLertz
post Aug 3 2010, 02:31 PM

1,111 posts

haha all so sked of bad records...
tats the norm...same like b.net n iccup last time...
quit game/dc/drop = lose...
but as long as u improve...record is nothing la biggrin.gif
Moonflown
post Aug 3 2010, 02:34 PM

DayDreamer
1,036 posts

Well when you're over-worried about your shining medals and winning rates, you'll ended up not playing much thus won't improve. I used to have like 30% winning rate in beta when I just started
ericpires
post Aug 3 2010, 02:40 PM

Arsenal FC
2,657 posts

Does it matter how much u win or lose in the league r? i mean like how does it work? win a lot get promoted? lost a lot get demoted?
Quazacolt
post Aug 3 2010, 02:47 PM

Riding couple
5,365 posts

QUOTE(Wolf516 @ Aug 3 2010, 11:19 AM)
laugh.gif  I guess it won't hurt losing all 5 games for the league placement
you cant cheat your way outta the system, lets say you purposely suck, lose all 5, came out bronze, then you go bully noobs, the system would still put you back up tongue.gif

Added on August 3, 2010, 2:48 pm
QUOTE(-ZeN- @ Aug 3 2010, 01:52 PM)
didnt saw my prev thread screenshot? i lost a game, got promoted to diamond out of a LOSS ROFL

Added on August 3, 2010, 2:49 pm
QUOTE(-ZeN- @ Aug 3 2010, 02:21 PM)
definitely... super scary that tmnut will screw us over.
i got dc'd 2 times ady out of my 20+ games. heck i care lol. used to it.

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Aug 3 2010, 02:49 PM
deodorant
post Aug 3 2010, 02:50 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

random question. how many of you guys, when watching fullscreen youtube replays, try to move mouse to edge of the screen to scroll?
Quazacolt
post Aug 3 2010, 02:50 PM

Riding couple
5,365 posts

QUOTE(ericpires @ Aug 3 2010, 02:40 PM)
Does it matter how much u win or lose in the league r? i mean like how does it work? win a lot get promoted? lost a lot get demoted?
a lot of factors including but not limited to: win/loss, score, apm, BO, etc.
evofantasy
post Aug 3 2010, 02:52 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Wolf516 @ Aug 3 2010, 11:19 AM)
laugh.gif  I guess it won't hurt losing all 5 games for the league placement
i am planning to loose all my placement matches on purpose n start climbing from the btm =p

Added on August 3, 2010, 2:53 pm
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 3 2010, 02:50 PM)
a lot of factors including but not limited to: win/loss, score, apm, BO, etc.
^
unless they changed it since beta

This post has been edited by evofantasy: Aug 3 2010, 02:53 PM
TS-ZeN-
post Aug 3 2010, 02:56 PM

353 posts

yah, it works that way, just that blizz implement that when u dc then u consider lost. but weird 1 is sometime is bnet dc us, also is count us our lost. i do see the logic reason of this, but just frustrating most of the time.

See my match history actually lost win not much different liao. Plus i think the league is ok la, since winning gain more points but losing lost less point.

Hope can play league soon, but before that i need to know at least how to play protoss and zerg. if not i dont even know which unit is do what 1. then go into league is not a good thing.
Quazacolt
post Aug 3 2010, 02:57 PM

Riding couple
5,365 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Aug 3 2010, 02:50 PM)
random question. how many of you guys, when watching fullscreen youtube replays, try to move mouse to edge of the screen to scroll?
i know i tried to click the minimap and ended up pausing doh.gif doh.gif
evofantasy
post Aug 3 2010, 03:02 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 3 2010, 02:57 PM)
i know i tried to click the minimap and ended up pausing  doh.gif  doh.gif
lol...
i dun really feel like doing that wit day9 since he got pretty good awarenes...
husky/ hd on the other hand i feel like strangling them for nt showing the action which i see on the minimap LOL
Wolf516
post Aug 3 2010, 03:47 PM

589 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 3 2010, 02:47 PM)
you cant cheat your way outta the system, lets say you purposely suck, lose all 5, came out bronze, then you go bully noobs, the system would still put you back up tongue.gif

