-= myforte - naza kia forte owners club =- V8, Leaves You Speechless

cybermaster98
post Sep 7 2010, 10:54 AM

4,440 posts

Kia Motors boss resigns over mass recall
7 September 2010

SEOUL (AFP) – The head of South Korea's second-largest automaker Kia Motors has resigned to take responsibility for mass vehicle recalls caused by defective electrical wiring, the company said Tuesday.
Chung Sung-Eun stepped down after Kia had to issue a global recall of 85,900 vehicles, spokesman Michael Choo told AFP.
The four models involved are the Soul, Sorento and Borrego sport utility vehicles, and the Cadenza sedan. In China a Kia Motors joint venture, Dongfeng Yueda Kia Motor Co, on Monday separately recalled 18,147 Sorento, Borrego and Soul models.
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
cybermaster98
post Sep 7 2010, 11:39 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(kiaforteclub @ Sep 7 2010, 11:38 AM)
very responsible work culture... sadly not available in Msia! our culture just blame others and make them eat dead cat....
Haha! Yes good one.
cybermaster98
post Sep 7 2010, 11:39 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(Adin @ Sep 7 2010, 11:14 AM)
So..... yawn.gif
Yes typical Malaysian response. Thats why our FDI among the lowest in Asia.
cybermaster98
post Sep 7 2010, 04:25 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(tanp @ Sep 7 2010, 04:21 PM)
Good guessing. Toyota Vios to be exact. He well known by the paultan blog's commentators for defending his overpriced Toyota Vios to the fullest. But he got his points actually. My advise, just beware, dont ever say something bad about Toyota in front of him, Vios to be precise. Else he will starting to 'poison' this thread with his super duper Vios..hahaha
HAHA. No la. Just basic facts. Anyway my Vios not that over-priced la. I bought it for RM74,700 only and it has served me well for more than 7 yrs. But the current models are surely overpriced for the specs they offer. The Forte does have much better specs and priced well too.
cybermaster98
post Sep 7 2010, 05:27 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(tanp @ Sep 7 2010, 04:38 PM)
hahahaha..me actually found u on the paultan's blog & so happen reading the comments on one of the issues. I read till the end all the comments. U defends all your comments until got many fellows there going to fight with u..hahaha. But, as i said, u got your points & i agree with your facts. & so happen today, i found u here also when i read feedback about Forte, & u already make some one angry with your very first post..hahaha. That's why i purposely registered here to post this "warning". I hope no fighting over here..peace bro..heheheheh
HAHA. Yes i know which blog on Paultan u refering to also. Well, we must have freedom to express ourselves ma. So if argue with facts then no prob but when some ppl start talking nonsense then surely ill respond also la. But dont worry. Its all fine. Facts cannot change ma.
cybermaster98
post Sep 7 2010, 05:28 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(FrostLance @ Sep 7 2010, 05:21 PM)
wah..this is cyber from paultan..quite femes.. lol..
the vios guy...
Yes Frost. But not just the Vios.
cybermaster98
post Sep 8 2010, 10:08 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(kapultek @ Sep 7 2010, 06:43 PM)
thanks for ur opinion...
but got poison by kiarians..hehe....
n i got offer for 2.0 CBU unit stock ready....thats why thinking to buy forte
Buying a car is always a loss. Dont just follow your emotions and blindly jump from car to car just because its a new model. Focus on getting properties instead. I assume ure still in your 20's. Focus on the future instead of the present. I have been using my 1st generation Toyota Vios since 2003. Its still going strong without any problems so no reason to change now despite the many choices in the market now. I can easily afford to change to a much bigger car but its the least of my concerns right now. Ive bought a prime property last year and am looking at another soon. I think we should all remind ourselves that cars are always a losing investment so we should always strive to minimise our losses.

