= Sugar Gliders V16 =, Gorgeous Sugar Glider Family

yueyi5730
post Jul 11 2010, 03:36 PM

80 posts

1)cage the white one we call 5 ft cage and the black one we call 4ft cage..can be easily found if u seen it b4..accesories most are DIY toys u can see from this link
http://www.suzsugargliders.com/nosewaccessories.htm

2)i have 3 males no problem getting together...just need proper introduction(very important)..the oni problem with male is non neutered may smell a bit more than normal...if u neuter the male problem solve..and personally i feel they are less territorial if u neuter them so can get along better and introduction process is much faster..still i see dominancy issue but once they know and accept the alpha male then it's alright

3)well we can see that u got from a seller who dont know the basic needs of a sugar glider and i belive u didnt do enough research b4 getting a sugar glider.read the 1st page of the thread very helpful

4)RAW/WILD honey cannot give your gliders...processed honey is fine..if u feeding hpw as the main diet there's a lot of honey in it already..otherwise like me i'm using GliderSlurp as main diet i occasionally give some honey as treats
bonding is how u handle the joey...example like carry joey in bonding pouch,hang "smelly" clothes on the cage,talking softly to them...all so that the glider is use to your smell and voice

5)shampoo is a big no..Sugar gliders dont need to bathe..no sand bath, no shampoo, no woodshaving..they do their own cleaning by grooming themselves or each other..u want soft fur pick a good diet and good supplements..

Added on July 11, 2010, 3:41 pmread this post too..i find it good for first time owners so they know what to expect
http://suggiesathome.com/2010/02/08/your-1st-joey/

This post has been edited by yueyi5730: Jul 11 2010, 03:43 PM
faidzal1982
post Jul 11 2010, 03:56 PM

272 posts

thanks for the info bro... well... the one who wants the sugar glider is my wife... i already told her to do research before rushing and buy the pets...
i guess she too excited and didnt read thoroughly all the guidelines and info... smile.gif now i think i need to get involved and make sure the sugar glider have a better or at least appropriate home to live... dats why i decided to join this community...

btw... if honey in the bottle dat we buy from the supermarket is considered processed honey is it?
yueyi5730
post Jul 11 2010, 04:07 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(faidzal1982 @ Jul 11 2010, 03:56 PM)

thanks for the info bro... well... the one who wants the sugar glider is my wife... i already told her to do research before rushing and buy the pets...
i guess she too excited and didnt read thoroughly all the guidelines and info... smile.gif now i think i need to get involved and make sure the sugar glider have a better or at least appropriate home to live... dats why i decided to join this community...

btw... if honey in the bottle dat we buy from the supermarket is considered processed honey is it?
alright..do your best..just ask if u have any doubts..
some honey sold is raw honey so have to read the labels..those not stated raw honey means it's processed honey
if u want those more expansive honey like sweet meadow's brand manuka honey or rewarewa honey..a few ppl are using those also..tesco and carrefour i saw selling..but the normal honey is fine as long as it's not wild or raw honey
geo
post Jul 11 2010, 05:57 PM

I am HUNGRY
770 posts

edited

This post has been edited by geo: Jul 11 2010, 06:34 PM
faidzal1982
post Jul 12 2010, 02:21 AM

272 posts

QUOTE(yueyi5730 @ Jul 11 2010, 03:36 PM)
1)cage the white one we call 5 ft cage and the black one we call 4ft cage..can be easily found if u seen it b4..accesories most are DIY toys u can see from this link
http://www.suzsugargliders.com/nosewaccessories.htm
hi guys... i already check the link yueyi gave... im interested to try some of the DIY toys...
however... can u advice me where to get these things? icon_question.gif

Swivel Clasp Hooks - I think can get from locksmith...
Landware Cloth and Plastic Chains - can get from local hardware shops rite...
Fleece fabric - this one i dunno where to get... sad.gif

Added on July 12, 2010, 3:29 amhi bro... i did some research on sugar glider diets... from what i learn they need diet something like HPW diets and other stuff... for single SG, it is advised to give:-

* 1.5 TEAspoons of HPW per glider
* 1 TABLEspoon of mixed fruits
* 1 TABLEspoon of mixed veggies
* Mealies for treats
* Gliderade once or twice a week

my questions are...
1) are the mixed fruits and mixed veggies the normal fruit and veggies we find... for example diced apples, etc. or is it the dried mix fruits?

