9 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 >Bottom

How Much A Hawker Can Earn?, Before I jump in the ship

ivan.nickivan
post Jul 24 2010, 12:42 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(edyek @ Jul 24 2010, 12:08 PM)
Right. Average hawkers is around 1k-3k. Some even below 1k.
hi edyek

Since you've been in business for long. I have some questions

1) Averagely a hawker's earning is about 1 to 3k, and by that it means that those who are earning 8k is really making good profits? But I've also seen myself that there are many who are making ard 5 to 6k in nett profits per month. Could it be perhaps we forumers are estimating instead of having the right figure as most of the hawkers would prefer to be secretive on their earnings? I do not mean to say that every hawker is earning good. They give me an impression by driving Japanese made cars and living in good locations.

2) I am sure you've been to some food court in Subang or KL, with that good numbers of traffic, I am sure 5 to 6k shouldn't be a problem less all expenses including rentals(which is higher). Otherwise it would be hard for them to survive the expenses which largely goes to the rent and staffs.

3) Recently, been told by a friend that a friend of hers been operating a stall selling claypot in a kopitiam. Who is currently earning 6 to 7k as in nett, I believe a kopitiam traffic is not as many as food court and so. So can this a reliable source, as in can I believe the story?

Thanks! biggrin.gif
edyek
post Jul 24 2010, 12:57 PM

Business Rating :
3,820 posts

QUOTE(ivan.nickivan @ Jul 24 2010, 12:42 PM)
hi edyek

Since you've been in business for long. I have some questions

1) Averagely a hawker's earning is about 1 to 3k, and by that it means that those who are earning 8k is really making good profits? But I've also seen myself that there are many who are making ard 5 to 6k in nett profits per month. Could it be perhaps we forumers are estimating instead of having the right figure as most of the hawkers would prefer to be secretive on their earnings? I do not mean to say that every hawker is earning good. They give me an impression by driving Japanese made cars and living in good locations.

2) I am sure you've been to some food court in Subang or KL, with that good numbers of traffic, I am sure 5 to 6k shouldn't be a problem less all expenses including rentals(which is higher). Otherwise it would be hard for them to survive the expenses which largely goes to the rent and staffs.

3) Recently, been told by a friend that a friend of hers been operating a stall selling claypot in a kopitiam. Who is currently earning 6 to 7k as in nett, I believe a kopitiam traffic is not as many as food court and so. So can this a reliable source, as in can I believe the story?
Thanks!  biggrin.gif
1) Avearge means those with average traffic flow. Normal food at normal stall. Earning 8k nett, is really a good profit (earn even more than average office employee). RM 5-6k is consider as a good income for those hawkers settle at good traffic flow of customer. The one you saw by driving Japanese cars are just some examples? People tend to listen more on success stories rather than not sucess stories. People are rather excited by listening to someone telling them that A hawker earns 10k and drive Benz. But have they heard of people telling them that, B hawker earn peanuts per month, drive lousy van, stay at a wooden kampung house? That why we always see those hawkers are rich because we always refer to those hawkers that are RICH!

2) Yes, I believe those hawkers at SS15 (Asian food court, was this the name? Nearby the Taylors college) will be able to make around that figure.

3) Normal kopitiam with normal traffic flow, will not earn RM 6-7k nett per month, I only believe in gross profit. However, if the kopitiam has good traffic flow, morning till night time has 80% full house, then I shall believe RM 6-7k is possible.

It is easy to estimate the the profit of hawkers, as they make buy products to make into another products to sell. There is always the expenses and profit there for us to monitor.
rubrubrub
post Jul 24 2010, 01:00 PM

senor
1,793 posts

yup local hawkers in Old Klang Road area only earns an average 2k.

Added on July 24, 2010, 1:02 pm
QUOTE(edyek @ Jul 24 2010, 12:57 PM)
1) Avearge means those with average traffic flow. Normal food at normal stall. Earning 8k nett, is really a good profit (earn even more than average office employee). RM 5-6k is consider as a good income for those hawkers settle at good traffic flow of customer. The one you saw by driving Japanese cars are just some examples? People tend to listen more on success stories rather than not sucess stories. People are rather excited by listening to someone telling them that A hawker earns 10k and drive Benz. But have they heard of people telling them that, B hawker earn peanuts per month, drive lousy van, stay at a wooden kampung house? That why we always see those hawkers are rich because we always refer to those hawkers that are RICH!

2) Yes, I believe those hawkers at SS15 (Asian food court, was this the name? Nearby the Taylors college) will be able to make around that figure.