Cheers!
cybermaster98
post Sep 21 2010, 11:20 AM

4,440 posts

Is the Forte 1.6EX better than the Vios 1.5(J) auto? Based on the price and specs and taking into consideration the maintenance and resale value, the Vios seems a better bet.
cybermaster98
post Sep 21 2010, 11:57 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(XionCity @ Sep 21 2010, 11:45 AM)
maintenance, still say EX better, resale value, VIOS better
but spare parts.....will hv 2 w8 very long..nt sure bt VIOS
Kia's maintenance is mostly higher based on current models. Dont see how the Forte would be any cheaper. Fuel consumption surely Vios better since its lighter with reasonable hp and torque. Toyota and Honda never had any problems with spare parts.
cybermaster98
post Sep 21 2010, 01:21 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(red.devil.7 @ Sep 21 2010, 12:19 PM)
but have to take into considerations on the other things that forte has to offer as well..
the interior space,
the 2nd airbag,
6-speaker plus steering audio control,
usb music functionality,
anti-glare rear-mirror,
the rear disc brakes,
rear seat feet air-cond blower,
side mirrors even got heaters to get rid of the fog!
Yes agreed. But the 1.6SX does not have EBD and BA right? Even the Vios J has that. I think these 2 features are more significant than all the cosmetic things that the Forte has e.g speaker, usb, rear aircon, heated side mirrors, etc.
cybermaster98
post Sep 21 2010, 01:29 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(DaBestOne @ Sep 21 2010, 01:26 PM)
But don't forget Forte is a C-segment car. You are buying a C-segment car with the price of a B-segment car. This has gotta be taken into consideration.
Yes im aware of that. But for me the definition of segments is immaterial. What's more important are the specs, ride comfort, value for money, after sales service and resale values. These have a direct impact on the car owner.
cybermaster98
post Sep 21 2010, 01:42 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(Taipan052 @ Sep 21 2010, 01:33 PM)
yes it has. but i think u typo lah. SX have EX dont have i think. EX still has ABS.. in which is still like BA?
ABS = auto braking system, BA = Brake assist. is it?
Yes ure right. My mistake. Its the 1.6EX which only has ABS. By the way ABS is not auto braking system la. Only Volvo and Merc among others have that kind of braking system. ABS = Anti Lock Braking System.

Brake Assist (BA) is totally different from ABS. BA is a generic term for an automobile braking technology that increases braking pressure in an emergency situation. Brake Assist detects circumstances in which emergency braking is required by measuring the speed with which the brake pedal is depressed. When panic braking is detected, the Brake Assist system automatically develops maximum brake boost in order to offset a drivers tendency to brake without enough force.

In some studies BA has been proven in reducing braking distance by almost 20% when used together with the ABS.
cybermaster98
post Sep 21 2010, 01:44 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(takky @ Sep 21 2010, 01:41 PM)
Yes. It has ABS while Vios doesn't have the ESC.
We're only comparing the 1.6EX and the Vios 1.5J so the ESC doesn't come into play.
cybermaster98
post Sep 21 2010, 05:21 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(neko_neko @ Sep 21 2010, 04:14 PM)
Why keep comparing? Just go and test drive, buy the car inside ur budget and wanted the most! U the 1 drive the car, the car belong to u not other ppl. cool2.gif

And those watever ABS,EBD,ESC and AB...just forget it, 10-20years ago those car also dont have, my parent and fren also driving without complain, accident or whatever, and today they still standing alive in-front of me. Anyway, just drive slow and safety, if not give u 20Airbags + thousands plus brake system, in the end also die. IMO. whistling.gif
Yes we're aware of that. Its not the matter of whether ure gonna use those features or otherwise. Its about if ure buying a car for a smiliar price then might as well take 1 which has these features. If u tell me to spend another 20K for some of these features then i would say it doesnt matter. But in this case we have 2 makes of similar price with and without certain features. So the features actually do play a role in the decision making.
cybermaster98
post Sep 21 2010, 05:29 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(FrostLance @ Sep 21 2010, 05:25 PM)
WRONG. Nowadays Hondas are DAMN EXPENSIVE. Parts takes months to arrive. (Stream, Jazz,New City)
Due to the warranty, maintainence must be done at authorised Honda Service Centre and it cost a bomb compared to Kia maintainence.
I have in the Garage the new Accord, and previously just sold the FD2 2.0.
Auntie has stream and jazz. So i know honda pretty well.
Honda malaysia is really crappy their aftersales recently. Very bad indeed
OK Maybe ure right about Honda. But its surely a different case with Toyota.
cybermaster98
post Sep 22 2010, 11:15 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(Taipan052 @ Sep 21 2010, 05:32 PM)
heard and saw some complaints in the net mention vios power window motor costed as much as rm1150?
any comments from you?

and forgot which one whether toyota or honda which replacement for one of side window costed as much as rm800?

