129 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Bottom

Photography Panasonic DMC-LX5 premium compact thread, The LX-3's successor

Ah hao
post Oct 14 2010, 02:52 PM

1,619 posts

QUOTE(littleprawn @ Oct 14 2010, 02:08 PM)
Is this blurring background up to your expectation???

no offence but those are cause by macro shot, even normal compact also can do that notworthy.gif
littleprawn
post Oct 14 2010, 02:52 PM

~Still Learning~
1,148 posts

QUOTE(ohmlawx @ Oct 14 2010, 02:33 PM)
wow, nice bokeh.. hehe
Thanks... Still trying to improve... smile.gif

Added on October 14, 2010, 3:02 pm
QUOTE(Ah hao @ Oct 14 2010, 02:52 PM)
no offence but those are cause by macro shot, even normal compact also can do that  notworthy.gif
No offence taken... I'm not sure about that coz its the 1st time i owned a camera... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by littleprawn: Oct 14 2010, 03:02 PM
-kytz-
post Oct 14 2010, 05:34 PM

12,573 posts

Haha like unker ian said, those are "fake bokeh" which can only be achieved when you're doing macro shots.

Try shooting your subject 2 metres away,see got blur background or not biggrin.gif

Perhaps you should look at the real DSLR bokeh shots brows.gif

sniper on the roof
post Oct 14 2010, 05:54 PM

23,414 posts

Can bokeh.. just stick the camera right 10cm infront of the subject face and make sure there's nothing in the background for the next couple hundred meters.. sure bokeh bokeh wan tongue.gif
littleprawn
post Oct 14 2010, 06:02 PM

~Still Learning~
1,148 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Oct 14 2010, 05:54 PM)
Can bokeh.. just stick the camera right 10cm infront of the subject face and make sure there's nothing in the background for the next couple hundred meters.. sure bokeh bokeh wan tongue.gif
sifu sniper, with ur skill and s90 can u take bokeh pic??? smile.gif
teach me, teach me...
sniper on the roof
post Oct 14 2010, 06:34 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(littleprawn @ Oct 14 2010, 06:02 PM)
sifu sniper, with ur skill and s90 can u take bokeh pic???  smile.gif
teach me, teach me...
It's rule of optic... just need to understand what is dof.

You got background blur because you're very very near the focal point... read more here.

http://www.cambridgeincolour.com/tutorials...th-of-field.htm

In short, let's say in the most advantageous scenario for a compact like LX5... shooting at f2.... widest focal length...shoot a lenglui at 1 meter away.

Everything ~85cm behind the lenglui.. whether its an aunty or uncle or ppl digging nose also will be sharp focus.

For a APS-C dslr.. under the same condition.. the dof will be around 33cm and a full frame kingkong camera.. it'll be narrower to 22cm.

This post has been edited by sniper on the roof: Oct 14 2010, 06:36 PM
ianho
post Oct 14 2010, 06:38 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

I think LX5 best is to try n use 90mm for portrait since now it goes to 90 instead of 60mm like the old LX3. 90mm shud give just a touch of background softness. I wouldn't go as far as to call it bokeh shot though. Hehe
littleprawn
post Oct 14 2010, 09:13 PM

~Still Learning~
1,148 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Oct 14 2010, 05:34 PM)
Haha like unker ian said, those are "fake bokeh" which can only be achieved when you're doing macro shots.

Try shooting your subject 2 metres away,see got blur background or not biggrin.gif

Perhaps you should look at the real DSLR bokeh shots brows.gif
next time i try "fake bokeh" without macro... icon_rolleyes.gif
dslr de bokeh i c many times in the gallery jor...
of coz dlsr own compact lor... whistling.gif
btw, u're a lx3 user rite? hmm.gif

Added on October 14, 2010, 9:18 pm
QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Oct 14 2010, 06:34 PM)
It's rule of optic... just need to understand what is dof.

You got background blur because you're very very near the focal point... read more here.

http://www.cambridgeincolour.com/tutorials...th-of-field.htm

In short, let's say in the most advantageous scenario for a compact like LX5... shooting at f2.... widest focal length...shoot a lenglui at 1 meter away.

