4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

All About Harddisk Thread V3, Discussion for Good Harddisk

SSJBen
post Jun 26 2010, 01:16 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(StereophileDream @ Jun 25 2010, 11:21 PM)
Hello,if the Samsung F3 is out of stock when I go to LYP next week,what must I do?Wait for the newer version(is there any?)to release or move to other brand?Since the Samsung is quite value for money if wanna use for downloading and storing data.
Just wait..?
I think there are a few smaller shops hiding around the corner in LYP that may still have a few left, but they'd probably mark up the price to above RM200.

QUOTE(shinjite @ Jun 25 2010, 11:50 PM)
Try viewnet, Czone and etc
Viewnet out of stock already, wanted to buy another one yesterday also cannot. laugh.gif
SSJBen
post Jun 27 2010, 07:16 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(Fjive @ Jun 27 2010, 03:40 PM)
hi guys...few weeks ago I had wanted to grab an ext 3.5" 1.5 TB hdd (7200rpm)...but been bz awhile..didnt research much...

just hoping u all here can recommend something reliable and fast...I'll be using it as backup drive for 2 of my home PCs...

if majority of u been using a certain brand and not much issue..i'll just grab that model from LY next weekend...thx in advance smile.gif
I think most people are using WD Mybook elements?

For me personally I like to build my own drive.
I have a few Samsung F3 1TB in Hornettek Hover SSC external enclosures.

But if you don't want to do anything like that, I guess the WD Mybooks are rather good.
SSJBen
post Jun 28 2010, 01:22 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(Fjive @ Jun 28 2010, 12:41 AM)
hmmm...so are these WD elements 5400rpm or 7200rpm? Any known bugs/complains so far from LYN owners ?
5400RPM drives.
You're only using for storage, so it doesn't matter. More over you're transfering over USB, doesn't matter even more.
SSJBen
post Jun 28 2010, 07:29 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(g_pentium @ Jun 28 2010, 05:15 PM)
what is the standard pricing for 2TB external hd?
Cheapest, WD Mybook Element 2TB at around RM540.

This post has been edited by SSJBen: Jun 28 2010, 07:29 PM
SSJBen
post Jun 29 2010, 07:52 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(LAU Fantasy @ Jun 29 2010, 08:33 AM)
Last time when 1st release hw much wan har?
price drop so fus wan....
Don't remember... >RM700?

QUOTE(8tvt @ Jun 29 2010, 04:56 PM)
oh forgot to tell..
i bought 1tb f3 for my friend and 2tb f3eg for myself..
last saturday.. where got no stock one..
I went on Friday... all shops told me no stock! vmad.gif
Only those small corner shops has 1 or 2 left, but they mark the price up really high.

QUOTE(more2teayap @ Jun 29 2010, 07:40 PM)
RM194 for 1TB? seriously??? what brand?
Samsung F3 1TB.

QUOTE(malayneum @ Jun 29 2010, 07:45 PM)
if transfering through USB it will bottleneck by how much? i got 1.5TB Ecogreen F2 but i see the max read/write transfer is only around 25Mb/sec
USB 2.0 itself is already a bottleneck lol.
The max you can get out of USB2 is 30-35 mbps.

On average, most "green" HDDs runs up to 90mbps.
So yes... regardless of what you do, theres going to the be limitation of the USB there.

Otherwise, get an external enclosure with USB 3.0 (which you will then need a USB 3.0 expansion card unless you already have one), or use eSATA.

SSJBen
post Jun 29 2010, 08:16 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(russellneedlove @ Jun 29 2010, 08:05 PM)
Here is one noob hdd ques. i have a internal Desktop HDD. If I want to convert it into external hardisk, is it compulsory to have a power supply connected to it. Can I just use a case connecting it and using USB output. Please advice
All external 3.5" enclosures will come with a power supply.
So you don't have to worry on that part.

