152 Pages « < 126 127 128 129 130 > » Bottom

-= myforte - naza kia forte owners club =- V8, Leaves You Speechless

dafthamsta
post Oct 13 2010, 11:10 PM

QUOTE(x5m5 @ Oct 13 2010, 11:01 PM)
Now Proton is launching Inspira, forte will have a strong competitor for the c-segment. Inspira will out sell every one.
The H & T are probably very worry now. For the first time in 10 years, proton is finally instroduced a decent model. (who care if this a rebadge!)
Define "decent". They'll probably outsell everyone else from a pricing perspective. But would anyone dare to say now that the quality is comparable to Mitsu's LGT? It's the same rehashing of Mitsu's discarded technology that we've seen for Wira and Perdana. Couple that with substandard local OEM content (I'm sticking my neck out on this one since I've no definitive data on this) and it's likely going to be the same old jaguh kampung story. Works only in Malaysia, but not anywhere else.

Malaysian consumers are all screwed when it comes to getting any value for their rides. As Adin says... time will tell. But I ain't holding my breath.

*Drops my 2 sens into the thread kitty* tongue.gif
x5m5
post Oct 13 2010, 11:12 PM

QUOTE(FrostLance @ Oct 13 2010, 11:04 PM)
2.0 SX forte is still cheaper with 6 airbags, keyless entry, start stop.  ESC, Traction control, ABD with EBD n BA.
out 4 speed auto will pawn CVT anytime. Our engine is much better, more power n torque (i previously own a lancer so i should know that its number is just not on paper)

The lancer is SLOW ..doesnt fit for its aggresive look.
Our interior is much much much nicer. Lancer's plastic and cheap looking dashboard.
For 90k++ forte is still a WAYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY better deal.
I totally agreed with you, Forte will still be a better choice in overall factors.
But at the end, this Inspira will still out sell the C-segment, simple reason is because people are expecting cheaper parts and availability. (however expectations don't always become reality!!!)
TSsaimatkong
post Oct 13 2010, 11:46 PM

1,938 posts

QUOTE(Taipan052 @ Oct 13 2010, 08:00 PM)
time to V9?

its already enter the redline!

vrommm vrooommmmmmmmmm

ready to race with walanja.. tongue.gif
still early, I will create it soon. wink.gif
when the inspira launched maybe? haha
XionCity
post Oct 14 2010, 12:43 AM

171 posts

QUOTE(FrostLance @ Oct 14 2010, 12:04 AM)
2.0 SX forte is still cheaper with 6 airbags, keyless entry, start stop.  ESC, Traction control, ABD with EBD n BA.
out 4 speed auto will pawn CVT anytime. Our engine is much better, more power n torque (i previously own a lancer so i should know that its number is just not on paper)

The lancer is SLOW ..doesnt fit for its aggresive look.
Our interior is much much much nicer. Lancer's plastic and cheap looking dashboard.
For 90k++ forte is still a WAYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY better deal.
do u knw that 2.0 variant of proton inspira got paddle shift?? more advance CVT gear than Forte, yet using 4B11 original engine from lancer??
coz the output of lancer is exactly same as proton inspira 2.0....dunno bt 1.8
FrostLance
post Oct 14 2010, 01:03 AM

Dr.Frostie
607 posts

QUOTE(XionCity @ Oct 14 2010, 12:43 AM)
do u knw that 2.0 variant of proton inspira got paddle shift?? more advance CVT gear than Forte, yet using 4B11 original engine from lancer??
coz the output of lancer is exactly same as proton inspira 2.0....dunno bt 1.8
xion..i used to own the lancer before moving to the 2.0 forte.
paddleshifts are gimmick when u are using CVT gear..
ADVANCE CVT?
Its slow lagging, boring and a bottleneck to its 4b11 mivec..

the 1.8 uses 4b10 engine
XionCity
post Oct 14 2010, 01:15 AM

171 posts

ooooo
not advance CVT
i mean more advance 1 gear...CVT

Added on October 14, 2010, 1:16 amlol....acually, paddle shift makes driver can concentrate more on road, while shifting gears....coz both hands still can on steering wheels....
is not a gimmick....it had safety function...that's y it's created...
they dun created something juz for gimmick...

Added on October 14, 2010, 1:18 ami might not knw hw CVT works....but it's still in the beginning stage....unlike our conventional gears...ald used for yrs...

Added on October 14, 2010, 1:27 amFrostLance...updated my signature..look at my Lappy moded edtion...haha
still can't be as good as urs...wish i juz could moded my lappy's graphic chip....*sigh*

This post has been edited by XionCity: Oct 14 2010, 01:27 AM
tantw
post Oct 14 2010, 01:35 AM

79 posts

QUOTE(x5m5 @ Oct 13 2010, 11:01 PM)
Now Proton is launching Inspira, forte will have a strong competitor for the c-segment. Inspira will out sell every one.
The H & T are probably very worry now. For the first time in 10 years, proton is finally instroduced a decent model. (who care if this a rebadge!)
Yea, if the quality wise is similar with the original Lancer, I believe no one mind of this rebadge, any way, changing emblem is not very difficult task. I wonder when Proton start to rebadge other cars like Mazda, Ford, or even BMW drool.gif , Benz....

