Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V44!, The Orange Legion

kevinwcw
post Aug 1 2010, 08:55 AM

943 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Aug 1 2010, 03:13 AM)
ahpingko: Register now lah.

kevinwcw: I'd disagree - there is more latitude with the 24 megapixel sensor. I do say that it is cleaner and DxO agrees.

cheeshyan94: Nice Redang shot!

lwliam: Having shot at ISO12800 I doubt you'd get 1/4000s in a dark room! 1/200s indoors is believable.
how bout if i set it to smaller image size...will it reduce the noise?
lwliam
post Aug 1 2010, 08:56 AM

Your friendly neighborhood photographer
6,075 posts

albert, no it wasnt a dark room. Errr, u hv my fb right? I posted a pic recently there, with the michael jordan cutout under the studio lights. Think its still in my profile's mobile upload pics
hazril
post Aug 1 2010, 11:15 AM

.: This Is Brazil! :.
3,070 posts

QUOTE(ahpingko @ Aug 1 2010, 08:10 AM)
unable to register la... cry.gif

btw, i saw many type of diffuser..which is nice to buy?...

DIY bounce card oso nice....but how to use it..i really new to flash... tongue.gif

yesterday trying to find a diffuser for my F42am....unable to get 1... rclxub.gif
get everything...from the stofen diffuser,bounce card and big bounce card... nod.gif
lwliam
post Aug 1 2010, 11:39 AM

6,075 posts

QUOTE(hazril @ Aug 1 2010, 11:15 AM)
get everything...from the stofen diffuser,bounce card and big bounce card... nod.gif
nod.gif nod.gif nod.gif that way, ANY situation of light also u can have a solution for it... gary fong's whale-tail aka toilet bowl, stofen, the tau fu fah bowl, bounce cards.. thumbup.gif
ianho
post Aug 1 2010, 11:45 AM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(lwliam @ Aug 1 2010, 11:39 AM)
nod.gif  nod.gif  nod.gif that way, ANY situation of light also u can have a solution for it... gary fong's whale-tail aka toilet bowl, stofen, the tau fu fah bowl, bounce cards.. thumbup.gif
Best solution is to buy 4 or 5 more flash la. Do like Joe McNally. When in doubt just keep adding more wireless flash n blast it all over the place. laugh.gif
lwliam
post Aug 1 2010, 11:46 AM

6,075 posts

QUOTE(kevinwcw @ Aug 1 2010, 08:55 AM)
how bout if i set it to smaller image size...will it reduce the noise?
not sure about the noise issue, but overall image quality should drop theoretically, due to image compression - which compression should include the actual image + noise. so i think the noise would be 'fused' together with the actual image data, muddling the output color. that is why by shooting raw, there isnt a choice for you to choose what image size you want, it always records at the sensor's native resolution.

Added on August 1, 2010, 11:48 amKL/PJ guys.. sien la... wan meet up this week tokkoksingsong or not.. ??

This post has been edited by lwliam: Aug 1 2010, 11:48 AM
zstan
post Aug 1 2010, 12:17 PM

15,856 posts

Meow meow meow~~C&C thanks =D

o_O

Cat 1: what's that?
Cat 2:ooooo..its a golf ball!!!! =D

==|||

lol wut? @@

I want a bath!!!

edwardgsk
post Aug 1 2010, 12:39 PM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Aug 1 2010, 11:45 AM)
Best solution is to buy 4 or 5 more flash la. Do like Joe McNally. When in doubt just keep adding more wireless flash n blast it all over the place. laugh.gif
lawl, later become blind cannot do photography d laugh.gif

Added on August 1, 2010, 2:19 pmLaweh, NEX battery tak tahan lama one.
Went out makan earlier, on the way took some pics, then play with settings at the restaurant, 10% battery gone d. cry.gif

This post has been edited by edwardgsk: Aug 1 2010, 02:19 PM
ahpingko
post Aug 1 2010, 02:22 PM

