Opening a Bank Account in Singapore

Hansel
post Oct 11 2018, 05:07 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 11 2018, 04:11 PM)
Interactive broker provided if you have US100k.
If pure play SG market only, the other alternative is FSM.
How much is IB's comm (percentage-wise and minimum comm) with USD100K AUM with them ?

How much is FSM's comm (percentage-wise and minimum comm) ?

FSM has quarterly platform fees,...
Ramjade
post Oct 11 2018, 05:21 PM

24,380 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Oct 11 2018, 05:07 PM)
How much is IB's comm (percentage-wise and minimum comm) with USD100K AUM with them ?

For IB, this is their fixed price.
https://www.interactivebrokers.com/en/index...=1590&p=stocks1

For FSM
https://secure.fundsupermart.com/fsm/new-to...icing-structure

Correction they have quarterly platform fees only for unit trust and MAPS. Not for stocks. Well not yet anyway.

That's why I said IB is actually way cheaper than DBS V or any other SG stock broker, hence SG refuse to let them do business in SG (off limits to SGrean who wants to trade SGX only).
But IB is open for you and me.
Combine with it's low price + extensive market coverage, should be more than enough.

One thing need to worry is not sure how the death tax works out for IB.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Oct 11 2018, 05:21 PM
roarus
post Oct 11 2018, 05:25 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Oct 11 2018, 05:07 PM)

My understanding of IB commission (belum buka account still playing with paper trading to learn their system), under USD100k is:
More than USD2000 cash balance
- USD10 minimum commission
- Trades (buy/sell) counted towards the minimum commission
- FX conversion counted towards the minimum commission
- Live market data subscription NOT counter towards minimum commission

Less than USD2000 cash balance
- USD20 minimum commission
- Live market data subscription automatically cancelled

Withdrawals
- 1 zero fee wire withdrawal per month

Custodian
- No custodian fee/periodic % of AUM fee
Ramjade
post Oct 11 2018, 05:33 PM

24,380 posts

QUOTE(roarus @ Oct 11 2018, 05:25 PM)
My understanding of IB commission (belum buka account still playing with paper trading to learn their system), under USD100k is:
More than USD2000 cash balance
- USD10 minimum commission
- Trades (buy/sell) counted towards the minimum commission
- FX conversion counted towards the minimum commission
- Live market data subscription NOT counter towards minimum commission

Less than USD2000 cash balance
- USD20 minimum commission
- Live market data subscription automatically cancelled

Withdrawals
- 1 zero fee wire withdrawal per month

Custodian
- No custodian fee/periodic % of AUM fee
Not worth to go with them as min USD10/month if you don't have USD100k with them.

Of course the USD10/month can be offset via active trading.
Hansel
post Oct 11 2018, 06:07 PM

9,361 posts

Looking at the above two cheapest brokerages for SG,... to sum up,... my brokerage at 0.12% with NO MINIMUM commission is cheaper than both of them for SGX stocks.

No platform fees too for mine.
Ramjade
post Oct 11 2018, 06:13 PM

24,380 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Oct 11 2018, 06:07 PM)
Looking at the above two cheapest brokerages for SG,... to sum up,... my brokerage at 0.12% with NO MINIMUM commission is cheaper than both of them for SGX stocks.

No platform fees too for mine.
I think you need to be corrected. For IB SG price only
0.08% of trade value, min SGD 2.50
0.08% is definitely cheaper than 0.12% biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
Hansel
post Oct 12 2018, 11:38 AM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 11 2018, 06:13 PM)
I think you need to be corrected. For IB SG price only
0.08% of trade value,  min SGD 2.50
0.08% is definitely cheaper than 0.12% biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
I will counter-correct you,.... biggrin.gif

YOU need to have 100K USD inside IB to be able to enjoy the above special rate.

My 0.12% with NO minimum comm does not need to have so,... which means I can invest this USD100K outside my brokerage.

I welcome further counter-comments,.... hoping to be right !
Ramjade
post Oct 12 2018, 11:44 AM

24,380 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Oct 12 2018, 11:38 AM)
I will counter-correct you,.... biggrin.gif

YOU need to have 100K USD inside IB to be able to enjoy the above special rate.

My 0.12% with NO minimum comm does not need to have so,... which means I can invest this USD100K outside my brokerage.