Added on August 3, 2010, 2:48 pm

didnt saw my prev thread screenshot? i lost a game, got promoted to diamond out of a LOSS ROFL

Added on August 3, 2010, 2:49 pm

i got dc'd 2 times ady out of my 20+ games. heck i care lol. used to it.
laugh.gif I scare people who actually does that then pawn me in noob league

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Aug 3 2010, 02:52 PM)
i am planning to loose all my placement matches on purpose n start climbing from the btm =p

Added on August 3, 2010, 2:53 pm

^
unless they changed it since beta
thumbup.gif cya there bro
fire_chrome
post Aug 3 2010, 03:51 PM

205 posts

what terren unit that can detect invi unit?
evofantasy
post Aug 3 2010, 03:56 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Wolf516 @ Aug 3 2010, 03:47 PM)
laugh.gif  I scare people who actually does that then pawn me in noob league
thumbup.gif  cya there bro
lol...
i'll do something like TLOwnage u knw >.<
i dun think u would wanna see me there haha...

QUOTE(fire_chrome @ Aug 3 2010, 03:51 PM)
what terren unit that can detect invi unit?
1. a scan from ur orbital command
2. raven (starport with tech lab)
3. ur eyes to see ripples then EMP it with ur ghost
sixseven
post Aug 3 2010, 04:07 PM

221 posts

raven
Mio4Ever
post Aug 3 2010, 04:36 PM

59 posts

Omg, I got promoted to platinum league. I'm not ready yet =(
ArticFir3
post Aug 3 2010, 05:07 PM

203 posts

QUOTE(Mio4Ever @ Aug 3 2010, 04:36 PM)
Omg, I got promoted to platinum league. I'm not ready yet =(
Whoa! That's a lot of games played in a day!
Mio4Ever
post Aug 3 2010, 05:26 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(ArticFir3 @ Aug 3 2010, 05:07 PM)
Whoa! That's a lot of games played in a day!
Haha, no la. I play average 4-5 ladder games per day.
ZeratoS
post Aug 4 2010, 02:49 AM

Oh you.
1,044 posts

Apparently they factor in scores too, from what I discerned in some guy's e-peen post. You could technically abuse the system into placing you in Diamond.

Least this guy hinted that much. But frankly if his win/loss ratio justifies that he would eventually get there lah.

This post has been edited by ZeratoS: Aug 4 2010, 02:50 AM
Mio4Ever
post Aug 5 2010, 12:56 PM

59 posts

ohhhhhhhhh myyyyyyyyyyyyy godddddddddddddd Streamyx u killed my 4 games.
ArticFir3
post Aug 5 2010, 01:26 PM

203 posts

QUOTE(Mio4Ever @ Aug 5 2010, 12:56 PM)
ohhhhhhhhh myyyyyyyyyyyyy godddddddddddddd Streamyx u killed my 4 games.
Ewwwwww, that sucks sad.gif sad.gif
Mio4Ever
post Aug 5 2010, 01:29 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(ArticFir3 @ Aug 5 2010, 01:26 PM)
Ewwwwww, that sucks sad.gif sad.gif
Yeah, learnt my lesson. If your line unstable, do NOT play ladder lol
ericpires
post Aug 5 2010, 01:35 PM

Arsenal FC
2,657 posts

SC2 is quite stable. Even play it on wireless..huhu
aLertz
post Aug 5 2010, 02:25 PM

1,111 posts

still haven't tried ladder...
will be goin in next week biggrin.gif

so sked coz i'm dam not rdy..lol
CoreDud
post Aug 5 2010, 03:11 PM

13 posts

Just managed a few games in 1 1/2 weeks...so much work, no time to play also cry.gif

sure get left behind..

anybody got tips to get better fast tongue.gif

of course don't intend to beat those that have a lot of practice already, just don't want to get beaten badly biggrin.gif

hoping got time and opportunity to try out a sentry + collosus build but that seem to require a lot of micro practice...

9/11 Pylon
11/18 Gateway
Core
Gas
Pylon
Gateway
Gas
Pylon pylon pylon
Forge
Expand
A couple more gateways and robo

Zealot + Sentry for a start and then Collosus after expansion..

Not sure if this is a good BO. Any advice ?

