224 posts

why? reason being....?
sukhoi35mk
post May 18 2010, 11:13 AM

420 posts

QUOTE(baowen @ May 18 2010, 10:30 AM)
say no to LG and samsung biggrin.gif
yeah...mind to share why? now every shop i went recommended samsung plasma and say no to pana because blackout issue
enriquelee
post May 18 2010, 11:24 AM

Don't ask for more, ask for COKE
10,510 posts

I believe samsung should be better than LG. FYI, even Sony is using Samsung panel.
baowen
post May 18 2010, 11:25 AM

1,048 posts

go to any shop that sell TV, ask them put SAMSUNG LG SONY SHARP PANASONIC LCD TV in front you, you sure can tell the different. ( of course all must about the same spec smile.gif )
DarkNite
post May 18 2010, 12:04 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(baowen @ May 18 2010, 11:25 AM)
go to any shop that sell TV, ask them put SAMSUNG LG SONY SHARP PANASONIC LCD TV in front you, you sure can tell the different. ( of course all must about the same spec smile.gif )

Ok, so WHAT are we suppose to look out for?
guy3288
post May 18 2010, 01:28 PM

5,926 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ May 18 2010, 12:04 PM)
Ok, so WHAT are we suppose to look out for?
she said avoid but no good reason given, sigh..............
rolandhoo
post May 18 2010, 02:58 PM

224 posts

lucky he didn't say "say no to all LCD" biggrin.gif
DarkNite
post May 18 2010, 07:40 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ May 18 2010, 01:28 PM)
she said avoid but no good reason given, sigh..............
I thought it is HE? hmm.gif Since when he declare she?
TSdezmo
post May 21 2010, 12:20 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(rolandhoo @ May 18 2010, 08:38 AM)
dezmo, do come back and let us know how's the comparison between samsung C430 and LG PJ350. thanks.
OK! I've compared them side by side with normal Ninja Assasin DVD9 and Astro HD (HBO & Sports).

This is the verdict (setting is right out of the box),

Physical Outlook:

The LG looks very much better compared to the Sammy due to the LG's thin Razor FRAME thin, somehow it gives an illusion of LG has a bigger panel than the C430. We measured the the screen and its approx the same +/- 0.5 cm, to confirm that the Razor Frame is a sweet design. Overall if I want my living room to look contemporary & modern, LG will be my first choice.

LG 1 - 0 Sammy

Sound:

Both have a decent sound, loud enough to be heard in the showroom but later i ask them to turn off all the other Tvs and listen to them side by side. Both had hidden speakers but i think LG had it too deep hidden and the sound was very much softer compare to Sammy. I had to turn the LG up to 70 to be on par with Sammy's volume 60. However, most of you AV freak out there will not care bout the TV's sound since you will hook it up to whatever external surround system you have which will anytime sounded better than what the plasmas can give you. However for the sack of those who wanna hook this up in their toilet with no surround system then I would say go for the Sammy.

LG 1 - 1 Sammy

Picture:

Ok....I'm not a super AV guy as I'm more into sound so i will give you a very general review from a noob's eyes. First look at the Standard Definition picture, LG is so much more grainy or grainier compared to Samsung. I'm so dissapointed with LG seriously! Ninja Assasin (DVD 9) looked much better on the Sammy as it suffer less from pixelization. However i did not give up on the LG and was lucky to have Speed Racer on HBO HD but LG fail to impress me again. sad.gif There are still noticeable pixelization and grainy pictures, very bad for such a sexy loooking LG. Then I switch to ESPN HD, Sammy won hands down. I hope the LG which i compared was a lemon as i really like the looks LOL tongue.gif However if you sit 7 or 8 feet away, the grainy and pixelization problem is not that significant but the LG picture looks rather wash out compare to the Sammy. Maybe a little tweak in the setting might cure the problem. From 10 Ft away, both looks as sweet but for now I will have to give Sammy the point. Last but not least, I think the i cant tell the difference in their Black level. Very black!

LG 1 - 2 Sammy

Connectivity:

I'm running out of time but you guys can easily checked it online. I will just tell you that the LG 50PJ350R has significant MORE connectivity compare to the weak 50C430 but it is an unfair comparison. We should compare the connectivity between 50PJ350R & 50C450 as they are in the same class while C430 is slightly lower with 1 less HDMI and 1 less component (i think) and lack of a few more stuff but its RM200+ cheaper. However do pay in mind that C430 and C450 are using the same panel so their PQ expectation SHOULD be the same.

