5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadbrand Thread V6, News: RM200 for installation after Sept

billytong
post Sep 3 2010, 09:02 PM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

QUOTE(eimzic @ Sep 3 2010, 07:58 PM)
thats what ive been trying to tell since the past two friggin week.. buffer like hell.   doh.gif
QUOTE(rizvanrp @ Sep 3 2010, 08:05 PM)
Yeah, noticed it for a week+ already. Youtube getting capped sad.gif
QUOTE(yongkailoon @ Sep 3 2010, 08:09 PM)
Well, I think YouTube plays a part in online entertainment since we usually go to YouTube for many purposes. If it gets throttled, then another downside again since one reason why people want a faster connection is for faster streaming. sweat.gif

They probably have a lot of bandwidth ready b4 they launch Unifi. Probably thats part of the reason that they got extra room to "allow" "no cap for now" after a bunch of us complain the 60GB cap. So they allow "no cap" when the number of unifi user are still low.

Right now as more user joining the Unifi Network, that room might be getting smaller and smaller. May be youtube is probably the first one they are throttling, then follow by pps, torrent. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by billytong: Sep 3 2010, 09:03 PM
billytong
post Sep 4 2010, 06:59 AM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

How much is that RB750G cost you?
billytong
post Sep 4 2010, 09:15 AM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

QUOTE(wcewong @ Sep 4 2010, 07:22 AM)
RM310 only. Can get from Landasan in Dataran Prima.

Seems to me the non Gigabit version RB750 is the same thing too, at half of the price too. The Spec sheet does not mention about any Vlan tagging on both models.(RB750, RB750G) So will IPTV work? then of cause neither of them have wireless access. doh.gif

This post has been edited by billytong: Sep 4 2010, 09:25 AM
billytong
post Sep 5 2010, 08:12 AM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

QUOTE(wcewong @ Sep 4 2010, 11:12 PM)
Confirm it works, both IPTV and Data needs VLAN tagging. IPTV on VLAN id 600, Data on VLAN id 500.

I plugged in my WRT310N running DD-WRT into my RB750G. Now I have both wireless and wired access.

If you are concerned about cost, maybe there is a cheaper solution.

Well good news that you have confirm it work on both IPTV and data. Thank you. That means the RB750 is also gonna work, since it is just another non gigabit version of RB750G and the RB750 is about the price of RB250GS smile.gif
billytong
post Sep 5 2010, 09:41 PM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

QUOTE(wcewong @ Sep 5 2010, 08:46 PM)
I don't know about the non-G version. But don't you think that at Unifi speeds, the extra cost for the gigabit version would be a good investment?

Well I am just stating that the RB750 would be another alternative of RB250GS (which I think should work as RB750G). Unifi is @ 20mbps @ best for now. Even the fiber line wont be reaching 100+mbps anytime soon knowing TM is slow in intro new package.

RB750 is price around RB250GS while the RB750G is about 60-70% higher, so it would make sense to those who need alternative with tight budget. Unless you are transferring huge amount of files between PCs I do not see gigabit LAN is needed.

The only draw back now is the lacking of Wifi feature to completely replace 615.

This post has been edited by billytong: Sep 5 2010, 09:45 PM
billytong
post Sep 5 2010, 09:44 PM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

QUOTE(wcewong @ Sep 5 2010, 09:39 PM)
Yes, no current the GPON unit also cannot on how to use the phone?  tongue.gif

Thats why I am keeping my landline in case of emergency.

Have anyone dialed 999 from the VoIP phone yet? I am wondering if it works.

Looks like it makes perfect sense in keeping the legacy telephone line. tongue.gif Mine not working too, and the internet have some packet loss. sweat.gif

billytong
post Sep 5 2010, 11:58 PM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

Should we call Unifi = Streamyx 2? tongue.gif hehe VOIP,pocket loss here since 2 days ago.
billytong
post Sep 6 2010, 09:42 AM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

This is getting ridiculous, I get more and more packet losses, Unifi is good for only 3 days after installation. doh.gif
billytong
post Sep 6 2010, 12:15 PM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

QUOTE(auronthas @ Sep 6 2010, 12:07 PM)
p/s: My UNIFI just being installed 3 days ago, TM D-Link DIR working very well 24/7 with notebook fan running 24/7, but decided to customize the above setup to reduce DIR-615 stress and prolong its life.

Wait.... u are telling me the USB slot on the 615 works well enough to power the notebook fan?

billytong
post Sep 6 2010, 06:07 PM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

QUOTE(BlueWind @ Sep 6 2010, 05:37 PM)
Hope anyone of you here don't mind helping me to clarify this. Just want to be sure if I understand this correctly since I'm about to install it.

So if we get MikroTik RB250GS then we can straight away keep DIR 615 and allow RB250GS (no need for another custom router?) to handle all the loads from VOIP, Internet and IPTV?

Another choice we can go for is getting a custom router with VLAN and hook it up with DIR 615 to reduce crashing and reliability issues?

the RB250GS is to replace the DIR-615 completely. But you would still need a router on the back end doing pppoe dial. mikrotik should be more reliable as the switch is design for business usage.

another solution is to make DIR-615 a simple bridge, then get any retail router do pppoe dial. but this solution only lighten the load of 615, you still run the risk of 615 fail anytime.

till now I only have 615 enable as bridge, and torrent only 80 connection(more than enough to fully use up 5mbps anyway). I have never do torrent and IPTV at the same time. 615 doing fine so far, if all these fail, then looks like the only choice to go is with Mikrotik.

