Android Phone recommendation thread, Official thread on "Which should I get?"

lost123
post Sep 24 2010, 12:40 PM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(Sheep319 @ Sep 24 2010, 12:02 PM)
was just wondering guys, is there an Android phone that doesn't use a QWERTY keyboard and isn't strictly touchscreen? lol.
???????? as in????? u mean like those old skool candybar fones? if so, then none that is available..

but wats the point of not having a qwerty keyboard when u cant have complete control of the touchsreen? seems kinda odd..
lost123
post Sep 24 2010, 04:22 PM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(Sheep319 @ Sep 24 2010, 03:35 PM)
as in a touchscreen with a slider, but not QWERTY (Sony Ericsson Aino style)

well, let's just say i'm an old fashioned guy and I prefer the numerical keypad. biggrin.gif
owh in that case, i dun think there is am android fone out there like that.. i could be wrong, but ive not heard of any so far.. its either physical qwerty with touch screen or completely touch screen..
lost123
post Oct 3 2010, 05:01 PM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(shishikyuu @ Oct 2 2010, 02:45 PM)
Hi everyone, i'm getting my first smartphone. So I'm thinking of getting HTC Desire or Samsung Galaxy S. Which would you guys recommend?

I read that Samsung Galaxy S is kinda laggy and slow when using the internet. Also that Samsung Kies is annoying as hell. 2G must be manually set to off everytime after a reboot.

I also read that HTC Desire battery can only last at most 1 day.

Hopefully someone can help me recommend the better smartphone.
ermmm my Galaxy S is not laggy at all when using the internet and the pinch to zoom on the Galaxy S is the smoothest ive seen on an android device, the oni lag is the occasional lag when launching apps and when running multiple apps at the same time.. but there is a lagfix, but im too lazy to use it coz i tink that this minor lag is honestly not an issue with me.. some ppl might experience more lag tho..

if comparing desire and galaxy S, in terms of hardware, galaxy S beats the desire hands down, but in terms of software implementation and support, the desire is better coz of HTC and the nicer Sense interface..

and about the 2G must be manually set off after reboot? i dun really get wat u mean? and for kies, i dont use it.. i use the normal android drag and drop thing..

Added on October 3, 2010, 5:03 pm
QUOTE(shishikyuu @ Oct 2 2010, 09:36 PM)
Desire HD and Desire Z is going to be release soon but i don't really think that Desire HD and Desire Z will come to Malaysia anytime soon... So i'll guess i'll get HTC Desire.
actually.. i tink the desire HD and Z would be the best fit for u, but since u cant wait.. then go ahead with the desire, its a solid fone, but if gaming is a priority, then go get the Galaxy S coz the GPU on the Galaxy S kicks @ss!

This post has been edited by lost123: Oct 3 2010, 05:03 PM
lost123
post Oct 3 2010, 09:35 PM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(Michael_G @ Oct 3 2010, 09:05 PM)
can anyone recommend me 2nd hand android phone.. budget less than 3k but in d budget i need to buy one 2nd blackberry and one 2nd android phone.
i wan original one and the normal UI android.. thanks wink.gif
WOAH! 3K is a very nice budget.. haha.. u dun even have to get 2nd hand fones.. blackberry isnt very expensive especially with the plans from digi, maxis and celcom.. not too sure abt blackberry fones, but for android, if u want the vanilla (normal) android UI then in Malaysia i dun think we have, besides the CSL one, but the nicest UI next to vanilla is Sense which is on the Desire.. then comes the touchwiz which is on the Galaxy S.. not too sure about the motorola's motoblur tho.. owh wait, there are vanilla android fones, the HTC magic and dream.. but both are old fones, and i suggest u stay away from them. OH YES! and theres the nexus one, how can i forget abt that.. but if u are not in a hurry, i tink u shud wait for the Desire HD and Desire Z.. theyre supposed to arrive this month.. mebbe end of the month only, and i dunno whether its been confirmed yet.

but if ur really insistent on vanilla android, then its only nexus one at the moment or u can import the T-mobile G2 from the US (which is nearly the same as the Desire Z except that it is vanilla android and Desire Z has sense UI)
lost123
post Oct 3 2010, 11:12 PM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(mewmew01 @ Oct 3 2010, 10:49 PM)
from considering HTC wildfire to aria and now thinking of buying Motorola Milestone. Is it still a good buy for android phone ah? But bloody expensive la. RM1999, if add RM21 can get iphone4 with digi plan already.
wait what??? rm1999 for milestone??? ermmmm thats really expensive.. u can get AP set for less than 1.4k.. i heard sum ppl get it for 1.2 to 1.3k as well.. its about the same price as the HTC legend.. and i tink the legend is a better buy compared to the aria, but its specs are nearly the same.. so its juz up to personal preference..