LG 2 - 2 Sammy

Its a draw, so you ppl decide what is best for you. I've not decided yet tongue.gif Its still a deep dilemma.....

Problem:

I read a lot of oversea forum regarding problem with C430 and C450 of Sammy. However, due to different continent production factory, our market always get a different quality, sometimes better sometimes bad but yesterday i was listening to all the C430 and next door C450 and even the LG, there is none, totally ZERO of the infamous plasma buzzing noise.

That is all for now. I need to get back to work. this weekend i might bring my own dvd machine and dark knight & avatar to try it out in SD. Hope these helps
rolandhoo
post May 21 2010, 12:48 PM

224 posts

dezmo, great reviews!

why don't you add another panny plasma x28k for comparison? biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by rolandhoo: May 21 2010, 02:17 PM
baowen
post May 21 2010, 01:17 PM

1,048 posts

i don't know the price range between this two brand,

perhaps, you can try other brand like Toshiba, Sharp or the over-price Sony.

well, i only notice that you are actually considering buying a Plasma not LCD.

I will say that, give Panasonic a try, since it got the new model now.
don't ask me why, i don't the technical detail, try it by your eye and you know biggrin.gif

and last thing, say no to LG and samsung. The product seems good but it cannot last long enough that you expect smile.gif
anfieldude
post May 21 2010, 01:59 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(dezmo @ May 21 2010, 12:20 PM)
OK! I've compared them side by side with normal Ninja Assasin DVD9 and Astro HD (HBO & Sports).

This is the verdict (setting is right out of the box),

Picture:

Ok....I'm not a super AV guy as I'm more into sound so i will give you a very general review from a noob's eyes. First look at the Standard Definition picture, LG is so much more grainy or grainier compared to Samsung. I'm so dissapointed with LG seriously! Ninja Assasin (DVD 9) looked much better on the Sammy as it suffer less from pixelization. However i did not give up on the LG and was lucky to have Speed Racer on HBO HD but LG fail to impress me again. sad.gif  There are still noticeable pixelization and grainy pictures, very bad for such a sexy loooking LG. Then I switch to ESPN HD, Sammy won hands down. I hope the LG which i compared was a lemon as i really like the looks LOL tongue.gif However if you sit 7 or 8 feet away, the grainy and pixelization problem is not that significant but the LG picture looks rather wash out compare to the Sammy. Maybe a little tweak in the setting might cure the problem. From 10 Ft away, both looks as sweet but for now I will have to give Sammy the point. Last  but not least, I think the i cant tell the difference in their Black level. Very black!

LG 1 - 2 Sammy

Problem:

I read a lot of oversea forum regarding problem with C430 and C450 of Sammy. However, due to different continent production factory, our market always get a different quality, sometimes better sometimes bad but yesterday i was listening to all the C430 and next door C450 and even the LG, there is none, totally ZERO of the infamous plasma buzzing noise.

That is all for now. I need to get back to work. this weekend i might bring my own dvd machine and dark knight & avatar to try it out in SD. Hope these helps
Pixelation on a HD source does not seem correct. I believe someone must have turned on the motion interpolation or excessive sharpening. Some setting is not set right. Was it indeed pixelation or was it artifacting? Also wash out might be a setting thing.

Grain...this needs to be understood. Does the DVD have director induced grain to start with? Is it possible that the Noise Reduction was turned on on one and not on the other? Some people mistaken grain as due to plasma dithering. Plasma displays moving pictures by dithering. Was it dithering u were seeing? How close did u observe the grain? Was it "grainy" in the dark areas or was it in the colour areas, or was it just a layer of grain everywhere?

Plasma buzzing is categorized into 2. Those that have single sheet of glass with bonded filters will buzz more than those with 2 sheet glass without bonded filters. The other buzz is from the power supply. Buzzing also depends on ur living environment and ur seating, some position will enhance the buzzing and some won't

The note that you made about Asian countries receiving different specs for same models holds true for most manufacturers but Samsung does not fall into that category. They have mostly the same specs in most countries only minor differences. Panny is one of the main culprits.

To the people buying, take ur material that u will watch and try to not use the Store settings (or Dynamic) and see if u can get the sales guy to dim the lights and then make the judgement. Understand the technology limitations and strengths. Make an informed decision.
TSdezmo
post May 21 2010, 05:16 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(baowen @ May 21 2010, 01:17 PM)
i don't know the price range between this two brand,

perhaps, you can try other brand like Toshiba, Sharp or the over-price Sony.

well, i only notice that you are actually considering buying a Plasma not LCD.

