15 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

DELL Studio XPS™ 13 & 16 Notebooks [V4], powered by Intel C2D, Core i5 n Core i7

LightningFist
post Aug 2 2010, 03:52 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

Ah see coolers... I am using the "standard" plastic 3 small weak fans one...

I might get one of those proper metal ones with a big fan...

Does it really work? When you use the small coolers they do close to nothing. It raises the PC but that's about it. The plastic can even block a bit of the bottom air vents.

Good, Dell is sending some one over this week...

Added on August 2, 2010, 3:55 pmOh guys also one more thing:

Sometimes my Firefox won't open at all?

Like, it won't even launch... and sometimes it lags and also gives the "Not Responding"...

Is this because it's 32-bit App?

This post has been edited by LightningFist: Aug 2 2010, 03:55 PM
LightningFist
post Aug 3 2010, 06:25 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

Does the XPS 16 have multitouch functions? Is it Synaptics? Like 2 finger scrolling, 3 finger functions etc...

At least you could reinstall. I wish I had the OS disc. But try calling Dell, they will help you out.
LightningFist
post Aug 3 2010, 07:03 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

What is momentum and 3 finger touch to launch apps?

Excuse my ignorance.

LightningFist
post Aug 3 2010, 07:24 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

Haha, the momentum thing should be anti-momentum, I thought it's my mouse being slow/insensitive.

LightningFist
post Aug 5 2010, 05:59 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

Oo guys what are your Windows Experience Indices?

BTW, how does "with downgrade rights to Windows XP" work? If you don't want Win7 then you get Win XP from the supplier/manufacturer?
LightningFist
post Aug 7 2010, 02:21 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

Wow RAM 7.4! Nice CPU 7.1!

What is the max value for the WEI?
LightningFist
post Aug 7 2010, 03:33 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

PC Fair prices are usually non-negotiable right? When I bought my laptop at PC Fair Dec 09 I had to order it cos it was new. Waited ~2 months for it. I totally fell for the guy's "the price might change or even go higher". Too bad I thought I really wanted that model, and so I bought it - no promotion or nothing, except free gifts.

I am looking at all the PC Fair 2 2010 Flyers, and they are putting up old models for sale at higher prices!

It looks like if you buy at PC Fair, you're buying the older versions (those with i7-720 rather than i7-740, or 4670 instead of 565v and 5730), at the same price as the newer one, or even slightly higher, with free antivirus, free backpack, and all the PC Fair free stuff (the 7 Cheapest Gifts: mouse, keyboard cover, lock, LCD cleaning kit, plastic cooler, headphones and 1 more forgot).

Sorry I have a noob question here:

What happens to all the high end laptops that are unsold?

Ok I know the laptops with i7-720QM chips are just having their graphics and RAM updated/upgraded and then resold at a different price. And those Intel Pentium or C2D laptops are sold at lower prices,

But what about those with T8xxx and T9xxx or P9xxx that have not been sold? None are on sale anymore... I suppose they didn't make a lot of them in the first place, but they have to go somewhere...

This post has been edited by LightningFist: Aug 7 2010, 03:40 PM
LightningFist
post Aug 7 2010, 05:10 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

Same thing the guy told me (when I bought Dell desktop)... change the card and back again if you need Dell service... I think sometimes the Dell tech may be able to tell though but it's a pretty good solution...

I suppose you can change the HDD if it's compatible and then change back... plus it's easy to change back...

I think 500GB 7200RPM is good, apart from SSD (expensive) what else could you change? Maybe 10000RPM? 1000GB?

LightningFist
post Aug 7 2010, 06:53 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

Ahh... so buy warranty, then if the GC breaks, and there's no more... change GC smile.gif

The CPU will hardly become broken and get changed now would it...
LightningFist
post Aug 8 2010, 01:36 AM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

Aww too bad can't set a function for it... bothersome to use a cmd to do it each time.

Closing the laptop screen also shuts the monitor right?

BTW is there any function to switch off the touchpad?
LightningFist
post Aug 8 2010, 02:20 AM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

Any ways to mod or add special keys / functions? I suppose there aren't any because it'll be hard to add uses for Fn keys if they weren't originally available.
LightningFist
post Aug 8 2010, 01:28 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

Wow 100C? That's quite hot, the newer users here are reporting only 70-80+ and good idle temps.. but then again those are with P8700.
Yours is the T9600 which should be roughly the same as i5 dual cores?