USB power alone is not enough to power up a 3.5" HDD running at 7200rpm.
SSJBen
post Jun 29 2010, 11:52 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(mitodna @ Jun 29 2010, 10:50 PM)
http://gizmodo.com/5575111/the-worlds-firs...ve-from-seagate

The World's First 3TB External Hard Drive, From Seagate for 250usd, around 812myr, for USB2.0
Which actually really isn't extremely expensive too!
The Seagate GoFlex hub can actually be changed to a USB 3 version though. So its not really for USB2 only.

QUOTE(russellneedlove @ Jun 29 2010, 11:18 PM)
How much would it cost roughly.
Be more specific.
Are you asking about the HDD or the enclosure or what?
SSJBen
post Jul 2 2010, 12:30 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

Forgot about eSATA? laugh.gif

Really, eSATA could have been a sucess if it wasn't for its limitation.
SSJBen
post Jul 3 2010, 01:11 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(mitodna @ Jul 3 2010, 12:08 PM)
WD Blue 2.5" 500gb seems is a bargain right now, around RM175.
Wow RM175 is a pretty good deal for a 2.5-incher!

SSJBen
post Jul 5 2010, 06:39 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(gkl83 @ Jul 5 2010, 02:47 PM)
actually HDD enclosure + internal HDD wont different much with ready external HDD...
RM80 + RM200 (1TB) = RM280, same as 1TB of ready external HDD
i puzzled around lowyat almost 1hour+ when Sunday which type i prefer & think... doh.gif  sweat.gif  rclxub.gif

later i saw the hornetek enclosure used at Sri Computer with media player demo unit...
damm sweet with blue LED with black case and matched with my black TV cabinet with blue lighting... drool.gif

Hornetek selling at Sri computer RM129 and Viewnet RM119, cheaper than garage sales...
but RM119 for enclosure only... fu....... just go ahead...

looking to Samsung 1TB at Cycom RM194, last unit just sold... end up buy from Czone Rm200 sad.gif

spent another RM30 compare to ready external HDD, that money can eat 5 times McD lunch value... sigh...

but overall the Hornetek seem more responsive compare to cheapo enclosure... bcos my cheapo enclosure + 500Gb (SATA) required 5 seconds to recognized by my laptop, but use same cheapo enclosure + 80Gb (PATA) required 1-2 seconds only... thought HDD size does matter... tried Hornetek + 1TB (SATA) thought will be slower, but surprise my laptop recognize it 1-2 seconds too... smile.gif
Yes you're right.
Agree with what you're saying.

Yea the Hornettek enclosure is a very good one, I have 2 of them and they're nice.
Now I'm waiting for the Hornettek Viper U3 (USB 3.0) to come to Malaysia, should be here sometime in August or September.

Get that and get that cheapo MSI USB 3.0 PCI-e card (RM49 lol) and woohoo... flex.gif
SSJBen
post Jul 8 2010, 01:22 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(sonixmedia @ Jul 7 2010, 05:25 PM)
Hello all need some pointers b4 buying a new external drive for my media files connected to a media player.

1)Is Samsung reliable brand for hard drive?

2) If you have to pick between these two which one would you go for
a) Samsung G3 3.5 External Hard Drive 1.5TB @ RM365.00
or
b) Samsung Internal Drive 1.5TB @ RM265.00 + Enclosure

or would you suggest any other solutions which amounting around RM400 or less smile.gif tight budget.

Thanks in advance.

3)
1) I won't comment on this one.
2) I always like to build my own drive, even if it'll end a little more expensive, so (b).

QUOTE(n3w @ Jul 7 2010, 06:11 PM)
May be worthwhile to wait for the 2TB samsung then. tongue.gif

2TB section still too expensive for the time being.
2TB will be dropping in prices rapidly after PC fair........ whistling.gif
That's all I will say.
SSJBen
post Jul 8 2010, 12:56 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Jul 8 2010, 08:44 AM)
Why la After the PC Fair! Shouldn't it be during the PC Fair?

