Opening a Bank Account in Singapore

gooroojee
post Aug 30 2023, 08:43 PM

LowYee
2,193 posts

QUOTE(john123x @ Aug 30 2023, 08:25 PM)
i spend the whole day researching my new maybank SG bank account.

here is what i do:
-Tiger Broker to Maybank SG
-Maybank SG to Tiger broker [via Transfer UEN]
-Maybank SG to Tiger broker [via Transfer Other Accounts - DBS Bank]
-Maybank SG to Wise [via Transfer UEN]
-Maybank SG to Wise [via Transfer Other Accounts - Wise Bank]
-Maybank SG to Wise [Maybank App Scan Wise QR]
-Wise to Maybank SG

its really fun

I noticed, transfering SGD around is free, no fee.
WISE also didnt charge any fee for receiving and sending SGD. Wise only charge fee for forex conversion.

I also managed to register PayNow ID tied to my Malaysia phone number. I tried using WISE to transfer to PayNow Id [My HP Number], it doesnt work.
You might get stuck at Tiger to MBB, even though MBB is Tiger bank.. ironically.. hahaha
john123x
post Aug 30 2023, 09:03 PM

3,024 posts

QUOTE(gooroojee @ Aug 30 2023, 08:43 PM)
You might get stuck at Tiger to MBB, even though MBB is Tiger bank.. ironically.. hahaha
could you explain why?

Tiger is safe, its like moomoo, regulated in Singapore. I dont see any need for concern.
gooroojee
post Aug 30 2023, 09:09 PM

LowYee
2,193 posts

QUOTE(john123x @ Aug 30 2023, 09:03 PM)
could you explain why?

Tiger is safe, its like moomoo, regulated in Singapore. I dont see any need for concern.
Nothing wrong with Tiger Brokers, but they want a bank statement before allowing fund withdrawals to that bank, and I assume you're using iSavvy, which doesn't provide you a bank statement...
john123x
post Aug 30 2023, 09:16 PM

3,024 posts

QUOTE(gooroojee @ Aug 30 2023, 09:09 PM)
Nothing wrong with Tiger Brokers, but they want a bank statement before allowing fund withdrawals to that bank, and I assume you're using iSavvy, which doesn't provide you a bank statement...
thats not true. I add Bank Account (for withdrawal purposes), it didnt ask any bank statement. maybe my situation is different from most people, because my initial deposit is from Wise.

EDIT: you dont send from WISE to Tiger, it will get rejected. You initialized Wise Transfer from inside Tiger App

and the "Test" withdrawal process take only 3 hours. i apply withdrawal at 2.45pm and i got it in my SG account at 6pm.

This post has been edited by john123x: Aug 30 2023, 09:19 PM
ViLenG
post Aug 31 2023, 09:22 AM

custom vi leng
1,461 posts

i want to open dbs bank but they ask for card and pin? 😒
lyyera96
post Aug 31 2023, 10:03 AM

102 posts

QUOTE(ViLenG @ Aug 31 2023, 09:22 AM)
i want to open dbs bank but they ask for card and pin? 😒
what you mean
ViLenG
post Aug 31 2023, 10:04 AM

custom vi leng
1,461 posts

QUOTE(lyyera96 @ Aug 31 2023, 10:03 AM)
what you mean
i tried registering online but they require fin number
i dont have that in malaysia
john123x
post Aug 31 2023, 04:28 PM

3,024 posts

ocbc getting on my nerve, over 30 tries and still fail...
!@#$%^
post Aug 31 2023, 04:35 PM

Safe Trader
17,518 posts

QUOTE(john123x @ Aug 31 2023, 04:28 PM)
ocbc getting on my nerve, over 30 tries and still fail...
go for cimb or maybank
SUSTOS
post Aug 31 2023, 05:36 PM

8,667 posts

For those with MoneyOwl accounts:

https://www.moneyowl.com.sg/medias/moneyowl...ss-by-end-2023/

https://links.sgx.com/FileOpen/iFAST%20Corp...t&FileID=771257

I just transferred my money out of FSM SG into MoneyOwl, and now it's returning to iFAST...

john123x
post Aug 31 2023, 10:47 PM

3,024 posts

ocbc sg

my trick

i put my IC between my two fingers (and disregard the nonsense put on dark background because i am so pissed off earlier)
!@#$%^
post Aug 31 2023, 11:24 PM

Safe Trader
17,518 posts

QUOTE(ccschua @ Aug 3 2023, 05:22 PM)
earlier someone discussed and asked about closing account and whether can be done online. well, i have just learned that (for OCBC account, not sure about others ), you can just transfer out the balance to zero.

since its zero balance, there is no minimum charges and after 6 months, the account will be closed.

there goes my OCBC Easi-save account, requiring Minimum SGD 3000 balance if not service charge of 7.5 + 2 per month.
so no 'negative balance' and the account will be closed and removed from ur ocbc?
Sunshape
post Aug 31 2023, 11:30 PM

1,027 posts

QUOTE(lilsunflower @ Aug 29 2023, 09:43 PM)
Just sharing my recent experience trying to open a CIMB SG account.

