Opening a Bank Account in Singapore

Showtime747
post Oct 7 2018, 09:26 AM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(kart @ Oct 6 2018, 06:23 AM)

So, that is the latest update. However, S$1,000 will be converted at CIMB Bank's rate, which should be inferior to the rate of Instarem, and other Fintechs. Still, it is a small price to pay, to get the Singapore Savings Account opened.

Ya....S$1k at additional spread of say 0.5% and service charge of say RM20 is only about S$10.00. Better than taking a bus there to save cost

Looks like MBB now also can make TT for initial deposit to activate account...

Opening a bank account in Sg is much more convenient now...not to mention it is faster...
kart
post Oct 7 2018, 10:39 AM

1,603 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Oct 7 2018, 09:26 AM)
Looks like MBB now also can make TT for initial deposit to activate account...

Opening a bank account in Sg is much more convenient now...not to mention it is faster...
Yes, TT is one way that can be used to make initial deposit.

In my case, when I submitted my application forms for Maybank iSavvy Savings Account at Menara Maybank, KL, I insisted that once iSavvy Savings Account is opened by Maybank Singapore, I will transfer SGD 500 from my savings account in other bank in Singapore, for the initial deposit. So, it is not necessary to perform TT, or buy a bank draft for the purpose of the initial deposit, if the applicant chooses not to.

QUOTE(w3sley @ Oct 6 2018, 03:05 PM)
3rd party transfer allowed to activate the bank account.
For the application of Maybank iSavvy Savings Account in Malaysia, I believe that identity verification is performed by Maybank Malaysia by virtue of thumbprint verification. Thus, Maybank Singapore does not require the initial deposit to be originated from other savings account belonged to the applicant.

On the other hand, CIMB Singapore requires that the initial deposit to be originated from other savings account belonged to the applicant (either CIMB Malaysia savings account, or other savings account in other bank in Singapore), because this is how CIMB Singapore performs identity verification.

This post has been edited by kart: Oct 7 2018, 10:46 AM
Reventon
post Oct 7 2018, 03:25 PM

2,921 posts

Off topic abit can we open thai cimb account at malaysia cimb as well ?
roarus
post Oct 7 2018, 10:55 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(kart @ Oct 7 2018, 10:39 AM)
Yes, TT is one way that can be used to make initial deposit.

In my case, when I submitted my application forms for Maybank iSavvy Savings Account at Menara Maybank, KL, I insisted that once iSavvy Savings Account is opened by Maybank Singapore, I will transfer SGD 500 from my savings account in other bank in Singapore, for the initial deposit. So, it is not necessary to perform TT, or buy a bank draft for the purpose of the initial deposit, if the applicant chooses not to.
For the application of Maybank iSavvy Savings Account in Malaysia, I believe that identity verification is performed by Maybank Malaysia by virtue of thumbprint verification. Thus, Maybank Singapore does not require the initial deposit to be originated from other savings account belonged to the applicant.

On the other hand, CIMB Singapore requires that the initial deposit to be originated from other savings account belonged to the applicant (either CIMB Malaysia savings account, or other savings account in other bank in Singapore), because this is how CIMB Singapore performs identity verification.
Additional info:
I did my initial funding of maybank isavvy using instarem back in July this year (2018)
myprop9
post Oct 8 2018, 07:19 AM

QUOTE(jutamind @ Oct 6 2018, 11:40 AM)
Just submitted for MBB SG iSavvy account yesterday. Just fill up the form with supporting docs. Was told no need bank draft now. Once account approved, just do foreign TT to SG account would do
Went to Menara Maybank last Friday morning to open iSavvy Account and the officer insisted on the bank draft whilst showing me other bank drafts submitted to open iSavvy Account. According to the Officer, the Bank Draft is the new requirement as of the last one month. Without the bank draft the submission will not be processed by Mbb SG.

Told her that other Mbb branches have not insisted on the Bank Draft and her reply was they are not following SOP.

This post has been edited by myprop9: Oct 8 2018, 07:23 AM
hong823
post Oct 9 2018, 12:17 AM

100 posts

QUOTE(roarus @ Aug 2 2018, 11:43 PM)
Managed to open both Maybank iSAVvy and CIMB FastSaver-i thanks to the info here.

Here's my journey if it helps anyone in the future:

Maybank:
1. Downloaded and filled in iSAVvy application form from maybank sg site
2. Submitted form, IC and utility bill to Maybank SS15 Subang Jaya branch on Raya eve (14 June 2018)
*was told utility bill not required if IC and mailing address in form is same, but no harm including it
*did not attach bank draft for initial amount of SGD500
3. Waited around 3 weeks and heard nothing yet, dropped an email to CallCentre@maybank.com.sg (3 July 2018)
*before that unable to contact Maybank SS15 Subang Jaya as lines were always busy/gave up waiting on hold for person in charge of savings account
4. Got misscall from Maybank SG, and later an email informing me that relevant department has been notified regarding my application status check (5 July 2018)
5. Got a call from Maybank SS15 Subang Jaya, turns out the forms are still in Malaysia and will be couriered via DHL to Singapore the same day (10 July 2018)
6. Got an SMS from Maybank SG regarding OTP registration with my mobile number (16 July 2018)
7. Got a welcome call from Maybank SG regarding account activation and to lookout for pins, security token and debit card in the mailbox (17 July 2018)
8. Got my pins, security token and debit card in 2 separate batches over the week and following week (20 - 26 July 2018)
9. Transferred to cover Maybank and CIMB's initial opening amount via Instarem - RM10 off with welcome promo code (~5:30pm 30 July 2018)
10. Money appeared in Maybank SG account as inward FAST transfer, amount as shown during Instarem transfer confirmation - no inward fee like TT (~3:45pm 31 July 2018)

CIMB:
1. Applied using online form for CIMB FastSaver-i
2. Submitted form with uploaded IC (front + back) image and utility bill PDF
3. Got account number at the end of application and welcome email
4. Transferred via FAST the initial amount from Maybank SG (31 July 2018)
5. Got a call from CIMB SG, apparently my IC uploads weren't captured - had to attach and reply on top of welcome email (1 Aug 2018)
6. Got email acknowledging my attachments and SMS later in the day informing me that account has been activated (2 Aug 2018)
Update: After activation, you should expect to get code for cimbclicks First Time Login via SMS (together with welcome SMS), and security token via mail 1-2 weeks later

Also did MoneyMatch and Instarem registration:
1. MoneyMatch - online KYC
2. Instarem - 2 min KYC at my office area in Bangsar
Thanks bro for the details step by step explanation, really helpful indeed. notworthy.gif

Looks like Maybank still dealing with some manual paperwork, hence i decided to give CIMB a try.

Sharing my experience opening CIMB Fastsaver account for SG:

~11am, 8 Oct 2018 (Sunday)
- Applied online thru cimb website. Got the CIMB SG account number immediately.
- Using instarem to transfer initial deposits (Min required 1k sgd)
- Request to link CIMB SG account in CIMB Clicks MY website (I'm an existing CIMB Clicks user)

~7pm, 9 Oct 2018 (Monday)
- CIMB SG account approved in CIMB Clicks MY. Able to see the money i deposits using instarem.

It looks almost exactly 1 business day for the account creation + approved, 2 days for end to end process. Impressive and everything is done online.

This post has been edited by hong823: Oct 9 2018, 01:40 AM
roarus
post Oct 9 2018, 02:51 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(hong823 @ Oct 9 2018, 12:17 AM)
Thanks bro for the details step by step explanation, really helpful indeed.  notworthy.gif

Looks like Maybank still dealing with some manual paperwork, hence i decided to give CIMB a try.

- Request to link CIMB SG account in CIMB Clicks MY website (I'm an existing CIMB Clicks user)

- CIMB SG account approved in CIMB Clicks MY. Able to see the money i deposits using instarem.
It looks almost exactly 1 business day for the account creation + approved, 2 days for end to end process. Impressive and everything is done online.
Looks like the shortest and most convenient way to open account in SG at the moment. +1 for the report on successful funding via Instarem too
Ramjade
post Oct 9 2018, 03:32 PM

24,380 posts

Thanks bro for the details step by step explanation, really helpful indeed.  notworthy.gif

QUOTE(roarus @ Oct 9 2018, 02:51 PM)
Looks like the shortest and most convenient way to open account in SG at the moment. +1 for the report on successful funding via Instarem too
You guys know right if you want to use EPS, Cimb SG does not support EPS?
fairylord
post Oct 9 2018, 05:43 PM

tag [@fairylord]
2,012 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 9 2018, 03:32 PM)
You guys know right if you want to use EPS,  Cimb SG does not support EPS?
sifu, what's EPS?

hong823
post Oct 9 2018, 05:45 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 9 2018, 03:32 PM)
You guys know right if you want to use EPS,  Cimb SG does not support EPS?
What is the general usage for EPS? I plan to use it mainly for saving / transferring fund to FSM SG / other investment platform.
Ramjade
post Oct 9 2018, 07:22 PM

24,380 posts

QUOTE(fairylord @ Oct 9 2018, 05:43 PM)
sifu, what's EPS?
QUOTE(hong823 @ Oct 9 2018, 05:45 PM)
What is the general usage for EPS? I plan to use it mainly for saving / transferring fund to FSM SG / other investment platform.
EPS is electronic payment for shares usually use to link your brokerage to your bank account. Think of it like our IBG but it takes one day.

Only few banks in SG supports EPS. The ways to transfer money electronically is usually FAST (think of our IBFT), EPS, GIRO. You need to ch ck with the respective brokerage whether they support FAST transfer or not.

I will avoid FSM SG if one is aiming to buy UT. FSM SG is only good for
1) SG brokerage
2) HK brokerage

Other than that, avoid FSM at all cost. I opened FSM SG only for their access to HK market as they are the only 3 brokers I know of in SG which does not charge dividend/maintenance fee for HK stocks

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Oct 9 2018, 07:24 PM
hong823
post Oct 9 2018, 07:54 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 9 2018, 07:22 PM)
EPS is electronic payment for shares usually use to link your brokerage to your bank account. Think of it like our IBG but it takes one day.

