Opening a Bank Account in Singapore

spiderwick
post Feb 1 2019, 10:55 AM

341 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 9 2018, 07:22 PM)
EPS is electronic payment for shares usually use to link your brokerage to your bank account. Think of it like our IBG but it takes one day.

Only few banks in SG supports EPS. The ways to transfer money  electronically is usually FAST (think of our IBFT),  EPS, GIRO. You need to ch ck with the respective brokerage whether they support FAST transfer or not.

I will avoid FSM SG if one is aiming to buy UT. FSM SG is only good for
1) SG brokerage
2) HK brokerage

Other than that,  avoid FSM at all cost. I opened FSM SG only for their access to HK market as they are the only 3 brokers I know of in SG which does not charge dividend/maintenance fee for HK stocks
Hi Ramjade, do you know which brokerage that does not use FAST? As i plan to open CIMB SG as the procedure is much easier.
And like what you've shared fundsupermart SG is good for HK and SG shares. If i plan to buy SG REITS in the future, i suppose i could do so with fundsupermart SG?

Standard chartered u mentioned before that it has the lowest brokerage fee as well.

May i know for your US ETF, do you use IB? TQ
Ramjade
post Feb 1 2019, 09:15 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(spiderwick @ Feb 1 2019, 10:55 AM)
Hi Ramjade, do you know which brokerage that does not use FAST? As i plan to open CIMB SG as the procedure is much easier.
And like what you've shared fundsupermart SG is good for HK and SG shares. If i plan to buy SG REITS in the future, i suppose i could do so with fundsupermart SG?

Standard chartered u mentioned before that it has the lowest brokerage fee as well.

May i know for your US ETF, do you use IB? TQ
Correction. All broker use EPS. FAST is good as any bank in SG can transfer money via FAST. Only those broker which insist on using EPS can be a pain.

Keep in mind that once FSM SG secure a large base very likely they will start charging platform fees. How soon,
don't know. But structural is already there as they mentioned *fees waived*

Good luck opening SCB SG. Last I heard they are banning Malaysians from opening account. Only way is
1) super rich
2) buy their products worth SGD30-50k.
SCB SG have bad forex rates.

No money for IB. IB needs min USD100K or else there's going to be monthly USD10 fees.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Feb 1 2019, 09:24 PM
jtdc
post Feb 2 2019, 01:48 AM

245 posts

FSM SG always had platform fee. That's why I moved to Philip Poems.

https://secure.fundsupermart.com/fsm/advice...vices/faq/3747/
Ramjade
post Feb 2 2019, 05:58 AM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(jtdc @ Feb 2 2019, 01:48 AM)
FSM SG always had platform fee. That's why I moved to Philip Poems.

https://secure.fundsupermart.com/fsm/advice...vices/faq/3747/
For their unit trust. Not for their stock broker yet.
spiderwick
post Feb 4 2019, 11:13 AM

341 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 1 2019, 09:15 PM)
Correction. All broker use EPS. FAST is good as any bank in SG can transfer money via FAST. Only those broker which insist on using EPS can be a pain.

Keep in mind that once FSM SG secure a large base very likely they will start charging platform fees. How soon, 
don't know. But structural is already there as they mentioned *fees waived*

Good luck opening SCB SG. Last I heard they are banning Malaysians from opening account. Only way is
1) super rich
2) buy their products worth SGD30-50k.
SCB SG have bad forex rates.

No money for IB. IB needs min USD100K or else there's going to be monthly USD10 fees.
oh okok...then if that's the case, CIMB SG will be good..

Noted on the SCB new regulation...and FSM upcoming plan..will see how then.

thank you so much!
MilesAndMore
post Feb 7 2019, 01:56 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(spiderwick @ Feb 4 2019, 11:13 AM)
oh okok...then if that's the case, CIMB SG will be good..

Noted on the SCB new regulation...and FSM upcoming plan..will see how then.

thank you so much!
Standard Chartered Singapore still welcome Malaysian to start a banking relationship with them. It is just that they are more keen on selling Priority Banking and Priority Private Banking membership to non-Singaporean or anyone who aren’t Singapore resident or do not work in Singapore and this isn’t unique to Malaysian only.

Citibank IPB Singapore previously offered banking services to anyone except US nationals as long as you can fund the account and maintain USD10,000. However Citibank IPB Singapore no longer offers such account since year 2017 or so. You must at least join Citibank IPB Singapore Citigold if you want to bank with Citibank Singapore if you’re a foreigner who doesn’t stay or work in Singapore.
cfc
post Feb 7 2019, 04:13 PM

440 posts

QUOTE(coolguy99 @ Nov 5 2018, 10:34 PM)
Download the form, the documents required are all stated there.

