Opening a Bank Account in Singapore

kart
post Jan 28 2017, 11:45 AM

1,599 posts

QUOTE(ShinG3e @ Jan 25 2017, 10:14 AM)
oh... when the MBB SG CS called me, i asked them about the expired decit card. They say that I do not need to visit their physical branch, but instead they will mail the card to my registered address instead. Hassle free. Just that I need to reactivate the card again instead of over the counter where teller activate for you on the spot.
supp.
You are lucky smile.gif, and maybe you are a high net worth customer to Maybank Singapore. brows.gif I am just joking.

I never received any call at all from Maybank Singapore regarding my application status, and approximate date I would receive my Security Token and debit card. I had to continuously call them, to follow up with my application status, and to ensure that I get the complete set of items (such as Access ID, PIN Mailer, Security Token and debit card).

Anyway, minor conveniences asides, I am now happy that I have a Maybank Singapore saving account. rclxm9.gif

Regarding the debit card activation, I think that we cannot activate our debit card by sending the activation SMS, since we do not have our own Singapore mobile phone number. So, we have to personally call Maybank Singapore Customer Service Line, to activate our debit card.

It is not cheap to dial a Singapore landline number, but it is far better than travelling all the way to Singapore, just to activate the debit card over the counter in Maybank Singapore. smile.gif

This post has been edited by kart: Jan 28 2017, 11:46 AM
ShinG3e
post Jan 28 2017, 12:20 PM

o0o
1,552 posts

QUOTE(ChuiChuiShui @ Jan 27 2017, 09:34 PM)
Thx boss, then when the money will be auto debit to the sg acc ah?
if you attach a bank draft together with your application, it should be inside the acc already by the time you receive the token.

QUOTE(kart @ Jan 28 2017, 11:45 AM)
You are lucky smile.gif, and maybe you are a high net worth customer to Maybank Singapore.  brows.gif  I am just joking.

I never received any call at all from Maybank Singapore regarding my application status, and approximate date I would receive my Security Token and debit card.  I had to continuously call them, to follow up with my application status, and to ensure that I get the complete set of items (such as Access ID, PIN Mailer, Security Token and debit card).

Anyway, minor conveniences asides, I am now happy that I have a Maybank Singapore saving account.  rclxm9.gif
Regarding the debit card activation, I think that we cannot activate our debit card by sending the activation SMS, since we do not have our own Singapore mobile phone number. So, we have to personally call Maybank Singapore Customer Service Line, to activate our debit card.

It is not cheap to dial a Singapore landline number, but it is far better than travelling all the way to Singapore, just to activate the debit card over the counter in Maybank Singapore.  smile.gif
mana ada. i peanut only. tongue.gif

and yea you need to make sure that you received all the items listed. missing one will cause big trouble in the future.

true that. better to call than to fly to SG. i initially thought it can be activated thru SMS. oh well. it's only one time so it's good.

and happy CNY!
Ramjade
post Jan 28 2017, 01:24 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(kart @ Jan 28 2017, 11:45 AM)
You are lucky smile.gif, and maybe you are a high net worth customer to Maybank Singapore.  brows.gif  I am just joking.

I never received any call at all from Maybank Singapore regarding my application status, and approximate date I would receive my Security Token and debit card.  I had to continuously call them, to follow up with my application status, and to ensure that I get the complete set of items (such as Access ID, PIN Mailer, Security Token and debit card).

Anyway, minor conveniences asides, I am now happy that I have a Maybank Singapore saving account.  rclxm9.gif

It is not cheap to dial a Singapore landline number, but it is far better than travelling all the way to Singapore, just to activate the debit card over the counter in Maybank Singapore.  smile.gif
Just curious what no did you call them? How frequently do you call them to check on your application status?
Ramjade
post Jan 28 2017, 06:00 PM

24,346 posts

drbone if you want to have priority banking with SG banks, make sure you have SGD200k. thumbup.gif
Of course DBS needs SGD350k

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jan 28 2017, 06:03 PM
drbone
post Jan 28 2017, 10:32 PM

1,757 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 28 2017, 06:00 PM)
drbone if you want to have priority banking with SG banks, make sure you have SGD200k. thumbup.gif
Of course DBS needs SGD350k
What are the perks ? Or how can one reap the highest benefits from putting in SGD 200k?
Ramjade
post Jan 28 2017, 10:43 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(drbone @ Jan 28 2017, 10:32 PM)
What are the perks ? Or how can one reap the highest benefits from putting in SGD 200k?
I don't know. Not a priority customer and never want it (even if I am qualified) biggrin.gif
I think you get access to more tools for analysis, free travel insurance (maybank SG), RM, a separate platform for tracking everything (DBS), cheaper multicurrency notes transaction (DBS), no brokerage fees (SCB - this is really good as you are able trade like crazy and don't pay anything. You only need to pay the clearing fees, stamp fees which are practically negligible)

Email the banks to find our the perks then share it here. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jan 28 2017, 10:46 PM
drbone
post Jan 28 2017, 10:55 PM

1,757 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 28 2017, 10:43 PM)
I don't know. Not a priority customer and never want it (even if I am qualified) biggrin.gif
I think you get access to more tools for analysis, free travel insurance (maybank SG), RM, a separate platform for tracking everything (DBS), cheaper multicurrency notes transaction (DBS), no brokerage fees (SCB - this is really good as you are able trade like crazy and don't pay anything. You only need to pay the clearing fees, stamp fees which are practically negligible)

