5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

CLOSED

BeastX
post Jun 11 2010, 11:12 AM

Genomics Revolution; Proud to be a Scientist
5,987 posts

QUOTE(rmvbplayer @ Jun 11 2010, 11:02 AM)
unfortunately, DP with resolution 1680x1050 is only available in Dell P2210. Do you know any other monitor
that have this feature:
a) DP
b) 1680x1050
c) 22"

Or should I sell my old TN monitor and buy all 3 new monitor? If yes, do you think I should get u2311h? Is that
the cheapest DP port eIPS monitor?
Just search google "1680x1050" and "DP".... it appears HP and Samsung may also have DP ports...

Your options: (or a combination of the options below)
1. Get all 3 new monitors
2. hunt for 22 one 1680x1050 monitor with DP
3. buy an active DP to DVI converter (may cost you USD 100)
4. Run non native resolution scaled to fix the panel (say 22" at 1080p)
BeastX
post Jun 11 2010, 11:32 AM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(rmvbplayer @ Jun 11 2010, 11:20 AM)
I think hunting 22" with DP will be hard. Also, it might be TN like Dell P2210.

I read that passive DP to VGA converter also work for 1680x1050. Not sure it'll work all the time.

I think scaling resolution is out of the question. My eyes is very sensitive to display irregularities. sad.gif

I guess get all new monitors is the way.....

So you think the best buy now is Dell U2311H? Do you have any other cheaper option for eIPS monitor?
I don't think I'll ever go back to TN monitor since eIPS is so cheap now.
Absolutely not...DP on the standard 5 series does not pass-through VGA or SL-DVI signal (unlike some on-board graphics or other GCs). You'll require an active and powered signal converter. I prefer to name it passive adapter to avoid the confusion.

p.s. A passive adapter does not cost that much anyways...

By all means.... get the eIPS... maybe you'll want to wait for bulk selling by forum members at much cheaper prices or... wait for Dell promos..
BeastX
post Jun 11 2010, 11:57 AM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(rmvbplayer @ Jun 11 2010, 11:38 AM)
Here is the thread that someone said its working for passive DP to VGA adapter:
http://www.widescreengamingforum.com/forum...04ee8226a02657f
So I wonder why you said it will not work?
If you read on... you'll notice its an active adapter... converting digital to analog... not particularly cheap (but not that expensive)

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Display-Port-to-VGA-...=item4cec204084

p.s..... I'm a member of that forum too....

This post has been edited by BeastX: Jun 11 2010, 12:03 PM
BeastX
post Jun 11 2010, 12:01 PM

5,987 posts

I think this is the cheapest option.... not bad... for an active converter
http://cgi.ebay.com.my/DP-Display-Port-Dis...=item2a05e335ab

will be able to drive 6-edition and 5-edition 5-series without going fall DP monitors and do it rather cheaply too...

only with 162MHz RAMDAC... limited to 1920x1200 displays...

This post has been edited by BeastX: Jun 11 2010, 12:10 PM
BeastX
post Jun 11 2010, 03:03 PM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(Top-Gun @ Jun 11 2010, 02:26 PM)
So what you're saying is that for cards like 5770, the DP port on the card itself is passive while for the 58x0 series, the DP port is already active in the card itself?

What about those Eyefinity editions? Those would definitely be all powered DP up to a limit of 6?
Nope.... My reference is on passive adapters and active conventers adapters.

The DP on the normal edition 5770 and 5800 series will require active conventers adapters to display on VGA and DVI input monitors

This in not confirmed: I believe 2 ports on the mini-DP ports on the 6edition and 5edition allow passive adapters (to carry at least SL-DVI)... 4 others (or 3 others) have to use digital DP signal.

BeastX
post Jun 14 2010, 04:23 PM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Jun 14 2010, 11:19 AM)
hi guys, wanna ask something, right now i have a laptop with just HDMI out and if i gotten a monitor like U2311, that have a displayport and i wanna use it, do i have to get an active displayport to HDMI convertor, or a passive one will do?
Displat port on the monitor only accepts DP signal which is in compatible with DVI or HDMI. The output of HDMI from laptops (can be certain) is purely only HDMI/SL-DVI. I dont believe there are any active converters that takes input from HDMI/DVI and convert it to DP. Passive adapters will simply not do.

Lacking HDMI/DVI inputs?.... Get a HDMI/DVI switch... comes in 3, 4, 5 or more... this would be the only logical/viable option. Or get a cable extension, so you don't have to go behind your monitor every-time you want to switch inputs.