2) for mealies/treats... i know we can use yogurt drops, mealworms, etc... can we use dried fruits as treats?

3) I saw other things such as gliderade, glider-cal, glider booster, pure acacia gums... is it necessary to give the SG all this stuff?
i read gliderade can be given 1-2 times/week... but how bout other stuff? can we give it all together at one time? or need to separate?

4) is there any other stuff i missing out?

i know dat the SG diet is very important... so i dont want to mess it... smile.gif

This post has been edited by faidzal1982: Jul 12 2010, 03:29 AM
glidermama
post Jul 12 2010, 10:30 AM

hi...you just like me... except i kena with my daughters..

anyway..the fleece you can get from places like home's harmony...anywhere they sell bedding they normally sell these rolled up fleece blankets...20-30 rm je...no need to buy the original wool fleece..polyester ones pun ok..how to check fleece is they dont have weave or individual threads woven together...jadi tak la kuku glider sangkut..

for starters i suggest beli je sugie's stuff yg ready made... while waiting you can use old t-shirt pocket?or lumberjack shirts yg dah lama ke...my gliders if have a choice between pouch and my pockets the boy will always go into the pocket..kain lap keta yg kuning tu pun boleh gak for emergency but i think if you go online order the stuff it'll get to you within 3 days?

if you stick to hpw then follow just that... jangan mix and match because think of it as their staple food...asyik intro benda baru nanti upset balance.. remember these are still babies... play it safe

the fruits and veges are always better fresh

the supplements i think better for you to wait until you can handle the basic diet first with HPW, fruits and veges dulu. yg lain tu sprinkle sikit sikit atas the fruits and veges jeer you better focus more on the kinds of fruits and veges yg you give because you need to get the calcium phosphorus ratio right it's 2:1 for calcium to phos so get the list of what you must avoid and start from there... then you dah terrer can adjust from there la..
like mine suka coconut strips esp time fasting month they sell fresh cococnut water.. my gliders love the isi..so when i give them a lil bit..their next hpw will have a sprinkle of calcium..coz i letak on the fruit they wont eat..

anyway you'll do fne... smile.gif

This post has been edited by glidermama: Jul 12 2010, 10:39 AM
faidzal1982
post Jul 12 2010, 11:49 AM

272 posts

thanks glidermama for the info...

well i still have questions regarding the diets... smile.gif
ive read the calcium phosphorous ratios pdf file... and im quite blur with the info... sad.gif

my questions...
1) normally i feed momo (our suggies name) apples... which have the ratios of 0.5 or calcium:phosphorous 6:12...
does this mean i need to add glider-cal to top up its calcium intake to make it 2:1?
or should i combine it with parsley which have 83:35 or 2.38 ratios...
correct me if my calculation is wrong...
apples - 6:12
parsley - 83:35
total - 89:47 with ratios 1.89...

for oxalates level... we should keep it low rite?

2) now my wife seems to depressed coz she feel dat momo dont like her... whenever she went near the cage to put food or clean the tray, momo will always bark... i told her dat maybe momo stress coming to new home... is there any other reason for this behavior? today is only the 2nd day... smile.gif

3) can SG have bonding to more than one owner? coz im thinking of trying to bond with momo first and show to my wife dat momo is not dat aggressive... and then let her bond with momo... is this possible?

This post has been edited by faidzal1982: Jul 12 2010, 11:51 AM
emino
post Jul 12 2010, 11:56 AM

IG - riezforester
5,967 posts

QUOTE(faidzal1982 @ Jul 12 2010, 11:49 AM)

ive read the calcium phosphorous ratios pdf file... and im quite blur with the info... sad.gif

my questions...
1) normally i feed momo (our suggies name) apples... which have the ratios of 0.5 or calcium:phosphorous 6:12...
does this mean i need to add glider-cal to top up its calcium intake to make it 2:1?