To open a S$ iSAVvy Savings Account with Maybank Singapore, please visit any of the 40 Maybank Malaysia
Branches listed at the end of this Application Form, bringing with you, your NRIC for verification purposes. The
following documents are required to complete your application:
1. Original S$ iSAVvy Savings Account Application Form duly completed and signed
2. Photocopy of your NRIC (front and back)
3. Initial deposit in the form of a SGD Demand Draft made out in your name, and is obtainable from any of our 40
listed Maybank Malaysia Branches
is the Maybank iSAVvy SG account still a valid product ?
try to google but cannot find any info for it.
Just can get the application pdf with google
coolguy99
post Feb 7 2019, 06:13 PM

7,350 posts

QUOTE(cfc @ Feb 7 2019, 04:13 PM)
is the Maybank iSAVvy SG account still a valid product  ?
It's still valid as of last year. Best if you check with the local MBB branch. I did mine at the KL Main Branch.
roarus
post Feb 9 2019, 11:35 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(cfc @ Feb 7 2019, 04:13 PM)
is the Maybank iSAVvy SG account still a valid product  ?
Yes it is, walk this way: https://info.maybank2u.com.sg/personal/depo...gs-account.aspx

Download and print this form, then submit to a Maybank branch: Singapore Dollar iSAVvy Savings Account Application Form for Maybank Malaysia customers
hyperzz
post Feb 10 2019, 09:15 AM

215 posts

For those who wants to open Maybank iSAVvy account, if you intend to use the debit card given, you must activate the card at a Maybank SG ATM, by setting the spending limit.
A trip down to SG is unavoidable unless you don't use the card.
Done that myself.

coolguy99
post Feb 10 2019, 09:47 AM

7,350 posts

QUOTE(hyperzz @ Feb 10 2019, 09:15 AM)
For those who wants to open Maybank iSAVvy account, if you intend to use the debit card given, you must activate the card at a Maybank SG ATM, by setting the spending limit.
Done that myself.
I have not used the card ever since I activated it lol
kart
post Feb 10 2019, 10:03 AM

1,599 posts

At least, Maybank Platinum Debit MasterCard linked to iSAVvy Savings Account is given to us free of charge.

For CIMB FastSaver Account, SGD 10 is imposed, if we would like to have a debit card linked to this savings account. Then again, I believe that most of us do not have a debit card linked to CIMB FastSaver Account.

QUOTE(hyperzz @ Feb 10 2019, 09:15 AM)
Done that myself.
It is too bad, that we cannot activate Maybank Platinum Debit MasterCard on any Maybank Malaysia ATMs, probably because the linkage between Maybank Malaysia ATMs and Maybank Singapore ATMs does not allow debit card activation.

This post has been edited by kart: Feb 10 2019, 10:05 AM
cklimm
post Feb 10 2019, 10:06 AM

2,337 posts

People, do we have to declare our M2u.sg account to IRB? If so, how?

hyperzz
post Feb 10 2019, 05:27 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(coolguy99 @ Feb 10 2019, 09:47 AM)
I have not used the card ever since I activated it lol
I use it to buy stuff on the Klook app when I travel. Unfortunately MYR is not among the currencies supported by Klook.
Using the card for non-SGD payment will incur additional forex markup and other fees. This seems to be the norm for most SG banks.
hyperzz
post Feb 10 2019, 05:43 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ Feb 10 2019, 10:06 AM)
People, do we have to declare our M2u.sg account to IRB? If so, how?

Nope, you don't have to.
Most people are not aware that Malaysia, along with many other countries (SG included), has joined the AEOI (Automatic Exchange of Information) and implemented CRS (Common Reporting Standard).

AEOI & Malaysia
LHDN & CRS

Under CRS, all non-resident accounts will be automatically reported to the account owner's tax authority.

Therefore, for Maybank iSAVvy account held by Malaysian residents, Maybank SG is required to report the account automatically to LHDN.
hyperzz
post Feb 10 2019, 11:15 PM

215 posts

Clarification by Lim Guan Eng about foreign accounts:

Malaysiakini

cklimm
post Feb 11 2019, 02:34 PM

2,337 posts

QUOTE(hyperzz @ Feb 10 2019, 05:43 PM)
Nope, you don't have to.
Most people are not aware that Malaysia, along with many other countries (SG included), has joined the AEOI (Automatic Exchange of Information) and implemented CRS (Common Reporting Standard).

AEOI & Malaysia
LHDN & CRS

Under CRS, all non-resident accounts will be automatically reported to the account owner's tax authority.

Therefore, for Maybank iSAVvy account held by Malaysian residents, Maybank SG is required to report the account automatically to LHDN.
In short, Maybank SG has declared to IRB for our behalf.
koonthye
post Mar 5 2019, 11:10 PM

may i know how to tranfers money to other bank from cimb fastsaver singapore?
MUM
post Mar 5 2019, 11:20 PM

14,867 posts

QUOTE(koonthye @ Mar 5 2019, 11:10 PM)
my uneducated guess is...
when you open this Fastsaver account, the CIMB Click Internet Banking account would also be created....
Use this CIMB Click to transfer? Can or Not?
roarus
post Mar 6 2019, 06:32 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(koonthye @ Mar 5 2019, 11:10 PM)
AFAIK, linking to CIMB Clicks Malaysia allows you to see the balance only. To perform transfers you'll need to use CIMB Clicks Singapore.

After opening a FastSaver account you will get a couple of SMS (welcome, first time login code) and token device via snail mail that allows you to create CIMB Clicks Singapore account.

315 Pages « < 89 90 91 92 93 > » Top

0.0259sec    0.25    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 04:10 AM