Email the banks to find our the perks then share it here. biggrin.gif
Was approached by my OCBC rm to open an account in Singapore without having to go there , but she spoke mostly about unit trust , insurance investments . Didn't sound interesting.
TOMEI-R
post Jan 29 2017, 10:46 AM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(drbone @ Jan 28 2017, 10:32 PM)
Well you get preferential services when it comes to banking... Ie a different queue number when you go to their banks. You need not wait like crazy like the rest and others who came earlier will be jealous when you sit on the RM's table and she attends to your needs. tongue.gif

Actually, the above is just part of it. Other perks would be you would get a totally different banking hall to separate you from the masses with coffee, snacks and reading materials (depending on branch) while waiting for services. You would get a personal RM to attend to all your needs. You will get access to personalized services not available to the masses eg: Personal concierge with their bank branches worldwide etc, special offers for deposits etc. That is just to name a few, you have to be a priority customer to know what benefits you would get.
Ramjade
post Jan 29 2017, 10:54 AM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jan 29 2017, 10:46 AM)
Well you get preferential services when it comes to banking... Ie a different queue number when you go to their banks. You need not wait like crazy like the rest and others who came earlier will be jealous when you sit on the RM's table and she attends to your needs.  tongue.gif

Actually, the above is just part of it. Other perks would be you would get a totally different banking hall to separate you from the masses with coffee, snacks and reading materials (depending on branch) while waiting for services. You would get a personal RM to attend to all your needs. You will get access to personalized services not available to the masses eg: Personal concierge with their bank branches worldwide etc, special offers for deposits etc. That is just to name a few, you have to be a priority customer to know what benefits you would get.
How's the service compare to malaysian priority banking?
TOMEI-R
post Jan 29 2017, 10:59 AM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 29 2017, 10:54 AM)
How's the service compare to malaysian priority banking?
Happy CNY to you bro.... CNY still layan forums? tongue.gif

Back to your question, lets just say their services are more tailored towards Sinkies needs. Banking is the same but level of services offered are different.

This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Jan 29 2017, 11:00 AM
Hansel
post Jan 29 2017, 11:35 AM

9,353 posts

I look at it this way : if level of service is good, but cannot make money,.. then still goes back to no good. If level of service is mediocre, but can still make money, then still okay.

I have the second quality,... I am able to make money with their gearing, though level of service is mediocre.
Havoc Knightmare
post Jan 29 2017, 12:55 PM

Invictus
1,205 posts

Has anyone been able to open an account with StanChart SG?
Ramjade
post Jan 29 2017, 01:13 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(Havoc Knightmare @ Jan 29 2017, 12:55 PM)
Has anyone been able to open an  account with StanChart SG?
Going to try this trip.
walkman660
post Jan 29 2017, 05:26 PM

236 posts

QUOTE(alexanderclz @ Jan 23 2017, 04:30 PM)
any idea if maybank sg charges for dormant acc? let's say open an acc but never do anything?
hmm not too sure about this , but monthly $2 will be charged if average balance per day is less than $500
puchongite
post Jan 29 2017, 05:31 PM

33,617 posts

QUOTE(walkman660 @ Jan 29 2017, 05:26 PM)
hmm not too sure about this , but monthly $2 will be charged if average balance per day is less than $500
So is maybank the best choice of a sg account ?

I also heard cimb preferred by others.

Also stan chart.

Anyone has a pro and con analysis ?
walkman660
post Jan 29 2017, 05:31 PM

236 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Jan 25 2017, 10:15 AM)
yes, exactly
walkman660
post Jan 29 2017, 05:35 PM

236 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Jan 29 2017, 05:31 PM)
So is maybank the best choice of a sg account ?

I also heard cimb preferred by others.

Also stan chart.

Anyone has a pro and con analysis ?
for me yes , as it saves a lot of money (no need travel all the way to SG just to open a bank account), and if i am not mistaken, we can use the debit card withdraw money in Malaysia without any charges. the con that i know so far is u need to maintain average $500 per day or else u will kena $2 charges.
walkman660
post Jan 29 2017, 05:39 PM

236 posts

QUOTE(ChuiChuiShui @ Jan 27 2017, 09:34 PM)
Thx boss, then when the money will be auto debit to the sg acc ah?
boss, how long u receive the token after u done ur application , but without debit card we still cant register for online banking right?
puchongite
post Jan 29 2017, 05:41 PM

33,617 posts

QUOTE(walkman660 @ Jan 29 2017, 05:35 PM)
for me yes , as it saves a lot of money (no need travel all the way to SG just to open a bank account), and if i am not mistaken, we can use the debit card withdraw money in Malaysia without any charges. the con that i know so far is u need to maintain average $500 per day or else u will kena $2 charges.
I intend to open for the purpose of transfer money from malaysia to singapore (for investment in sg). Currency conversion rates and service charge will be important factor.
walkman660
post Jan 29 2017, 05:43 PM

236 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Jan 29 2017, 05:41 PM)
I intend to open for the purpose of transfer money from malaysia to singapore (for investment in sg). Currency conversion rates and service charge will be important factor.
the charges is quite high if i am not mistaken, i think google might help you with this concern

315 Pages « < 28 29 30 31 32 > » Top

0.0222sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 07:30 PM