ArticFir3
post Aug 5 2010, 03:21 PM

203 posts

QUOTE(CoreDud @ Aug 5 2010, 03:11 PM)
Just managed a few games in 1 1/2 weeks...so much work, no time to play also  cry.gif

sure get left behind..

anybody got tips to get better fast  tongue.gif

of course don't intend to beat those that have a lot of practice already, just don't want to get beaten badly  biggrin.gif

hoping got time and opportunity to try out a sentry + collosus build but that seem to require a lot of micro practice...

9/11 Pylon
11/18 Gateway
Core
Gas
Pylon
Gateway
Gas
Pylon pylon pylon
Forge
Expand
A couple more gateways and robo

Zealot + Sentry for a start and then Collosus after expansion..

Not sure if this is a good BO. Any advice ?
You can't stick to the book all the while. You need to adapt to what opponent is doing. What happens if opponent void rush you? Or mass roach you before your colossus gets out?
Quazacolt
post Aug 5 2010, 03:31 PM

Riding couple
5,365 posts

QUOTE(ArticFir3 @ Aug 5 2010, 03:21 PM)
You can't stick to the book all the while. You need to adapt to what opponent is doing. What happens if opponent void rush you? Or mass roach you before your colossus gets out?
i dont think i built a single colossus since sc2 live ladders rofl
Mio4Ever
post Aug 5 2010, 03:37 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 5 2010, 03:31 PM)
i dont think i built a single colossus since sc2 live ladders rofl
wow, you must have destroy them pretty early.
Quazacolt
post Aug 5 2010, 04:33 PM

Riding couple
5,365 posts

QUOTE(Mio4Ever @ Aug 5 2010, 03:37 PM)
wow, you must have destroy them pretty early.
because i just blink stalkers all the damn time lol. still i have lost a couple no doubt, but my toss win rate is the highest amongst the other 2 races.
evofantasy
post Aug 5 2010, 05:29 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 5 2010, 04:33 PM)
because i just blink stalkers all the damn time lol. still i have lost a couple no doubt, but my toss win rate is the highest amongst the other 2 races.
for multiplayer, i find mass chargelots with some stalkers/ sentry would do...
they are just so cheap and effective, besides doing a great job at keeping ur partner's unit pewpewing
Quazacolt
post Aug 5 2010, 05:34 PM

Riding couple
5,365 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Aug 5 2010, 05:29 PM)
for multiplayer, i find mass chargelots with some stalkers/ sentry would do...
they are just so cheap and effective, besides doing a great job at keeping ur partner's unit pewpewing
zealots too useless before charge. free kills to enemy
evofantasy
post Aug 5 2010, 05:39 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 5 2010, 05:34 PM)
i usually go 2 gate for some minor zealots (in case of rushes) and get some stalkers/sentries (gas burn) +2 more gate while waiting for charge (massive chrono boss)...
once charge is out, i'll push wit my teammate...
from experience, chargelots + steamed marines is GG...

Quazacolt
post Aug 5 2010, 05:48 PM

Riding couple
5,365 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Aug 5 2010, 05:39 PM)
i usually go 2 gate for some minor zealots (in case of rushes) and get some stalkers/sentries (gas burn) +2 more gate while waiting for charge (massive chrono boss)...
once charge is out, i'll push wit my teammate...
from experience, chargelots + steamed marines is GG...
few banelings and thats GG.

or blink stalkers/stim rauder micro

ps: stimmed/boost
evofantasy
post Aug 5 2010, 05:57 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 5 2010, 05:48 PM)
few banelings and thats GG.

or blink stalkers/stim rauder micro

ps: stimmed/boost
that's wut ur partner is for rclxms.gif
Mio4Ever
post Aug 5 2010, 07:12 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 5 2010, 05:34 PM)
That's what they are. Meat shields to cover your range units.
aLertz
post Aug 6 2010, 09:22 AM

1,111 posts

ermm....wanna ask...
wat is the popular map nw?? for 1v1 n 2v2??
or any maps tats popular for tourney soon? LT?
Quazacolt
post Aug 6 2010, 09:54 AM

Riding couple
5,365 posts

QUOTE(aLertz @ Aug 6 2010, 09:22 AM)
ermm....wanna ask...
wat is the popular map nw?? for 1v1 n 2v2??
or any maps tats popular for tourney soon? LT?
standard bnet maps i suppose? lol

anyways, played 14 games yesterday. 13 is 4v4 and the 1 last 3v3.

