Renovations Bad Experience with renovation contractor :(

TSskinny
post Jul 20 2010, 03:03 PM, updated 16y ago

211 posts

Hi guys, beware of this Y & H renovation. At first he came over to see my new house and give us the quotation. After discussed and finally we decided to choose him. Before he start work he requested us to bank in RM2k for buying materials and will delivered the next day... So we thought ok but he didn't turn up. We called him and he told us the weather is not good and promised to come the next day. But he didn't turn up the next day again and again for the whole week. He keep giving some stupid excuses and we waited till today and give him final warning. At last he bank in back the money to us and never said sorry. This guy got some post in lowyat too and guys.. dun waste your time with him.
airline
post Jul 20 2010, 03:04 PM

7 stars
7,923 posts

got many. for kitchen kabinet- i heard got a few cases too
TSskinny
post Jul 20 2010, 03:06 PM

211 posts

really? can give contractor name?? should black listed them
faceless
post Jul 20 2010, 03:08 PM

Straight Mouth is Big Word
4,515 posts

At least you got your money back.
TSskinny
post Jul 20 2010, 03:10 PM

211 posts

ya,.. lucky me sad.gif
norman05051984
post Jul 20 2010, 03:20 PM

443 posts

next time request a contract to be sign between both of you. if don't, find other contractor. 2K of deposit is too much for 'cakap cakap' agreement. it must be done in black & white.

Lucky u he refunded u back.other just senyap only.gone with the wind..and your money
TSskinny
post Jul 20 2010, 03:32 PM

211 posts

yaya... no more next time lo. Started from now on, all black and white and start work only pay
harrychoo
post Jul 20 2010, 03:36 PM

3,589 posts

what his username in LYN?
faceless
post Jul 20 2010, 03:44 PM

Straight Mouth is Big Word
4,515 posts

QUOTE(skinny @ Jul 20 2010, 03:32 PM)
yaya... no more next time lo. Started from now on, all black and white and start work only pay
Even a simple quotation and your signature on the quotation is sufficient for paperwork. After this incident you should check if the company exist for you to sue.
TSskinny
post Jul 20 2010, 03:44 PM

211 posts

his name is chua

This post has been edited by skinny: Jul 20 2010, 05:46 PM
GangHo
post Jul 20 2010, 06:19 PM

1,080 posts

QUOTE(skinny @ Jul 20 2010, 04:03 PM)
Hi guys, beware of this Y & H renovation. At first he came over to see my new house and give us the quotation. After discussed and finally we decided to choose him. Before he start work he requested us to bank in RM2k for buying materials and will delivered the next day... So we thought ok but he didn't turn up. We called him and he told us the weather is not good and promised to come the next day. But he didn't turn up the next day again and again for the whole week. He keep giving some stupid excuses and we waited till today and give him final warning. At last he bank in back the money to us and never said sorry. This guy got some post in lowyat too and  guys.. dun waste your time with him.
Any quantity surveyor in the house? Could we ask for performance guarantee for small project? Anyone has done it before?
AzimAdhwa
post Jul 20 2010, 11:24 PM

84 posts

FOR RENOVATION CONTRACTOR...NO CHEAT2 PLEASE..BAD EFFECT FOR OTHERS CONTRACTOR INCLUDING ME...hope the owners get some advice or smart preparation before doing renovation smile.gif
zheilwane
post Jul 21 2010, 12:06 AM

4,184 posts

sometimes it is like this. Some contractors will simply quote in order to get the job. Once they get the job and realize the profit is too low, they tend to delay your job and do slowly especially if you reduce their price and fuss a lot. Some of them do halfway den abandon the renovation. So, get a reliable contractor instead of cheap and treat your contractors good. Heard many of these cases d.

This post has been edited by zheilwane: Jul 21 2010, 12:06 AM
sweetnovember
post Jul 21 2010, 09:04 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(zheilwane @ Jul 21 2010, 12:06 AM)
sometimes it is like this. Some contractors will simply quote in order to get the job. Once they get the job and realize the profit is too low, they tend to delay your job and do slowly especially if you reduce their price and fuss a lot. Some of them do halfway den abandon the renovation. So, get a reliable contractor instead of cheap and treat your contractors good. Heard many of these cases d.
one question, should we nego the price with contractors? hmm... i think to us we also wish to have better price, best is to get win win situation for both...
edyek
post Jul 21 2010, 09:28 AM

Business Rating :
3,820 posts

QUOTE(GangHo @ Jul 20 2010, 06:19 PM)
Any quantity surveyor in the house? Could we ask for performance guarantee for small project? Anyone has done it before?
Small project people don't tend to put performance bond. Just retain the contractor 5% of the total contract sum after they finish they works. After the defects liability period (which you and the contractor agree with each other), then release the last 5% to them.

QUOTE(zheilwane @ Jul 21 2010, 12:06 AM)
That is why one should get more quotation to compare the price. To access whether the work is under quote or over quote.

QUOTE(sweetnovember @ Jul 21 2010, 09:04 AM)
one question, should we nego the price with contractors? hmm... i think to us we also wish to have better price, best is to get win win situation for both...
Why not? It is your money. You have the right to negotiate with them. Just be reasonable on the price negotiated. That is why you need several quotation before you can set a price range for you to nego with your contractor.
eclectice
post Jul 21 2010, 09:29 AM

2,734 posts

You need to be proactive by studying the prices of the materials required in your renovation from the market, estimate the possible range of prices and tally them with the quotations from the renovators and try to find the leverage.

If the quotations look fuzzy, indirect or not clear, then you can possibly guess that the renovators are also not clear with the specs or they are trying to play around with you with the pricing.
sonerin
post Jul 21 2010, 09:48 AM

8,739 posts

Is better to have seen the work of the contractor or at least know the contractor background before commit any money for renovation. There are lots of contractor that cannot be trusted.
AzimAdhwa
post Jul 21 2010, 10:10 PM

84 posts

yes agree...
zheilwane
post Jul 21 2010, 10:41 PM

4,184 posts

ofcoz need to nego price but don nego til too ridiculous. Just get a fair price and don under pay them because they will reduce the material quality.
Eg: U ask 4-5 contractors to quote den u say that contractor quoted me RM 10k while he quoted u RM 15k. Den after agreeing the amount, later u press again say this say that den wan 2 reduce another rm 2k. The contractor will get pissed off. Some will finish the job for you den put some cement inside your toilet bowl pipe or something else and give u headache.

This post has been edited by zheilwane: Jul 21 2010, 10:43 PM
churekie
post Jul 9 2011, 10:59 AM

65 posts

should have seen your post earlier, this Chua is terrible, collected my money for lets say 5 phases, and done work for only 2 phases, then say company got problem la, weather not good la! MOST TERRIBLE contractor i've ever met http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1420492
ozak
post Jul 9 2011, 11:26 AM

17,019 posts

So your renovation half finish now?
maxim concept
post Jul 9 2011, 12:11 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(skinny @ Jul 20 2010, 03:03 PM)
Hi guys, beware of this Y & H renovation. At first he came over to see my new house and give us the quotation. After discussed and finally we decided to choose him. Before he start work he requested us to bank in RM2k for buying materials and will delivered the next day... So we thought ok but he didn't turn up. We called him and he told us the weather is not good and promised to come the next day. But he didn't turn up the next day again and again for the whole week. He keep giving some stupid excuses and we waited till today and give him final warning. At last he bank in back the money to us and never said sorry. This guy got some post in lowyat too and  guys.. dun waste your time with him.
To all contractors out there, please be honest and truthful to everyone and not hanky panky with them. You are really spoiling the market and give bad name all around!
periwater
post Jul 9 2011, 01:20 PM

324 posts

Is it the same Chua in LYN (016 3XX 8280)? Had an bad encounter with him as well.

When I was sourcing for contractors, got his contact from the forum and appt was set to met up. However he didn't turn up, didn't answer his phone, made me waited for 2 hours!

The next day, he called back to apologize and gave excuses, blah, blah.. want to meet up again for quotation. But once is enough, he is irresponsible and can't be trusted, so I turned him down.

Few days later, he called again and harassed me for an appointment. He promised to give me 50% discount on my wet works. I just told him politely that with this attractive offer, he will get plenty of business and don't waste his precious time on small job like mine.

