124 Pages « < 94 95 96 97 98 > » Bottom

Steam Steam Promotion Topic V3, Problem updating? Read first post.

dazealot
post Sep 16 2010, 09:55 PM

I did an AMD driver update using Steam this morning just to try it out. It worked fine, fast download and all, and there's something else... I admit I should have noticed it earlier, but there were no restart required.

Its the first time for me updating my 1 month old AMD card, so does AMD driver update never require restart (unlike Nvidia)? Or did Steam managed to create a smart install for drivers that does not require PC restarts?

ashx
post Sep 16 2010, 10:30 PM

230 posts

just the driver? Or catalysT?
dazealot
post Sep 16 2010, 10:35 PM

QUOTE(ashx @ Sep 16 2010, 10:30 PM)
just the driver? Or catalysT?
I'm guessing its both driver and catalyst. The download was 80MB, seems that Steam gives us the uncompressed driver files since the the installer for driver+catalyst on AMD website is only 54.8MB.

At least thats what I think. I just press the "Update AMD Video Driver", it doesnt tell me anything else

This post has been edited by dazealot: Sep 16 2010, 10:36 PM
Mr.Beanster
post Sep 16 2010, 10:54 PM

1,267 posts

i believe i already update my driver this week. the steam driver update is still available for me even i updated it lolz
LiMcZ
post Sep 16 2010, 11:01 PM

454 posts

http://www.direct2drive.com/

anyone tried this before?
exactly like steam,
any feedback from someone tried?

now having sales as well

Added on September 16, 2010, 11:08 pmjz realise there is the automatic driver update,

but one advise tho,dun update ur driver if the driver u using is completely working,

AMD alway screw up their new driver,

like my HD5770,it cause so many problem,at last i need to reformat the whole computer so many time to find out that my system only work under 9.11 version of driver.

wat to do,ATI is much cheaper than Nvidia, altho it causes many problem but still will buy them as they are "big n cheap"

This post has been edited by LiMcZ: Sep 16 2010, 11:08 PM
Mr.Beanster
post Sep 16 2010, 11:35 PM

1,267 posts

QUOTE(LiMcZ @ Sep 16 2010, 11:01 PM)

exactly like steam,

now having sales as well

Added on September 16, 2010, 11:08 pmjz realise there is the automatic driver update,

but one advise tho,dun update ur driver if the driver u using is completely working,

like my HD5770,it cause so many problem,at last i need to reformat the whole computer so many time to find out that my system only work under 9.11 version of driver.

wat to do,ATI is much cheaper than Nvidia, altho it causes many problem but still will buy them as they are "big n cheap"
direct2drive offer is tempting. dirt 2 price is dirt cheap is only $6. but imma stick with steam and gg.
donchaka
post Sep 17 2010, 12:08 AM

102 posts

IIRC, isn't that Direct2Drive is region locked?
Mr.Beanster
post Sep 17 2010, 01:08 AM

1,267 posts

QUOTE(ashx @ Sep 16 2010, 12:39 PM)
hohoho.. SW:EaW bought! i would think next Battlefront II hehehe... after checking rogue squadron was never in pc.. sigh. I now remembered i played it in Gamecube. good console it was.

next target:
Battlefront II
Republic commando

I won't buy the whole series.. but i'd have almost every genre FPs/RPG/RTS for Star Wars hehehe. Never did get into the cutesy LEGO series.. meh.
wow u guess correctly twice. rclxms.gif today sale is starwars battlefront 2
dazealot
post Sep 17 2010, 01:13 AM

I remember struggling to make Battlefront 2 playable on my old PC. Now I see it and think "Man, that looks ugly". 3D games age too fast, unless a game is designed to be cartoonish. Like WoW and TF2, I guess.
InkySliwinky
post Sep 17 2010, 11:33 AM

Not sure if someone else posted this already but Steam is giving away 4 free games to Nvidia card users .. Here's the link ..

http://www.steampowered.com/nvidia/
talexeh
post Sep 17 2010, 11:49 AM

One man's meat is another man's poison.
3,094 posts

QUOTE(InkySliwinky @ Sep 17 2010, 11:33 AM)
Not sure if someone else posted this already but Steam is giving away 4 free games to Nvidia card users .. Here's the link ..

http://www.steampowered.com/nvidia/
AFAIK, this promotion dates back to 2008. I guess the phrase limited time is just like the cake. biggrin.gif

You can check for other free Steam games from this thread too:
http://forums.steampowered.com/forums/show...ad.php?t=851573
InkySliwinky
post Sep 17 2010, 12:09 PM

QUOTE(talexeh @ Sep 17 2010, 11:49 AM)
AFAIK, this promotion dates back to 2008. I guess the phrase limited time is just like the cake. biggrin.gif

You can check for other free Steam games from this thread too:
http://forums.steampowered.com/forums/show...ad.php?t=851573
lolsorry didnt know my friend just found this and told me ..
zonan4
post Sep 17 2010, 11:12 PM

561 posts

QUOTE(LiMcZ @ Sep 16 2010, 11:01 PM)

exactly like steam,

now having sales as well

hmmm if you properly install the driver I think you will not get much trouble... do clean install... use driver sweeper then you install ur card driver n catalyst.... I also using HD5770 with the latest driver 10 something....
fariz
post Sep 18 2010, 08:15 AM

Tan Sri F
16,825 posts

bought Monkey Island 2, 50% off today.

http://store.steampowered.com/sub/6183/
Louisyo
post Sep 18 2010, 10:10 AM

44 posts

Anyone planning to buy Champions Online? 70% off but don't know many people play or not
Mr.Beanster
post Sep 18 2010, 01:21 PM

1,267 posts

QUOTE(Louisyo @ Sep 18 2010, 10:10 AM)
Anyone planning to buy Champions Online? 70% off but don't know many people play or not
monthly fee are dangerous cool2.gif
LiMcZ
post Sep 18 2010, 03:55 PM

454 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Beanster @ Sep 18 2010, 01:21 PM)
monthly fee are dangerous  cool2.gif
how much monthly fee?
Mr.Beanster
post Sep 18 2010, 04:36 PM

1,267 posts

QUOTE(LiMcZ @ Sep 18 2010, 03:55 PM)
how much monthly fee?
am not sure. i never buy a game that require monthly fee laugh.gif
talexeh
post Sep 18 2010, 04:48 PM

One man's meat is another man's poison.
3,094 posts

QUOTE(LiMcZ @ Sep 18 2010, 03:55 PM)
how much monthly fee?
From the official website (http://www.champions-online.com/faq#20):
Q: Will a monthly fee be required to play?
A: A monthly fee is required for Champions Online.  Our current pricing is as follows:
$14.99 recurring for a month-to-month subscription.
$41.97 recurring for a 3-month subscription. ($13.99 per month)
$77.94 recurring for a 6-month subscription. ($12.99 per month)

ZRong223
post Sep 18 2010, 05:29 PM

864 posts

The recent Steam discounts/deals always disappoint me...

124 Pages « < 94 95 96 97 98 > » Top

0.0182sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 11:50 AM