Added on June 14, 2010, 4:29 pm
QUOTE(munak991 @ Jun 14 2010, 03:42 PM)
Ive called DELL. getting my warranty claim i asked them isit refurbish unit? they say yes what should i do?! my monitor is a A01 May 2010 manufacture U2410 later come with a A00 U2410 what should i do!?
Going by past experiences the refurbishing unit should/will have the latest firmware update. (A00, A01, A02.... A0X are indication of firmware rather than hardware). They would/should stick a sticker over the "A00" with the new one. Go to the service menu to double confirm the firmware version. The manufacturing date would be a better indicator of monitor batch .

This post has been edited by BeastX: Jun 14 2010, 04:32 PM
BeastX
post Jun 14 2010, 06:40 PM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(TechnoG @ Jun 14 2010, 05:55 PM)
any 20" monitor for recommendation?
my Dell E207WFP needs an upgrade.
the price must be below RM1100.
U2311H
BeastX
post Jun 14 2010, 10:14 PM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(ahhann @ Jun 14 2010, 09:16 PM)
Guys, i'm using a converter [DVI --->HDMI] to connect my Gainward 4850 to HP2309m.

Gainward 4850 only come with 2 DVI port ...

My concern is, am i losing any quality of the transmisstion of data?

Am i really looking at Full HD glory with 1080p "jack sparrow" ? 10G 1 movie size @@"
Quality : No lost. .... Quantity: You're limited to SL-DVI's bandwidth

HDMI input on (on all, if not most) monitors/TVs are limited to SL-DVI bandwidth anyways... where monitors exceeding 1920x1200 like 2560x1600@60Hz needs either DL-DVI or DP

Digital 1 and 0.... so long there is picture/video it's as good as it's gonna get. Sure full glory... but 10GB is rather high compression rate. But there's no difference with HDMI/DVI. That's I assume is a minimum of 1080p res.

Added on June 14, 2010, 10:19 pm
QUOTE(mark @ Jun 14 2010, 09:50 PM)
Dell U2311H looks so tempting... but I just realised it doesn't have HDMI, only DisplayPort sad.gif
With DVI it's redundant actually..... added benefit of additional digital input (that it only)

Added on June 14, 2010, 10:19 pm
QUOTE(deadcity @ Jun 14 2010, 09:18 PM)
guys, is there any LCD monitor that comes with AV component input? want to find one..
U2410

This post has been edited by BeastX: Jun 14 2010, 10:19 PM
BeastX
post Jun 15 2010, 12:59 AM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(mark @ Jun 15 2010, 12:56 AM)
Yeah... but if I wanted to connect DVI (my PC) and HDMI (PS3)... I'd have to constantly switch the cable... can't put both sources at the same time. Right?
There's still VGA for your PC.....or a get DVI switch

This post has been edited by BeastX: Jun 15 2010, 06:36 AM
BeastX
post Jun 16 2010, 01:08 PM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(Vcys86 @ Jun 16 2010, 12:46 PM)
because apart from view angle(which not a problem for me, because i am just going to view from front), the color reproduction from U2311H is better than VX2433W?
Yes.... TN technology, well used to be limited bit range (number of differentiated shades), achieve colour variation through dithering....
BeastX
post Jun 16 2010, 08:26 PM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(sleedlx @ Jun 16 2010, 08:05 PM)
This is my first post here in this forum but I just received my Dell U2311H this afternoon (ordered last Saturday). After reading many LCD reviews and was going to get the U2209WA originally but the new 2011 models just came out at the time I was going to order. However, I've noticed that the right side of the monitor is brighter and clearly whiter than the left side (which is a bit bluish). When I turn off the lights, I can also see more backlight bleed on the top right side as well (relative to the other corners). I've tried using both the DVI & VGA cables and there is no noticeable difference between the two. I don't have a spare video card to test if it is at fault but I did test my netbook VGA output on it and the same whiter right side is still there.    shocking.gif

Is this normal for a brand new LCD and can I get Dell to replace the monitor even though it isn't a stuck / dead pixel issue? Thanks for any help / suggestions.

I did manage to get RM50 off the price (total RM699) by ordering via the small business site instead, the discount codes are often only valid at one site for the same item (found out by trial and error, keep add to cart at every site). They still delivered it to my home so not a problem with the order via the biz site.  thumbup.gif
Backlight bleeding/uneven panel brightness cannot be solved by changing vga/dvi/GC... you'll have to adjust the monitor's setting... like brightness that may reduce the effect.
BeastX
post Jun 16 2010, 10:07 PM

5,987 posts

Bad panels by Dell... not surprising... They cherry pick panels for different manufacturers... safe to say Dell's getting the low end picks (hence the competitive price)... Again it's like of like a lottery... U2410 also suffers something like this (un-even gradient), you may still get a good one...

