Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Thread V2, FAQ at first post.

kmrdeva
post Aug 11 2010, 01:35 AM

4,792 posts

QUOTE(alpayedo @ Aug 11 2010, 12:20 AM)
Guys,any tips on how to buy app at market?i use market enabler but dunno what to put for the billing address info when buying...
I'm using MarketAccess app to set my SIM to T-Mobile US emulation. Bought a few apps already from the Market using Google Checkout account which directly charges my Mastercard.

http://amip.tools-for.net/wiki/android/marketaccess

MYstombox
post Aug 11 2010, 01:38 AM

Wired!
2,240 posts

QUOTE(Raiko @ Aug 11 2010, 01:20 AM)
really ? colour ? ....
Black on super amoled does not drain battery, so claims samsung.

Added on August 11, 2010, 1:39 amYour billing address is your own address lor. Doesn't really matter, it's more of a formality if they want to check your card's validity.

This post has been edited by MYstombox: Aug 11 2010, 01:39 AM
hnr2802
post Aug 11 2010, 01:39 AM

627 posts

QUOTE(Atsutane-Shirane @ Aug 11 2010, 12:25 AM)
It is better if you enter your card number and billing address from https://checkout.google.com/ using your computer... smile.gif Here you can put Malaysia as country and it more safe since you don't need to enter ur card number wirelessly...
yup safer to put credit card information through your pc than through your phone. just login to Google Checkout & use your gmail account to login. within the market apps you cannot select Malaysia in the country field.

Added on August 11, 2010, 1:41 amnormally billing address is the same address as where you received your credit card bills.

This post has been edited by hnr2802: Aug 11 2010, 01:42 AM
MYstombox
post Aug 11 2010, 02:38 AM

Wired!
2,240 posts

I found a really weird quirk today, and I never realised this was actually a problem with the android menu.

If you find the vibration too weak, go to setting "sound and display", adjust the "Vibration for touch feedback" to a value you like. This not only controls haptic feedback vibration, but also notification vibration.

I turned haptic feedback on, tweaked the value, and turned haptic off again. And the value stayed.
xeNOS
post Aug 11 2010, 08:28 AM

.:floccinaucinihilipilification:.
1,194 posts

QUOTE(MYstombox @ Aug 11 2010, 02:38 AM)
I found a really weird quirk today, and I never realised this was actually a problem with the android menu.

If you find the vibration too weak, go to setting "sound and display", adjust the "Vibration for touch feedback" to a value you like. This not only controls haptic feedback vibration, but also notification vibration.

I turned haptic feedback on, tweaked the value, and turned haptic off again. And the value stayed.
Nice i cool.gif nfo bro, now I can set it lighter smile.gif
angel-girl
post Aug 11 2010, 09:54 AM

3,409 posts

new SGS user reporting in!!!
anyone knows wats the best screen protector fot tis phone?
janov
post Aug 11 2010, 10:01 AM

167 posts

yeah i notice some of the newbies ask the same old questions which can be annoying but i guess its our duty to tell them everything is in the 1st page.

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Aug 9 2010, 10:55 PM)
welcome

i really hope "newbies" would spend some time to read from start(v1) to present like u so that won't keep ask the same question again but it would be hard  rolleyes.gif
mozact89
post Aug 11 2010, 10:59 AM

~KAWASAKI NINJA~
1,137 posts

QUOTE(angel-girl @ Aug 11 2010, 09:54 AM)
new SGS user reporting in!!!
anyone knows wats the best screen protector fot tis phone?
askar perang n loh sell clear n matte SP.. Pm them..
janov
post Aug 11 2010, 11:16 AM

167 posts

im using meebo instead of ebuddy, didnt like the android version of ebuddy but was previously using symbian version of ebuddy, there is a summary on battery usage on the phone : Settings --> About phone --> Battery use, though it does not pin point which apps uses the battery but it gives a rough idea. im sure there are apps in the market to monitor this

QUOTE(MYstombox @ Aug 11 2010, 01:03 AM)
Are you on 2.2? If not, then no to SD card apps at the moment.

Added on August 11, 2010, 1:12 amBtw, I realised that ebuddy isn't the app that is draining battery. It's actually because of the colour, the screen takes up the most % of the battery drain.