Did you ever contact Dell about the overheating?

Also yours is the same graphics card, HD 4670, even though you bought it half a year ago. They took such a long time to change it to 565v (even if it is the same).
Even as we speak, XPS 16 laptops could be being sold with 4670s. Ah I also remember back then when they still offered P and T series processors with the XPS 16 - almost as or even more expensive than i7-720QM, can't remember. Perhaps Dell didn't purchase many of those because only P8700 was left for sale until recently.

Perhaps after the PC fair there'll be some changes to the price or configurations again smile.gif

BTW should someone update the first post, to add the i7-740, 840, and remove the i5-430, P and T series, and add 565v?

LightningFist
post Aug 8 2010, 01:34 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

Oh IC must have missed that then.

Are all of the Dell warranties international (except for the Complete Cover)?

Dell Care is the same as XPS Premier except that it covers accidental damage?

LightningFist
post Aug 8 2010, 02:13 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

Oh so if I didn't extend warranty past the 1st year, or I extended to 2 years XPS Premier, then it isn't international?

Ahh the sales person told me over email that Dell Care was XPS Premier plus Accidental damage, which was weird because I thought only Complete Cover covered accidental damage. But then you can only have Complete Cover for 1 year but you can extend Dell Care or XPS Premier for up to 3 years.

Couldn't find any detailed description of the warranties.

BTW read this case about Dell > Guy went to PC Fair, had to order online since the one he wanted in a brochure wasn't available there. On brochure the price advertised included monitor, but after he received it through Dell Online there wasn't a monitor. So he went through a lot of hassle and even to the TCC to get the monitor. Not sure if the monitor was selected in his online purchase but it was in the brochure and at the same price. Similar to mine, the company only agreed to refund my laptop after I said I would go to the TCC a few times... consumers always lose to corporations...
LightningFist
post Aug 8 2010, 06:38 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

So your overclocking GPU temp is 91C... 85C CPU... and that is with C2D P8700... i5 and i7 surely would be worse, even without OC.
LightningFist
post Aug 8 2010, 08:34 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

Could anyone show a photo of the leather cover and the part where the fan is "blocked" by the air vent?
LightningFist
post Aug 8 2010, 09:19 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

I think 70-80C while playing games is quite good temp... it can depend on lots of things. Many laptops with C2D have only 60+ when playing games, but yours is the faster T series so it should be warmer. Plus, this is the Dell XPS 16.

Yeah my laptop is usually raised as it is on top of a plastic sheet (aka cooler). The last time I tried raising my old laptop above the table uniformly by 6cm it did not change the temp much... but I could feel the heat blasting (Pentium M, Inter GC, Dell Latitude).

So what I am really interested in is, does the XPS 16 allow the use of software to tweak the fan speeds? Sad that my current lappy can't... my father's XPS M1330 also can't... so I believe the XPS 16 also can't... if you could modify the fan speed then it will cool temps by a huge amount.

What I heard is that the XPS 16 has a really strong fan so it tries to keep the body cool.
LightningFist
post Aug 9 2010, 03:12 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

Yeah 18kfanGUI could not be installed on the system (T series C2D, Vista) because it failed to detect the processor/chipset (think it only works with very old Dells).

Also SpeedFan did not work for it.

FOR MSI Afterburner, does it only change the GPU fan settings? Or does this extend to the main fan - CPU fan?

BTW for Antivirus I recommend Nod32 if you want a paid version... it was the best for me on XP, but it's not so great for 64-bit systems. I think a lot of the AVs are 32-bit anyways but this one hardly detects viruses/trojans on 64-bit (so maybe it isn't working).

This post has been edited by LightningFist: Aug 9 2010, 04:03 PM
LightningFist
post Aug 9 2010, 08:20 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

I think you mean accent smile.gif

LightningFist
post Aug 9 2010, 10:26 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

How many DVDs do you need to make this recovery disc?

Is it possible to get it from Dell?

15 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0448sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 11:17 PM