XionCity
post Oct 14 2010, 01:37 AM

171 posts

lol...at most.....mitsubishi oni....BUT...if proton can copy EVO or Eclipse technology....then...haha...geng ald
FrostLance
post Oct 14 2010, 01:50 AM

Dr.Frostie
607 posts

QUOTE(XionCity @ Oct 14 2010, 01:15 AM)
ooooo
not advance CVT
i mean more advance 1 gear...CVT

Added on October 14, 2010, 1:16 amlol....acually, paddle shift makes driver can concentrate more on road, while shifting gears....coz both hands still can on steering wheels....
is not a gimmick....it had safety function...that's y it's created...
they dun created something juz for gimmick...

Added on October 14, 2010, 1:18 ami might not knw hw CVT works....but it's still in the beginning stage....unlike our conventional gears...ald used for yrs...

Added on October 14, 2010, 1:27 amFrostLance...updated my signature..look at my Lappy moded edtion...haha
still can't be as good as urs...wish i juz could moded my lappy's graphic chip....*sigh*
Paddleshifters paired with CVT is a gimmick la..RESPONSE time is DAMN slow. u shift few seconds later only gear shift.. its a gimmick on CVT.
Paddleshift works well only on DSG gearbox as in volkswagen
kiaforteclub
post Oct 14 2010, 08:46 AM

QUOTE(FrostLance @ Oct 14 2010, 01:50 AM)
Paddleshifters paired with CVT is a gimmick la..RESPONSE time is DAMN slow. u shift few seconds later only gear shift.. its a gimmick on CVT.
i can verify this most shiftronic & paddleshift time is slow for midrange cars which was why i was surprise when i tested forte's shiftronic its was fast enough for me 1 compelling reason why i chose forte. the shiftronic was a big plus especially for EX which lacks traction control we could use manul shift grip around fast corners. for 75k it was a steal vs other similar priced cars. rclxms.gif
Keith Lian
post Oct 14 2010, 09:16 AM

Guys....just to check with you all...what is the cost of replacement for a forte side window (rear passenger side window)?
uglykidjoe
post Oct 14 2010, 09:24 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(Taipan052 @ Oct 13 2010, 01:06 PM)
spicy red is the most racist forte in Malaysia.

lots of freebies and heard got extra 3 years warranty from insurance panel.

tongue.gif
waaahhh mine is spicy red. Why i never knew bout this!!
Taipan052
post Oct 14 2010, 10:16 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(Keith Lian @ Oct 14 2010, 09:16 AM)
Guys....just to check with you all...what is the cost of replacement for a forte side window (rear passenger side window)?
what happened bro?

btw i just read in cari forum and according one of the owner the cost is rm200 per window

http://mforum.cari.com.my/redirect.php?got...24&pid=40488455
XionCity
post Oct 14 2010, 10:18 AM

171 posts

QUOTE(FrostLance @ Oct 14 2010, 02:50 AM)
oh i see...DSG gearbox is newer than CVT??
Taipan052
post Oct 14 2010, 10:18 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(uglykidjoe @ Oct 14 2010, 09:24 AM)
waaahhh mine is spicy red. Why i never knew bout this!!
lots of freebies true. but still depend on which branch that got lots of stock for red i believe.
and insurance coverage depends on insurance also which was offered by individual branch. not something official from nazakia i guess tongue.gif
cybermaster98
post Oct 14 2010, 10:33 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(FrostLance @ Oct 14 2010, 01:03 AM)
xion..i used to own the lancer before moving to the 2.0 forte.
paddleshifts are gimmick when u are using CVT gear..
ADVANCE CVT?
Its slow lagging, boring and a bottleneck to its 4b11 mivec..

the 1.8 uses 4b10 engine
U had the latest Lancer and u sold it to move to a Forte? What year model was your Lancer and how much did u sell it for?
cybermaster98
post Oct 14 2010, 10:45 AM

4,440 posts

http://paultan.org/2010/10/13/proton-p3-90...-preview-drive/

cybermaster98
post Oct 14 2010, 10:56 AM

4,440 posts

A bit on the new Mitsubishi based Waja Inspira engines from Paultan:

The new 2007 Lancer has it’s engine upped to 2.0 liter, putting it head to head with the Civic 2.0. The new GEMA engine is a joint venture project between DaimlerChrysler, Hyundai and Mitsubishi. Hyundai has yet to use the GEMA engine in any of it’s cars, while DaimlerChrysler’s now-sold-off Chrysler used it as it’s flagship 2.0-2.4 liter.