Then he got the message and never call again.
weikee
post Jul 9 2011, 01:52 PM

12,019 posts

Still dare to do business here. Very thick skin, and don't understand the power of internet.
leeyung
post Jul 10 2011, 11:47 AM

1st LYN Pioneer Genuine Marimo Seller
885 posts

QUOTE(skinny @ Jul 20 2010, 03:03 PM)
Luckily u still managed to get back your money. I just engaged a contractor called Chua too, but luckily is a different Chua, as I am from Melaka smile.gif

kelvyn
post Jul 10 2011, 12:14 PM

3,173 posts

I suggest that we put up the name, contact no. plus photo (if possible) of these bad contractors. So that everyone will know.

Sometimes they will change their mobile to avoid... So photo will help
leeyung
post Jul 10 2011, 01:40 PM

1st LYN Pioneer Genuine Marimo Seller
885 posts

QUOTE(kelvyn @ Jul 10 2011, 12:14 PM)
I suggest that we put up the name, contact no. plus photo (if possible) of these bad contractors. So that everyone will know.

Sometimes they will change their mobile to avoid... So photo will help
yes, I agree with this.. this surely will help to prevent other people from cheated by the same person again
nameless_angel
post Jul 10 2011, 04:15 PM

97 posts

So bad luck u are met this kind of ppl. ish...
rikiraikonnen
post Jul 12 2011, 04:35 PM

35 posts

This one contractor I dunno where he got my number from, I suspect he got it from the developer staff because we need to inform the developer if we want to do renovation. He called and offer his service to do renovation for my house. Later he came to see the house and gave me the quotation. After 2 days he keeps on calling asking when he can start. I told him I'm getting quotation from other people too and want to compare. Later he called again and start telling that all the contractors especially the one that is doing renovation in my housing area cannot be trusted, their works are shoddy bla bla... he also said that he already spend his time on me for the quotation so I should give him the project. Instead of being convincing, he actually give me creeps.. I choose someone else..
kelvyn
post Jul 12 2011, 04:41 PM

3,173 posts

QUOTE(rikiraikonnen @ Jul 12 2011, 05:35 PM)
This one contractor I dunno where he got my number from, I suspect he got it from the developer staff because we need to inform the developer if we want to do renovation.  He called and offer his service to do renovation for my house.  Later he came to see the house and gave me the quotation.  After 2 days he keeps on calling asking when he can start.  I told him I'm getting quotation from other people too and want to compare.  Later he called again and start telling that all the contractors especially the one that is doing renovation in my housing area cannot be trusted, their works are shoddy bla bla... he also said that he already spend his time on me for the quotation so I should give him the project.  Instead of being convincing, he actually give me creeps.. I choose someone else..
Intimidation.
Sometimes for new housing and condo, you will have these scum bags around. This also has something to do with the developer's people.
SUSsakura888
post Jul 17 2011, 03:28 AM

207 posts

QUOTE(zheilwane @ Jul 21 2010, 11:41 PM)
ofcoz need to nego price but don nego til too ridiculous. Just get a fair price and don under pay them because they will reduce the material quality.
Eg: U ask 4-5 contractors to quote den u say that contractor quoted me RM 10k while he quoted u RM 15k. Den after agreeing the amount, later u press again say this say that den wan 2 reduce another rm 2k. The contractor will get pissed off. Some will finish the job for you den put some cement inside your toilet bowl pipe or something else and give u headache.
well, if they do that, then they are stupid and dont think for long term business....i guess bad mouth ppl are getting easier to spread these days...
cillecheah
post Jul 17 2011, 09:45 AM

i never seems to be able to find a good contractor, sigh. anyway i have started a tread on who who the bad contractor and details. maybe you guys got your own experiences to share
maxim concept
post Jul 17 2011, 02:13 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(cillecheah @ Jul 17 2011, 09:45 AM)
i never seems to be able to find a good contractor, sigh. anyway i have started a tread on who who the bad contractor and details. maybe you guys got your own experiences to share
I think the next time when you approach a contractor, try ask for their background (Industrial background, not just learn from any 'sifu' and that's it...chinaman contractor) compare their price and make a decision. It will be a lot more helpful.
tiensong
post Jul 18 2011, 09:34 AM

2,237 posts

Should open a blacklist contractors post...to gather all the information of bad contractors to avoid....
maxim concept
post Jul 18 2011, 11:06 AM

56 posts

QUOTE(churekie @ Jul 9 2011, 10:59 AM)
should have seen your post earlier, this Chua is terrible, collected my money for lets say 5 phases, and done work for only 2 phases, then say company got problem la, weather not good la! MOST TERRIBLE contractor i've ever met http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1420492
Feel so sad and sorry that there is such person out there still short changing other honest living ppl.
aeries
post Jan 4 2012, 09:34 PM

Dear All,

Recently I have been having a terrible experience working with one contractor call - Ananth from Hygeia Rising Tech address PUJ 5 in Puncak Jalil.

Please do not use his service for whatever purposes as he has cheated my money and didnt do the work he suppose to be delivering. The house was left 1 month and the work he been promising me everyday for completion is only completed 20%.

I have then engaged other contractor with very reasonable price. and really good hard working people. I truly feel I need to share this experience as I do not wish anyone will fall into the trap of bad /con contractor. If you needed help to reno your house, do IM me and I will send u the contact of the contractor I have engaged.The house has been completed after 3 days I engaged the new contractor.

For those who wish to refurbish their home, feel free to contact me, i will pass you the detail of the person who completed my house. Thanks
forum123
post Jan 5 2012, 06:07 PM

hi, I am new in this forum....but i really have bad experience with a contractor name XXXX roof repair and plumbing services. i believe they are from big group of company...coz sometime i saw their advertisement card will show different name at front and follow by roof repair and plumbing services. Anyone heard abt it...they normally distribute the card to our house.
aeries
post Jan 5 2012, 07:24 PM

QUOTE(forum123 @ Jan 5 2012, 06:07 PM)
hi, I am new in this forum....but i really have bad experience with a contractor name XXXX roof repair and plumbing services. i believe they are from big group of company...coz sometime i saw their advertisement card will show different name at front and follow by roof repair and plumbing services. Anyone heard abt it...they normally distribute the card to our house.
can you share their names? its for public awareness
tx.
forum123
post Jan 6 2012, 10:23 AM

the one dat i kena named SengHuat roof repair and plumbing services,the other card i cant remember...their supervisor very problem...until now my home renovation yet to finish,almost 3mths.anyone know what group company ?
northface
post Jan 6 2012, 11:41 AM

359 posts

If got bad contractor, then put the name out and best if attached with their phone number.
Why some of you love to mask your names with XXXX?? What's the point of even sharing bad contractors if you put names with XXX?

Example:
"I contracted this very bad contractor called Ah XXXXX, his company name is called "XXXX renovation sdn. bhd", midway through the project collected more money than work done then lari never see him again.

See what's the point of posting if it's something like this? tongue.gif
zzzxtreme
post Jan 6 2012, 12:10 PM

Synth Freak
4,300 posts

in 19XX, I've had bad experience with ZZZ on the issue of ABC. ZZZ's number is YYY. It _____ when It should be _______
bestsane
post Jun 27 2012, 11:45 AM

55 posts

I would like to share my bad experience with this contractor recommended in this forum, named David Chow Yong Ee, from BELLWAY HOMES, based in Jalan PU 2/5, Puchong, Selangor. First of all, I'm not blaming you (if you are a real customer of his). Maybe he did a good job on you, but in my case, if anybody who reads this wants me to sum up him in one word, it would be IRRESPONSIBLE. I'm not being ill-hated or malicious by writing this statement, I'm just using my consumer power to stop irresponsible, reckless, unreliable and bogus contractor from having a place in our world.

So, let me tell a real, true story, experienced first hand by myself as an owner of my house and as his customer.

I just moved into a 20x60 house. Not that big. I wanted all my parquets in my house to be replaced with tiles. So I called him up some time in April 2012, and the rate he agreed to give me was RM4.50/sqft. Based on 557 sqft, the charge was RM2,500. On top of that, I would like the floor tiles of my 2 bathrooms (much less than 200 sqft) to be replaced with new tiles. The charge was RM1,600, inclusive of installation of water basin and toilet bowl. All the charges include workmanship, but excluding tiles, water basin and toilet bowl, which I wanted to buy on my own.

