6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadbrand Thread V6, News: RM200 for installation after Sept

klseet
post Aug 26 2010, 11:58 PM

130 posts

I've trying to setup wireless bridge connection for the iptv as follows:

RB250GS[LAN4] ----> [LAN]WHR-G300N <<<wireless>>> ASUS-RT-N12[LAN]-->IPTV STB

Both routers:
- are running on dd-wrt Aug2010 built
- wireless N-mode only at ch6 40mhz width, without any password
- firewall all off
- transmission rate ranging between 150~250Mb

The sound & remote control functions all ok no problem, but the picture image is still a bit jerk & lag every few seconds.
I tried to turn on & off WMM support but no difference....

Anything I've miss out? Hope some sifu out there can help! notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by klseet: Aug 27 2010, 12:05 AM
klseet
post Aug 27 2010, 12:07 AM

130 posts

QUOTE(expl0it @ Aug 26 2010, 11:58 PM)
Hey guys,
I've been using Unifi 20mbit for about a week now and am very unhappy with the crappy quality. The IPTV is also unwatchable. I'm definitely not paying for this crap.
What's the process to switch to 5mbit? (is there any lower package? I can't even get 5mbit with my supposed 20mbit package currently)
Why your IPTV is "unwatchable"? Did you call to complain? May be it's a faulty unit?

QUOTE(kazarboys @ Aug 27 2010, 12:00 AM)
i gt jus gt my unifi 5mbps yesterday.
so far so good.but the iptv sumtime lag a bit
Currently my IPTV connect through lan cable I didn't see any lag at all....

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Aug 27 2010, 12:02 AM)
i tried to use my buffalo ddwrt router thru the " Using the TMnet Dlink DIR-615 G1 as a VLAN bridge" guide, but how come when i speedtest, i only get like 0.8mbps 0.2mbps dl/ul?
What Buffalo model are you using?
klseet
post Aug 27 2010, 03:20 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(richard912 @ Aug 27 2010, 01:08 PM)
I tend to favor going with Buffalo as they have not failed me before in the past. BUFFALO WZR-HP-G300N or BUFFALO WZR-HP-G300NH would be good choices and they are definitely DD-WRT-able thumbup.gif Price wise, should be around RM16x and RM26x respectively i think
QUOTE(azri @ Aug 27 2010, 03:02 PM)
I'm uaing BUFFALO WZR-HP-G300N, if you want ddwrt you can get an official version from Buffalo website. The installer (download) will guide you to install the Buffalo ddwrt version.

So far couple it with bridge mode, seems very good. Satisfied!
I also like Buffalo product! biggrin.gif
Been using WHR-G300N [dd-wrt] as the main AP bridging with 2 routers [both stock firmware ASUS RT-N10 & Buffalo WCR-GN for 1/2 year, so far very stable and no errors! thumbup.gif

However, the WHR-G300N-HP does give me lots of headace, previously installed Buffalo own dd-wrt aruond May10, very unstable PPPoE keep disconnected and self reboot.
Later I used BrainSlayer's built from Jul10 onwards seem to improve a lot, tested few days now as backup unit.
But I still have problem to use WHR-G300N-HP as bridging, no matter what I've tested, even it can connect show TX/RX but just no traffic coming through, can't even ping. sweat.gif

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Aug 27 2010, 02:19 PM)
oh kk, i saw asus one kinda cheap, like rm209 can connect USB storage edi.. but i heard about if ddwrt then will lose those features and got wireless n problem..
Beside Buffalo, you may also consider TP-Link TL-941ND, 3T3R, I think around RM150 only.
Hardware version 3 or 3.2 is now fully supported by dd-wrt, I just tested the latest build on my 941ND v3.2 now can save settings nicely ! thumbup.gif
ftp://dd-wrt.com/others/eko/BrainSlayer-V...8-12-10-r14929/

This post has been edited by klseet: Aug 27 2010, 03:25 PM
klseet
post Aug 28 2010, 10:39 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(Calvin871989 @ Aug 28 2010, 10:15 PM)
(BULK) RB250GS , potential buyer list:

1. azri
2. PGGTrader
3. ldragon (2 units)
4. alextong8386
5. chungss
6. Yushin
7. shahada (3 units)
8. Paultantk
9. StanleYz
10. avex|mode
11. cafee
12. hotspot
13. leongkh2
14. Evirober
15. -pWs- (2 units)
16. mox123
17. jchue73
18. auronthas
19. Mytown
20. GreenSamurai
21. Susuwatari
22. khairuza2002
23. Keevster
24. ruffstuff

list is updated. please use your lyn username in full and not choose any of your own preferred desire nickname. this will make things easy for the bulk person in charge to search for you. thank you.