2) now my wife seems to depressed coz she feel dat momo dont like her... whenever she went near the cage to put food or clean the tray, momo will always bark... i told her dat maybe momo stress coming to new home... is there any other reason for this behavior? today is only the 2nd day... smile.gif

3) can SG have bonding to more than one owner? coz im thinking of trying to bond with momo first and show to my wife dat momo is not dat aggressive... and then let her bond with momo... is this possible?
Bark is the sound of loneliness or cry for attention. Which means she should take him out and play with him. The sound of stress/anger is crabbing. maybe you're confused with which is which.

Usually bonded gliders do well with other humans as well. Since they now feel that humans are not exactly as dangerous as they maybe initially think. The way you wanna bond and show your wife hes not aggressive, its the same with the glider. You can show him your wife are not aggressive as well. But if you ask me, all wives are aggressive. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by emino: Jul 12 2010, 11:57 AM
faidzal1982
post Jul 12 2010, 12:14 PM

272 posts

QUOTE(emino @ Jul 12 2010, 11:56 AM)
Bark is the sound of loneliness or cry for attention. Which means she should take him out and play with him. The sound of stress/anger is crabbing. maybe you're confused with which is which.

Usually bonded gliders do well with other humans as well. Since they now feel that humans are not exactly as dangerous as they maybe initially think. The way you wanna bond and show your wife hes not aggressive, its the same with the glider. You can show him your wife are not aggressive as well. But if you ask me, all wives are aggressive. laugh.gif
hahaha... i think i do confuse the sounds...
when i think about it... i think momo is not too familiar with humans... seeing how the seller handle him when he transfer momo from one cage to other cage... momo tried to run away and the seller seems afraid to hold momo... maybe before this momo is neglected coz the seller did give us "false" info bout the gliders... sad.gif
i guess i have lots of things to do to get bonded with momo... smile.gif
emino
post Jul 12 2010, 12:17 PM

IG - riezforester
5,967 posts

This is barking:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4wZeyhCMXO0

While this is crabbing:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tLiHU9F99PY
jitshiong
post Jul 12 2010, 12:32 PM

Trust me, I'm an Engineer
1,868 posts

QUOTE(faidzal1982 @ Jul 12 2010, 12:14 PM)
when i think about it... i think momo is not too familiar with humans... seeing how the seller handle him when he transfer momo from one cage to other cage... momo tried to run away and the seller seems afraid to hold momo... maybe before this momo is neglected coz the seller did give us "false" info bout the gliders... sad.gif
it's quite common for gliders to be afraid of humans if they r not introduced to human at the young age...
a good breeder will ensure that the joey is already used to human touch and won't be afraid of human...

but u can change that, just take ur time to do the bonding and interacting with ur Momo, time, love and paitence will give you the best reward u'll ever ask for....

TSeric138
post Jul 12 2010, 03:11 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(faidzal1982 @ Jul 12 2010, 11:49 AM)

my questions...

1) Normally people will balance back the total ratio to 2:1 by combining different kind of fruits and vegetables.. You can use calcium powder of course, but be cautious with the portion u add in, because those calcium powder is really high concentrated.. It will lead to overdose calcium if u giving too much..

2) Erm..this is only the 2nd day.. Momo is trying to adapt to the new environment and new smell and sound and human also.. Give him sometime~ smile.gif Crabbing is extremely normal for stressful and insecure glider.. This is their way of expressing their fear and emotion.. Jus like human baby, they cry when they are frighten~ But it doesnt mean we don cry when we grew up, we will still cry when we encounter certain situation.. (which means even bonded or tamed glider will still crab once awhile when they got frightened suddenly) ..

3) Erm..It will be easier if you let your glider concentrate on single person first... Otherwise too many ppl involve will make him confuse with all the smells...
glidermama
post Jul 12 2010, 03:33 PM

true...eric is right i only use the calcium powder where coconut or other high phos fruits sebab these are very high phos content otherwise just balance it out...

another way is you bond physically with momo first by handling him but as much as possible include your wife's smell by using her worn shirts.that's what i did with mine...i handle them by taking them to work in ther pouch everyday in the first few weeks and carrying them around my pockets after that bila dah biasa with me... but their cages are covered with hubby's shirts so they are fine with him too... in fact i jealous gak... they'll alway greet him by calling him whenever they see him or hear him coimng...and he doesnt even have to handle them!but i suppose they know him because he washes their cages etc too
Al da Great
post Jul 12 2010, 03:39 PM

