How Much A Hawker Can Earn?, Before I jump in the ship
Jul 2 2010, 11:28 PM, updated 16y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
44 posts Joined: May 2010 From: somewhere on earth |
Hey guys and gals. First of all, I would say posting this thread here is more appropriate as this is the business section. I would really like to know how much does an average hawker can make in a month as well as how much can a good performing hawker makes in a month? Your answer is much appreciated. Please let me know whether you're mentioning gross or net profits.
This post has been edited by Cassidy90: Jul 2 2010, 11:33 PM |
Jul 3 2010, 12:05 AM
1,382 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
What food are you going to sell ?
There is no average can be estimate, as it based on the food taste, profit per plate and also location. We can simple calculate the net profit by Gross profit : Profit per plate (RM 2) X 100 plate X 30 days = RM 6000 per month Rental : RM 800 Other expenses : RM 100 1 worker : RM 800 Therefore, Net profit : RM 6000 - RM 1700 = RM 4300 per month Above just the the estimation as a guideline. |
Jul 3 2010, 12:10 AM
25,802 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Penang |
It is how much you can sell dictate how much you can earn.
Jul 3 2010, 12:25 AM
Hi Cherroy
I couldn't determine yet how much I can sell, so it would be better if I know how much can a very good performing stall earns in a month and also the average one so I can see the high and low before deciding is it worth to take the plunge. Of course many factors included esp location. If you do know the earnings of any hawker, is much appreciated. Added on July 3, 2010, 12:31 am QUOTE(YuNGSeNG @ Jul 3 2010, 01:05 AM) What food are you going to sell ? Haven't decided what to sell but it will not differ much from existing hawker foods.There is no average can be estimate, as it based on the food taste, profit per plate and also location. We can simple calculate the net profit by Gross profit : Profit per plate (RM 2) X 100 plate X 30 days = RM 6000 per month Rental : RM 800 Other expenses : RM 100 1 worker : RM 800 Therefore, Net profit : RM 6000 - RM 1700 = RM 4300 per month Above just the the estimation as a guideline. Yes, I agree with you on taste and location. Say let us just put aside those factors, I would like to know what is the range(net profits) of an average and a very good hawker can get in a month. I've heard of some saying that there are hawkers earning about RM10k plus a month(net profits) and so.. but is it real? This post has been edited by Cassidy90: Jul 3 2010, 12:31 AM |
Jul 3 2010, 12:31 AM
37 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
I think u should be more specific in defining hawkers. Do u mean real hawkers like those plying their trade along the five foot way or do u consider those chinese kopitiams hawkers too?
But here's what i know. A chicken rice stall owner in imbi is making at least 15k a month. The owner of sun meng kee roasted duck restaurant in cheras make at 100k a month. Pls dont ask for prove. I dont have any. It's all from some1 i trust. |
Jul 3 2010, 12:32 AM
1,044 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
there are also few of them doing by with few hundreds to a few k's only
Jul 3 2010, 12:39 AM
QUOTE(dannyme @ Jul 3 2010, 01:31 AM) I think u should be more specific in defining hawkers. Do u mean real hawkers like those plying their trade along the five foot way or do u consider those chinese kopitiams hawkers too? Hi dannymeBut here's what i know. A chicken rice stall owner in imbi is making at least 15k a month. The owner of sun meng kee roasted duck restaurant in cheras make at 100k a month. Pls dont ask for prove. I dont have any. It's all from some1 i trust. My definition of hawkers will be of those small stalls in Chinese kopitiams(not the owner of the Kopitiam but those who rents a stall with them). I am also referring to those small stalls at foodcourt like in Asia Cafe and so. Wow...15k is a lot but is that net or gross? Sun Meng Kee is different as it's a restaurant doesn't fall under hawker. Haha... no need prove. |
Jul 3 2010, 12:42 AM
975 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: KL |
Can't say how much profit... But, a hawker can raised up 5 kids ... with 3 studying oversea ... got 3 properties; the most expensive is 700k ... got 4 cars ....
Jul 3 2010, 12:46 AM
that'll be nett.
But honestly, i think it's not a very viable business anymore. Too much of competition. Almost 90% of those who felt like running a business nowadays will choose these big three...food, education n beauty centre. Look through those ad pamphlet like media focus n u'll get what i mean. But hey, don't let me stop u if that has always been ur dream. This post has been edited by dannyme: Jul 3 2010, 12:55 AM |
Jul 3 2010, 05:02 AM
1,741 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
don't underestimated hawker or any food seller, their turnover could be 3 - 5 times your salary.
I know a auntie just selling just noodles + side dish (liu fen), only sell morning, earn around 5k-8k per month. usually when i arrive around 11am in the market she's finished, now she retired jor =.=! my parent's childhood friends, sell meats since I was born, no need rent place just park his lorry near a restaurant, also only sell morning after 11am he start to wash and leave, sell until 2 storey banglo, 2 foreign cars + 4 children's oversea university (i'm one of his son's friend) =.=! regarding to TS, provided if your hawker's food is nice, you could earn a very good income, but, could you stand the heat everyday? i know this guy work as hawker, 6 month he give up because of the heat and now he's in australia doing another work. oh by the way, the two above i mentioned is doing it in Ipoh, so maybe KL business more better provided your location is good. and yes location is very important, more people more chances your food can be tasted and spread with mouth around =D This post has been edited by shoduken: Jul 3 2010, 05:10 AM |
Jul 3 2010, 05:57 AM
198 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
mamak stall earn min 4k max 8k perday....i repeat per day....even my father business selling drinks and ABC Hot Chocolate earns 2k perday....
