I m not frontier owner. Not sure about mod. If u don't high rev often, it should be alright.
4x4 Pickup Truck Club, come join us...
Feb 1 2012, 12:30 AM
178 posts Joined: Oct 2004 |
I m not frontier owner. Not sure about mod. If u don't high rev often, it should be alright.
Feb 23 2012, 02:02 PM
871 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
I just bought a new Hilux. Wanna put a cabin behind. Any suggestions, etc. Also many people told me that its cheaper to get it done in Thailand. If so, any issues with kastam when coming back. JPJ? Any paperwork, kopi kopi required?
Apr 18 2012, 09:46 PM
215 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: Squirrel Hut! |
anyone ford ranger owner here could en light me with experience on it? Im planning to get a 2nd hand 2005 ford ranger, Thanks.
May 12 2012, 11:19 AM
0 posts Joined: Apr 2010 |
can you share the name and address of the shop that you are going in thailand? is there a shop in sadao, rather than in hadyai? |
May 18 2012, 12:31 PM
355 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Setiawangsa |
Isn't Yala is nearer to Malaysia? I think there is 1 service center in Yala, based in the Thai website. Correct me if i'm wrong.
Yup, my friend also suggest me to do the upgrade/accessories in Thailand since its cheaper there. But if you are looking for other shop, I think Gombak/Batu Cave got a lot of 4x4 accesories shop. So far, who has ordered the new Ranger? I'm waiting for this month salary, then will straight away go to pay the down payment at SDAC Jalan Ipoh. |
Jun 12 2012, 02:38 PM
88 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(adriancs @ Feb 23 2012, 02:02 PM) I just bought a new Hilux. Wanna put a cabin behind. Any suggestions, etc. Also many people told me that its cheaper to get it done in Thailand. If so, any issues with kastam when coming back. JPJ? Any paperwork, kopi kopi required? Hi Adriancs,I recently went to Hadyai to install Aeroklass tonneau cover (motorized) + rear steel bumper + new bedliner..... Prices were cheaper compared to what I got quoted in local 4x4 shops. If you want to know the price, PM me. Worth the visit if you have several items that you want to buy. On the way back, crossed the border around 8pm.. nobody kacau, didn't even go through the customs checkpoint.... green lane all the way..... |
Jun 26 2012, 06:39 PM
22 posts Joined: Feb 2009 From: Klang |
Hi guys,
been driving 1st gen hilux for 6yrs, sold it and got the new 2012 version. went asking for canopy, 2 versions ABS material at rm6k and FiberGlass material at rm4.3k, ABS is lighter but i dun know by how much, also learned that private/company(non-commecial) does not require to do jpj anymore. any advice on which to go with? my dogs goes to work with me sometimes thanks |
Jul 1 2012, 06:26 PM
141 posts Joined: May 2011 |
Guys, i test driven both colorado and new ford ranger.
Nuff said, the new ford ranger beat colorado by far. This morning went back to ford pj, place. A booking. Waiting list 2-3 months. But then im being indecisive whether should i go wit manual or auto tranny. Had bben driving manual for the pass 10 year, nissan terrano, wira,... 4wd and sedan. Auto once in awhile, gf's myvi, frens beemer. Now my sa suggest me to think bout it for couple of days before deciding manual or auto tranny. Will be driving intercity most of the time. With jammes in between but driving with stick , never a hassle to me, just that with the new ford ranger ...which one do u think is the best.? |
Jul 2 2012, 08:27 PM
355 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Setiawangsa |
For those who have got their new Ranger, mind sharing your experience?
Jul 3 2012, 09:35 AM
141 posts Joined: May 2011 |
QUOTE(redzanime @ Jul 2 2012, 08:27 PM) bro,I havent own one but on a waiting list on owning one. here is my brief experience test driven both colorado and ranger. please bear in mind that my review is based on the test drive unit and just a quick drive moment with the truck (albeit the fact i did ask my SA permission to drove outside the allowed pre-defined route just to test it out) R = Ranger (2.2 XLT) C = Colorado (2.8) Diesel engine sound inside cabin R - surprisingly quite. almost as quite as the beemer 320d (e90) C - sounds like im inside those diesel 1-3 tonne small lorry Cabin comfort (seats, legroom etc) R - sitting position for passenger legs similar to myvi sitting position leg towards the bottom not inclining to front (perhaps due to higher seat position (there is compartment below seat) C - comfy compare to Ranger. but i dont like the huge window opening, feels exposed. gear shifting (auto) R - smooth, Turbo kick in around 2.5k rpm or perhaps lower. C - gear change kinda harsh with huge noticeable lag in between gear 2-3-4, doesnt feel that powerfull compare to ranger view area from cabin R - felt damn tall, even when i stop at traffic light side by side with hilux (fortunately) i can feel im taller. C - as highlighted, felt exposed perhaps due to bigger window pane area. cornering (turning radius, mid speed turning test) R - turning radius pretty much the same on both similar to hilux, perhaps slightly bigger, cornering around 60kmh, my own body tilt a lulttle against cornering direction perhaps due to chair design C - due to chair design, cornering around 60kmh felt like sedan car - i cant comment on body roll everything coz i cant really gauge those thing. |
Jul 5 2012, 05:36 PM
4 posts Joined: May 2011 |
We are looking for people to participate in a CAR SURVEY conducted in Petaling Jaya.