any questions regarding the RB250GS ? sent a pm to user, klseet : http://forum.lowyat.net/user/klseet
Thanks Calvin for the update! biggrin.gif

For others who want to know the pricing, please read post#1380:
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1502636/+1360

At this moment, the unknown custom duty still cannot be determine, also we haven't discussed logistic arrangement yet.
Assuming you guys group in order of 20 units per box, and say the custom catch & tax 10%, then rough costing per unit is about SGD65 or about RM150

As I said earlier, if Landasan can bring in here and sell at RM150, then I would suggest you guys get from them. smile.gif

klseet
post Aug 28 2010, 10:56 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(billytong @ Aug 28 2010, 10:43 PM)
..does the TMnet automatically cancel ur old fix line(telephone number) if you were streamyx combo user?
I asked them before, they said I have to do it myself ....
So I don't think TM will cancel any current telephone/streaymx automatically I asked them before

I was on Streamyx+Celcom combo and I have to run 2 separate places just to cancel my streamyx... sweat.gif

I'm still keeping my old number, just too many contacts listed with the old number la .....
as for the new number, i use it to call any TM number since it's free ! nod.gif

QUOTE(D3vilsim @ Aug 28 2010, 01:56 AM)
Visited computer zone just now.

Aztech homeplug 110E only Rm99 each. Best price i can find so far.
So happen I went to LowYat this evening, ViewNet also selling the same price so I took a pair, tested about an hour now on channel 144 HD, so far so good exactly like transmit through cable! rclxms.gif
Thanks for the recommendation man! thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by klseet: Aug 28 2010, 10:59 PM
klseet
post Aug 29 2010, 12:33 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(myjunk @ Aug 29 2010, 08:44 AM)
Hi. Looks like quite a few ppl interested in this router and after reading all the posts,looks like this is indeed a good solution. Too bad it's only 5ports. I would like an 8 port which microtik does not offer.

I will call up this place tomorrow (monday) to find out ifbthey have stocks. If yes,I'll be getting it from them. Wonder if sim lim sells this thing as well?
Er, may I know why you need so many ports on RB250GS? hmm.gif
We are using the RB250GS to do the VLANs tagging only, so we can connect our own routers & the STB directly to it.

QUOTE(billytong @ Aug 29 2010, 11:16 AM)
hehe thats what I have been wondering. the old number really got a lot of old contacts, not a good idea to lost it automatically.  sweat.gif

As for the new number may be I treat it as Family/relatives/close friends number. Gonna make this number for private use tongue.gif
The UniFi has completely new range of numbers, if you register earlier at your area, you may ask for some nice number brows.gif
Mine was like: 5xyxxyxy and TM gave me free!! icon_rolleyes.gif
klseet
post Sep 1 2010, 10:00 AM

130 posts

Some dd-wrt guru currently are working on nvram command lines to make Broadcom chipset port-based vlans to work:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php...er=asc&start=30
they even confirmed some dd-wrt routers already and the list seem to be growing:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Route...7t_support_VLAN

Has anyone tried and confirmed whether it works to tag both internet & iptv? hmm.gif
Unfortunately ,I don't have anyone of these routers..... sad.gif
klseet
post Sep 1 2010, 11:19 AM

130 posts

QUOTE(D3vilsim @ Sep 1 2010, 11:03 AM)
I got WRT54G which support VLAN on dd-wrt firmware according to your 2nd link. But i not sure how to configure it make it work with unifi  smile.gif
Will to try it out if got any guideline cos i have to idea how to do at all  laugh.gif
I'm also newbie to this kind of command lines, I read & follow these:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Switched_Ports

So basically you need to telnet into the router and make sure you capture the following original values before starting anything:
nvram show | grep vlan.ports
nvram show | grep port.vlans
nvram show | grep vlan.hwname

You may have to figure out the port number assignment as different routers has different numbers assignment.

Good luck, really hope to hear some positive news! nod.gif

klseet
post Sep 1 2010, 01:19 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(D3vilsim @ Sep 1 2010, 11:31 AM)
Alright man will try this out tonight if i am free. meanwhile, rizvanrp had u try this ??  u should be more easy to figure it out if this really working for us to replace the router with IPTV working as well.   brows.gif
Actually Riz mentioned he did try to work with pr0 not long ago but somehow the pppoe still won't work ....