Before his guys started working, he (David Chow) told me that the work could be finished in 1 week. Of course I don't trust any word from a person I barely know, so I predicted it could be in between 7-8 days to complete. The work was done by two (2) Indonesians from Jawa Timur, not David. I suspected they are just 19 or 20 or even younger. The work was done every day by those 2 guys, except 2 or 3 days when only 1 worker (named Amin from Sulawesi) did the job. The reason was the 2 guys who were supposed to do the job were not fed by their employers. I was told by them sometimes they were not even paid. So I believe they retaliated by not coming to work. Fortunately I didn't just sit there and let them starve. How do you expect 2 guys not properly taken care of do their work?

After 8 days passed by, the work was still not completed. I called up this David guy every day, and every time we engaged in a conversation, he assured me that the work can be completed today. Today and today and today for the next 4 days. Obviously this young guy didn't know what he was talking about. The work was completed on the 13th day.

Regarding the quality of the work, I would rate 5 in a scale of 1 to 10. After the work was completed, they were still small holes between two tiles. So I asked them to put cement (or whatever it is called). OK, the job was done. But now, the holes seem to reappear again. So I guess the workmanship is not that good, flawed to its best. Not to mention that now they are hairline cracks on the skirting of the wall that they put up.

The most pathetic part is this. After installing the toilet bowl, the water flow to the manhole seemed to be clogged. So the Amin guy took it out, scooped the things he could find in the pipe with his bare hands and found some algae, and re-install the toilet bowl again. It seemed it was OK after several flushings. About less than a month later, the toilet bowl began to clogged up again. Water can be seen exiting through the base of the bowl (the one that connects the bowl and the floor) when it was flushed. Water also rose up when it was flushed. I suspected it was clogged again. Note that the toilet is a guest toilet, which was rarely used. So no toilet paper or anything similar get disposed of into the bowl. So, I called up this David guy. To my surprise, HE REFUSED TO LOOK INTO IT because the Amin guy had de-clogged the toilet before. OK, fine, at that moment I promised that I will do everything in my power to tell the world what kind of a contractor he really is.

Then, I called up my old contractor who renovated my house previously. He came eventually, and looked into that. He took out the bowl, used his designated pole (not with his bare hands) to check whether it is clogged or not. IT WASN'T CLOGGED. The reason why water came out through the base of the bowl is there was not enough mixture of cement put at the base of the bowl. In other words, IT WAS THIS DAVID'S DOING ALL ALONG. Now the toilet is doing just fine.

So, a very valuable lesson learned. My advice is don't ever ever appoint a young, inexperience young contractor like David Chow Yong Ee. I don't think he has ever done any hands-on work related to construction. He only came to my house 2-3 times in about 30 minutes each time to supervise his workers, whereas my previous contractor, Mr. Tan did the work himself with his workers. If you want Mr. Tan's contact number, please PM me.
addisontan
post Jul 11 2012, 02:16 PM

You may contact this person to get a free quotation and consultation as he done my house reno previously and also offers a very gud price.
Mr Tan 016-231.1116
e:swiberg.info@gmail.com
ginming
post Jul 11 2012, 05:21 PM

23 posts

hi All, am planing to do my house renovation as well. From time to time am reading this forum, i have actually compiled the bad contractor's names as below. That are topics that i have read through, but of coz a lot topic i haven read yet. These are what i have compiled but not all.

David Chow Yong Ee, from BELLWAY HOMES, based in Jalan PU 2/5, Puchong, Selangor

Fong Wai Yip from Fong Brother Design & Renovation. His number is 010-339 9934 & 017-222 7144 from Tmn Sri Ampang.

HOUZ DEPOT

Toh (Ah Meng)

Zakaria from Puchong HP 0123537084

Y & H renovation - Chua

Ananth from Hygeia Rising Tech address PUJ 5 in Puncak Jalil

SengHuat roof repair and plumbing services

ong1987
post Jul 11 2012, 09:33 PM

116 posts

i got my bad experienced with this contractor as well Meng FXX Renovation.....He superb superb cheap and drag me in trouble for delay moving in! Call him no answer, finally i urge him out from my u nit and blacklisted in my condo!
Astarguy
post Jul 12 2012, 12:26 PM

46 posts

From the cases above i would sum up that when u pay cheap u get cheap workmanship from any contractor. So any renovation works should be reasonably priced. If you wanna renovate your house please get at least 5 quotation from the contractor and study them carefully. The more detail the quotation is the more you know about that contractor.
xerox1234
post Jul 12 2012, 05:17 PM

334 posts

QUOTE(Astarguy @ Jul 12 2012, 12:26 PM)
From the cases above i would sum up that when u pay cheap u get cheap workmanship from any contractor. So any renovation works should be reasonably priced. If you wanna renovate your house please get at least 5 quotation from the contractor and study them carefully. The more detail the quotation is the more you know about that contractor.
This is not right. The price is the market price and reasonable but still the contractor run away, delay the job with lame excuses and so on. I can said 90% of them have the same behavior.... They cant take so much work at the same time but they afraid no work for them. In the end, problem occur ... delay work, empty promises ...
khieni
post Jul 12 2012, 05:46 PM

290 posts

QUOTE(xerox1234 @ Jul 12 2012, 05:17 PM)
This is not right. The price is the market price and reasonable but still the contractor run away, delay the job with lame excuses and so on. I can said 90% of them have the same behavior.... They cant take so much work at the same time but they afraid no work for them. In the end, problem occur ... delay work, empty promises ...
after reading so many bad experiences....currently i m doing renovation at my house,hopefully mine is ok...
tomjason
post Jul 13 2012, 10:25 AM

866 posts

QUOTE(xerox1234 @ Jul 12 2012, 05:17 PM)
yes you are right....90% of them are the same...they all tamak...all project they want at the end cannot finish...i know one genuine contractor....building my neighbour house big house Rm400K++..and i found out the contractor is my friend friend..he is very good...he is not tamak cause he is religous man...he only take on job only at one time.....after finish this job..later move on to other job...everyday he is at side and most of the time he also work with his worker..he will at site from 8-5 pm...i always keep his number..in case someone one to do reno...nearly every saturday i go there chat with him....beside with my experice on my reno house..i also learn a lot from him..thank to him...he is genuine contractor....
VoteForPedro
post Jul 13 2012, 10:55 AM

QUOTE(tomjason @ Jul 13 2012, 10:25 AM)
yes you are right....90% of them are the same...they all tamak...all project they want at the end cannot finish...i know one genuine contractor....building my neighbour house big house Rm400K++..and i found out the contractor is my friend friend..he is very good...he is not tamak cause he is religous man...he only take on job only at one time.....after finish this job..later move on to other job...everyday he is at side and most of the time he also work with his worker..he will at site from 8-5 pm...i always keep his number..in case someone one to do reno...nearly every saturday i go there chat with him....beside with my experice on my reno house..i also learn a lot from him..thank to him...he is genuine contractor....
appreciate if u can PM me the contractor's number. thanks..

silversuave
post Jul 13 2012, 10:57 AM

67 posts

Can you pm me the contractor number please? I'm having trouble finding a genuine contractor as well. So far met with 6 contractors, all prices macam escalated and none provided detailed quotation
Thank you bro
xerox1234
post Jul 13 2012, 10:58 AM

334 posts

My contractor really ran away and his brother promise to continue the work for him, heard his brother is a responsible person but in the end same case, ignore my call, not willing to pick up my call. Now I have to engage the indon workers to finish my work. I am thinking to give flyer to all the residents at his new site. Hopefully they are aware of these Liar contractor.

Note: I got the info from one the glass supplier about his new project.

tomjason
post Jul 13 2012, 11:23 AM

866 posts

QUOTE(xerox1234 @ Jul 13 2012, 10:58 AM)
My contractor really ran away and his brother promise to continue the work for him, heard his brother is a responsible person but in the end same case, ignore my call, not willing to pick up my call. Now I have to engage the indon workers to finish my work. I am thinking to give flyer to all the residents at his new site. Hopefully they are aware of these Liar contractor.

yaa...about your contractor his brither must be the same cause from the same family...difficult to find genuine contractors nowadays..everybody claim he is contractor but sometime cangkul pun never pegang and tamak somemore...

to story more about this genuine contractor that i telling before that building my new soon to be neighbour...he is 'tabligh' fellow (in malay he consider religious man)...he DO NOT own mercedes nor big 4 wheel drive ..he just use normal car...my newly soon to be neigbour is consider cerewet fellow and consider sombong cause never tegur me..he think he rich.....change there change there when reno but do want tambah harga..but this contractor very sabar...at the end of the day..this contractor told me after 99% completed....he told me he rugi with my neighbour....just cukup makan aje...but he never ran away..he slowly negotiate with the my neighbour to top sikit for him to finish job... at last my soon to be neighbour gave him about RM15K out of total RM400 ++....susah mau cari this kind good of contractor.... i learn a lot from him...to add on ...he also learn a lot from me smile.gif ....for matter that he do no know cause i like to do research on reno...his name is Joha. Previously i advised Joha..he will rugi the way the owner style to change here and there...he told me..he pity the owner..... He use all approved material such all BS steel etc...if i got time i will post my neighbour house so so big double 1/2 storey bungalow for only if i can remember from Joha cost RM397 +RM15 = RM412 K.
i don t believe such big house cost RM412K only.

who want that contractor number just PM me.

to story more..i regret do not take him as my contractor...he did my neighbour house 2 months earlier from my house...i also ask his quotation for my house...and at last did big mistake to hire the con contractor Zakaria.