Added on October 3, 2010, 11:15 pm
QUOTE(Michael_G @ Oct 3 2010, 10:01 PM)
ehh thanks for d info but actually the phone is not for daily use actually.. just for testing purpose. so my budget is lesser than 3k and i just need second hand phone. for BB i think i wil take 9700 bold 2.. maybe for android i wil take htc cause the all the phone ui are Sense right?? so wat droid phone not too outdated and inexpensive..
if the fone is only for testing, then u can get sumthin lower end, mebbe like the HTC legend or if u wan slightly higher end, then it would be the Desire.. but its a little pricey, but with maxis 1 year contract its pretty reasonable.. the cheapest HTC android fone would be the wildfire, but i dun like the resolution of the screen.. and because of the resolution, some apps might not work..

This post has been edited by lost123: Oct 3 2010, 11:15 PM
lost123
post Oct 4 2010, 12:15 AM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(mewmew01 @ Oct 3 2010, 11:34 PM)
waaa... really ah? where do you normally get those ah? im a bit old fashion, need the qwerty keypad to feel "secured" against the touchscreen. Legend is better ah? thats what a lot of ppl are saying.. but not liking the chin la. Aria looks nicer to me.

but pricing aside, milestone specs is still considered at par ke? or better yet, just wait for HTC desire z to come out and releases in malaysia? *surely laaaaaaaagi mahal.. pecah poket*
if u want a really good android fone with physical qwerty keypad, then u shud wait for the desire z or milestone 2.. coz the keypad on the current milestone is not very nice.. kinda flat.. u can check the garage sales section of this forum.. u can find ppl selling the milestone and the legend.. or better still wait for the desire z and the milestone 2..

if ur budget is big enough u can get the desire or the galaxy S now.. but sad part is that there is no physical qwerty.. but both are great fones.. both better than milestone and legend (but could vary depending on personal preference)
lost123
post Oct 4 2010, 09:35 PM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(Michael_G @ Oct 4 2010, 07:23 PM)
ehh thanks buy i think i wan mid end phone lor. not too high end cause to pricy... will not sign up from any telco just wan second hand one ehh maybe 1.5k wat i can get? den for BB maybe also 1.5 to get bold2.?
1.5k is really not a problem.. especially 2nd hand fones, if u want a mid end fone, then u can get the HTC Legend.. im pretty sure u can get a new one for less than 1.5k.. or not then u can try the HTC desire.. 2nd hand should be around that price range.. i juz saw one http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1587259 go check it out, im not endorsing that sale, but juz trying to help.. but it is at your own risk..

there are 3 fones that might be in the right price range for u..
1. HTC Legend (new)
2. HTC Desire (2nd hand)
3. Motorola Milestone (New, ap set)

if u wanna buy 2nd hand, then i say go for the desire coz its faster and has a larger screen.. but the Legend is a good fone as well.. Milestone is if u want a fone with physical qwerty keypad..

hope this helped
lost123
post Oct 5 2010, 10:32 PM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(belthaz @ Oct 5 2010, 08:59 PM)
is wildfire good? does it have smooth ui like desire?
wildfire is a pretty decent fone, but of course desire is much better.. and problem with wildfire will be the low resolution screen.. doesnt look very pleasing to the eyes, and quite a number of apps might have trouble running on this fone because of the resolution..

so if u dun mind the low resolution and poor app support then this fone is a great little device.. and its cheap..

oh and the processor is 528Mhz as compared to the 1Ghz which is on the desire.. so performance is surely better on the desire..

i would say that the Legend is a better fone, and its juz abt few hundred more expensive.. or RM999 with 2 year contract with DiGi..

i suggest go test out the fone, its UI is pretty decent, works well, but desire is just better..
lost123
post Oct 6 2010, 06:27 PM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(yangster91 @ Oct 6 2010, 03:03 PM)
Hey guys I need some recommendations here because i'm on a tight budget(1k max). I want a phone with touch-screen, descent camera(to take clothing's tag), wifi, gps and good battery life. I need the phone for its' basic function rather than gaming, i dun intend to use it for gaming at all. So i dun nid a phone with good OS, maybe just a cool outlook will do.