I've been monitoring the 2 links recently, it seem like there has been lots of activities & confirmation going on between the dd-wrt guru.
But those posting by the guru there is really too heavy & technical for me .... sweat.gif

If I'm not mistaken, it seem like currently dd-wrt on:

Broadcom base - some routers seem can do port-based vlan and also seem to able to move 1 lan port onto wan port as confirmed by the links, but it seem like can only create vlan number not more than 15 (for 100mb) or 16 (for gigabytes)

Ralink & Atheros base - can create vlan?.500 and connect pppoe nicely as confirmed & posted by Riz, but it seem like even use nvram to create additional vlanX and move lan port to wan, it still ignore and still stick to the default vlan? only.

Honestly, I'm not sure how we could do it, it would be perfect if we can somehow create another vlan?.600 and/or do something with the BTU to "move & tag" those iptv traffic onto those Ralink/Atheros router, it would be another biggest milestone to achieve I guess! thumbup.gif

Hope our sifu Riz can help us R&D kuat-kuat! notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by klseet: Sep 1 2010, 01:22 PM
klseet
post Sep 2 2010, 01:32 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(D3vilsim @ Sep 2 2010, 09:57 AM)
....Riz & Klseet, mind to share ur router setting with me. Which can replace the dir 615 without IPTV. Seems like i will stick with that 1st b4 got any better solutions. dir 615 really not stable.
If you have a Ralink or Atheros router on dd-wrt, you may follow Riz's setup as follow link connect vlan?.500 with PPPoE directly to the BTU [without IPTV]:
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry35316475

However, for Broadcom dd-wrt, can create vlan?.500, but the "WAN Port Assignment" will be re-set back to default after router re-boot, so it's unable to connect internet using vlan?.500:
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry35585572

From that 2 links I posted earlier, you can see those dd-wrt gurus are really working on something to make those Broadcom base to work, hopefully some positive news can be release soon ...... nod.gif

QUOTE(meLi @ Sep 2 2010, 10:09 AM)
Anyone try Open WRT ? Look like more router support vlan with this custom firmware.
http://wiki.openwrt.org/toh/start
TQ
I'm already "1/2 life" on dd-wrt, OpenWRT is even more technical I think ..... rclxub.gif sweat.gif
Beside, I also don't have those routers as listed there to test .....

QUOTE(alextong8386 @ Sep 2 2010, 11:47 AM)
Good news. Open WRT do have the Dlink DIR-825 firmware to support VLAN tag on. We may not need the Mikrotek smart switch anymore.
Can anyone confirm if there is any OpenWRT base working on UniFi both internet & IPTV? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by klseet: Sep 2 2010, 01:35 PM
klseet
post Sep 2 2010, 02:08 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(D3vilsim @ Sep 2 2010, 01:49 PM)
Thanks bro. keep reading since this morning. Phiew ~  will try ur guide later back hope. see got luck my router will stick with vlan1.500 after reboot  tongue.gif  dreaming...  icon_rolleyes.gif

Ops.. i only got broadcom. seems like so far that's no way for me to get rid of this dlr-615.  cry.gif  cry.gif
Actually from the dd-wrt gui, you may notice that:

Broadcom base:
- it has the VLAN tab which can create additional vlans and/or assigning ports [or through those nvram command]
- but seem like unable to keep the "WAN Port Assignment"

Ralink/Atheros base:
- no vlan tab, even you type http://192.168.1.1/Vlan.asp you can see it, but no effect on whatever you enter; nvram command also no effect.
- but can keep the "WAN Port Assignment" and connect vlan?.500 nicely to internet.

So if can combine Ralink/Atheros wan port assignment + Braodcom vlan features, it would be perfect liao la !! tongue.gif

QUOTE(PGGTrader @ Sep 2 2010, 02:04 PM)
Hey guys... What happened to the Mikrotik Bulk Purchase ? Don't see the list no more...
I think the list still there, you may have to go back few pages I think ....

Solitan SG indicated the shipment should arrive mid-Sep, but we still haven't sorted out the logistic arrangement like custom problem, payment, re-deliver to individual or self collect etc etc .... never been in this kind of group purchase before, somemore import from SG ... rclxub.gif
Hope some member here can offer further assistance.

Btw, has anyone contacted Landasan KL? Are they bringing in?

This post has been edited by klseet: Sep 2 2010, 02:14 PM
klseet
post Sep 2 2010, 09:18 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(Calvin871989 @ Sep 2 2010, 06:46 PM)
ive put the list on the front page at 1st post for easy searching. 26 people are currently on the list
ill also add this post into the 1st post. hope someone out there can help. dont want to keep other people waiting dont we ? tongue.gif
Once again thx Calvin for the update! notworthy.gif
Yes, hope someone who has prior experience to import such item into KL come to help out members here.
Meantime, I'll try to contact Solitan for the arriving schedule and will keep you guys posted! smile.gif

QUOTE(D3vilsim @ Sep 2 2010, 07:13 PM)
HI Klseet, i flash my WRT54GL with dd-wrt firmware. Manage to tag Vlan1.500. the tag remain even i reboot the router or completely shutdown and ON again. But i failed to dial PPPoE.