Live.Ride.Run
2,816 posts

guys...any nice tips to use flash?...i testing to shoot using my F1.4 50mm...set at F2.2...then shoot my model...the flash i point upwards 45 degrees...outcome...oni 1 pics is nicely lit....other all dark dark...i tested using same setting on my a550....but howcome some is nice some is not...
wingster
post Aug 1 2010, 02:24 PM

mr.Uiinshiida.
1,418 posts

QUOTE(edwardgsk @ Aug 1 2010, 12:39 PM)
lawl, later become blind cannot do photography d laugh.gif

Added on August 1, 2010, 2:19 pmLaweh, NEX battery tak tahan lama one.
Went out makan earlier, on the way took some pics, then play with settings at the restaurant, 10% battery gone d. cry.gif
Haha most of the EVIL compact camera like that ... weak battery life compare to DSLR

Added on August 1, 2010, 2:25 pm
QUOTE(ahpingko @ Aug 1 2010, 02:22 PM)
guys...any nice tips to use flash?...i testing to shoot using my F1.4 50mm...set at F2.2...then shoot my model...the flash i point upwards 45 degrees...outcome...oni 1 pics is nicely lit....other all dark dark...i tested using same setting on my a550....but howcome some is nice some is not...
thats why using flash is another new knowledge, you need to know how to adjust and bounce the lighting from flash in what kind of situation

This post has been edited by wingster: Aug 1 2010, 02:25 PM
edwardgsk
post Aug 1 2010, 02:28 PM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

QUOTE(wingster @ Aug 1 2010, 02:24 PM)
Haha most of the EVIL compact camera like that ... weak battery life compare to DSLR
Kantoi lor, means need fork out few more hundreds for extra batteries liao. sad.gif
zstan
post Aug 1 2010, 02:33 PM

15,856 posts

i thought the new firmware for NEX prolongs the battery life a bit?
ahpingko
post Aug 1 2010, 02:39 PM

Live.Ride.Run
2,816 posts

QUOTE(wingster @ Aug 1 2010, 02:24 PM)

Added on August 1, 2010, 2:25 pm
thats why using flash is another new knowledge, you need to know how to adjust and bounce the lighting from flash in what kind of situation
very hard.....>.<...just now i direct point my flash at my subject..come out underlit also...how ah..... i using 1/160 speed and F2.2...iso 200...indoor..at my room..
zstan
post Aug 1 2010, 02:45 PM

15,856 posts

1/160 is too fast la...depends how far is ur model also..
razuryza
post Aug 1 2010, 02:48 PM

\('o')/~fewwwiitttt~\("0")/
5,515 posts

QUOTE(ahpingko @ Aug 1 2010, 02:39 PM)
very hard.....>.<...just now i direct point my flash at my subject..come out underlit also...how ah..... i using 1/160 speed and F2.2...iso 200...indoor..at my room..
shutter too fast for iso 200... i using 1/100 also needs iso 800 (indoor cases)
edwardgsk
post Aug 1 2010, 02:48 PM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

^
^
^Lawl, ISO too low la.
Use at least 640 above indoor, unless you are equipped with studio flash.

This post has been edited by edwardgsk: Aug 1 2010, 02:49 PM
zstan
post Aug 1 2010, 02:52 PM

15,856 posts

your flash gun is not as powerful as the sun, please keep that in mind. laugh.gif
ahpingko
post Aug 1 2010, 02:54 PM

Live.Ride.Run
2,816 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Aug 1 2010, 02:45 PM)
1/160 is too fast la...depends how far is ur model also..
QUOTE(razuryza @ Aug 1 2010, 02:48 PM)
shutter too fast for iso 200... i using 1/100 also needs iso 800 (indoor cases)
QUOTE(zstan @ Aug 1 2010, 02:52 PM)
your flash gun is not as powerful as the sun, please keep that in mind. laugh.gif
nono....later i upload my picture giv u see...i using the same settings all the way...but come got 1 is nicely lit....but others is not....
zstan
post Aug 1 2010, 02:58 PM

15,856 posts

what mode u using?

got accidently tweaked the exposure levels or not.
ahpingko
post Aug 1 2010, 03:00 PM

Live.Ride.Run
2,816 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Aug 1 2010, 02:58 PM)
what mode u using?

got accidently tweaked the exposure levels or not.
i using F42am....iso 200 1/160.....exposure at +1...no change....

126 Pages « < 40 41 42 43 44 > » Top

0.0283sec    0.70    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 04:34 PM