Dell Streak
Noobi3
Dec 20 2010, 04:29 PM
QUOTE(benny888 @ Dec 20 2010, 04:13 PM) As far as I know Spore telcos do not locked their phoneset. Have been buying such sets from Singtel, MI and Starhub last few years. Only difference the software is added in their signature during bootingup and sometimes some additional apps. You can always call their helpline to verify it Hopefully they dont screw it up like Samsung Beam .... My bad experience , got my Beam the next day after it was launched and because of the Starhub things they added , the phone practically went into a boot animation and stayed there . The only way to solve it is to take it back to Starhub 2 fix it and Samsung only came out with a patch for it weeks later .
StratOS
Dec 20 2010, 04:47 PM
well, i just got info from the SA from Dell SG today they say the warranty also covered by Dell la.. so i dun think StarHub will install any useless stuff in it.. Like my o2 i only got the boot up screen and the o2 mainpage as the 1st loading page for web browsing(can be set to other webpages as well).
Noobi3
Dec 20 2010, 05:43 PM
Going to try something insane these few days ..... Found a post where they successfully upgraded their 2G internal to 16G or even 32G .... This post has been edited by Noobi3: Dec 20 2010, 06:29 PM
StratOS
Dec 20 2010, 05:48 PM
seriously.. any links?
Noobi3
Dec 20 2010, 06:29 PM
StratOS
Dec 20 2010, 08:33 PM
ok.. i saw the MicroSD card in my phone already.. its directly beside the simcard and memory card.. hmm.. need edit many stuff le.. trying.. ahah.. using a 32gb now inside.. test test.. totatl will be a 64GB device is successful.. This post has been edited by StratOS: Dec 20 2010, 08:33 PM
StratOS
Dec 20 2010, 09:45 PM
u wan official 2.2 or Stephen Hyde custom rom?
cocoanut
Dec 20 2010, 09:58 PM

hi StratOS, I would like to try official 2.2 first... try something official before deviating to customised one. thanks
StratOS
Dec 20 2010, 10:07 PM
well.. as for my case.. i rooted my phone.. Get from At&T Android 1.6 and flash it to O2 Android 1.6. Then i directly update from there to 2.2 official. But you will always get the O2 boot up screen everytime you on the phone la..
cocoanut
Dec 20 2010, 10:19 PM

ic...don't really mind the O2 screen.
meaning, once flashed to O2 android 1.6, the 2.2 update will come OTA?
by the way, this is my first android device, i have no idea how to root / flash :">
StratOS
Dec 20 2010, 10:28 PM
1. Follow the link. http://software2tech.com/tag/download-universal-androot/2. Use barcode scanner to scan the QR Code. 3. Make sure you got connection to download the apps form the link given by the QR Code later. 4. Install and Launch apps. 5. Select you Android version. 6. Tap Root. Be patient as it will take a while. Do this 1st then i will guide you to the o2 1.6 later..
acbc
Dec 20 2010, 11:05 PM
Just installed the Gingerbread keyboard on my stock 2.2 Streak and it is superb! URL: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=875202
Noobi3
Dec 20 2010, 11:33 PM
QUOTE(StratOS @ Dec 20 2010, 08:33 PM) ok.. i saw the MicroSD card in my phone already.. its directly beside the simcard and memory card.. hmm.. need edit many stuff le.. trying.. ahah.. using a 32gb now inside.. test test.. totatl will be a 64GB device is successful..  How is it ? Any luck ?
StratOS
Dec 20 2010, 11:38 PM
installed but wont start.. already ticked it in settings, reboot but still official k/b.. lol..
cocoanut
Dec 20 2010, 11:51 PM

QUOTE(StratOS @ Dec 20 2010, 10:28 PM) 1. Follow the link. http://software2tech.com/tag/download-universal-androot/2. Use barcode scanner to scan the QR Code. 3. Make sure you got connection to download the apps form the link given by the QR Code later. 4. Install and Launch apps. 5. Select you Android version. 6. Tap Root. Be patient as it will take a while. Do this 1st then i will guide you to the o2 1.6 later.. er...failed at the first hurdle :-S i scanned the barcode, it downloaded the apk, but i can't install it ("For security, your device is set to block installation of applications not sourced in Android Market" any idea?
StratOS
Dec 21 2010, 12:08 AM
QUOTE(cocoanut @ Dec 20 2010, 11:51 PM) er...failed at the first hurdle :-S i scanned the barcode, it downloaded the apk, but i can't install it ("For security, your device is set to block installation of applications not sourced in Android Market" any idea? 1. Dial *#*#307#*#* on your Streak. Other than a quick flash on the screen, it will look like nothing has happened. 2. Go to your app drawer/program menu and tap a new icon labeled EMList. If the icon is not there, turn off the Streak. It should be there when you turn it on again. 3. Scroll to the bottom and tap app_security. 4. Tap update unknown resource property to enable it.
cocoanut
Dec 21 2010, 12:26 AM

oh i guess i should mention my device is at&t set. irwan just provided the following link: http://android.modaco.com/content/dell-str...ing-the-streak/will they do the same thing?
benny888
Dec 21 2010, 12:42 AM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(cocoanut @ Dec 21 2010, 12:26 AM) oh i guess i should mention my device is at&t set. irwan just provided the following link: http://android.modaco.com/content/dell-str...ing-the-streak/will they do the same thing?  This guide is the best you can find. You can never go wrong with it
cocoanut
Dec 21 2010, 12:47 AM

ok, i'm still downloading the original ROM =.= slow connection tonight.
thanks StratOS, Benny, Irwan.