TQ

This post has been edited by tomjason: Jul 13 2012, 12:09 PM
xerox1234
post Jul 13 2012, 01:31 PM

334 posts

QUOTE(tomjason @ Jul 13 2012, 11:23 AM)
yaa...about your contractor his brither must be the same cause from the same family...difficult to find genuine contractors nowadays..everybody claim he is contractor but sometime cangkul pun never pegang and tamak somemore...
to story more about this genuine contractor that i telling before that building my new soon to be neighbour...he is 'tabligh' fellow (in malay he consider religious man)...he DO NOT own mercedes nor big 4 wheel drive ..he just use normal car...my newly soon to be neigbour is consider cerewet fellow and consider sombong cause never tegur me..he think he rich.....change there change there when reno but do want tambah harga..but this contractor very sabar...at the end of the day..this contractor told me after 99% completed....he told me he rugi with my neighbour....just cukup makan aje...but he never ran away..he slowly negotiate with the my neighbour to top sikit for him to finish job... at last my soon to be neighbour gave him about RM15K out of total RM400 ++....susah mau cari this kind good of contractor.... i learn a lot from him...to add on ...he also learn a lot from me  smile.gif ....for matter that he do no know cause i like to do research on reno...his name is Joha. Previously i advised Joha..he will rugi the way the owner style to change here and there...he told me..he pity the owner..... He use all approved material such all BS steel etc...if i got time i will post my neighbour house so so big double 1/2 storey bungalow for only if i can remember from Joha cost RM397 +RM15 = RM412 K.

to story more..i regret do not take him as my contractor...he did my neighbour house 2 months earlier from my house...i also ask his quotation for my house...and at last did big mistake to hire the con contractor Zakaria.
TQ
Bro, might to provide me Joha contact?
tomjason
post Jul 13 2012, 02:48 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(xerox1234 @ Jul 13 2012, 01:31 PM)
Bro, might to provide me Joha contact?
Hi Bro,

I hardly recommend to house owner but you can call him dissussed..normally he will finish one job first then move to new job...i give you 2 number one is Joha another is Bibit (his is indon but already got PR, he used to be worker but now he is own contractor, he just finished built his own bungalow at sg buloh.. biggrin.gif ...fo Bibit he take all job simulatneously....)...i got a few numbers but now i give you 2 only..

1. Joha 0133681704
2. Bibit 0123126782

both are genuine cause he himself do the work.

This post has been edited by tomjason: Jul 13 2012, 02:59 PM
xerox1234
post Jul 13 2012, 03:01 PM

334 posts

QUOTE(tomjason @ Jul 13 2012, 02:48 PM)
Hi Bro,

I hardly recommend to house owner but you can call him dissussed..normally he will finish one job first then move to new job...i give you 2 number one is Joha another is Bibit (his is indon but already got PR, he used to be worker but now he is own contractor, he just finished built his own bungalow at sg buloh..  biggrin.gif ...fo Bibit he take all job simulatneously....)...i got a few numbers but now i give you 2 only..

1. Joha 0133681704
2. Bibit 0123126782

both are genuine cause he himself do the work.
Thanks bro, I just need someone that can help me to finish the remaining reno without headache.
tomjason
post Jul 13 2012, 03:07 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(xerox1234 @ Jul 13 2012, 03:01 PM)
Thanks bro, I just need someone that can help me to finish the remaining reno without headache.
how about the indon worker i gave you before..has you called him??

by the way bro.. forgot to mention the Bibit i gave you he normally refuse to sambung other contractor job cause he afraid that you previous contractor will serang him...but you can try call him...maybe he want...

bro,

do you notice or not..in this forum there are so many contractors or they claim they are contractors but i hardly/never see his work??..or i hardly/never see his personal advised???..or i hardly/never see they answer to house owner how they resolved the problem...??...i hardly/never see their tips...i hardly/never see his expertise.....i m very suspicious they are genuine or they just claim himself contractor but never pegang cangkul.... biggrin.gif...i rest my case.... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by tomjason: Jul 13 2012, 03:38 PM
ozak
post Jul 13 2012, 03:40 PM

17,019 posts

Yeah alot lately come and advetise than cabut.
tomjason
post Jul 13 2012, 04:10 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jul 13 2012, 03:40 PM)
Yeah alot lately come and advetise than cabut.
some more i have found out they used picture from internet claim his ID work and some one in the forum busted / reveal with the link...i cant remember the thread..
craftsnknots
post Jul 13 2012, 05:01 PM

577 posts

QUOTE(xerox1234 @ Jul 13 2012, 11:58 AM)

If you know whr his new project is, why dont you go there and look for him instead of just calling? Can also make a scene there haha

Added on July 13, 2012, 5:18 pm
QUOTE(tomjason @ Jul 13 2012, 04:07 PM)

by the way bro.. forgot to mention the Bibit i gave you he normally refuse to sambung other contractor job cause he afraid that you previous contractor will serang him...but you can try call him...maybe he want...
bro,

do you notice or not..in this forum there are so many contractors or they claim they are contractors but i hardly/never see his work??..or i hardly/never see his personal advised???..or i hardly/never see they answer to house owner how they resolved the problem...??...i hardly/never see their tips...i hardly/never see his expertise.....i m very suspicious they are genuine or they just claim himself contractor but never pegang cangkul.... biggrin.gif...i rest my case.... biggrin.gif
Come to think of this, it's true. They dont response to any technical question or any question regarding the work unless people ask for quotations, then they just reply 'PM-ed''PM-ed''PM-ed''PM-ed'

This post has been edited by craftsnknots: Jul 13 2012, 05:18 PM
xerox1234
post Jul 13 2012, 11:08 PM

334 posts

QUOTE(tomjason @ Jul 13 2012, 03:07 PM)

bro,

Long story bro. Already asked the contractor stop the work then he show up and continue the work, refuse to stop and return the key. Said he start the work must finish by him, else no more reputation bla bla bla .... I gave him last chance with his brother's promise (who I heard is a responsible person). After another payment again MIA ... I wont give chance anymore since his brother also refuse to pick up my call and decided t change the lock.

QUOTE(craftsnknots @ Jul 13 2012, 05:01 PM)
If you know whr his new project is, why dont you go there and look for him instead of just calling? Can also make a scene there haha

Since he refuse to pick up the call, what for to get him in person. I do not want to get in trouble with those rude person.
JamesPond
post Jul 15 2012, 01:01 PM

4,526 posts

to story more about this genuine contractor that i telling before that building my new soon to be neighbour...he is 'tabligh' fellow (in malay he consider religious man)...he DO NOT own mercedes nor big 4 wheel drive ..he just use normal car...my newly soon to be neigbour is consider cerewet fellow and consider sombong cause never tegur me..he think he rich.....change there change there when reno but do want tambah harga..but this contractor very sabar...at the end of the day..this contractor told me after 99% completed....he told me he rugi with my neighbour....just cukup makan aje...but he never ran away..he slowly negotiate with the my neighbour to top sikit for him to finish job... at last my soon to be neighbour gave him about RM15K out of total RM400 ++....susah mau cari this kind good of contractor.... i learn a lot from him...to add on ...he also learn a lot from me  smile.gif ....for matter that he do no know cause i like to do research on reno...his name is Joha. Previously i advised Joha..he will rugi the way the owner style to change here and there...he told me..he pity the owner..... He use all approved material such all BS steel etc...if i got time i will post my neighbour house so so big double 1/2 storey bungalow for only if i can remember from Joha cost RM397 +RM15 = RM412 K.