Please do help me out guys, i really appreciate it. Thank you.
HTC Legend and Wildfire.. Wildfire cheaper, but i suggest get the Legend, looks better, feels better and screen resolution is better as well.. it is RM999 with 2 year contract with DiGi.. if u dont want a contract, then u can juz get the Wildfire..
lost123
post Oct 11 2010, 02:00 PM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(vaan @ Oct 10 2010, 02:02 PM)
Experience extremely short battery life of SGS.. Any idea??
is this a question whether SGS users experience short battery life or are u saying that u experience short battery life.. anyway, u shud go ask at the SGS thread, not here..
lost123
post Oct 11 2010, 11:54 PM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(Narako @ Oct 11 2010, 10:30 PM)
hey guys the desire seem to have multitouch problem and the samsung galaxy s with its lag and gps problem so now what else phone is good?
yes, the desire does have multitouch problem.. and it supports oni two finger multitouch as well.. and yes samsung galaxy S has lag and gps problems..

seems like the multitouch of the desire HD and Z wont have much of an issue, still not as good as the multitouch on the galaxy S though, but better than the current gen desire..

i suggest if u want, u shud wait for the desire HD and Z they are a compromise of the Desire and the Galaxy S..
lost123
post Oct 13 2010, 12:04 AM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(pepperhooi @ Oct 12 2010, 10:07 AM)
hey guys, im confuse in choosing X10 or HTC Hd2.
my bajet just around 1.5k.
any opinion? is it that both phone can crack to using froyo?
X10 has no froyo atm, and i dun tink it will come anytime soon as well.. HD2 is Winmo6.5 fone, if u want a complete android experience i suggest getting a fone tat comes originally with android.. with ur budget of 1.5k u can get the HTC Legend, Motorola Milestone, Milestone XT720, etc..

i would say tat if u can top up a lil bit more, u shud get the HTC desire, and i suggest waiting till abt end of this month coz Desire HD and Z should be coming, and the old Desire price "should" drop, emphasis on the "SHOULD"...
lost123
post Oct 13 2010, 01:15 AM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(pepperhooi @ Oct 13 2010, 12:54 AM)
thx~nice infromation!
anywer, i dun like motorola phone.i like big screen phone like hd2~mayb im like girl~more looking for design and stylish~function are not so important but dont too lag when using it!froyo is nice~
may i know any effect if i using froyo in hd2?
if u want a big screen fone like HD2 then u can wait for the HTC desire HD, but its not gonna be cheap.. im not too sure about HD2 with android and froyo, but last i checked it is not as stable as a standard android fone.. and some might not like to go thru the process of flashing roms and stuff..
The next biggest screen size fone is the Samsung galaxy S, im using this fone now..

at 1.5k u actually do not have much of a choice, unless u buy 2nd hand.. besides that the only option is HD2, but the flashing rom and stuff might be a hassle for some.. if u want out of the box android experience with a HUGE screen, then u haf to wait for the Desire HD.. or for even larger screen it would be the Dell Streak, not sure where some ppl got it, im guessin import.. but yea, that fone/mini tablet is freakin huge for a fone..
lost123
post Oct 17 2010, 12:01 PM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(SeptLyn @ Oct 17 2010, 11:35 AM)
By the way,wanna asking about if chosen between X10 mini and X10 mini pro,which one will be better? For me Im not a heavy user beside of hearing mp3,twitter app and other basic function...Having qwerty keypad or not isn't a very big problem for meĀ  tongue.gif
if its between these two, i suggest the X10 mini pro.. the qwerty keypad is very useful for this fone on particular.. especially because the screen is so very tiny, typing on it is not going to be easy..

if possible, go test it out first, theyre both the same fone just that one has qwerty and the other doesnt, but personally i feel the qwerty on this tiny tiny fone is very important.

This post has been edited by lost123: Oct 17 2010, 12:02 PM
lost123
post Oct 17 2010, 02:34 PM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(SeptLyn @ Oct 17 2010, 12:51 PM)
Thanks for the opinion~
Cause when I was going through the X10 mini post,I saw current user saying that if you are more on touch screen,Qwerty keypad isn't really neccesary~
Thanks for the replying rclxms.gif
ur welcome smile.gif

and it all depends on personal preference.. u shud go test both out.. it will help u make a better decision.
lost123
post Oct 26 2010, 12:56 AM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(wah chai @ Oct 25 2010, 10:20 PM)
how about other beside htc android phone ? desire quite expensive . rm1.7+
best htc android fone at the moment is desire.. legend is not bad tho, i would say the wildfire is the last on the list coz of its screen resolution and many apps wont be compatible with it..

btw, htc cameras are not very good.. theyre alright at best..
lost123
post Oct 26 2010, 01:16 AM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(wah chai @ Oct 26 2010, 01:06 AM)
ic.i noticed legend screen and camera lens it's better than wildfire
not so sure abt the camera, but the screen on the legend is definately better.. higher res.. and the legend has a slightly faster processor than the wildfire.. of course desire is still the fastest of the three.. but since u sed the desire is too expensive, i guess the only choice u have is the legend..
lost123
post Oct 26 2010, 01:10 PM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(asm@m @ Oct 26 2010, 06:46 AM)
which brand is the best for android?
is it htc?