hmm.. if it comes to Kia, sure kena bash kaw2.. but if its Japs car.. seems okay? funny.
Yes the Vios driver's side power window motor costs RM1000. The other power windows cost about RM 450 to replace not RM800. Did u check how much is the Forte power window motor replacement? U might be surprised. But how often do u change such parts anyway? I havent changed any of my power windows in the 7.5 years ive used my Vios and neither have any of my friends driving similar Vios as well.
cybermaster98
post Sep 22 2010, 11:18 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(FrostLance @ Sep 21 2010, 05:31 PM)
it does have. Under different name. Diff Car makes uses different terms for these.
The 1.6SX has ABS (Antilock braking System) Traction Control System (TCS) , ESC (Electronic Stability Control), Electrnic Brake Assist (EBA) with electronic brake-force distribution
Aiya its not different name la. I made a mistake with the abbreviation. Its supposed to be 1.6EX. The 1.6SX has all that u mentioned and the name is the same. No difference. But im comparing between the 1.6EX and the Vios J only for discussion purposes. The 1.6SX is definitely worth it but isnt part of my discussion here.
cybermaster98
post Sep 22 2010, 11:21 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(neko_neko @ Sep 21 2010, 06:45 PM)
U the only person know what u wanted the most in ur mind, none of us can convinces u no matter how good a car, because u will still excuse for urself to get the car u wanted.

Bro,no matter how u compare vios and forte, forte still win everything sweat.gif ...
My family own a old vios( cousin car, staying with us), new city(dad car), latio sport(mom car) and my own forte,  i can drive any of them if i wanted. blush.gif

My short review for this 4 car  rolleyes.gif

Pros
Old vios - good FC
New City - Branded Luxury looks car
Latio sport - Fast pickup
Forte - Lots feature and cheap

Cons
Old vios - None,so far, so good.. although is old but is still a good car.
New City - FC very high, city drive wise, not suitable for highway drive.
Latio sport - Maintainer Fee expensive
Forte - Bumpy because of the 17" rim and hollow sounds coming out from backseat.

If u asking why i didnt buy vios since i give them good comment, this is because im talking about old vios but not new vios, the new vios make me very disappointed. For me is just a milo tin car, if u want vios, i would advise u get the old vios or unless u really desperate of FC only get new vios, tats it. IMO
Yes i agree with most of your comments. I dont like the new Vios as well. The design is really crap. The previous generation is better in terms of physical design. but for your info i already have a Vios 2003 model. Im considering a few makes for my wife with the Forte being 1 of them.
cybermaster98
post Sep 22 2010, 01:52 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(nite_eif @ Sep 22 2010, 12:50 PM)
My family got 2 1.5E vios (2004), a 1.8G altis (2009) and my new forte 1.6EX. I drove the vios for 6-7 years already but at the end chose forte instead.
I also compared same cars, new vios 1.5J vs EX, but Forte wins due to:

Forte - More Space, Comfort : Boot, Front n Rear legroom, Head clearance
        - Safety : 2 brake disks, 15 inch tyres, 2 Airbags, ABS is standard
        - Handling : Stable at corners n high speeds (even 15' inch only, SX got 17')
        - Design : New n cool design! got personality  thumbup.gif

Vios - Space smaller
      - 1 disk and 1 airbags oni, ABS is standard
      - highways >120kmh and at corners will float
      - Old design n xcun!

Vios still got its own pros for its reliability, less fussy car, great FC, great for city drive but it s SMALL and feels empty.
Maintenance costs are quite similar, vios a bit more expensive..toyota s after sales quality comes with its price..
Spare parts quite problematic with forte since it s new, worldwide also consider new..launched in 2008, 2 years baru maa
but price is comparable to toyota, availability is improving..importers start bringing in the parts to msia..
Forte EX FC is not far from vios, comparable if not the same..so forte FTW!  rclxms.gif

Just my fair opinion whistling.gif
Eh for your info the Vios was designed for young adults. Its not really designed for a family car. For that they have the Altis. So if ure comparing space, of course the Forte will have more legroom cuz its a different segment car. If the Vios has better specs and better legroom and everything else better than wht it is how the heck are they gonna sell the Altis??? Common la.

Anyway, for your info, the latest Mazda3 2.0L has similar rear legroom as the Vios. Go check it out if u dont believe me.
cybermaster98
post Sep 22 2010, 01:55 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(FrostLance @ Sep 22 2010, 01:29 PM)

Added on September 22, 2010, 1:31 pm

if u have the vios then why not a bigger car for u, the wife gets the vios la...
I did consider that and my wife wants to take over my Vios. But i think the Vios is nearing its normal life span. So far all the major parts are original. Ive had zero problems (except 1 with my front seat belt). But i think soon enuf i would need to start changing some important parts e.g shock absorbers, etc. Its already 7.5 yrs old. But then again my wife wants to get rid of her 4 yr old Kia too. Its too pricey to maintain but we'll have to cover the extremely low resale value which is a real bother.

8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0571sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 12:08 AM