I will say that, give Panasonic a try,  since it got the new model now.
don't ask me why, i don't the technical detail, try it by your eye and you know biggrin.gif

and last thing, say no to LG and samsung. The product seems good but it cannot last long enough that you expect smile.gif
LoL! yeah I only want a plasma because i'm very happy with my Panasonic 42x10 but looking into other brand. Actually i just saw the new line up of Pana in newspaper, the 50X20K seem like its within my budget. MIght do some research in it. Heard bout the black level issue on the pana plasma as it ages but some claimed that Malaysia's Pana will not have such problem, dont know how true is this. My x10 is still very new so i cant judge.

QUOTE(anfieldude @ May 21 2010, 01:59 PM)
Pixelation on a HD source does not seem correct. I believe someone must have turned on the motion interpolation or excessive sharpening. Some setting is not set right. Was it indeed pixelation or was it artifacting? Also wash out might be a setting thing.

Grain...this needs to be understood. Does the DVD have director induced grain to start with? Is it possible that the Noise Reduction was turned on on one and not on the other?  Some people mistaken grain as due to plasma dithering. Plasma displays moving pictures by dithering. Was it dithering u were seeing? How close did u observe the grain? Was it "grainy" in the dark areas or was it in the colour areas, or was it just a layer of grain everywhere?

Plasma buzzing is categorized into 2. Those that have single sheet of glass with bonded filters will buzz more than those with 2 sheet glass without bonded filters. The other buzz is from the power supply. Buzzing also depends on ur living environment and ur seating, some position will enhance the buzzing and some won't

The note that you made about Asian countries receiving different specs for same models holds true for most manufacturers but Samsung does not fall into that category. They have mostly the same specs in most countries only minor differences. Panny is one of the main culprits.

To the people buying, take ur material that u will watch and try to not use the Store settings (or Dynamic) and see if u can get the sales guy to dim the lights and then make the judgement. Understand the technology limitations and strengths. Make an informed decision.
Thanks for the feedback liverpooldude smile.gif Sorry for all the wrong terms used because I'm not exactly sure what is what and hope that you guys understand what im trying to say.

To answer your question, it was grainy surrounding all the moving stuff. like human and cars, especially players on the football field. Noise Reduction was off by me on both. i was 5 to 6 ft away to notice the grain i think.

Buzzing was pretty bad in the US. Some user complaint that they can hear it 6 to 7 ft away when the Tv is mute and UN-mute. I dunno which category.

lol there is no way they will off the light for me. I switch both TV to movie mode for a warmer pix.

you sound really experience, so which will you choose? the LG, Sammy or Panny x20 (hehehe just added this in)? Really appreciate your input.
anfieldude
post May 21 2010, 05:40 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(dezmo @ May 21 2010, 05:16 PM)
LoL! yeah I only want a plasma because i'm very happy with my Panasonic 42x10 but looking into other brand. Actually i just saw the new line up of Pana in newspaper, the 50X20K seem like its within my budget. MIght do some research in it. Heard bout the black level issue on the pana plasma as it ages but some claimed that Malaysia's Pana will not have such problem, dont know how true is this. My x10 is still very new so i cant judge.
Thanks for the feedback liverpooldude smile.gif Sorry for all the wrong terms used because I'm not exactly sure what is what and hope that you guys understand what im trying to say.

To answer your question, it was grainy surrounding all the moving stuff. like human and cars, especially players on the football field. Noise Reduction was off by me on both. i was 5 to 6 ft away to notice the grain i think.

Buzzing was pretty bad in the US. Some user complaint that they can hear it 6 to 7 ft away when the Tv is mute and UN-mute. I dunno which category.

lol there is no way they will off the light for me. I switch both TV to movie mode for a warmer pix.

you sound really experience, so which will you choose? the LG, Sammy or Panny x20 (hehehe just added this in)? Really appreciate your input.
I hv not viewed the LG plasma. I hv seen the Panny X20 and the C430 (or maybe C450 not sure). The Sammy has slightly better anti reflective coating and greyscale adjustments in the user menu. (The Panny greyscale can be done in the service menu) The Panny had better blacks, however with no proper / or any anti reflection, this is something for the buyer to remember as the positioning becomes important. I believe the Sammy might have slightly better processing of SD material. Take ur pick both hv their pros and cons. I think depending on ur room (if there are many windows, might need better ARC).

Of course the Sammy 650 shd be better with a CMS.