Jul 3 2010, 08:34 AM
3,820 posts Joined: Jan 2009 From: Land of the Hornbills & Land Below the Wind |
I believe there is a limit to what you sell and how much you can sell. There are only so many tables in the food court, not everyone eat yours. Considering 10-20% customer comes to the food court to eat your food is a healthy estimate figure.
Example: Food court: 50 tables x 4 round per day (Morning, Lunch, Dinner and Supper) = 200 tables. (Do not include those tea time.) 200 tables x 3 person per table = 600 people. (Most people comes in 2 - 4) If your food court is near uni/college, you can put 4 people. 600 x 10% = 60 person. 60 person x RM 4 (average food) = RM 240. RM 240 x 30 days = RM 7.2k This serves as a guideline for you to estimate your sales figure. Please change the number to suit your needs. I estimate based on food court. Do not include those which park their lorry beside the restaurant or others. |
Jul 3 2010, 10:32 AM
QUOTE(dannyme @ Jul 3 2010, 01:46 AM) that'll be nett. I agree with you that this is a competition stiff business. But honestly, i think it's not a very viable business anymore. Too much of competition. Almost 90% of those who felt like running a business nowadays will choose these big three...food, education n beauty centre. Look through those ad pamphlet like media focus n u'll get what i mean. But hey, don't let me stop u if that has always been ur dream. "But hey, don't let me stop u if that has always been ur dream. Added on July 3, 2010, 10:34 am QUOTE(Felice821 @ Jul 3 2010, 01:42 AM) Can't say how much profit... But, a hawker can raised up 5 kids ... with 3 studying oversea ... got 3 properties; the most expensive is 700k ... got 4 cars .... Hi Felice821He's probably richer than a CEO. How you know? You know the hawker? Added on July 3, 2010, 10:35 am QUOTE(shoduken @ Jul 3 2010, 06:02 AM) don't underestimated hawker or any food seller, their turnover could be 3 - 5 times your salary. thanks for the info shoduken. I know a auntie just selling just noodles + side dish (liu fen), only sell morning, earn around 5k-8k per month. usually when i arrive around 11am in the market she's finished, now she retired jor =.=! my parent's childhood friends, sell meats since I was born, no need rent place just park his lorry near a restaurant, also only sell morning after 11am he start to wash and leave, sell until 2 storey banglo, 2 foreign cars + 4 children's oversea university (i'm one of his son's friend) =.=! regarding to TS, provided if your hawker's food is nice, you could earn a very good income, but, could you stand the heat everyday? i know this guy work as hawker, 6 month he give up because of the heat and now he's in australia doing another work. oh by the way, the two above i mentioned is doing it in Ipoh, so maybe KL business more better provided your location is good. and yes location is very important, more people more chances your food can be tasted and spread with mouth around =D This post has been edited by Cassidy90: Jul 3 2010, 10:35 AM |
Jul 3 2010, 10:36 AM
1,044 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
Most hawker dont have to pay income tax hence much more money to spend
Jul 3 2010, 10:39 AM
QUOTE(ptit @ Jul 3 2010, 06:57 AM) mamak stall earn min 4k max 8k perday....i repeat per day....even my father business selling drinks and ABC Hot Chocolate earns 2k perday.... Hi ptitThat's a lot but mamak stall is a restaurant instead of a hawker. Is your father's business selling drinks and ABC Hot Chocolate operating from a small stall or does he actually owns a restaurant and rented out the rest of the place for small stalls to sell food and your dad the only one selling drinks? thanks |
Jul 3 2010, 10:43 AM
8,023 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: :: Cheras :: |
Jul 3 2010, 11:23 AM
2,703 posts Joined: May 2007 From: where you need wings and awakened to reach |
depends on how good ur food gets... a popular mamak stall can get 20-30k of sales per day!!!!
Jul 3 2010, 11:24 AM
376 posts Joined: Mar 2005 |
QUOTE(Cassidy90 @ Jul 3 2010, 12:25 AM) Hi Cherroy well the most important thing is know what is the turn over of the restaurant.....taking the lowest estimation people come in will be the best, if not you will lose hope very fast ( because expectation too high but the rate you imagine is too low)I couldn't determine yet how much I can sell, so it would be better if I know how much can a very good performing stall earns in a month and also the average one so I can see the high and low before deciding is it worth to take the plunge. Of course many factors included esp location. If you do know the earnings of any hawker, is much appreciated. Added on July 3, 2010, 12:31 am Haven't decided what to sell but it will not differ much from existing hawker foods. Yes, I agree with you on taste and location. Say let us just put aside those factors, I would like to know what is the range(net profits) of an average and a very good hawker can get in a month. I've heard of some saying that there are hawkers earning about RM10k plus a month(net profits) and so.. but is it real? just a few days ago, i went around pj and notice that about 4k per stall/ month which i directly ask the owner because me myself plan to start during weekend. only. because you start know what you want to sell, look for your competitor nearby where u want to start. do you need worker to help you? what are your different between other people stall. well looking at price to charge customer also have to determine your location some people might think your food and nice and cheap or reasonable price people who come from far too. putting in money in a factor as well, some marketing will help to increase your customer |
Jul 3 2010, 11:26 AM
QUOTE(Syd G @ Jul 3 2010, 10:43 AM) Lol...what a contradicting statement. I guess u mean they need to but they dont.But hey, u think only hawkers doing that? Bet most businesses here in malaysia pay the bare minimum. Anyway they pay the price by not being able to own anything significant. |
Jul 3 2010, 11:29 AM
2,755 posts Joined: Dec 2004 |
since u have no idea wat to sell, better at least think that 1st before decide to go into hawker.
end of day, it's the taste of ur food that will dictate ur income. |
| Change to: | 0.0190sec
5 queries
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 12:57 PM |