I suspect the 615 high failure rate is because it is not design to handle vlan tagging and IPTV streaming. Torrenting 24/7 and IPTV would probably be too much for that simple cheap home router. 615 is just a simple router. TM obviously trying to modified proton waja engine with evo turbo for Drag race. I cant believe they use the same consumer router for BIZ package(with vlan tagging too). Why would a corporate with thousands ringgit worth of high quality network devices need to hook their network on this silly small router?

Well thats my opinion, not really good in this networking thingy. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by billytong: Sep 6 2010, 06:10 PM
billytong
post Sep 6 2010, 10:20 PM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

QUOTE(klseet @ Sep 6 2010, 10:10 PM)
You are right, I just went into the Huawei BTU, it's NOT my phone number  shocking.gif
How could this happen??  unsure.gif

Luckily I still keep a copy of my original backup file, just restore it and now it's working!
Thanks mate!  icon_rolleyes.gif

Who sabotage our BTU? lol i didnt have the original backup. sweat.gif

I did the 615 but didnt do the BTU unit.
billytong
post Sep 6 2010, 10:30 PM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

QUOTE(klseet @ Sep 6 2010, 10:26 PM)
Previously, I followed "pr0di9y" method to logon to the Huawei BTU"
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=35642598

Before I was doing anything, I went to  "Maintain -> Device -> Configure File"  and download the original configuration file, now I just restore and the VOIP phone works again.

For those of you who didn't backup the copy, may be have to wait for TM to resolve the problem....
I would suggest once it's fix again, then go to backup a copy in case similar case happen again.
TM really tak boleh pakai one la doh.gif

Aiyah, just now too rush to solve the issue, should have screen shot and make a proof copy ... doh.gif
If it ever happen to me again, I guarantee 'll document all these and will go straight MCMC ..... nod.gif

Well if we know if it is just only the phone number and the password prob, it shouldnt be hard to fix right?
billytong
post Sep 6 2010, 10:56 PM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

Thanks, I gonna give it a try base on the screenshot taken & the prodigy's guide. gonna backup the corrupted config b4 doing anything. Be right back.

my BTU unit is inside my storeroom under my house staircase. sweat.gif had no choice because the fiber line comes out from the sewer inside there. doh.gif
billytong
post Sep 6 2010, 11:50 PM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

QUOTE(klseet @ Sep 6 2010, 10:47 PM)
I actually forgot those variables on the VOIP page, so restore seem to be the only method ... tongue.gif

Anywhere, I suppose just have to fill-up your real telephone number and the password which was emailed by TM during registration:
[attachmentid=1768242]

Hey guys it work like charm for me. Just change phone number and the password, leave public username blank.

SID ID : +603Yournumber
Auth username : +603Yournumber@ims.tm.com.my
Public Username : Nothing

Password is the one that TM gave you when u register Unifi. You should have a form for this or Email if they send u email for the information.

I hope this simple guide is good enough for other user.

BACKUP Config files b4 doing anything. and BACKUP another one again after you fix the problem.

This post has been edited by billytong: Sep 6 2010, 11:51 PM
billytong
post Sep 7 2010, 12:07 AM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

Whos TMnut unifi network security consultant? they really deserve a spank for this.
billytong
post Sep 7 2010, 10:16 AM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

QUOTE(klseet @ Sep 7 2010, 09:05 AM)
I'm getting some rather "strange" behaviour on the Huawei BTU, it seem to be self restarted 2 times since midnight, after I called to complain last evening......
So is TM or "others" doing something funny on the BTU??  blink.gif

You know right now the only thing keeping me from bothering the BTU login password, is any future TM's "update" sweat.gif
billytong
post Sep 7 2010, 11:22 AM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

QUOTE(klseet @ Sep 7 2010, 10:48 AM)
Same feeling here, really scary don't know what will happen next .... really at TM's mercy ... cry.gif
The only thing right now I'm hoping my router still can detect and stop some of these unknown port services which trying to comes in my network ... sad.gif
Anywhere I already reported and emailed print screen for them to investigate, hope they are "able" to resolve la... tongue.gif

just curious, if it is not ur IP why bother censored it. tongue.gif Hope the non censored version is sent to TM

btw, could the corrupted download also the same prob face for "corrupted" SIP ID? or may be someone in TM mess up something when they do mass update deployment across unifi VOIP setting.

This post has been edited by billytong: Sep 7 2010, 11:23 AM
billytong
post Sep 7 2010, 02:14 PM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

When they actually fix this file corrupted issue? I got error even on linux update.
billytong
post Sep 7 2010, 04:14 PM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

QUOTE(klseet @ Sep 7 2010, 04:02 PM)
CS supervisor called and said my case now transferred to their internal "Abuse Team" for investigation, he can't tell when .....  shakehead.gif  yawn.gif
Anyone heard about this TM "Abuse Team" ??

you are transfered to "Abuse team" hmm.gif brows.gif

billytong
post Sep 7 2010, 09:38 PM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

I am getting frequent disconnections and huge amount of packet loss. is this what we call fiber optic or plastic optic?

This post has been edited by billytong: Sep 7 2010, 09:39 PM

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0746sec    0.55    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:38 AM