The grain u mention sounds more like edge enhancement, need to turn down the sharpness.
TSdezmo
post May 21 2010, 11:00 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ May 21 2010, 05:40 PM)
I hv not viewed the LG plasma. I hv seen the Panny X20 and the C430 (or maybe C450 not sure). The Sammy has slightly better anti reflective coating and greyscale adjustments in the user menu. (The Panny greyscale can be done in the service menu) The Panny had better blacks, however with no proper / or any anti reflection, this is something for the buyer to remember as the positioning becomes important. I believe the Sammy might have slightly better processing of SD material. Take ur pick both hv their pros and cons. I think depending on ur room (if there are many windows, might need better ARC).

Of course the Sammy 650 shd be better with a CMS.

The grain u mention sounds more like edge enhancement, need to turn down the sharpness.
thanks for the short review. It does help me lean towards Sammy a little more. It can get quite bright in the living room and i can onli hang it on the wall so not much positioning can be done. what is CMS? Color Management System? tongue.gif

I shall go back to the shop and mingle around with the LG again.
treblecase
post May 22 2010, 11:07 PM

IHI
779 posts

Hi

I own the 50PJ350R and upgraded from many generations ago 32" Samsung LCD. My main usage is Astro and recently upgraded to Byond. It was a quantum leap in terms of picture quality I must say. I do also have a HDMI DVD player but that's about it.

One thing you have to know about the LG is that it's only HD-ready meaning max 720p. So if you have issue about this, then I suggest you consider other Full HD plasmas. For me, as you can read above, it's more than adequate but the best must be the 600Hz sub field drive which means smooth rendering of sports programs! Hello World Cup 2010!!

At just slightly less than RM4K, this LG is fantastic value!
fourzee
post May 22 2010, 11:27 PM

388 posts

I was offered a 5 - series full HD 50" samsung plasma for rm4300 without the home theather package..very tempting so did some research and found quality issue regarding the samsung flat tvs something about clicking sound after 2 - 3 years of usage apparently due to low quality capacitors used in these products googled it and found lots of similar problems any of the local users found this problem?
TSdezmo
post May 23 2010, 04:03 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(treblecase @ May 22 2010, 11:07 PM)
Hi

I own the 50PJ350R and upgraded from many generations ago 32" Samsung LCD. My main usage is Astro and recently upgraded to Byond. It was a quantum leap in terms of picture quality I must say. I do also have a HDMI DVD player but that's about it.

One thing you have to know about the LG is that it's only HD-ready meaning max 720p. So if you have issue about this, then I suggest you consider other Full HD plasmas. For me, as you can read above, it's more than adequate but the best must be the 600Hz sub field drive which means smooth rendering of sports programs! Hello World Cup 2010!!

At just slightly less than RM4K, this LG is fantastic value!
Its good to hear a review from the PJ350 owner! smile.gif I m considering to pay RM3500 for it or not....how much did u pay for it? Its RM30 mroe expensive than 50C450.

Thats basically what i will use it for (SD - astro & DVD9) and that is why I'm only looking at 720p (which I'm well aware of the 1024x768p resolution) as I will be sitting 10ft-11ft away. Maybe in the future I will get a PS3 but i dont think i need a Full-HD due to tight budget. But the 600Hz thingy seems gimicky ler......check this out (http://forum.blu-ray.com/plasma-tvs/141652-what-exactly-600hz-sub-field-drive.html).

So do you like watching footie on a SD astro? Previously i compare the Lg and Sammy, the C430 gives better SD picture. So what do u think? It was on out-of-the box setting.

QUOTE(fourzee @ May 22 2010, 11:27 PM)
I was offered a 5 - series full HD 50" samsung plasma for rm4300 without the home theather package..very tempting so did some research and found quality issue regarding the samsung flat tvs something about clicking sound after 2 - 3 years of usage apparently due to low quality capacitors used in these products googled it and found lots of similar problems any of the local users found this problem?
According to my friend who owned one of the biggest electronic shop locally, don't be suprise with low quality parts used in lower end Sammy as he get more complaint in lower range Sammy LCD and plasma compare to lower range product from other brand. But that is just his experience lah, it can be very subjective. He advise me to go for LG or Pana when come to cheaper or lower range plasma but the LG fail to impress me that day sad.gif I really like its physical looks though. Damn sexy! and the connectivity is sweet!
rolandhoo
post May 25 2010, 09:11 AM

224 posts

anyone know roughly how much a 46" plasma costs?

panny 46x28k
sammy 46c451
lg 46pj350r

the distance from tv to the seat is about 9 ft. do you guys think a 42" is more than enough?

still haven't decided which one to buy among these 3... sad.gif

This post has been edited by rolandhoo: May 25 2010, 09:13 AM

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.1051sec    0.64    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 02:09 AM