Cause after 1h of ebuddying, i check my battery stat, it only use 2% of battery. Screen use 78%.

Maybe it's because of the white background, ebuddy needs to let us choose the background colour and make it more customisable. I am especially annoyed with the message on notification bar.
MYstombox
post Aug 11 2010, 11:18 AM

Wired!
2,240 posts

I did use the setting -> about phone -> battery use, and it gave me those values I pointed out.
janov
post Aug 11 2010, 11:18 AM

167 posts

im using a black wallpaper, i think its a conventional knowledge that black background uses less power and speeds things up....could be a psychological thing though

QUOTE(MYstombox @ Aug 11 2010, 01:38 AM)
Black on super amoled does not drain battery, so claims samsung.

Added on August 11, 2010, 1:39 amYour billing address is your own address lor. Doesn't really matter, it's more of a formality if they want to check your card's validity.
blurjoey
post Aug 11 2010, 11:28 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

WTA - If updated firmware using Odin, cannot use Kies to update firmware?

My Kies can't detect and update to I9000DXJG4 as I have I9000ZSJF7 sad.gif
MYstombox
post Aug 11 2010, 11:39 AM

Wired!
2,240 posts

You need DXJF4 and sales code to XME to be able to do kies update.
blurjoey
post Aug 11 2010, 11:43 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

Can update to I9000DXJG4 via Odin and where is to get the sales code to XME? And what to do next in order to update in Kies?
janov
post Aug 11 2010, 11:47 AM

167 posts

some guidelines to prolong li-ion batteries :

1) Avoid frequent full discharges because this puts additional strain on the battery. Several partial discharges with frequent recharges are better for lithium-ion than one deep one. Recharging a partially charged lithium-ion does not cause harm because there is no memory. (In this respect, lithium-ion differs from nickel-based batteries.) Short battery life in a device is mainly cause by heat rather than charge / discharge patterns.

2) Batteries with fuel gauge should be calibrated by applying a deliberate full discharge once every 30 charges. Running the pack down in the equipment does this. If ignored, the fuel gauge will become increasingly less accurate and in some cases cut off the device prematurely.

3) Keep the lithium-ion battery cool. Avoid a hot car. For prolonged storage, keep the battery at a 40% charge level.

4) Avoid purchasing spare lithium-ion batteries for later use. Observe manufacturing dates. Do not buy old stock, even if sold at clearance prices.

5) If you have a spare lithium-ion battery, use one to the fullest and keep the other cool by placing it in the refrigerator. Do not freeze the battery. For best results, store the battery at 40% state-of-charge.

hope this helps, still trying to understand the nature of li-ion batteries but of course the control of a battery also depends on the settings in the firmware, so later firmwares should by right give better battery management on the device
CKHong
post Aug 11 2010, 11:49 AM

1,380 posts

wah... 124 page liao... v3 coming ??
MYstombox
post Aug 11 2010, 11:53 AM

Wired!
2,240 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Aug 11 2010, 11:43 AM)
Can update to I9000DXJG4 via Odin and where is to get the sales code to XME? And what to do next in order to update in Kies?
Somewhere earlier there is a link to DXJG4 and that one is for Odin.

Sales code you search in this tread also there is info, keyword search HHMM.

If you want to update via kies, flash to DXJF4, change sales code to XME and then connect to kies and check for firmware update.
areankim
post Aug 11 2010, 12:10 PM

"Live Life Cool"
3,705 posts

we wan JH5 samsung malaysia!!! faster la!!! Hahahah
Zmir
post Aug 11 2010, 12:11 PM

208 posts

im having the sleep wifi problem (when phone wake up cant connect to wifi)
and i remember reading somewhere here about changing the channel to 8..
how do i do that? thats the setting in the modem and not the phone right?

EDIT: searched and its the router.. omg crap! using unifi and tm locked me out, GG wifi

This post has been edited by Zmir: Aug 11 2010, 12:17 PM
blurjoey
post Aug 11 2010, 12:14 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

Thanks mystompbox.

Saw the sales code is XME after I updated to I9000DXJG4 (Kies firmware backup from Singtel). Will try Kies later after restore.

This post has been edited by blurjoey: Aug 11 2010, 12:26 PM

126 Pages « < 122 123 124 125 126 >Top

0.0296sec    0.65    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th December 2025 - 12:40 AM