The GEMA engine is called the 4B1x series in Mitsubishi terms, and the 2.0 liter model that we will see in the 2008 Lancer is the 4B11, with the Lancer Evolution getting the 4B11T. It is probably the first time a non-Sirius engine has been used in a Lancer Evolution. All Evolutions, from the Evo I to the Evo IX used some variant of the Sirius 4G63T, with the latest in the Evo IX getting MIVEC variable valve timing.

The 4B11 is a 4-cylinder DOHC engine with MIVEC variable valve timing on both intake and exhaust valves, making it somewhat equivalent to Toyota’s Dual VVT-i. In it’s US market application, it makes 152 horsepower at 6,000rpm and 198Nm of torque at 4,250rpm, with 176Nm available from 2,500rpm. The 4B11 uses a new aluminium cylinder block as well as an aluminium cylinder head. A timing chain is used instead of a timing belt.

While most engines are usually either bore-biased (rev-happy) or stroke-biased (better torque), the new 4B11 is a “square” engine – it has a bore and stroke that both measure 86mm, giving a good balance of rev-happiness and good torque. It uses as compression ratio of 10.0:1, but can still use RON92 (87 AKI) fuel.

The MIVEC system uses valve overlap to reduce pumping losses under normal conditions, but under high engine speed conditions where maximum power is needed, intake valve closing time is retarded to allow for larger air volume. In a similar high load condition but at low engine speeds, intake valve closing is advanced instead, ensuring sufficient air volume, but exhaust valve opening is retarded to provide a higher expansion ratio and improved efficiency.

To ensure stable idling, valve overlap is eliminated during idle conditions. As previously mentioned, this version of MIVEC can adjust both intake and exhaust valves independently for maximum flexibility in valve control.

Mitsubishi has employed a 4-point inertial axis system with cylindrical hydraulic engine mounts on the left and right sides to help reduce engine vibration, ensuring smooth and quiet operation. On the right side mount where the engine is, a lightweight, high-rigidity squeeze-cast aluminium bracket helps reduce engine noise under acceleration. On the left side where the transmission is, a similar lightweight, high-rigidity plate bracket made of steel helps reduce gear noise. For the front and rear engine mounts, a custom-tuned insulator helps control both idle vibration and acceleration shock.

The engine can be mated to either a 5-speed manual gearbox or a CVT transmission with 6 virtual gears that are selectable using paddle shifts on the steering wheel. Mitsubishi picked 6 gears (in reality because they are unlimited to pick from, you could have 50 CVT virtual gears if you wanted) because it offered the best balance of ease of use, sporty driving, and flexible performance.

The 5-speed manual is an improvement over the old 5-speed transmission – the third and fourth gears now use double-cone synchronisers for smoother shifting and a new honing process was used to reduce noise. The gear ratios have also been adjusted to suit the torque curve of the new engine.

The CVT transmission’s ratio range is from 2.349 to 0.394, with infinite variations in between, which gives wider ratios than the previous 4-speed auto that had a ratio spread of 2.842 to 0.712. A much higher achievable overdrive ensures good fuel economy and lower engine speed for highway cruising. The INVECS-III software in the CVT customises shift patterns on the fly to match the acceleration and brake patterns of the driver. If you select the L mode, the INVECS-III software shifts to allow for more engine braking if the car has to go down slopes.

Something alot of people miss when switching from conventional fixed ratio gearing to CVTs is the lurching feel when you floor the pedal from a stand still. The way a CVT-equipped car starts may be interpreted as sluggish by our minds – this is known as the rubber band effect. INVECS-III can simulate this lurching that the driver expects.

Anyway, this engine looks like a very modern engine with a gearbox combination that promises to be great for both city and highway driving. You’ve got ample amounts of torque from a low 2,500rpm for a comfortable city drive, plus a CVT to keep the revs at the sweet spot. You’ve got a good low maximum overdrive ratio of 0.394 for good highway fuel economy and a relaxed low engine speed cruise

izputra
post Oct 14 2010, 11:02 AM

146 posts

QUOTE(XionCity @ Oct 14 2010, 10:18 AM)
oh i see...DSG gearbox is newer than CVT??
No need to know which one is newer. Read at the link below. It explains about the DSG & a minor comparison with CVT at the end...i prefer DSG anytime over CVT (or other conventional auto boxes) coz of lightning fast gear shifting & the ability to perform matched-rev downshifts is totally speechless

http://cars.about.com/od/thingsyouneedtokn...howDSGworks.htm

This post has been edited by izputra: Oct 14 2010, 11:07 AM
cybermaster98
post Oct 14 2010, 11:08 AM

4,440 posts

Comparison of Horsepower & Torque for 2.0L models

Honda Civic - 155HP / 188Nm (1315kg)
Kia Forte - 156HP / 194.2Nm (1326kg)
Waja Inspira - 155HP / 199NM (1358kg)
Toyota Altis - 147HP / 187Nm (1315kg)

152 Pages « < 126 127 128 129 130 > » Top