Everything ~85cm behind the lenglui.. whether its an aunty or uncle or ppl digging nose also will be sharp focus.

For a APS-C dslr.. under the same condition.. the dof will be around 33cm and a full frame kingkong camera.. it'll be narrower to 22cm.
thanks sniper sifu for the tips and link... rclxms.gif
will try and understand more... flex.gif

Added on October 14, 2010, 9:22 pm
QUOTE(ianho @ Oct 14 2010, 06:38 PM)
I think LX5 best is to try n use 90mm for portrait since now it goes to 90 instead of 60mm like the old LX3. 90mm shud give just a touch of background softness. I wouldn't go as far as to call it bokeh shot though. Hehe
thanks uncle ian for the portrait tips... rclxms.gif
lets juz called it "blur background" shot next time... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by littleprawn: Oct 14 2010, 09:22 PM
sniper on the roof
post Oct 14 2010, 09:35 PM

23,414 posts

Shallow dof is nice lar but it gets old after a while especially when wanna get more things in focus w/o sacrificing shutter speed doh.gif
ianho
post Oct 14 2010, 09:48 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Oct 14 2010, 09:35 PM)
Shallow dof is nice lar but it gets old after a while especially when wanna get more things in focus w/o sacrificing shutter speed  doh.gif
Bokeh where can get old n boring 1? More is GOOD. brows.gif What gets old is our wallet n bank account when we want more n more n more bokeh. By the time we reach f1.0 aperture our wallet is really old n near death oredi. laugh.gif

U want speed n everything sharp then use fast compact like LX5 or ur S90 lor.
yinyum
post Oct 14 2010, 11:22 PM

357 posts

TS! Count me in the 1st post! I just bought my new toy (white)! hhehehe tongue.gif

Bought from Funan Digital Mall, SG at $700... I think the price is a bit high, but i'm anxious to get it so just close one eye tongue.gif

Added on October 14, 2010, 11:27 pmBtw, the shop gave me SanDisk Memory Card 8GB Class 4... I asked for Panasonic ones but the boss said the bundle memang doesn't come with Panasonic Memory Card sad.gif

The shop is selling authentic Panasonic Leather Case for only $100, it's cheaper than buy online right?

This post has been edited by yinyum: Oct 14 2010, 11:28 PM
littleprawn
post Oct 14 2010, 11:27 PM

~Still Learning~
1,148 posts

QUOTE(yinyum @ Oct 14 2010, 11:22 PM)
TS! Count me in the 1st post! I just bought my new toy! hhehehe tongue.gif

Bought from Funan Digital Mall, SG at $700... I think the price is a bit high, but i'm anxious to get it so just close one eye tongue.gif
Gratz yinyum~~~ rclxms.gif
Welcome to the club... rclxm9.gif

Btw, what's your toy color? brows.gif
yinyum
post Oct 14 2010, 11:29 PM

357 posts

QUOTE(littleprawn @ Oct 14 2010, 11:27 PM)
Gratz yinyum~~~  rclxms.gif
Welcome to the club...  rclxm9.gif

Btw, what's your toy color?  brows.gif
It's white color biggrin.gif I was struggling so hard in the shop consider to buy black or white. The boss kept saying Black color is nice, all the staff also choose Black, even my cousin also said Black is nice & looks retro... But I really wanna get White color, even though the color will become yellowish overtime.. tongue.gif
-kytz-
post Oct 14 2010, 11:30 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(yinyum @ Oct 14 2010, 11:22 PM)
TS! Count me in the 1st post! I just bought my new toy (white)! hhehehe tongue.gif

Added on October 14, 2010, 11:27 pmBtw, the shop gave me SanDisk Memory Card 8GB Class 4... I asked for Panasonic ones but the boss said the bundle memang doesn't come with Panasonic Memory Card sad.gif

The shop is selling authentic Panasonic Leather Case for only $100, it's cheaper than buy online right?
For me i wouldn't spend on the casing that much, just get a generic leather casing would be sufficient like these ones