3) Normal kopitiam with normal traffic flow, will not earn RM 6-7k nett per month, I only believe in gross profit. However, if the kopitiam has good traffic flow, morning till night time has 80% full house, then I shall believe RM 6-7k is possible.

It is easy to estimate the the profit of hawkers, as they make buy products to make into another products to sell. There is always the expenses and profit there for us to monitor.
asis cafe hwaker stalls makes around 3k not more.

This post has been edited by rubrubrub: Jul 24 2010, 01:02 PM
pinkantelope
post Jul 24 2010, 03:32 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(rubrubrub @ Jul 24 2010, 02:00 PM)
yup local hawkers in Old Klang Road area only earns an average 2k.

Added on July 24, 2010, 1:02 pm

asis cafe hwaker stalls makes around 3k not more.
This is an interesting topic to debate on. We wouldn't know how much a hawker can make, but I am sure a location determines all. Besides the location, the margin is as equal important. Many years back, a hawker driving a BMW is still a story that I can accept, as there aren't many competitions. Look now, everywhere you go stalls sprouting up as though people see gold in this trade. Competition is so stiff, take one place for example a food court in KL with an average traffic per day of 3000 people with a total of 30 hawker stalls operating. Each stall will definitely enjoy brisk business(about 100 patrons per stall) but imagine additional 30 more stalls being added. Instead of 30 stalls enjoying the cake now it would be 60 stalls for the cake. The number of patrons for each will fall(from 100 to 50). And each day, more stalls are on the way onto the street, into the kopitiams and so. Each competing for a piece of the cake. And in every jam packed food court, if you spend one whole day sitting in there you will see not every stall is enjoying good business, but because the place is crowded we normally have an impression that each hawker is doing good business. Take sometime sit in and count how many plates can some of them dish out(for those that are not so good in attracting the crowd) in a day?

I have heard of stories of successful hawkers and those who failed badly and some that are in between. And I always believe in "what you do is not no important than how you do it". You can have a few guys selling wanton mee in the same place competing among each other and yet in that group you will find one or two emerging the winners - but they are selling the same thing? Go and check out what they do to become the one that stands out.

The hawker trade is similar to the credit card industry, very saturated but can still survive. All you need is innovations to differentiate yourself from others. The key ingredient to drawing the crowd in order to generate a better net profits.

DarkNite
post Jul 25 2010, 07:33 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(pinkantelope @ Jul 24 2010, 03:32 PM)
....., if you spend one whole day sitting in there you will see not every stall is enjoying good business, but because the place is crowded we normally have an impression that each hawker is doing good business. Take sometime sit in and count how many plates can some of them dish out(for those that are not so good in attracting the crowd) in a day?
This reminds me of one time when the Income Tax office station their agents to sit for a week to evaluate how much tax should the Ice Kacang seller pays.
Darkmage12
post Jul 25 2010, 09:28 AM

shhhhhhhhh come i tell you something hehe
17,053 posts

QUOTE(faceless @ Jul 23 2010, 04:39 PM)
The average noodle hawker make 8k nett. The problem is most of them spent it at Genting.
Are you referring to a Curry Mee hawker in Chao Yang SS2? He has Genting Gold Card doh.gif
wodenus
post Jul 25 2010, 05:46 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

Wantan mee seller near my place has sent two kids to the US. Of course he works in an area with houses, government offices and shoplots smile.gif

It's crowded every weekday, no chance to find a seat even.

TSCassidy90
post Jul 25 2010, 05:58 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Jul 25 2010, 06:46 PM)
Wantan mee seller near my place has sent two kids to the US. Of course he works in an area with houses, government offices and shoplots smile.gif

It's crowded every weekday, no chance to find a seat even.
Hi Wodenus

May i know where is the stall? I would like to go and try out. Thanks biggrin.gif
wodenus
post Jul 25 2010, 08:54 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(Cassidy90 @ Jul 25 2010, 05:58 PM)
Hi Wodenus

May i know where is the stall? I would like to go and try out. Thanks  biggrin.gif
You know where HELP college is? it's across the road from there, it's near a popular mini-market called "Hock Lee's".
TSCassidy90
post Jul 25 2010, 09:28 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Jul 25 2010, 09:54 PM)
You know where HELP college is? it's across the road from there, it's near a popular mini-market called "Hock Lee's".
Not very sure but I know where HELP college is, can I walk across to the stall? How do i identify the stall? Any name? My friend who is a food writer is interested to go over, is the stall operating on weekends as well? Thanks a lot.
lexiqa
post Jul 26 2010, 12:34 AM