I already have a CIMB MY account and applied for CIMB SG on 13 August. The form filling was easy and the account was created on the same day. I transferred SGD1k from my DBS SG via Ifast and also applied to link my CIMB MY account and CIMB SG account.

Accounts were linked on 16 August and I transferred SGD5 from CIMB MY to CIMB SG.

Note that my account had been created but not approved.

On 16 August I received an email from CIMB SG asking for my bank statement showing proof of salary crediting. I provided this and also reiterated that I am an existing CIMB MY and DBS SG account holder and had made transfers in via both accounts.The email also asked my intended purpose for opening the account. I responded saying I wanted to open the account for investment, depositing SGD and spending for personal use during visits to Singaporean.

8 days passed without any response.

On 24 August I sent a follow up.

On 29 August I received an email asking for proof of investment in SG. I responded saying that I already told them that my intention is for investment (such as FD deposit in SGD) and how can I prove my future intention when the account is not even opened?

Very frustrated at how long and nonsensical this process has been. I'm really regretting opening this account and now have SGD1005 stuck there, and a very slow and inefficient account opening team. I just hope they will give me my money back if they disallow my account opening.
They have this process and query because many of the Malaysian, especially here one, misused the account. doh.gif
Sunshape
post Aug 31 2023, 11:34 PM

1,027 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Aug 29 2023, 10:56 PM)
Next time don't tell people you want to use an account for "investment". CIMB is notoriously sensitive to the word "investment"; my CIMB MY (Basic Saving) account application was rejected at one of the branches in Butterworth, Penang because I told the officers I plan to use it to fund my SG investments. Straightaway officers' face turn pale.

I drove to another branch later and never utter the word "investment" anymore.

Despite all the fuss, CIMB SG (together with Citibank) are named in the 1-bllion SGD money laundering case in Singapore. https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/companies-...laundering-raid
Wow, this SongBaolin used CIMB to cuci the money. Did MAS take action on CIMB SG?
SUSTOS
post Sep 1 2023, 09:51 AM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Sunshape @ Aug 31 2023, 11:34 PM)
Wow, this SongBaolin used CIMB to cuci the money. Did MAS take action on CIMB SG?
DBS and Bank of Singapore (private bank branch of OCBC) are also implicated in the case. https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/companies-...singapore-firms

The Monetary Authority of Singapore, when asked by Bloomberg News for comment, referred to its earlier statement where it said the regulator is undertaking supervisory engagements with financial firms where potentially tainted funds have been identified, and will take “firm action” against those found to have breached anti-money laundering and related rules. A spokesperson for the Singapore police did not immediately respond to a request for comment.

SUSTOS
post Sep 1 2023, 10:02 AM

8,667 posts

Oh, in another news. CIMB SG "floating deposit" promo has been extended.

https://www.cimb.com.sg/en/personal/promoti...%20Customers%20

For existing customer, if you bring in more money starting from today onwards, the incremental balance will enjoy 3.50% p.a. for the next 6 months till 28th Feb 2024.

Looks like CIMB SG is hungry for deposits, make you wonder whether they can find enough loans out there to earn your 3.50%...
Sunshape
post Sep 1 2023, 05:22 PM

1,027 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Sep 1 2023, 09:51 AM)
DBS and Bank of Singapore (private bank branch of OCBC) are also implicated in the case. https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/companies-...singapore-firms
oh no, they themselves are the launderers. Will MAS close their acc?
SUSTOS
post Sep 1 2023, 05:54 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Sunshape @ Sep 1 2023, 05:22 PM)
oh no, they themselves are the launderers.  Will MAS close their acc?
The accounts will surely be frozen for investigation for now.

As for closure, my computer engineering prof (who stays in JB, likely a Malaysian) says that most likely the assets will be confiscated and thus belong to SG government as they may not be able to trace the source. laugh.gif
Sunshape
post Sep 1 2023, 05:55 PM

1,027 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Sep 1 2023, 05:54 PM)
The accounts will surely be frozen for investigation for now.

As for closure, my computer engineering prof (who stays in JB, likely a Malaysian) says that most likely the assets will be confiscated and thus belong to SG government as they may not be able to trace the source. laugh.gif
i mean the banks, not the Su baoling
SUSTOS
post Sep 1 2023, 06:04 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Sunshape @ Sep 1 2023, 05:55 PM)
i mean the banks, not the Su baoling
Unlikely lah. Close down DBS and OCBC, Singapore will be gone...

You know they joke about Hong Kong: one function of an international financial center is to launder money. laugh.gif

https://www.am730.com.hk/column/%E8%B2%A1%E...E4%BD%8D/265761

(with paywall) https://finance.mingpao.com/fin/daily/20220...%83%BD%E3%80%8D

So as Singapore. One extended family member of mine who works at a Temasek-affiliated consultancy firm in SG confirms that money-laundering is a highly profitable business in Singapore. After all SG is a conduit tax haven/OFC, it's hard to eradicate such activities completely.

315 Pages « < 246 247 248 249 250 > » Top

0.0928sec    0.77    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 06:33 AM