TQ
can share the picture?
one tips to get a genuine contractor, they must have an office based.

Do not hire those and only printed name card and handphone. Most of them are part timer and middle man that not doing anything.
In lowyat.net, there is a lot of this kind of people, not to mentioned about chinese, malay and indian.

I have wasted a lot of time here with some forumers claimed they are contractor and so eager about the work but end of the day, just kept quiet and totally waste of each other time.

tomjason
post Jul 16 2012, 11:15 AM

866 posts

QUOTE(JamesPond @ Jul 15 2012, 01:01 PM)
can share the picture?
one tips to get a genuine contractor, they must have an office based.

Do not hire those and only printed name card and handphone. Most of them are part timer and middle man that not doing anything.
In lowyat.net, there is a lot of this kind of people, not to mentioned about chinese, malay and indian.

I have wasted a lot of time here with some forumers claimed they are contractor and so eager about the work but end of the day, just kept quiet and totally waste of each other time.
i will take the pic when i m free. not all genuine contractor have office.

yes u r right. i dont believe contractor in lowyat as i said before.

dreamgal1
post Aug 3 2012, 05:34 PM

I would like to add on the bad contractor list
Please beware of Leong Kwok Kin from Putra Heights using the name card of Nam Wai... sad.gif He is a sweet talker but nothing he gets done.
billy08
post Aug 3 2012, 05:42 PM

225 posts

Yes, do black list those BAD contractors.
RickOoi
post Aug 4 2012, 01:44 PM

403 posts

Do you think it is more reliable and trustworthy if I ask to view houses/project that the contractor completed? I mean, go inside the house and view the finishing.

Even so, it doesn't guarantee anything also, right? The sample house may not be done by him, or maybe he is doing a good work on this house, but due to 'tamak' taken too many projects or cash flow problems or manpower issue, his workmanship drop. There is no real guarantee here is there?

Please avoid this 'contractor' (if you call him a contractor at all), got his contact from local English newspaper (another stupid mistake of mine) to reno my shop. He kept calling me and pastering me every day to let him secure this job (thinking that since he is so eager, must be able to do a good job (another stupid mistake of mine); anyway, avoid this - MYL Air-Cond Services - Loh 012 3803286
maxim concept
post Aug 4 2012, 03:17 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(RickOoi @ Aug 4 2012, 01:44 PM)
Do you think it is more reliable and trustworthy if I ask to view houses/project that the contractor completed? I mean, go inside the house and view the finishing.

Even so, it doesn't guarantee anything also, right? The sample house may not be done by him, or maybe he is doing a good work on this house, but due to 'tamak' taken too many projects or cash flow problems or manpower issue, his workmanship drop. There is no real guarantee here is there?

Please avoid this 'contractor' (if you call him a contractor at all), got his contact from local English newspaper (another stupid mistake of mine) to reno my shop. He kept calling me and pastering me every day to let him secure this job (thinking that since he is so eager, must be able to do a good job (another stupid mistake of mine); anyway, avoid this - MYL Air-Cond Services - Loh 012 3803286
Wow, this is the first time I heard air-cond service also do 'renovation'. Really bring shame to the building industry. Sorry to hear that.

This post has been edited by maxim concept: Aug 4 2012, 03:18 PM
JamesPond
post Aug 6 2012, 01:15 AM

4,526 posts

if you not satisfy with the work, just dont pay..
mosfet83
post Aug 6 2012, 10:07 AM

218 posts

QUOTE(JamesPond @ Aug 6 2012, 01:15 AM)
if you not satisfy with the work, just dont pay..
it's not that simple since they already know where you live etc. afraid later they blackmail or something.
SUSleechers
post Aug 7 2012, 03:54 AM

373 posts

QUOTE(airline @ Jul 20 2010, 03:04 PM)
got many. for kitchen kabinet- i heard got a few cases too
I had bad experience with kitcen cabinet guy. Useless idiot. waste of my time. End up the workmanship not good either. Want go beat me summore.

Lesson learnt.

1. Find a person with good feeeback and MUST have own shop/premise. How to know they are good? Ask around and i am sure someone willing to share. And if a person says they are bad, then by all means avoid them. You dont want to hand your hard earned money to a trouble selfish person

2. Ensure to have black and white. A simple quotation which must include all items including free gift must clearly stated. Ask them about their working timeframe. Put it in writing. Get him to sign and u too must sign.

3. I am honestly sorry to say this, but look for chinese installer. I have bad experience with malay guy and i heard lots of nightmare the same guy did to others. At the end i think the chinese is expert in doing this capentering job. I dont know about indian. and i am indian. I wont believe malay contractor. they tend to run away.

Added on August 7, 2012, 3:57 am
QUOTE(billy08 @ Aug 3 2012, 05:42 PM)
Yes, do black list those BAD contractors.
I agree!. Moderators please look into this. pin a thread listing all bad contrators with names and location

This post has been edited by leechers: Aug 7 2012, 03:57 AM
bafukie
post Aug 7 2012, 01:13 PM

1,406 posts

I stii believe tat the best contractors are thos recommended by ur close relatives or frens who had experience with them. 1000 sweet words from any contractor can't compare to one word from my close relative/frens tat I trust.
tomjason
post Aug 7 2012, 01:54 PM

866 posts

for me...for my any reno i would just hire worker..forget and bye bye contractor...
weikee
post Aug 7 2012, 02:30 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(tomjason @ Aug 7 2012, 01:54 PM)
for me...for my any reno i would just hire worker..forget and bye bye contractor...
If you have experience is easy, other wise is another disaster.
max_rider_99
post Aug 20 2012, 09:48 PM

27 posts

guys - any good contractors for Melaka area? kitchen cabinet, living hall and etc?
AliceLiew7728
post Sep 19 2012, 12:41 AM

Seems like everyone so fed up with contractors. Not all contractor are bad. Bad/good contractor are not easy to identify.

But usually the good/sincere one will do detail quotation before you make 1st payment when everything is finalised to suit your preference. Everything is much secured in BLACK & WHITE.

I myself is sales designer. When I do quotation, I quote very detail one. I dont do lump sum quotation. It's not beneficial to me, neither owner.

I spend a lot time to talk to my customer, to identify their needs, their preference (design/concept), and their concerns.

Before the reno works begin, I'll request my customer to sit down and listen to me what we have finalized because owner tend to forget what they've choose earlier. I'll even request them to sign the designs they've finalized, to protect the owner themselves and myself. Anything gone wrong can refer back to the 'SIGNED' papers.

I wont call myself contractor even though Im doing their job scopes.

Do PM me if any of you need quotations for your reno works, especially carpentry works~ smile.gif smile.gif

Lion LIM
post Jul 24 2013, 09:49 PM

42 posts

BAD CONTRACTOR !!!

DO NOT TRY THIS GUY AT YOUR HOME!!!

Company = STYLE RENOVATION & DESIGN
Name = YEE KOK LIN
IC# 750131-08-5925
Mobile# 016-71 999 11

HONG LEONG BANK ACC# 19700019828
MAYBANK ACC# 151203997118

He threaten me to give balance 100% payment (i had pay almost 80%) after he done 50% of work only!
I refuse, then this contractor start to act like samseng and stop work, postpone the work ... macam macam hal buat...

Also, he always act no money to give salary.
His subcontractor all complaint cause he always give empty promise and bounce check to them. Is a jerk ass man!

Finally he abondoned the site and ask his subcontractor to stop half way work.... a night mare to me now..
dinor01
post Sep 28 2013, 11:11 PM

290 posts

QUOTE(Lion LIM @ Jul 24 2013, 09:49 PM)
BAD CONTRACTOR !!!

DO NOT TRY THIS GUY AT YOUR HOME!!!

Company = STYLE RENOVATION & DESIGN
Name = YEE KOK LIN
IC# 750131-08-5925
Mobile# 016-71 999 11

HONG LEONG BANK ACC# 19700019828
MAYBANK ACC# 151203997118

He threaten me to give balance 100% payment (i had pay almost 80%) after he done 50% of work only!
I refuse, then this contractor start to act like samseng and stop work, postpone the work ... macam macam hal buat...

Also, he always act no money to give salary.
His subcontractor all complaint cause he always give empty promise and bounce check to them. Is a jerk ass man!

Finally he abondoned the site and ask his subcontractor to stop half way work.... a night mare to me now..
omg, then how is it now? sure loss a lot of money....