so, which phone? desire hd?
Desire hd is not out in malaysia yet.. But from wat ive seen and heard desire hd wud be the best at the moment.. But actually if the samsung galaxy s had better support and if the lag and gps prob was fixed then
i wud actually say the galaxy s is a better fone.. But sadly the lag and gps hasnt been officially fixed yet.. So i guess best wud be the desire hd.. Nice large screen fone.. Super quick start up.. And comes preloaded with froyo

Added on October 26, 2010, 1:15 pm
QUOTE(Asus @ Oct 26 2010, 10:43 AM)
Guys i just changed my bold 9700 to htc hero..fall in love with the android os..but the drawback is just that the hero is quite slow..i believe faster processor will make it better..how about the htc google nexus? is it better then hero? i cant afford to buy the desire lol..how bout the htc legend?
The nexus one is definately faster and better than the hero.. Better in almost everyway.. The legend is not bad as well. But nexus one still better.. Anyhow.. Abt the legend.. It is what u can call the next gen htc hero.. It is the successor of the hero.. Not a bad fone.. But doesnt have froyo yet.. Nexus one is awesome.. Its like the desire without the htc sense ui..

This post has been edited by lost123: Oct 26 2010, 01:15 PM
lost123
post Oct 28 2010, 11:54 AM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(Deswin @ Oct 28 2010, 08:24 AM)
desire n xt720 cannot be compared because desire is a high end smart phone while xt720 is a medium end smart phone.. btw, the screen resolution is WVGA(same like xt720) and it supports 720p video recording.. since when its VGA? sweat.gif

take note that most high end game require 1ghz processor to play smoothly..

u should try htc desire then u will noe about it.. rclxms.gif

Added on October 28, 2010, 8:32 amalsoo to mention the ability of desire to handle multitasking with 576mb ram compared to xt720 that have 256mb ram only..

Added on October 28, 2010, 8:36 amalso to mention desire comes with amoled screen and optical trackpad that can improve browsing through the net alot.. rclxms.gif

Added on October 28, 2010, 8:38 amconclusion: we cant compare both phones as 1 is high end n medium end..
Ermmm you are right that desire is high end and xt720 is a mid range fone.. and honestly, i prefer the desire for many reasons, however, one thing that the desire lacks is a dedicated GPU.. the GPU on the desire is the integrated one which is the same for all snapdragon processors.. whereas the XT720 has a dedicated GPU the PowerVR SGX530 if im not mistaken.. so technically games should run more smoothly on the XT720 especially 3D games.. The 1Ghz does make a difference, but i feel that the GPU is more important coz the xt720 is now clocked at 720Mhz (or sumwhere around there).. Neither of these fones are great gaming fones, but the xt720 juz has better graphical processing ability..
The best and smoothest fone for gaming would definitely be the Samsung Galaxy S. tongue.gif

and yes, agree with ur conclusion, u cant really compare both these fones because their in a different range, and different price range as well..
a better comparison should be between the xt720 and htc Legend.. and Desire and Galaxy S

This post has been edited by lost123: Oct 28 2010, 11:55 AM
lost123
post Oct 30 2010, 12:10 PM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(zeroty @ Oct 30 2010, 11:25 AM)
HTC wildfire or xperia x10? any comments?
Both have its pros and cons..

for the wildfire
pros- cheap, compact, and uses sense UI, android 2.1 (i tink)
cons- poor screen resolution, and because of this, some apps might not be compatible

for the x10
pros- nice big screen, higher resolution, more apps should be supported as compared to wildfire, good camera (i would say the best camera of all currently available android fones)
cons- more expensive, android 1.6 only at the moment, timescape can be a little sluggish

so its up to u.. why dont u also check out the HTC legend. slightly faster processor as compared to the wildfire, also uses sense UI, better screen resolution, most apps supported, android 2.1 (sadly no 2.2 yet for this fone), and not very expensive (but more expensive than the wildfire tho)

you can also check out the motorola xt720, which is also a good fone, but if u plan on rooting and flashing to custom roms, if im not mistaken this fone does not allow that.. and the RAM on this fone is a little on the low side, but besides that, it is a good fone..

another fone would be the motorola milestone, good fone, but might as well wait for the milestone 2..

if ur budget can go higher, u can also check out the desire and the Samsung galaxy S..

overall, i would say tat if between wildfire and x10, i would personally go for the x10 coz i prefer larger screens, but do also take note of the HTC Legend

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0246sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 01:15 AM