13 wins 1 loss.
/happyinpants
kayzie
post Aug 6 2010, 02:23 PM

136 posts

Can protoss chronoboost a teamate? Need to share units?
finger_waverz
post Aug 6 2010, 02:47 PM

359 posts

damn my condition getting more and more worse....
win 20+ lose 40+ dammit!!

Added on August 6, 2010, 2:48 pmi also wanna find team gamer here... ill be playing all night this night pls add me
EndlessWaltz 625

This post has been edited by finger_waverz: Aug 6 2010, 02:48 PM
Quazacolt
post Aug 6 2010, 03:05 PM

Riding couple
5,365 posts

QUOTE(kayzie @ Aug 6 2010, 02:23 PM)
Can protoss chronoboost a teamate? Need to share units?
AFAIK no

Added on August 6, 2010, 3:06 pm
QUOTE(finger_waverz @ Aug 6 2010, 02:47 PM)

Added on August 6, 2010, 2:48 pmi also wanna find team gamer here... ill be playing all night this night pls add me
EndlessWaltz 625
if you US sure

Added on August 6, 2010, 3:06 pm
QUOTE(finger_waverz @ Aug 6 2010, 02:47 PM)

EndlessWaltz 625
if you US sure

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Aug 6 2010, 03:06 PM
RtP|DEV
post Aug 6 2010, 08:45 PM

266 posts

Back to the Basics: The Mental Checklist.

Players new to RTS should watch this. One of the best video from day9.
evofantasy
post Aug 6 2010, 08:58 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(RtP|DEV @ Aug 6 2010, 08:45 PM)
Back to the Basics: The Mental Checklist.

Players new to RTS should watch this. One of the best video from day9.
if u follow all of his daily, u could easily be an above average player...
forget Husky/HD, both of them are no doubt good commentators but u cant really learn much from their shoutcast unlike day9...

ps: day9 fanboy here drool.gif
raylee914
post Aug 6 2010, 09:12 PM

56 posts

wanna ask that..the bonus pool in 1v1 match will refresh or once finished..then no more bonus point d?
RtP|DEV
post Aug 6 2010, 09:46 PM

266 posts

If you didn't play for a while you get more point in the bonus pool. The reason is, Blizzard want prevent point inflation in your league division. Let say player A plays everyday, so his point is going to be higher than player 2 who plays like 3 days per week. But that doesn't mean player A is better than player B. To solve this problem, player B will get bonus point in his bonus pool.
evofantasy
post Aug 9 2010, 09:43 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

lol last night was having some ladder matches with a real life fren...
decided to try some new timely strats for fun: -
- chargelots with siege tanks (somewhat pseudo psionic storm effect)
- my personal favourite, mass blink stalkers from 10 warpgates (with +2) with my fren funneling all funds to me (him 2 base). proc-ed 3 achievements doing this build LOL
ZeratoS
post Aug 9 2010, 10:47 AM

Oh you.
1,044 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Aug 9 2010, 09:43 AM)
lol last night was having some ladder matches with a real life fren...
decided to try some new timely strats for fun: -
- chargelots with siege tanks (somewhat pseudo psionic storm effect)
- my personal favourite, mass blink stalkers from 10 warpgates (with +2) with my fren funneling all funds to me (him 2 base). proc-ed 3 achievements doing this build LOL
Not that bad a plan actually the latter. Super macro + effortless micro.
evofantasy
post Aug 9 2010, 10:54 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(ZeratoS @ Aug 9 2010, 10:47 AM)
Not that bad a plan actually the latter. Super macro + effortless micro.
i can focus on my army macro without any considerations on my economy (thus less supply for probes)...
and during battle, i focus on stalkers micro chasing my opponent's army..

all my partner did was economy and scans here and there as my information support buddy =p

we used to do the same for mass carriers but find it too slow...