Informationiac
post Nov 12 2013, 07:26 PM

147 posts

Sounds like the same guy as below,

Name = Yap Kam Hong
Mobile# 0122427313

Same shit, act no money to pay materials. Even worst, teamed up with his sub-contractor to ask for deposit for interior's stuff and never deliver it.

In the end, house cannot complete, 2 batches of workers looking for him due to unsettled payment.

This post has been edited by Informationiac: Nov 12 2013, 07:32 PM
butterdog
post Nov 27 2013, 03:01 AM

My experience with bad contractor (main con) & his sub-contractor.

Main con: HENG AIK SIONG (Star Home Renovation), knows only tiling work, will collect $$$ & talk talk talk.
Sub con: MURUGAYA@EMGI@SAM (Buildfact Enterprise), a fat indian guy who is really irresponsible & knows nothing about renovation.
Overall, 80% of the work done but with bad workmanship. The finishing works are non-existence. Waterproofing are done extremely poor. Tiling works are of 2nd grade. Luckily I did not pay them the whole amount, left 15% of the total amount. Beware!!!

Just want to warn those looking for renovation contractors.

This post has been edited by butterdog: Nov 27 2013, 03:01 AM
ghandi99
post Feb 27 2014, 07:14 PM

13 posts

feel so sorry about the case..

This post has been edited by ghandi99: Mar 2 2014, 07:43 AM
kingkong19985
post Feb 28 2014, 05:24 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(ginming @ Jul 11 2012, 05:21 PM)
hi All, am planing to do my house renovation as well. From time to time am reading this forum, i have actually compiled the bad contractor's names as below. That are topics that i have read through, but of coz a lot topic i haven read yet. These are what i have compiled but not all.

David Chow Yong Ee, from BELLWAY HOMES, based in Jalan PU 2/5, Puchong, Selangor

Fong Wai Yip from Fong Brother Design & Renovation. His number is 010-339 9934 & 017-222 7144 from Tmn Sri Ampang.

HOUZ DEPOT

Toh (Ah Meng)

Zakaria from Puchong HP 0123537084

Y & H renovation - Chua

Ananth from Hygeia Rising Tech address PUJ 5 in Puncak Jalil

SengHuat roof repair and plumbing services
Houz Depot ???
what going on??
fail to delivery or others issue ??
mind to share it ? cos want buy some hardware from there
nikolas010
post Mar 2 2014, 07:47 AM

21 posts

BAD CONTRACTOR Ben Chuah Eng Lock

Recently, somebody has been cheated again in Dec 2015. Read comment from the victim.
http://www.complaintsboard.com/complaints/...or-c702538.html

Name: Ben Chuah Eng Lock
H/P: 017-2604042
Car plate: WNG 6808
Company address: LOT 765-B-10, JLN SUBANG 4, SG PENAGA, USJ SUBANG.
Private FB: https://www.facebook.com/englock.chuah
Company FB: https://www.facebook.com/ZANOTTASTUDIO
Company website: http://www.zanotta.com.my/

Please read this blog for real cases.
http://badcontractorbenchuah.blogspot.com/

This post has been edited by nikolas010: Mar 9 2016, 06:33 AM
go2011
post May 8 2014, 11:08 PM

Beware of this contractor
Company: Ten Plus Renovation and Construction
Contractor Name: Mr. Goh Siang Lin
Car plate: JEF 3901

Irresponsible and lousy workmanship. Always try to cheat money and spoil your house original condition and ask for more money. Only completed 80% work and run away.
*~xiao.yu~*
post May 15 2014, 02:08 PM

45 posts

Hi guys,

Just wanna share another experience with bad contractors.
I'm an ID, and luckily it is a very small project. I didnt use my regular teams because we are focusing to deliver on another whole house reno project.

They are really sweet talkers saying they are doing alot of jobs here and there.
We settled with 50% deposit & 50% after completion but these cheapo contractors keep asking for progressive payment to buy materials.

PLEASE BE AWARE.

Name : MR YEE (old man 70)
Name : Yee Yan Keong (his elder son)
Name : Yee Yan Kong (his younger son)

Facebook : https://www.facebook.com/ststanley.lim.5?fref=ts

Phone numbers :
MR YEE : 0122869581
YEE YAN KEONG : 014 668 6849
YEE YAN KONG : 016 363 0667
mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif

shakehead.gif shakehead.gif shakehead.gif shakehead.gif
WiredBrain
post May 17 2014, 11:12 AM

132 posts

I'm having problems with my contractor too. I've paid about 85% of the agreed amount. Currently, I'm not satisfied with:

1. the quality of the front grill, the painting was so amateurish
2. the kitchen cabinets, with scratch marks and worn out edges

Am I legally allowed to not pay him for such poor workmanship? Anyone having similar experience? Thank you.
jiejong
post May 30 2014, 01:35 AM

172 posts

QUOTE(WiredBrain @ May 17 2014, 11:12 AM)
I'm having problems with my contractor too. I've paid about 85% of the agreed amount. Currently, I'm not satisfied with:

1. the quality of the front grill, the painting was so amateurish
2. the kitchen cabinets, with scratch marks and worn out edges
Am I legally allowed to not pay him for such poor workmanship? Anyone having similar experience? Thank you.
have you talked to him about this matter? let him know and ask him to fix it until you are satisfied with what is promised by them. then you can release the remaining to them.

do not solve the problem yourself or plan to not paying without notifying beforehand.
velocity555
post Dec 10 2014, 10:12 AM

I think there are too many problematic renovation contractors out there who don't keep to their words & promise.
We thought that the contractor recommended by friends (those that work as engineers) and family are ok, but sad to say, it's not ok.

Problems that are commonly faced:
1) job delayed for 3 months to 1 year (I have a friend whose renovation job has been delayed for 2 years and still working. Mine was delayed for 4 months)
2) water leakages after total replacement of roof (4 -8 incidents in less than 1 year)
3) big cracks & small cracks on walls & tiles in almost everywhere in the house (living room, car porsch, bed rooms, kitchen)
4) floor tiles crack
5) don't follow architect's drawing or your specifications
6) contractors try to coax you to accept what he/she had done, which you don't want
7) when you approach them with the issues, they will try to avoid addressing the issue and tell you that "it's like that."
8) with all the problems, the contractors still think they are right and we are demanding (for asking them to do the renovation that we want in the first place) ?
9) contractors don't supervise their workers
10)you thought that appointing a main contractor to handle all jobs (demolish & construction of a house, electrical, water piping, plaster ceiling, floor tiling, kitchen, cabinets & furniture, windows, glasses, grills, etc) will be smooth and easy. However, if you get a problematic main contractor, all the jobs will come with many issues during and after construction.

I am just another disappointed customer who got another lousy contractor.
Is it really so tough to find a good contractor in Malaysia?
TEIN
post Dec 10 2014, 01:51 PM

15 posts

Do you all pay fully when renovation done or will hold back some percentage ?
Lexan polycarbonate
post Dec 10 2014, 01:56 PM

119 posts

Hi all

If u guys looking a good contractor

https://www.facebook.com/pages/House-Renova...47224?pnref=lhc

This post has been edited by Lexan polycarbonate: Dec 10 2014, 01:57 PM
sbeck99
post Dec 11 2014, 09:21 AM

13 posts

After i read through this forum there is so many bad experience encounter by LY forumer.

May i know you all guys didn't sign any black&white with constructor before carried out renovations?
velocity555
post Dec 18 2014, 10:53 PM

QUOTE(TEIN @ Dec 10 2014, 01:51 PM)
Do you all pay fully when renovation done or will hold back some percentage ?
We hold some money back.
Normally it's 5%.

velocity555
post Dec 18 2014, 11:04 PM

QUOTE(sbeck99 @ Dec 11 2014, 09:21 AM)
After i read through this forum there is so many bad experience encounter by LY forumer.

May i know you all guys didn't sign any black&white with constructor before carried out renovations?
Of course we signed.
I believe most of us did.
In my case, we even provide architect's drawing which is approved by the local council (for eg. DBKL, MBPJ)
But the contractors will always twist the words.

I think most people who have dealt with contractors will understand the situation.

Of course, I don't mean all contractors are bad.
But mostly in Malaysia are below average.