Appointment can be done based on convenient timing. An token of appreciation will be given after completion of survey. rm50-120 depending on the car type(Except for Proton Inspira and Preve). survey length: 30-40 minutes. Requirements: 1. A brand new car purchased from June 2011 - June 2012. 2. Age 20 - 54. 3. Holds main or majority of the decision ON PURCHASE. 4. Non-automotive industry job related. 5. Sorry to say but opens to male only. Any interested party please PM or contact: (Max Lim - 0163112476) or (Joel - 0173453618) Thanks. Added on July 7, 2012, 5:39 pmSorry to intrude, We are looking for Triton, Hilux, Navara, D-Max owners participate in a car survey conducted in petaling jaya. Appointment can be done based on convenient timing. An token of appreciation will be given after completion of survey. rm100-120 will be given. survey length: 30-40 minutes. Requirements: 1. A brand new car purchased from june 2011 - june 2012. 2. age 25 - 54. 3. Holds main or majority of the decision ON PURCHASE. 4. Non-automotive industry job related. 5. Applicable to Male only Any interested party please contact: (Max Lim - 0163112476) or (Joel - 0173453618) This post has been edited by sesatbird: Jul 7 2012, 05:39 PM |
Jul 11 2012, 06:36 PM
265 posts Joined: Apr 2009 |
Just thought some of the Hilux owners may be interested...
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2423148&hl= |
Jul 16 2012, 05:20 PM
88 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(lec @ Jun 26 2012, 06:39 PM) Hi guys, Is the new gen Hilux any good bro? I've had mine for 7 years and clocking more than 200k on it already.. Just thinking about the hassle of going thru all the suspension mods again and waiting for warranty period to end makes me feel sick already...been driving 1st gen hilux for 6yrs, sold it and got the new 2012 version. went asking for canopy, 2 versions ABS material at rm6k and FiberGlass material at rm4.3k, ABS is lighter but i dun know by how much, also learned that private/company(non-commecial) does not require to do jpj anymore. any advice on which to go with? my dogs goes to work with me sometimes thanks If I would buy a new truck, I would buy a Colorado!!! |
Jul 16 2012, 06:04 PM
734 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: Penang |
Hi guys, I'm thinking of getting a second-hand truck.
Was looking around at the shops, and saw a 2006 Frontier for sale at about RM50K. The tyres protrude a little from the chasis, so I think has been modified before. Reading through here though, seems like Frontier is not so favourable. My interest in this is mainly for a truck, with no intention of bringing it off-road, and don't need it for heavy cargo. Any advice for this? |
Jul 16 2012, 07:27 PM
191 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
Do u guys think it is worth take 3.2 New Ranger than 2.2?
Jul 16 2012, 08:12 PM
270 posts Joined: May 2011 |
Which engine oil good for Hilux? Currently I used from UMW SC which used monograde SAE40 engine oil.
This post has been edited by langatian: Jul 16 2012, 08:16 PM |
Jul 17 2012, 02:52 PM
191 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
Jul 17 2012, 06:16 PM
90 posts Joined: Mar 2007 |
Hope I'm allowed to do this - Hari Raya Promotion for Isuzu DMAX! Check this out...http://isuzumalaysia.com/
Yea, a super lousy website - but giving good deals! 1.] Special Discount of RM188...and; 2.] 3 tanks of fuel, worth RM410...and; 3.] Window tint? Of course that's included! 4.] All these is enough for you to drive till your ~5000km service! |
Jul 17 2012, 11:51 PM
7 posts Joined: Jul 2010 |
Jul 21 2012, 05:11 PM
10 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
hi everyone..i need your opinion here
i'm looking for a used 4x4 truck due to my work place. it is a school in rural area in sabah...about 35+- km from the pitas town..the road is gravel (+ lubang sana sini)...second reason is since i'm a teacher, so usually i need to go to the PPD for meeting, taklimat etc, and sometimes need to bring the school kids to other place for their program (camping, sport, edu program)..sometimes need to drive fast (gear3-4) on gravel to get on time... my first target will be hilux2.5mt (year 2007-2009 model)...i need your opinion on this car maintenance, common problem, and also the comfort when driving this car on gravel road... my 2nd target will be d-max due to its maintenance(boleh la kata murah) and its FC factor (well, currently i'm driving my parents' 3.0mt d-max...but the problem is i already puas rasa my body melantun melambung inside the car driving on gravel road when i'm in hurry...the comfort level i can say worst) 3rd 4th 5th choice???? xda ;-D |
| Change to: | 0.1191sec
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 06:38 AM |