525 posts

3k-5k nett without paying taxes is still a lot of money for most ppl tongue.gif
wodenus
post Jul 26 2010, 12:45 AM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(Cassidy90 @ Jul 25 2010, 09:28 PM)
Not very sure but I know where HELP college is, can I walk across to the stall? How do i identify the stall? Any name? My friend who is a food writer is interested to go over, is the stall operating on weekends as well? Thanks a lot.
I believe they are closed weekends but I'm never there on weekends so I don't know smile.gif

OKay here's what you do, from HELP college, walk to HELP college car park. Then walk up the stairs, you should see Guardian Pharmacy. Take a left from there, you should be walking down the hill. Keep going until you see a road with a pedestrian crossing traffic light. You should be able to see "Hock Lee's" from there. The hawker center is in the same block, roughly behind "Hock Lee's". If you're there during a weekday lunchtime, just walk behind it until you see a hawker place with no seats available. You can see it fwhen you turn the corner, there are some tables on the pavement as well smile.gif

I don't know what the name is, it's so prominent I never really bothered to look at the signboard lol smile.gif

Added on July 26, 2010, 12:46 am
QUOTE(lexiqa @ Jul 26 2010, 12:34 AM)
3k-5k nett without paying taxes is still a lot of money for most ppl tongue.gif
Not when you work 18 hour days.

This post has been edited by wodenus: Jul 26 2010, 12:46 AM
normanesham
post Jul 27 2010, 09:50 PM

800 rental? where is the location. definitely in some hulu..

even in bangsar - 15000 for rental. places like papa rich they renting at 20k per month
tothebest
post Jul 29 2010, 09:04 PM

181 posts

QUOTE(normanesham @ Jul 27 2010, 10:50 PM)
800 rental? where is the location. definitely in some hulu..

even in bangsar  - 15000 for rental. places like papa rich they renting at 20k per month
as papa rich in bangsar has two floor and corner shot lot.it may worth to rent.

http://myno1fashion.blogspot.com/

http://e-windowshop.blogspot.com/

This post has been edited by tothebest: Aug 7 2010, 03:25 AM
wh0cares
post Aug 5 2010, 12:30 AM

700 posts

Most of the chinese food stalls hired foreigners to do the cooking, etc. And the owner is not around.

The question is, how the owner able to control the revenue?? Chicken rice stall don't provide receipt. smile.gif
pinkantelope
post Aug 5 2010, 09:45 AM

52 posts

QUOTE(wh0cares @ Aug 5 2010, 01:30 AM)
Most of the chinese food stalls hired foreigners to do the cooking, etc. And the owner is not around.

The question is, how the owner able to control the revenue?? Chicken rice stall don't provide receipt. smile.gif
Amazingly, seems like they have bonded very well that the owner gave them his trust. Even with the use of POS(Point-of-Sales) they can cheat too, take the money give you your rice and pocket it themselves. Not everyone will ask for receipts. The business is either built on trust or there is some kind of mechanics to minimize(but not total elimination) of workers cheating on you. For chicken rice business, the owner could possibly count how many chickens are roasted for that day. I am sure when the owner is in the business long enough he will definitely know how many plates of rice can a whole chicken serve.
ptit
post Aug 6 2010, 11:00 AM

198 posts

my father dont trust other ppl as cashier unless its a family member...so right now he have his youngest son to help him...i also help a few time per month....

if family masuk poket sikit takpe...hahahahah....
DarkNite
post Aug 6 2010, 01:03 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(Darkmage12 @ Jul 25 2010, 09:28 AM)
Are you referring to a Curry Mee hawker in Chao Yang SS2? He has Genting Gold Card doh.gif
His income is not from that business. That is just a front.
ireneloh
post Aug 9 2010, 03:59 PM

it depends on what they are selling and how mush the capital they use>>>
angelsinlove
post Aug 9 2010, 06:20 PM

264 posts

I have a friend who is knowledgeable in the F&B industry, I used to seek his advice and guidance long before. Seems like there are many people asking me for advice now, I was wondering if I could suggest my friend to provide a one to one guide for newbies who are interested in setting up F&B business for a nominal fee. I am still considering but would like to know if anyone would be interested?

Perhaps for a fee between RM200 to RM250 maybe from A to Z. Perhaps to include a list of suppliers/business know how/Insights into other players and etc.

Only for F&B business. Even if it's not for your business use it could be a place for you to learn about F&B. If many are supportive of this idea, I will proceed discussing with my friend. Any feedback or suggestions to add to the guide are welcome. thx

This post has been edited by angelsinlove: Aug 9 2010, 06:26 PM

9 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 >Top

0.0243sec    0.44    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:32 PM