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&hl=LX3+leather

Or better still, save up for a flashgun.Good for portraiture and night shots brows.gif

littleprawn
post Oct 14 2010, 11:37 PM

~Still Learning~
1,148 posts

QUOTE(yinyum @ Oct 14 2010, 11:29 PM)
It's white color  biggrin.gif  I was struggling so hard in the shop consider to buy black or white. The boss kept saying Black color is nice, all the staff also choose Black, even my cousin also said Black is nice & looks retro... But I really wanna get White color, even though the color will become yellowish overtime.. tongue.gif
Haha they wanna brainwash u izzit... tongue.gif
Think the color wont so easily turn yellow thou... hmm.gif

Dont 4get to spam some pics here using your toy... icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on October 14, 2010, 11:39 pm
QUOTE(-kytz- @ Oct 14 2010, 11:30 PM)
For me i wouldn't spend on the casing that much, just get a generic leather casing would be sufficient like these ones

Or better still, save up for a flashgun.Good for portraiture and night shots brows.gif
Only the 3rd link got offer lx5 casing...
if the casing is the same size as lx3 then cant fit coz lx5 bigger... doh.gif

This post has been edited by littleprawn: Oct 14 2010, 11:39 PM
yinyum
post Oct 14 2010, 11:39 PM

357 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Oct 14 2010, 11:30 PM)

Thanks for sharing these threads! Those are imitates right? The Lumix case given free is really ugly & so bulky doh.gif

Added on October 14, 2010, 11:41 pm
QUOTE(littleprawn @ Oct 14 2010, 11:37 PM)
Haha they wanna brainwash u izzit...  tongue.gif
Think the color wont so easily turn yellow thou...  hmm.gif

Dont 4get to spam some pics here using your toy...  icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on October 14, 2010, 11:39 pm
Only the 3rd link got offer lx5 casing...
if the casing is the same size as lx3 then cant fit coz lx5 bigger...  doh.gif
I think the white color will really turn yellowish overtime.. But nvm lor, I alrdy bought tongue.gif And my cousin said by the time the camera turn yellowish, I'll be buying new camera alrdy... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by yinyum: Oct 14 2010, 11:41 PM
littleprawn
post Oct 14 2010, 11:44 PM

~Still Learning~
1,148 posts

QUOTE(yinyum @ Oct 14 2010, 11:39 PM)
Thanks for sharing these threads! Those are imitates right? The Lumix case given free is really ugly & so bulky  doh.gif

Added on October 14, 2010, 11:41 pm
I think the white color will really turn yellowish overtime.. But nvm lor, I alrdy bought tongue.gif And my cousin said by the time the camera turn yellowish, I'll be buying new camera alrdy...  tongue.gif
yes agree... maybe upgrade to DSLR dy... rclxms.gif
yinyum
post Oct 14 2010, 11:50 PM

357 posts

Here are some pics I taken on the way back home just now.. Too excited with my new toy! rclxm9.gif

Can see Marina Bay Sands hotel? LOL

At Clarke Quay

drool.gif drool.gif

Picture in Pin Hole mode (Like this effect so much!)

Sorry for the pic size, I just copied the image address from my FB tongue.gif

This post has been edited by yinyum: Oct 14 2010, 11:51 PM
littleprawn
post Oct 14 2010, 11:55 PM

~Still Learning~
1,148 posts

Whoa!!! Love the 1st and 3rd pic... rclxms.gif
Very nice night shot...
Btw, what mode u using to take the pic...?

Picture size is ok ... not like mine so big like giant... doh.gif

yinyum
post Oct 14 2010, 11:59 PM

357 posts

QUOTE(littleprawn @ Oct 14 2010, 11:55 PM)

Whoa!!!  Love the 1st and 3rd pic...  rclxms.gif
Very nice night shot...
Btw, what mode u using to take the pic...?

Picture size is ok ... not like mine so big like giant...  doh.gif
I used P mode, for lazy ppl like me, don't need to adjust setting. blush.gif

129 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Top

0.0193sec    0.88    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 05:03 AM