5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Alienware Mothership v5, Once you'd enter, you'll never leave...

emino
post Jul 2 2010, 04:27 PM

IG - riezforester
5,967 posts

QUOTE(putochip123 @ Jul 2 2010, 12:33 PM)
well, as u mention situation above, those are GPU dependent, nothing do with the proccessor...
Yes. But when you go into open world/hood, the game will try to load tonnes of things and simulate them at once. those will definitely use CPU power. And those will use the same graphical settings, thus amplifying the resource usage.

Unlike most games that goes from level to level, stages to stages, open world in games have tonnes of AI running simultaneously. And the map are loaded constantly and continuously to simulate the illusion of seamlessness. Other games only loads parts of the scenario/map/stage and will only load the rest when the current stage is finished.

And if processor has nothing to do with it, it still doesnt explain why the game is a lot smoother than before, when it was on the old M11X.

BTW, I just tested Dragon Age Origins on high setting. Works really well. Last time I uninstall it and only play on PC due to the horrible lag even on mid settings.

This post has been edited by emino: Jul 2 2010, 04:31 PM
emino
post Jul 3 2010, 06:29 AM

IG - riezforester
5,967 posts

QUOTE(putochip123 @ Jul 3 2010, 01:53 AM)
well, dont wan argue with u d tongue.gif , u post me picture with FPS only i trust tongue.gif
change proccessor wont improve above 10FPS, the most is 5 only.....
maybe ur M11x different from other
I think its something to do with turbo boost. do you turn it off when you tested it? I keep mine on.
emino
post Jul 3 2010, 10:33 AM

IG - riezforester
5,967 posts

QUOTE(putochip123 @ Jul 3 2010, 10:27 AM)
turn the turbo boost on,, will only throttle down ur gaming experience
Havent tried with it off yet. But I'm comfortable with it on so far.

Basically those are just my experience with R2. I find its better, save for the power consumption and lack of VGA output (which is seriously annoying).
emino
post Jul 3 2010, 10:11 PM

IG - riezforester
5,967 posts

A post by me about Dell customer service: http://emino.info/2010/07/03/dell-customer-service/
emino
post Jul 8 2010, 07:52 AM

IG - riezforester
5,967 posts

QUOTE(tedisgodlike @ Jul 8 2010, 06:47 AM)
tQ. =)

Added on July 8, 2010, 6:50 amso should i increase my budget and get the m15?
In the end, it all depend on you. If you plan to carry them around, use on starbuck, or in lrt, or on benches tepi jalan, then M15X should be a bit too big and bulky.

But if you just put it in one place for a while, but would move it from time to time, then M15X would be good as a desktop replacement.

This post has been edited by emino: Jul 8 2010, 07:55 AM
emino
post Jul 8 2010, 08:16 AM

IG - riezforester
5,967 posts

QUOTE(tedisgodlike @ Jul 8 2010, 08:13 AM)
haha, my desktop boleh kira power lah, because im using acer 1810tz 11.6". that why want to go to m11x
Like I said, M15X should be too bulky. If you try to use it at McD or kedai mamak or starbucks, there will be barely enough room for other stuffs on the table. And its quite heavy as well. But if you only use it from one workstation to another workstation, then M15X should be fine.
emino
post Jul 8 2010, 04:15 PM

IG - riezforester
5,967 posts

QUOTE(lksing78 @ Jul 8 2010, 02:20 PM)
Have u see ...and M11x before ,the real thing
if not, do look for them in local store 1st before u buy. smile.gif
the size is not actually 11.6"(only the screen its self)
The bezel is very thick and made the laptop almost as same size as other 14 inch in the market

And do some research on the net for this product ,you don have to go very far.By start reading LYN Alienware thread ,starting from the launch of M11x ....the glory,the good ,the bad and the worst of it.

Verdict
Make me want Asus NV82jv more sweat.gif
putochip can trade in kah laugh.gif
I say its 13" rather than 14". Because all the 13" bags/pouches fits it perfectly.
emino
post Jul 9 2010, 02:52 PM

IG - riezforester
5,967 posts

QUOTE(putochip123 @ Jul 9 2010, 01:40 PM)
non of the brand quality is good.....
What i can say is depends on ur luck..
I had the lousiest of luck with the old M11X.

In 4 months I've had:
1. Screen infiltrated by dusts
2. Spoilt HD
3. Another spoilt HD
4. Bluetooth problem
5. LCD henge problem

doh.gif
emino
post Jul 11 2010, 08:30 PM

IG - riezforester
5,967 posts

QUOTE(nicks @ Jul 11 2010, 04:48 PM)
when i read all the reviews, i can conclude for first batch, everthing is good, then come out the next batch, got weird problem. haywire thinggy, lol.