The moral of my story is when you are doing renovation work, you need to be:
1) firm
2) stick to your plan
3) don't have sympathy (even it means tearing down a 1,000 sf area which was not constructed to your requirement/plan. contractor will always tell you, I have already completed this part, how? If you want me to tear it down and re-build, it will take another 2-3 months and need more cost)
4) don't be accommodating
5) need to oversee the project on every 2-3 days

Therefore, apart from having blacklisted contractor, we should also have a list of good contractors.
But to be fair to the contractor, we should at least describe what job/project did the contractor take.

This post has been edited by velocity555: Dec 18 2014, 11:05 PM
techhunter
post Mar 26 2015, 06:26 AM

232 posts

QUOTE(AliceLiew7728 @ Sep 19 2012, 12:41 AM)
Seems like everyone so fed up with contractors. Not all contractor are bad. Bad/good contractor are not easy to identify.

But usually the  good/sincere one will do detail quotation before you make 1st payment when everything is finalised to suit your preference. Everything is much secured in BLACK & WHITE.

I myself is sales designer. When I do quotation, I quote very detail one. I dont do lump sum quotation. It's not beneficial to me, neither owner.

I spend a lot time to talk to my customer, to identify their needs, their preference (design/concept), and their concerns.

Before the reno works begin, I'll request my customer to sit down and listen to me what we have finalized because owner tend to forget what they've choose earlier. I'll even request them to sign the designs they've finalized, to protect the owner themselves and myself. Anything gone wrong can refer back to the 'SIGNED' papers.

I wont call myself contractor even though Im doing their job scopes.

Do PM me if any of you need quotations for your reno works, especially carpentry works~  smile.gif  smile.gif
Are you freelancer? or you setup own company?
techhunter
post Mar 26 2015, 06:31 AM

232 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Aug 7 2012, 02:30 PM)
If you have experience is easy, other wise is another disaster.
Then at most hired additional reliable PM (designer) smile.gif
techhunter
post Mar 26 2015, 06:34 AM

232 posts

Frankly speaking, really hardly to see good quality contractor.
Some that doing good for someone else, might not be going good for you too due to lot of project.

I do not mean there is no good contractor, but probably not easy to find. and even you found it, it might cost you a bomb.

I do have some contacts that doing good work in the past, very cheap too smile.gif but most is going to retired soon.

Recently I saw few of my friend is hiring workers directly, (1 of them is designer) so he lead the entire project. the rest is hiring one freelancer designer.
Looks everything going well and priced at superb rate.

If you go to others renovator, big chances they sub sub sub here and there for you. end up, why not you host yourself.
techhunter
post Mar 26 2015, 07:00 AM

232 posts

QUOTE(zheilwane @ Jul 21 2010, 10:41 PM)
Agree, keep pressing contractor is not a good thing. end up they give you shit output.
But in another hand, some contractor just markup way too high for everything.

For example:-
They put 3 indonesian that been paid RM100 x 60 days = RM 18000.
Some basic material that less than RM20k
And own supervisory once awhile....

and they can charge RM 180,000

if get them to buy the material, they might even markup more.

Why I said so:-
Just coincident i got a group of friend buy semi d at semenyih.

Mr A, Extend kitchen and the above floor, move toilet location, knock few walls, and cabling and etc....with all material...
He outsource all at once at RM450k.

Mr B, do the same by buying own material, just outsource to the same vendor
Better material at RM80k, workmanship RM250k

Mr C, do all same, find another contractor.
Better quality, same material = RM81k (duno why extra 1k)
workmanship, RM80k

Mr D, do all same, find one designer + worker.
material even much much better = RM100k, designer(pm) = RM25k , worker = RM27000 (he paid RM150 per day)
on top of that he buy rice and drinks for the worker also.

end up mr D output is the best and cheapest
Opulence Design
post Apr 17 2015, 05:36 PM

We are having an open house this weekend for our newly completed renovation project.

This post has been edited by Opulence Design: Apr 25 2015, 03:27 PM
MeToo
post Apr 17 2015, 06:06 PM

9,336 posts

Really some scary shit...

Sometimes... I feel its better to fork out the extra cash and get some reputable/award wining ppl to do it... pay the premium atleast u sleep wqell at night
mudahman
post Apr 17 2015, 07:03 PM

QUOTE(techhunter @ Mar 26 2015, 07:00 AM)
Agree, keep pressing contractor is not a good thing. end up they give you shit output.

Mr A, Extend kitchen and the above floor, move toilet location, knock few walls, and cabling and etc....with all material...

workmanship, RM80k

material even much much better = RM100k, designer(pm) = RM25k , worker = RM27000 (he paid RM150 per day)

You are right bro..

Hansel
post May 21 2015, 01:49 PM

9,361 posts

My neighbor here in Penang, spoke wth him ths mrning cos saw him compltng his reno ! Don't knw true or not, he told me his cost !

1) Area of extension : 24 ft x 18 ft, 2-storys.
2) WEt wrks, strcture of bldg., footing (6 of thm), pillars (6 of them), beams, walls : RM87.5K
3) Windws: RM1.5K
4) Tiling : up to 7 ft only, totl area to be tiles is 350 sf - RM3.8K
5) Plaster ciling + cornis : only upstrs, 24 ft x 18 ft - RM2K
6) Elktrikal Wirng - only loopng, not from sub-db, about 20 points - lights and powr - RM600, but he boght his own cables and power sockets and swtches.
7) Build a nice strcture at the back, 5-ft reting wall wth a nice staircase going up to anothr level : RM4K
8) Paintng : RM2.5K
9) Some misc tht he spent here and there : RM1K

I thnk it's quite cheap, he could be lyng to me... hmm.gif hmm.gif Am I right ?
kasey1314
post May 21 2015, 08:59 PM

奇人异士
720 posts

QUOTE(techhunter @ Mar 26 2015, 07:00 AM)

workmanship, RM80k

Agree.

But some sort, ppl and tend to be paying while see nothing is hard. pay RM25k for designer.....not everyone willing to fork out. Words are nice to hear but not easy to mean.

But the result is the less ppl choose will get the best...
techhunter
post May 21 2015, 09:06 PM

232 posts

You doing interior design as well...how you charge customer?
Bumblebeetle
post Jul 6 2015, 03:49 PM

Hi everyone,

Just want to share with you another bad contractor you should avoid.

Techlic Interiors and Renovation
49A, Jalan Kencana 15, Taman Kencana, 56100 Kuala Lumpur

This post has been edited by Bumblebeetle: Aug 31 2015, 12:17 AM
shinrei
post Oct 10 2016, 09:31 PM

249 posts

So many bad contractors out there
tohff7
post Oct 11 2016, 08:26 AM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(shinrei @ Oct 10 2016, 09:31 PM)
So many bad contractors out there
it's just that....ppl rarely will go to forum to praise a good contractor. And those that did, you also suspect if he's the contractor himself to self-promote biggrin.gif especially those with low post counts
shinrei
post Oct 11 2016, 08:39 AM

249 posts

QUOTE(tohff7 @ Oct 11 2016, 08:26 AM)
it's just that....ppl rarely will go to forum to praise a good contractor. And those that did, you also suspect if he's the contractor himself to self-promote  biggrin.gif especially those with low post counts
True as well. Better go with contractor you know than try a new fancy one i think. Oh well. smile.gif
joefrezzo
post Oct 11 2016, 01:22 PM

507 posts

I considered myself lucky to get a very responsible contractor. I rate him overall 9/10 for his service..
mist8
post Oct 11 2016, 01:45 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(joefrezzo @ Oct 11 2016, 01:22 PM)
I considered myself lucky to get a very responsible contractor. I rate him overall 9/10 for his service..
Mind to share the contact? smile.gif
joefrezzo
post Oct 11 2016, 02:17 PM

507 posts

QUOTE(mist8 @ Oct 11 2016, 01:45 PM)
Mind to share the contact?  smile.gif
Hoong Zun Enterprise, Ah Hou - 0166014217 (location in Puchong)
I'd suggest you to call him directly as he rarely read message biggrin.gif
Happy Hunting!!
mist8
post Oct 11 2016, 02:54 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(joefrezzo @ Oct 11 2016, 02:17 PM)
Hoong Zun Enterprise, Ah Hou - 0166014217 (location in Puchong)
I'd suggest you to call him directly as he rarely read message  biggrin.gif
Happy Hunting!!
Thanks!
tangenttheta
post Oct 18 2016, 01:53 AM