I welcome further counter-comments,.... hoping to be right !
Alright. Challenge accepted
FSM SG 0.08%min SGD 10 no need to lock up USD100k with them.

Care to share what broker is that 0.12%? Is it valid for PB customer only?
Hansel
post Oct 12 2018, 11:59 AM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 12 2018, 11:44 AM)

Care to share what broker is that 0.12%?  Is it valid for PB customer only?
Appreciated your confirmation !

That's right - you will have USD10 minimum comm if you don't have USD100K with them.

How abt other brokerages ?

Anymore that can challenge 0.12% with NO minimum comm and no monthly fees ?
Ramjade
post Oct 12 2018, 12:01 PM

24,380 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Oct 12 2018, 11:59 AM)
Appreciated your confirmation !

That's right - you will have USD10 minimum comm if you don't have USD100K with them.

How abt other brokerages ?

Anymore that can challenge 0.12% with NO minimum comm and no monthly fees ?
Another brokerage I am eyeing, Exante. Not sure how reliable is it.
Hansel
post Oct 12 2018, 12:09 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 12 2018, 12:01 PM)
Another brokerage I am eyeing,  Exante. Not sure how reliable is it.
What is the comm % and the minimum comm ?
Hansel
post Oct 12 2018, 04:13 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 12 2018, 11:44 AM)

Care to share what broker is that 0.12%?  Is it valid for PB customer only?
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 12 2018, 12:01 PM)
Another brokerage I am eyeing,  Exante. Not sure how reliable is it.
"Sifu",...

Anymore opinions ??

Or my brokerage with '0.12% with NO minimum comm and no monthly fees' has won the best prize ??
Ramjade
post Oct 12 2018, 04:20 PM

24,380 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Oct 12 2018, 04:13 PM)
"Sifu",...

Anymore opinions ??

Or my brokerage with '0.12% with NO minimum comm and no monthly fees' has won the best prize ??
Actually no. Exante is cheaper. But I am on phone now. Can't really check their price.
Hansel
post Oct 12 2018, 04:38 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 12 2018, 04:20 PM)
Actually no. Exante is cheaper. But I am on phone now. Can't really  check their price.
Thank you for your help,... let me know after your call,....
Ramjade
post Oct 12 2018, 04:40 PM

24,380 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Oct 12 2018, 04:38 PM)
Thank you for your help,... let me know after your call,....
Bro I am on phone means I am browsing via phone. tongue.gif
Hansel
post Oct 12 2018, 04:43 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 12 2018, 04:40 PM)
Bro I am on phone means I am browsing via phone. tongue.gif
fairylord
post Oct 12 2018, 11:32 PM

tag [@fairylord]
2,012 posts

Sifus, what's the broker offers '0.12% with NO minimum comm and no monthly fees', din get the clue still.

tongue.gif Thanks.
apathen
post Oct 13 2018, 01:47 AM

322 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Oct 12 2018, 04:13 PM)
"Sifu",...

Anymore opinions ??

isn't mbke now offering that ?
kart
post Oct 13 2018, 05:45 AM

1,603 posts

I am not sure whether Hansel is referring to Maybank Kim Eng or not.

Maybank Kim Eng offers 0.12% commission rate with no minimum commission and no monthly fees, via Maybank KE Prefunded account.

Maybank Kim Eng client will have to maintain a daily average minimum balance of $10,000 assessed on a monthly basis. In other words, Maybank Kim Eng client needs to maintain an average amount of $10,000, every single day, throughout a calendar month.

An Eligible Client will be first charged the Normal Rate, and will subsequently receive the Rebate to reflect the Preferred Rate of no minimum commission.

https://www.maybank-ke.com.sg/latest-offeri...n=NoMinCommsExt

https://www.maybank-ke.com.sg/media/3247880...ign-updated.pdf

This post has been edited by kart: Oct 13 2018, 05:47 AM
Hansel
post Oct 13 2018, 12:01 PM

9,361 posts

Thank you, bros,.. for contributing to my discussion here,... and bringing up Maybank KE as a possible challenger to the offer given to me,...

But Maybank KE has the $10k daily minimum balance condition,... whereas my brokerage does not.

Mine is not Maybank KE,...

315 Pages « < 84 85 86 87 88 > » Top

0.0318sec    0.91    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 11:25 AM