Asus N82jv (not sure the modem though) seems good also, but M11X with AW FX really attact me.

any new M11x-R2 (is R2 is the latest?) user here? looking for definite opinion or a little review for this baby.
I'm using R2. Liking it so far, except for the no-vga-port thingy.
emino
post Jul 12 2010, 02:56 PM

IG - riezforester
5,967 posts

UGH! The bluetooth suddenly not responding. Downloading the driver from the website to try out now. >:(
emino
post Jul 12 2010, 03:30 PM

IG - riezforester
5,967 posts

QUOTE(nicks @ Jul 12 2010, 03:19 PM)
emino, tease us a bit.. show benchie ke, apa apa ke. smile.gif

but, no VGA really make huge different. any converter DP/HDMI to VGA in market?
I'm too lazy to do it, and doesnt have all the tools.

If you guys really wanna see it, you're welcomed to set an appointment and come and do them yourself. tongue.gif
emino
post Jul 13 2010, 02:53 PM

IG - riezforester
5,967 posts

My experience with 3 asus netbook: you will not exactly need their after sales service that much since their quality control is a lot better than dell. 3 years with asus, 3 netbooks, only one needs to be send for repairs, and that was due to negligence on my part,
emino
post Jul 14 2010, 05:49 AM

IG - riezforester
5,967 posts

QUOTE(julchin_09 @ Jul 14 2010, 03:26 AM)
Have you tried much gaming on it? I have a friend interested in the M11x R2 with the i7-640UM but I wanna know if it can run games well. Games like COD MW2 or BFBC2 or Those like Mass Effect 2 and WOW or Splinter Cell. Just gimme some numbers and I'll try to digest it. Trying to get a clue besides reading reviews online which I will....
I've found Display Port to HDMI converter cable for around RM50 at LowYatt plaza same floor at VIEWNET. IIRC its the shop which has a huge LCD Hanging in front of it always playing either games trailers or game demos.....
Those are not my kind of games. LOL

But I do play Dragon Age, Sims 3 + all expansions and custom contents, Oblivion with tonnes of mods, and all on the highest settings. Works really great.
emino
post Jul 14 2010, 09:43 AM

IG - riezforester
5,967 posts

QUOTE(riku2replica @ Jul 14 2010, 09:25 AM)
Well, my point is, there are NO laptop with displayport yet when i google up. Mostly are ATi card that has the display port to support eyefinity.

The huge LCD shop, i can guess its C-Zone iinm.
Alienware does have DisplayPort.

But no VGA. My company projector uses VGA.

So HDMI - DisplayPort still FAIL, since they still cant output to VGA.
emino
post Jul 14 2010, 10:02 AM

IG - riezforester
5,967 posts

Ah, I've looked for HDMI to VGA, dunno DisplaayPort to VGA is quite famous.

http://www.moresales.com.my/catalog/entry/loypzkdd.shtml
A local seller, it seems. But never heard of that site before. sweat.gif
emino
post Jul 14 2010, 03:02 PM

IG - riezforester
5,967 posts

its too odd for me. lol
emino
post Jul 15 2010, 11:48 AM

IG - riezforester
5,967 posts

QUOTE(lksing78 @ Jul 15 2010, 11:43 AM)
which beta version is that ...u mean the 2xx version or the 197.xx version?
been damn long since i touch my m11x...busy with PS3 lately hihihi
Me terbalik pulak. Barely touch my xbox, wii, and even my desktop PC (apart from downloading and watching tv series) since I always play Dragon Age/Sims 3/Oblivion on my M11X. Still heavily playing with the DS though.
emino
post Jul 15 2010, 12:23 PM

IG - riezforester
5,967 posts

QUOTE(raven143 @ Jul 15 2010, 12:03 PM)
has any1 tried black and white 2 on m11x r1? how the the machine fair against the game?
I did when I had R1. All settings high and it works great.
emino
post Jul 16 2010, 02:53 PM

IG - riezforester
5,967 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Jul 16 2010, 02:52 PM)
but he got a superb unique Start Button brows.gif
I want that Start Button. sad.gif
emino
post Jul 16 2010, 04:15 PM

IG - riezforester
5,967 posts

Just bought this via eBay
http://cgi.ebay.com.my/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vi...3#ht_3069wt_911

Never buy from eBay before. Hopefully everything will go well.

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0533sec    0.87    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 10:20 PM