Only few banks in SG supports EPS. The ways to transfer money  electronically is usually FAST (think of our IBFT),  EPS, GIRO. You need to ch ck with the respective brokerage whether they support FAST transfer or not.

1) SG brokerage
2) HK brokerage

Other than that,  avoid FSM at all cost. I opened FSM SG only for their access to HK market as they are the only 3 brokers I know of in SG which does not charge dividend/maintenance fee for HK stocks
Thanks bro for the EPS explanation. I just started to understand how SG banking and money transfer works. rclxub.gif

Any specific reason why you're trying to avoid FSM? Is there any better investment instrument available for non-SG resident? I interested in US ETF from FSM SG.

I'm sorry it seem this discussion is a little off the original topic.

This post has been edited by hong823: Oct 9 2018, 08:07 PM
hong823
post Oct 9 2018, 07:59 PM

100 posts

To add on to my experience:

~7pm, 10 Oct 2018 (Tuesday)
- Called CIMB SG to ask for my account activation status, apparently there are another manual approval by staff even the account stated "Active" in CIMB Clicks MY
- Few minutes later got an email and multiple sms from CIMB SG with online banking activation code
- Able to access CIMB Clicks SG now

2-3 days to open a SG bank account without having to stay/work in SG kind of worth it, not to mention everything is done online/via phone call. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by hong823: Oct 9 2018, 08:06 PM
Ramjade
post Oct 9 2018, 08:19 PM

24,380 posts

QUOTE(hong823 @ Oct 9 2018, 07:54 PM)
Thanks bro for the EPS explanation. I just started to understand how SG banking and money transfer works.  rclxub.gif 

Any specific reason why you're trying to avoid FSM? Is there any better investment instrument available for non-SG resident? I interested in US ETF from FSM SG.

I'm sorry it seem this discussion is a little off the original topic.
Simple reason. I don't give free money to companies/ banks.
Read how FSM SG charges you and you will find you are leaking unnecessary money.
FSM charges you dividend fees for US market.
1% of gross dividend
subject to
min USD 2.50
max USD 25

So tell me why should I waste good money when there are other platforms offering US stocks and US ETFs without the need to pay any dividend fees?

If you feel generous to donate free money to FSM SG, be my guest. I for one won't be donating my money to them.

Different platform have different functions and price.
fairylord
post Oct 9 2018, 09:14 PM

tag [@fairylord]
2,012 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 9 2018, 07:22 PM)

Only few banks in SG supports EPS. The ways to transfer money  electronically is usually FAST (think of our IBFT),  EPS, GIRO. You need to ch ck with the respective brokerage whether they support FAST transfer or not.

1) SG brokerage
2) HK brokerage

Other than that,  avoid FSM at all cost. I opened FSM SG only for their access to HK market as they are the only 3 brokers I know of in SG which does not charge dividend/maintenance fee for HK stocks
Thanks sifu for explaining on EPS.
Who are the 3 brokers in SG doesn't charge for HK Stocks?
Is FSM one of the 3 that's why you with them?

This post has been edited by fairylord: Oct 9 2018, 09:15 PM
Ramjade
post Oct 9 2018, 10:22 PM

24,380 posts

QUOTE(fairylord @ Oct 9 2018, 09:14 PM)
Thanks sifu for explaining on EPS.
Who are the 3 brokers in SG doesn't charge for HK Stocks?
Is FSM one of the 3 that's why you with them?
FSM
Standard chartered
Interactive broker
fairylord
post Oct 9 2018, 10:54 PM

tag [@fairylord]
2,012 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 9 2018, 10:22 PM)
FSM
Standard chartered
Interactive broker
Noted with thanks. notworthy.gif
Hansel
post Oct 11 2018, 03:19 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Oct 5 2018, 09:58 PM)
Thanks for sharing !  thumbup.gif

Yes, looks like ramjade is wrong. I tried it just now. This is the email I got :
hansel one door closed, the other door opened ?  biggrin.gif
Yes,... another door opened now,...this is good, because if someone starts to open now, and mkt drops after this, can start to buy shares already...

Do you guys know which is the cheapest brokerage in Singapore ?
Hansel
post Oct 11 2018, 03:19 PM

9,361 posts

0.12% with no minimum,....
Ramjade
post Oct 11 2018, 04:11 PM

24,380 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Oct 11 2018, 03:19 PM)
Yes,... another door opened now,...this is good, because if someone starts to open now, and mkt drops after this, can start to buy shares already...

Do you guys know which is the cheapest brokerage in Singapore ?
Interactive broker provided if you have US100k.
If pure play SG market only, the other alternative is FSM.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Oct 11 2018, 04:11 PM

315 Pages « < 83 84 85 86 87 > » Top

0.0302sec    1.01    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 09:11 AM