Any working setup ?? 
thanks  sad.gif
WAH, D3vilsim, even your model is not listed there and we are still have no glue on the vlan?.500 on Broadcom, you still dare to flash ... shocking.gif
Really admire your courage ... sweat.gif

Anywhere, few questions:
1. exactly what model is yours?
2. which built you are using?
3. you sure that vlan? is the one you connect for WAN?

It's strange, since you can save & reboot with the vlan?.500 intact, it should have tag the traffic.... hmm.gif

Can you try to use the DIR-615 follow Riz method to configure as bridge, then use that vlan? without any tagging to connect pppoe and see whether it works.
This is just to re-confirm exactly which vlan? is using on your router before further testing.
klseet
post Sep 2 2010, 09:52 PM

130 posts

Without tagging, can you connect pppoe through DIR-615 as bridge mode?

WRT54GL seem to have a Broadcom BCM5352@200mhz --> it's the same with my Buffalo WHR-HP-G54
Strange, how come yours can save reboot and the WAN port assignment still there whereas mine is gone?? blink.gif

Base on the current list:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Route...7t_support_VLAN
this 2 has "Yes" on the "Port-based VLAN's":
WRT54G v6.0 BCM5352E
WRT54G-TM v1.1 BCM5352E

hmmmm....

This post has been edited by klseet: Sep 2 2010, 09:59 PM
klseet
post Sep 2 2010, 10:11 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(D3vilsim @ Sep 2 2010, 09:58 PM)
...At 1st mine one also lost the tagging after reboot. So i try to "tick" the tagged check box at VLAN tab. After i done the tagging setting at Network tab.
sequence as : tag Vlan1.500. (Apply setting) then go to network tab tick the tagged check box ( apply setting )
reboot 2 times the tag still there.
That's interesting, I'll check it out later .....
klseet
post Sep 6 2010, 08:49 PM

130 posts

(BULK) RB250GS , potential buyer list:

1. azri
2. PGGTrader
3. ldragon (2 units)
4. alextong8386
5. chungss
6. Yushin
7. flame7651
8. Paultantk
9. StanleYz
10. avex|mode
11. cafee
12. hotspot
13. leongkh2
14. Evirober
15. -pWs- (2 units)
16. mox123
17. jchue73
18. Mytown
19. GreenSamurai
20. Susuwatari
21. khairuza2002
22. Keevster
23. ruffstuff
24. ad2000
25. rizfield
26. Moogle Stiltzkin

Guys, fyi, Soliton just informed the shipment has arrived in SG, so you guys still interested? Anyone call Landasan, are they bringing in?

If you guys are still interested, I would suggest to group 20 orders in a box as this is the most economical shipping cost calculated by Soliton.
However, there are still some pending logistic issues such as:

1. custom, who can help to import in?
2. payment arrangement?
3. how to re-deliver to individual?

How er gentlemen? rclxub.gif

May be should just get someone to drive-in, get a lower pro-formal invoice value from Soliton, just pay the tax?? sweat.gif

QUOTE(y2k @ Sep 6 2010, 08:37 PM)
VOIP - Still down.
Internet - OK for surfing (I guess)
Downloading - Files STILL CORRUPTED.

Compensation is definitely in order.
Strange, I also noticed my phone no dialing tone, the phone light on the BTU also dead, what happen? BTU rosak ?? blink.gif
Or should I call CS??

Just re-set, the phone line is still down .... sad.gif

Just called CS, they said VOIP is down, ask them when can resume, they said "don't know"...... blink.gif
Can you imagine, like that also can!! vmad.gif

I insisted them to either restore or give a time frame by tomorrow, if not I have no choice but to write to MCMC, again!!
This is really ridiculous mad.gif , luckily I still keep my previous phone....