Added on June 16, 2010, 10:11 pm
QUOTE(sleedlx @ Jun 16 2010, 09:54 PM)
A bit difficult to take a picture of a LCD when it is on as it is emitting quite a bit of light, attached is one of the better shots I could manage to take.  wink.gif

[attachmentid=1630594]
If you have a dslr (or high end compact camera) where you can lengthen the exposure time (in a totally dark room) with the monitor at full 100% dark you can get a sense of the unevenness of the screen or bleeding...

This post has been edited by BeastX: Jun 16 2010, 10:14 PM
BeastX
post Jun 17 2010, 10:56 AM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(sleedlx @ Jun 16 2010, 10:52 PM)
Had a quick few shots of the screen with the lights off... I set my desktop background to solid black, moved my shortcuts into the middle and turn-on the taskbar auto-hide.

0.2 sec exposure

0.5 sec exposure

Seems like the upper left bleed is the most prominent.  doh.gif

Given the lottery of screens one could get, any replacement screen may not be any better (or worse have a stuck pixel)  rclxub.gif
I guess it's not too... bad... real-life seen through your eyes may not be so obvious....

Glowing/back-light bleeding corners... quite common on IPS ... even for iMacs

there are pixel checkers where you can cycle through colours.... black being one of them... for full 100% dark screen.

This post has been edited by BeastX: Jun 17 2010, 11:00 AM
BeastX
post Jun 17 2010, 11:08 AM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Jun 17 2010, 10:34 AM)
no it happens to s-ips panels as well
fault is the backlight.

not sure on apple led

but can be fixed by running some screen savers.

this is a issue for the last 5 years already.
Unlike plasma screens.... you cannot fault the backlight.. any burn-in effect is the inability of the liquid crystals in the sub-pixels to return to a fully functional state... quickly cycle through multiple colours on your screen may restore its function
BeastX
post Jun 17 2010, 06:44 PM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(munak991 @ Jun 17 2010, 06:28 PM)
So what happen today?
Called dell they said no stock,
End up Logistic (handling warranty department)
call me that they have stock, ask them isit New? then they say is refurbish then i call them to check with it again. check check check then call me. said is new. come ady different name different adds. Check inside a 24" old model of Dell monitor. WHICH IS REFURBISH somemore WHAT IS THIS!! SENDING WRONG MONITOR + LIE!?
ask him to take back i dont want sign. call technique support. ask them when my monitor will come? say dont know...

Should i fill a complain?
I suppose patience will prevail (for the moment) .... They brought a 2408 to you instead ? .......Well, good luck.
BeastX
post Jun 18 2010, 05:35 AM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(V3nz @ Jun 18 2010, 01:46 AM)
dun worry,i already decide to buy it

so,if there is bleeding,can i ask for xchange?

or bleeding is normal one? hmm.gif
Unless it's really bad.. you're unlikely able to justify for an exchange
BeastX
post Jun 18 2010, 06:06 PM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(king114 @ Jun 18 2010, 06:01 PM)
guys,

i want to buy 23' monitor for gaming and watch movies.
budget   700-750.
plz recommend me.

thnx guys.
Dell U2311H.... or go TN and save some bucks but loose quality.

This post has been edited by BeastX: Jun 19 2010, 05:24 AM
BeastX
post Jun 20 2010, 04:11 PM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(logit85 @ Jun 20 2010, 11:11 AM)
i know LED if Brightness high for white will dead pixels too but LCD monitor wont dead pixels
why want to make LED new version
A proper sentence or phrase maybe better to convey what you're trying to say.

Anyway.. both LED and CCFL back-lit LCDs are both susceptible to pixel defects... best is to check the screen before purchase, or a monitor with a zero pixel defect guarantee..
BeastX
post Jun 20 2010, 04:20 PM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(mark @ Jun 20 2010, 04:13 PM)
One thing that really puzzles me is... why don't the manufacturers go through proper QC in the factory itself before shipping out a defective monitor?
safe cost/reduce lost... hopeful customers are not wise enough (which a large number are)... bright pixels are obvious, but dim or dead pixel may not be obvious to end user... to make sure evry panel is perfect would incur a large burden & cost on the manufacturer..
BeastX
post Jun 21 2010, 11:06 AM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(sexualpower @ Jun 21 2010, 10:23 AM)
i got a 2209WA, the resolution of 1680 x 1050 is killing me~ text looks blurry on every other line because of no native support from my GeForce 4ti~
Force a custom resolution... native to your screen

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0186sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 05:38 PM