BTW Tawau PC Fair 2-4 July already over. Morrow is JB and Alor Setar. laugh.gif
Well... because PC Fair, technically isn't the place the suppliers are using to sell stuff cheap (okay you can score some nice deals here and there, but not everywhere of course).
Its a place they use to clear out their inventory yet selling at the price roughly the same as before the week PC fair starts, so they don't lose too much profit yet still get to clear out their intventory.

QUOTE(jeopardise @ Jul 8 2010, 09:27 AM)
Samsung 1GB SATA 2 izzit detected as SATA 3 Gbps with HWinfo?

All my Seagate SATA2 500GB 16MB cache detected as SATA 1.5Gbps only even though in website clearly stating it is SATA2 3 Ggps.

So, next harddisk purchase definitely not Seagate.
I didn't see your mobo under your sig...
Perhaps its your mobo?
SSJBen
post Jul 9 2010, 02:39 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(jeopardise @ Jul 8 2010, 08:47 PM)
Screen shot of a WD500 SATA2 500GB (running 3Gbps) and Seagate 320+500GB SATA2 (running 1.5Gbps) on my computer using System Information for Windows (SIW) built 2009_05_12

Of course performance different un'feel'able. But hey Seagate claims in official website that the 320 and 500GB HDD are SATA-2 3.0Gbps drive  mad.gif
I think you're right.

I just double checked, I have one of my Seagate drives the same as yours.
Mine is also running at 1.5Gbps...

IIRC.. I heard something about the 7200.10 drives, despite being stated as SATA 2, it isn't.

So... yea.
SSJBen
post Jul 9 2010, 06:34 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

Haha yes cherroy.
But its just the matter of not getting what you paid for...

Not a big deal since this isn't a big issue as theres no speed difference what so ever.
SSJBen
post Jul 14 2010, 11:29 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

Great thing I find about the Seagate DiscWizard is that it takes hell alot faster to clone your HDD than any other image cloning software.
And also, Seagate's DiscWizard is actually based (and powered) by Acronis... one of the best image cloning software around.
SSJBen
post Jul 16 2010, 12:45 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(ycs @ Jul 16 2010, 08:50 AM)
czone 13 july prices:

samsung hdd price falling every week ?
[attachmentid=1678143]
Yeap.
But only the EcoGreen ones, the spinpoint series has now stabilized in prices and will stay that way for a few more weeks.

By end of August, you'll see 1.5TB at the RM220 range.
SSJBen
post Jul 16 2010, 07:33 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(cannavaro @ Jul 16 2010, 02:35 PM)
Hitachi 1TB is now RM189 at viewnet...
Trying to pull a Samsung?  hmm.gif

But the Deskstar is slower than the F3... unsure.gif
SSJBen
post Jul 21 2010, 06:12 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(CalvinCLK @ Jul 21 2010, 02:35 PM)
How's the performance of a 750GB and 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F3? Is it the same/about the same? Planning to get either one..
The 1TB is faster by a little.
You wouldn't feel a difference though.
SSJBen
post Jul 22 2010, 07:44 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(saturn85 @ Jul 22 2010, 07:19 PM)
hey, that's cheap leh.  rclxm9.gif
wao, now 1tb drive reach the price of rm200 already, dropping below rm200 soon.  brows.gif
blink.gif

1TB drives ARE already below RM200.
Hitachi 1TB Desktar - RM189
Samsung 1TB F3 - RM195
SSJBen
post Jul 22 2010, 10:35 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(FoxAss @ Jul 22 2010, 08:19 PM)

you discount rm5 for ppl and u call it already dropped below rm200?? because u see ppl selling rm200 so cheap so u want some business so u give rm5 discount. cheapstake eh
Har?
What are you talking about?
What do you mean I discount? I'm not even a seller nor a distributor.

The prices are from viewnet.
Don't belief me? SEE THIS: http://viewnet.com.my/file/Pricelist.pdf

Still don't belief? CALL THEM: (603)-2145 2545

If you even bothered to check the last thread in V2, the last several pages you'll see the prices has dropped below RM200.
Get your own facts right. Don't act smart just because you think you are and call me cheapskate in the process. sleep.gif

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0450sec    0.77    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 12:19 PM