Just imagine, if this thing happen to UniFi business users doh.gif

This post has been edited by klseet: Sep 6 2010, 09:13 PM
klseet
post Sep 6 2010, 10:10 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(senthan @ Sep 6 2010, 09:56 PM)
I just fixed my VOIP.
The VOIP settings in Huawei BTU some how changed to another phone number.
Changed the number & password and its working.
You are right, I just went into the Huawei BTU, it's NOT my phone number shocking.gif
How could this happen?? unsure.gif

Luckily I still keep a copy of my original backup file, just restore it and now it's working!
Thanks mate! icon_rolleyes.gif
klseet
post Sep 6 2010, 10:26 PM

130 posts

Previously, I followed "pr0di9y" method to logon to the Huawei BTU"
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=35642598

Before I was doing anything, I went to "Maintain -> Device -> Configure File" and download the original configuration file, now I just restore and the VOIP phone works again.

For those of you who didn't backup the copy, may be have to wait for TM to resolve the problem....
I would suggest once it's fix again, then go to backup a copy in case similar case happen again.

QUOTE(rizvanrp @ Sep 6 2010, 10:21 PM)
It happened as predicted because TM does not give a rats ass about basic security. I mentioned a few pages back that all BTUs are vulnerable to being accessed using the VOIP network since TM just dumped a default user/pass in all of them.
TM really tak boleh pakai one la doh.gif

Aiyah, just now too rush to solve the issue, should have screen shot and make a proof copy ... doh.gif
If it ever happen to me again, I guarantee 'll document all these and will go straight to MCMC ..... nod.gif

This post has been edited by klseet: Sep 6 2010, 10:30 PM
klseet
post Sep 6 2010, 10:47 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(billytong @ Sep 6 2010, 10:30 PM)
Well if we know if it is just only the phone number and the password prob, it shouldnt be hard to fix right?
I actually forgot those variables on the VOIP page, so restore seem to be the only method ... tongue.gif

Anywhere, I suppose just have to fill-up your real telephone number and the password which was emailed by TM during registration:

QUOTE(rizvanrp @ Sep 6 2010, 10:36 PM)
Edit : The BTUs can only be accessed through the VOIP network AFAIK so if someone has changed your configuration (and it's not some glitch by TM), it's definitely being done by other Unifi users.
Hi Riz, I'm pretty sure it's some other hacker ....
Can you show us on how to change/protect the BTU? notworthy.gif

QUOTE(jackyhaw @ Sep 6 2010, 10:47 PM)
mean someone already break in to our BTU? But just now before i using RB250GS my BTU VOIP still can using. When i configure and use it, the setting run. can advice??
I don't think it's the RB250GS or any other routers because I was using without any problem.
Last week, I just off the RB250GS and thinking to keep it as backup and want to use the DIR-615 gao-gao ...
So I'm now connecting my WHR-G300N router on BTU LAN1 and the DIR-615 on BTU LAN2, no RB250GS and my VOIP was hijack .... nod.gif

This post has been edited by klseet: Sep 6 2010, 10:53 PM
klseet
post Sep 7 2010, 08:50 AM

130 posts

QUOTE(PGGTrader @ Sep 7 2010, 03:18 AM)
Thanks Rizzy. I would like to ask on the Mikrotik RB750G as well. I think i would like to go for the RB750G instead of RB250GS since according to wcewong it offer better NAT / Security / Firewall by using RouterOS. and also the fact that we still have no idea how to complete the bulk purchase of RB250GS from Singapore. Do you think it is a good alternative (if cost is not taken as a factor) to replace DIR-615 or you still think it is better to go for RB250GS ? Seeing how TM is treating us on the security front, i am really concerned and would really like to secure my network the best i can. Will you be writing any guide to configure the RB750G ? I am planning to get it from Landasan tomorrow but worry on how to set it up to replace the DIR-615 and how to configure the SNAT / Firewall to secure my network to the best extend it allow.

Thanks in advance for your advice and help.
Correct me if I'm wrong, I think the issue now is on the BTU itself and not the router.
Internet & network should be fine subject to the router's firewall, since the router's WAN port is connected to BTU's LAN, there is still a layer of firewall+NAT.

I think the pressing matter now how to find way to secure that Huawei BTU especially on the VOIP vulnerability, hope Riz or other Huawei sifu can help out here ...

Unless we can find something to replace that GPON, otherwise we are merely at TM's mercy .... sad.gif

This post has been edited by klseet: Sep 7 2010, 08:50 AM
klseet
post Sep 7 2010, 09:05 AM

130 posts

QUOTE(sohlican @ Sep 7 2010, 08:57 AM)
My internet was down from 9pm and it just went online.  I am getting pissed.  I am using the ZTE VDSL too.  My max download currently is at 100kB/s

Sigh...
I'm getting some rather "strange" behaviour on the Huawei BTU, it seem to be self restarted 2 times since midnight, after I called to complain last evening......
So is TM or "others" doing something funny on the BTU?? blink.gif

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0748sec    0.49    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 02:50 PM