Just passing info also kena shoot for no apparent reason.
All About Harddisk Thread V3, Discussion for Good Harddisk
Jul 22 2010, 10:48 PM
4,522 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
Exactly... I don't know why he got so serious and called me cheapskate?
Just passing info also kena shoot for no apparent reason. |
Jul 24 2010, 07:28 PM
QUOTE(donpapachino @ Jul 24 2010, 04:36 AM) if im not mistaken, for ssd you need to allocate ~20% free space, so that the drive wont suffer from performance degradation. so if 80gb less 20% free space, actual can use until 64gb only, before taking a performance hit. QUOTE(saturn85 @ Jul 24 2010, 05:20 PM) hey, is that means if i have an 80GB SSD, to avoid performance hit, then i can only format 64GB to use, then the other 16GB leave it unformat? That used to be the case on 1st gen SSDs (especially those based on Intel) which doesn't support the TRIM command. So the issue becomes that the drive will get a performance hit over time, wherter or not if you allocate ~20% of space. These days, SSDs which has the TRIM command doesn't suffer from this issue. Indilinx, Marvell and Sandforce based SSDs all have the TRIM command supporterd under Windows 7. However the biggest issue now for SSD (aside from its price obviously), is that Sandforce based SSDs (which provides some of the fastest SSD around the market) suffers from file compression. Earlier this year, SSDs that are built with the Sandforce controller would come on the pack saying it has 128GB of storage space but really the actual formatted space that you get is only 93GB or so. The issue is getting resolved now, but Sandforce based SSDs despite being one of the fastest and probably the best value for money (other than cheapo Indilinx Barefoot Eco controllers) still does suffer from the file compression issue. |
Aug 3 2010, 04:08 PM
Aug 3 2010, 08:17 PM
QUOTE(-kytz- @ Aug 3 2010, 05:14 PM) It says there "Expansion External Drive".Is this really an external HDD or just an expansion bay or something Its the name of that Seagate external HDD.Stupid name I know. So its always confusing going around to say "I want a Seagate expansion external drive". Most salesmen would just bring you the raptor or Go Flex version instead. Added on August 3, 2010, 8:19 pm QUOTE(mitodna @ Aug 3 2010, 05:25 PM) And best of all... it'll cost less than RM350.Right now the Ecogreen 2TB is going for RM360... This post has been edited by SSJBen: Aug 3 2010, 08:19 PM |
Aug 6 2010, 04:28 PM
QUOTE(DarkNite @ Aug 6 2010, 03:25 PM) Viewnet and Cycom.However, understand that it is the drive only. WD Passports are still around the RM200 range. Good time to buy HDDs though, as I'm expecting a slight bit of shortage after PC fair. Seagate Expansion 1TB only selling for RM239 now, RM10 less from the week before lol. |
Aug 7 2010, 01:45 PM
QUOTE(kimann @ Aug 7 2010, 06:13 AM) Hell of a deal... my hands are itchy again to get another 2TB.QUOTE(mitodna @ Aug 7 2010, 10:49 AM) Oooh... you'r right.I did see it for RM165 on Cycom though. |
Aug 7 2010, 02:48 PM
Yea wanna know which shop too.
Most price lists, pre-PC fair are listing the F3EG @ RM350. RM338 is a steal. This post has been edited by SSJBen: Aug 7 2010, 02:48 PM |
Aug 8 2010, 11:13 PM
There are still some 2TB F3EG available.
Check LYP tmr... but after they're sold, will be a week or 2 before it gets replenished. |
Aug 11 2010, 05:25 PM
QUOTE(mADmAN @ Aug 11 2010, 04:55 PM) guys...im thinking of getting 1.5tb HDDs for my htpc....mainly to store downloaded files... and they will be running 24/7 in my htpc/download rig. EcoGreen F3EG?ill be downloading into another 1tb drive... and extracting the rar files into the 1.5tb. so the 1.5tb will only see minor writes... some reads and thats about it. any suggested HDDs? speed and low power consumption would be nice... WD Green is alright too really. |
Aug 12 2010, 03:02 AM
100TB = I like.
Aug 12 2010, 06:36 PM
QUOTE(mADmAN @ Aug 12 2010, 05:15 PM) how good is the samsung 1.5tb hdd? hows the speed of these HDDs? Pretty.... unusual sounding to me.i already have the wd green 1tb...and after about a year of heavy downloading...the HDD is super friggin slow now... if im extracting a rar file, itll practically cease all other writes in process...downloads will practically go to 0kbps and extraction will take forever. I have a WD 1TB Green too and I don't have this sort of problem. I'm sure you do defrag your HDD right? |
Aug 12 2010, 10:19 PM
QUOTE(Boomeraangkid @ Aug 12 2010, 08:25 PM) Either one.Doesn't matter which. The Elite is more expensive however. QUOTE(n3w @ Aug 12 2010, 09:02 PM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Good news for those hardcore downloaders. But frequent backup is needed to avoid TOTAL big lost of datas if the hd decides to give up. Anyway, hoping the 2tb hds to drop to around 300 bucks though by the end of this year. 3TB will be breaching to the mainstream next year. |
Aug 16 2010, 12:22 AM
Use a program like swissknife to partition.
Aug 25 2010, 04:30 PM
QUOTE(doom89757 @ Aug 24 2010, 11:49 PM) I plan to get a 1TB 3.5" external hdd Standard off-the-mill external HDD.I wondering the Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex desk seems good Any comments on this HDD?? It does take a little bit of space though you don't use the stand and decide to place it vertically. Added on August 25, 2010, 4:46 pm QUOTE(besiegetank @ Aug 25 2010, 01:16 PM) The temperatures.... are scarry. This post has been edited by SSJBen: Aug 25 2010, 04:46 PM |
Aug 25 2010, 08:23 PM
QUOTE(cherroy @ Aug 25 2010, 05:26 PM) I think its been a known fact for quite a while?Its just that now that there are 3TB HDDs, things will start to be different. Added on August 25, 2010, 8:25 pm QUOTE(besiegetank @ Aug 25 2010, 06:11 PM) More like... the consumers does not want to change, thus manufacturers don't care in implementing proper technology on their mobos.This post has been edited by SSJBen: Aug 25 2010, 08:25 PM |
Sep 1 2010, 04:18 PM
43c is still fine... especially since you're placing it in a NAS box I assume?
Normal temps for the F3 1TB (here atleast) is around the 37-40c mark. |
Sep 6 2010, 09:28 PM
Sep 7 2010, 06:24 PM
QUOTE(mitodna @ Sep 7 2010, 04:09 PM) HD reliable by brand is a myth Are you sure bro?HD Tune has free and paid version http://www.hdtune.com/download.html @Boomeraangkid , 2tb at 399myr for Hitachi Because I think RM399 is... VERY HIGH of a price for a 2TB. I've seen the Hitachi go as low as RM335. @boom Samsung 2TB F3EG = RM345 @ Viewnet. |
Sep 7 2010, 06:36 PM
Sep 7 2010, 07:49 PM
QUOTE(sotong168 @ Sep 7 2010, 06:48 PM) Just said it a couple posts above you:QUOTE(SSJBen @ Sep 7 2010, 06:24 PM) |
| Change to: | 0.0186sec
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 01:39 PM |