62 posts

TQ
Hi do he run in klang valley and can I have his number? Thanks

jardel123jay
post Jan 6 2019, 11:25 AM

What a fxxking shitting company. I had bad experience with them.Called them for the roof leaking service due to the leaks from roof to kitchen.I was told the plumber will come over to check the cause of the leaking and will give the quotation then only I will decide whether or not to accept their service. But this plumber(Mr Lim) insisted to repair it and the price he quoted for RM800.00,What a ridiculous price!!!When I put him on the phone to speak to my husband and my husband told him we will consider his offer but definitely not the same day carry out the repairing work.When the plumber(Mr Lim)heard that he immediately demanded for RM 200 service charge if we don’t accept his repair service.
This is the first time I encountered in my life as i’ve deal with so many contractors..that we need to pay the service charge when they come over to give us the quotation and if we do not use their service.
I was not told about this charges will be incurred if they come over just to check and give quotation when I called Boon Chye Plumbing and Electrical Service to inquiry about their plumber service.I personally think that should there be any charges for quotation only,they have to advice and alert the customer in advance before sending their plumber to the site,the plumber then demanded for the service charge.This is really not the appropriate.If your company have this “term” or “rules” of collecting the service charge for just to check and give quotation,kindly inform us,your potential customer,first.This is not honest!

veron4best
post Jan 20 2019, 12:36 PM

1,146 posts

QUOTE(jardel123jay @ Jan 6 2019, 11:25 AM)
What a fxxking shitting company. I had bad experience with them.Called them for the roof leaking service due to the leaks from roof to kitchen.I was told the plumber will come over to check the cause of the leaking and will give the quotation then only I will decide whether or not to accept their service. But this plumber(Mr Lim) insisted to repair it and the price he quoted for RM800.00,What a ridiculous price!!!When I put him on the phone to speak to my husband and my husband told him we will consider his offer but definitely not the same day carry out the repairing work.When the plumber(Mr Lim)heard that he immediately demanded for RM 200 service charge if we don’t accept his repair service.
This is the first time I encountered in my life as i’ve deal with so many contractors..that we need to pay the service charge when they come over to give us the quotation and if we do not use their service.
I was not told about this charges will be incurred  if they come over just to check and give quotation when I called Boon Chye Plumbing and Electrical Service to inquiry about their plumber service.I personally think that should there be any charges for quotation only,they have to advice and alert the customer in advance before sending their plumber to the site,the plumber then demanded for the service charge.This is really not the appropriate.If your company have this “term” or “rules” of collecting the service charge for just to check and give quotation,kindly inform us,your potential customer,first.This is not honest!
just go ahead with Tribunal.

They will refund u the money.

edw3y
post Sep 17 2020, 05:13 PM

PLS DO NOT USE THIS CONTRACTOR

HK Renovation & Interior Design
office: No. 15-G, Tingkat Bawah, Jalan nKlang Sentral, 5/KU5, Bandar Bukit Raja, 41050 Klang, Selangor
factory: 50, Bandar Saujana Putra, Jalan 4/28, 42610 Jenjarom, Selangor
email : hkreno88@gmail.com

I've appointed him to do major reno (house extension + kitchen cabinets, wardrobe) last year. He provides a sounds reasonable reno quotation initially and promised you he can deliver whatever you design/requested to lure you in to sign it and put down deposits. After that, he started saying this cannot that cannot and charging high price for the material you want but at the end he gave different things which is low quality and made you fed up to change it after dragging long time. Also, finishing is very bad and unprofessional, never fix concrete roof water leaking, wrong door colors/pastern, new tracks installed are scratched and dirty, wrong cabinets design and measurements, uneven plaster ceiling, miscalculate floor tiles number to buy which coz different tiles color tone.... and many more!!)

This post has been edited by edw3y: Sep 17 2020, 05:14 PM
edw3y
post Sep 17 2020, 05:13 PM

duplicate post

This post has been edited by edw3y: Sep 17 2020, 05:15 PM
redhotpepper
post Nov 12 2022, 10:35 PM

48 posts

Hi all, how much it cost to re tile bathroom floor tile?

This post has been edited by redhotpepper: Nov 12 2022, 10:36 PM
mini orchard
post Nov 13 2022, 04:10 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(redhotpepper @ Nov 12 2022, 10:35 PM)
Hi all, how much it cost to re tile bathroom floor tile?
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=5227668&hl=
copterbandito
post Dec 13 2022, 06:46 PM

39 posts

Hi wanna ask, renovating a semi D, when renovator quoted u painting whole house in the price list, does the price include the canvas / plastic sheet for floor protection, masking tape and whatnot? Now most of my floor tiles are scratched.

The scenario I am now facing is mid way painting I noticed no protection sheet been provided and when I asked why he said it should be provided by the owner. But he didnt inform me in the first place to get it for him.

Whole house painting job is 7.5K (paint buy by owner) for a double story semi D with area of about 1500sqft. Is the price cheap enough for excluding the blue plastic sheet and tape?
Minolta
post Dec 13 2022, 11:05 PM

2,292 posts

QUOTE(copterbandito @ Dec 13 2022, 06:46 PM)
Hi wanna ask, renovating a semi D, when renovator quoted u painting whole house in the price list, does the price include the canvas / plastic sheet for floor protection, masking tape and whatnot? Now most of my floor tiles are scratched.

The scenario I am now facing is mid way painting I noticed no protection sheet been provided and when I asked why he said it should be provided by the owner. But he didnt inform me in the first place to get it for him.

Whole house painting job is 7.5K (paint buy by owner) for a double story semi D with area of about 1500sqft. Is the price cheap enough for excluding the blue plastic sheet and tape?
Canvas sheets would not be enough to protect from scratches.

If just just paint droplets, can scrape off tile with a scraper. Ask contractor to do.

If really deep scratches on floor tile, typically from metal scaffold legs, then have to accept it or replace the tile.
DONUT1206
post Jan 15 2023, 11:26 AM

QUOTE(jardel123jay @ Jan 6 2019, 12:25 PM)
I was not told about this charges will be incurred  if they come over just to check and give quotation when I called Boon Chye Plumbing and Electrical Service to inquiry about their plumber service.I personally think that should there be any charges for quotation only,they have to advice and alert the customer in advance before sending their plumber to the site,the plumber then demanded for the service charge.This is really not the appropriate.If your company have this “term” or “rules” of collecting the service charge for just to check and give quotation,kindly inform us,your potential customer,first.This is not honest!
DONUT1206
post Jan 15 2023, 11:49 AM

[quote=DONUT1206,Jan 15 2023, 12:26 PM]

Yes, this Boon Chye Renovation is a group of company, i had bad experience with them recently. Actually, i called drain pipe cleaning company to clear the blockage of my bathroom drain hole, this is the website https://www.drainpro.com.my, i requested the service through whatsapp 012 6330568.
One chinese guy come and check the condition, saying he will try to use tools by hand to pump out and clear first rm350, if still failed then he need to clean the manhole using water jett machine which costs rm800, but he didnt bring the machine and hv to continue tomorrow if really need the jetting machine.
Then, i ok to proceed and i asked him to call me after completed (i stay nearby) and i leave him alone since this is empty hse for tenant purpose, currently not occupy).
After 1 hour, he called me said he completed, then show me rm800 bill said he clean the manhole at the back. But, at the back no sign of cleaning (no rubbish at all) and he unable to show me the proof of picture that he hv clean the manhole for me.
Since im alone with this guy, i take the bill first without paying him (before this we hv agreed to pay online). Later, i called the company to ask for the explanation and insist i will not pay unless he show me the proof. after waiting 2 days, they not reply or call me, so i decided to just pay Rm350 (the agreed price).

junbon
post Mar 9 2023, 01:07 PM

Let me share my experience here. I engaged Dotworks Sdn Bhd. Their office is in ss2 pj and they claimed themselves to be an award winning company.

I engaged them in July 2021. It started off well and they were very attentive and quick to respond in design and 3D rendering. Everything seems well and we got our contract signed with progressive payment.

The nightmare started when I made my first payment. Nobody started work for 2 weeks. Delays after delays and excuses after excuses. They delayed my work for 1 and a half years and I had to terminate them because they just won’t finish it.

Until today they haven’t returned my compensation for delay. So, engage them at your own perils.

The company seems very well branded. They are on Facebook, Instagram and also on atap. Just don’t make my mistake. Remember the name Dotworks Sdn Bhd!

0.0711sec    0.97    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 10:33 AM