18 posts

any one interested to show how to keep your sg on tv? do let me know ya!!

glidermama
post Jul 12 2010, 03:40 PM

hehe eric.. my furla still crabs when i want to cut her nails... and then give me the 'look' while licking her nails that have been cut..soo taiko

anyway... animals can also smell fear.. so if your wife takut takut with him...momo lagi saspen to have her handle him... if you are confident and calm he will sense that and calm down too..
faidzal1982
post Jul 12 2010, 04:17 PM

272 posts

u guys didnt use the nail-o-matic in the wheel to trim their nails?
questions on diets again... do u guys have any recommended combination of fruits + vegies to balance out calcium and phosphorous?
i tried to match out the fruits + vegies from the list in the pdf file... but its quite hard for me... sad.gif
please recommend wat r the usual combination u guys use... hopefully the one easy to find in the market... smile.gif

Added on July 12, 2010, 4:22 pm
QUOTE(Al da Great @ Jul 12 2010, 03:39 PM)
any one interested to show how to keep your sg on tv? do let me know ya!!
are u werking with broadcast company?

This post has been edited by faidzal1982: Jul 12 2010, 04:42 PM
bremboy84
post Jul 12 2010, 05:24 PM

.....::::: ON GREEN :::::..... user posted image
user posted imageuser posted image

just to show... smile.gif
tednet
post Jul 12 2010, 05:42 PM

Waaalllaauuu
952 posts

fuuuhhh... so cute...

Added on July 12, 2010, 5:43 pmfuuuhhh... so cute... wub.gif wub.gif

This post has been edited by tednet: Jul 12 2010, 05:43 PM
yueyi5730
post Jul 12 2010, 05:55 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(faidzal1982 @ Jul 12 2010, 02:21 AM)

the swivel hooks u can replace with book rings can get from most bookshops or staionary section in supermarket(tesco/carrefour/jusco)

fleece in tesco is the cheapest oni RM11 for kids fleece blanket oni 2 designs dark blue with stars and pink with heart shape...the plain ones are for adult blankets bit more expansive..can find in jusco/carrefour/the store/ikea/homes and harmony-normally it's about RM20

plastic chains can get from hardware store or MR DIY

have u gotten a wheel for your sugar glider?get the senior wheel joeys can also run on it without any problem..

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

yes the normal fresh fruits and vegetables we find..some even give organic fruits and vegy to their gliders which is good

drief fruits as in what human eat for snacks..no it not good for them it contains colourings/preservertives might be harmful..there are dried fruit treats for pets which i think it's fine but my gliders seemed not to like it..maybe coz no juice?? i dont know just guessing...just watch what to get some are just plain sugar/colourings..so pandai pandai choose your products

those u mention are supplements-yea most are spinkle on the food..my advice is we should give an appopriate amount of suplements to them..coz keeping them as pets we already alter their diets so that they can be kept in captivity..we must do our best to provide nutritional food for them to stay healthy in their tip top condition...tat's why i reccomend to give supplements as well

Added on July 12, 2010, 6:06 pm
QUOTE(faidzal1982 @ Jul 12 2010, 12:14 PM)
emino gave good example from youtube

the character of the glider depends on it's own personality..2 gliders from the same parents same batch 1 might be frenly the other might be crabby..like my newest boy Tyler from crazymouse_yyh he was very crabby little guy..and everytime i take him out his attempt was to run away from me..kakaka..but then after handling few days he got better and better day by day..took around 1 week for him to get use to me.now he can climb on my shoulder and ask for treats play with my hair etc..different gliders differnt rate..like my old ones around few months maybe coz i was new with gliders last time..now i'm more experience handling joeys..first 2 days to a new home..i always advice to cover with a tshirt and just leave it alone..oni provide food and take softly let him get use to your voice..by 3rd day u can start handling your joey..of coz dont over stress it either..

Added on July 12, 2010, 6:08 pm
QUOTE(bremboy84 @ Jul 12 2010, 05:24 PM)
i love this one..so cute

This post has been edited by yueyi5730: Jul 12 2010, 06:11 PM
bremboy84
post Jul 12 2010, 07:53 PM

thankz yueyi5730 and tednet..

126 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0590sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 05:51 AM