This post has been edited by evofantasy: Aug 9 2010, 10:55 AM
Quazacolt
post Aug 9 2010, 10:55 AM

Riding couple
5,365 posts

i wonder whats the cap for bonus pool, having all 5 leagues platted now, with a 2v2 with fuj's friend, and they all stacking up bonus pool like crazy since im not really that hardcore into sc2 to burn them off >_<
evofantasy
post Aug 9 2010, 11:43 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 9 2010, 10:55 AM)
i wonder whats the cap for bonus pool, having all 5 leagues platted now, with a 2v2 with fuj's friend, and they all stacking up bonus pool like crazy since im not really that hardcore into sc2 to burn them off >_<
lol no idea...
i rarely go to ladders (was bz with work and just finished SP 2 days ago sleep.gif)...
Sky.Live
post Aug 9 2010, 12:01 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

ladder is the normal game u play that u wait for opponent
evofantasy
post Aug 9 2010, 12:06 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Aug 9 2010, 12:01 PM)
ladder is the normal game u play that u wait for opponent
i think we all know wut is ladder >.<
i usually have custom games with frens (practice Bo5 games)...

btw about my teammate resource pump while u solo timely push strat...
its good since only u need to upgrade ur army instead of both of u...
though u loose army synergy with ur partner (zerg + medivec etc)
Sky.Live
post Aug 9 2010, 10:45 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

T_T

Played my virgin ladder 1v1, both being ZvP
have to base trade for 1st win.. but 2nd game lost.. my lousy micro.. lost to pure zealots ... zzz
Drian
post Aug 11 2010, 11:24 AM

4,999 posts

Guys how do you counter marine rush as a protoss?
goldfries
post Aug 11 2010, 11:28 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

countering marine rush should be this one.

Quazacolt
post Aug 11 2010, 11:51 AM

Riding couple
5,365 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Aug 11 2010, 11:24 AM)
Guys how do you counter marine rush as a protoss?
if no rauder, EZ just stalker spams
popcorn513
post Aug 11 2010, 12:00 PM

僕は戦闘機君は航空母艦
1,332 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Aug 9 2010, 10:54 AM)
i can focus on my army macro without any considerations on my economy (thus less supply for probes)...
and during battle, i focus on stalkers micro chasing my opponent's army..

all my partner did was economy and scans here and there as my information support buddy =p

we used to do the same for mass carriers but find it too slow...
ok now only i know how come my opponent can got so many carrier early on.
I played in Megaton map 4v4, those people just keep defend and i keep using void to denied their expansion, but still lose to their early carrier mass, ahh so unfair......
Drian
post Aug 11 2010, 12:02 PM

4,999 posts

Ok let me try it out. Usually i get rushed with 5-6 marines very very early game .
Dunno whether massing stalkers which requires vespene gas is fast enough for it.

evofantasy
post Aug 11 2010, 03:02 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(popcorn513 @ Aug 11 2010, 12:00 PM)
ok now only i know how come my opponent can got so many carrier early on.
I played in Megaton map 4v4, those people just keep defend and i keep using void to denied their expansion, but still lose to their early carrier mass, ahh so unfair......
ya...
normally u fund the toss cause he can chrono stuffs out
Quazacolt
post Aug 21 2010, 01:56 AM

Riding couple
5,365 posts

WOOT FINALLY PROMOTED TO DIAMOND ON 3V3 XD
evofantasy
post Aug 21 2010, 02:00 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 21 2010, 01:56 AM)
WOOT FINALLY PROMOTED TO DIAMOND ON 3V3 XD
changed to terran yesterday and got to diamond in 2v2 3 games after that >.<
terran is imba with the T!!!!
Quazacolt
post Aug 21 2010, 02:16 AM

Riding couple
5,365 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Aug 21 2010, 02:00 AM)
ive only played random and nothing else rolleyes.gif
xbbshampoo
post Aug 21 2010, 05:44 PM

AudioPedoPhile : >
869 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Aug 21 2010, 02:00 AM)
stim pack ?
evofantasy
post Aug 21 2010, 10:28 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(xbbshampoo @ Aug 21 2010, 05:44 PM)
stim pack ?
ya stimpack LOL...
vis.vls
post Aug 22 2010, 01:53 PM

17 posts

BAN-(DA-BOOM)-elings emmmmm...

0.0467sec    0.49    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 08:42 PM