CLOSED

BeastX
post May 13 2010, 04:29 PM

Genomics Revolution; Proud to be a Scientist
5,987 posts

QUOTE(everling @ May 13 2010, 09:56 AM)
One more thing about the U2410 that I had forgotten. It uses 10-bit (1.07 billion) colours and not the usual 8-bit (16.7 million) colours that the U2211H and U2311H uses. Requires special hardware to push it through however as gaming cards don't bother with more than 8-bits.
Try it anyway. You might get lucky.
One thing about 8ms. 1000ms / 8ms = 125 changes (frames?) per second?
It actually still a 8-bit panel... it uses dithering to achieve 10bit.. (similar to TN to achieve higher bit)

Actually latest gen gamer's card can achieve 10bit using DP port.

Added on May 13, 2010, 5:11 pm
QUOTE(gto87 @ May 13 2010, 01:08 PM)
Full HD all the way guys, once you watched the real quality of Blu Ray, you'll never turn back~ hehe.(and I'm not talking about that crappy 1080p download-able movies if you know what I mean)
There are downloadable full un-compressed 1080p Blu-Ray rips too, if you know what I mean....

This post has been edited by BeastX: May 13 2010, 05:11 PM
BeastX
post May 16 2010, 04:13 PM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(wildwestgoh @ May 15 2010, 08:35 AM)
I think this one won't get many people interested.. opps... there... no HDMI... sweat.gif
The only need is RM10 to 15 (or free if you have some lying around/comes with GC) for a DVI to HDMI adapter....

This post has been edited by BeastX: May 16 2010, 04:15 PM
BeastX
post May 17 2010, 10:17 AM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(wildwestgoh @ May 16 2010, 05:21 PM)
Erm, there's no HDMI port, so basically it's not a common port that non-PC component can connect AFAIK (as far as I know).
However you can actually connect using DVI to Display Port adapter or HDMI to Display Port adapter, which I think can be bought around the price that you stated.
The only thing that some people might not like is since Display Port or DVI doesn't carry sound, you need to hook up your sound system to your own component directly (i.e. PS3, XBOX, etc.).
Wrong... DP is not compatible to DVI/HDMI signal.... however some DP ports on GCs allow a DVI/HDMI pass-through signal there for you can use a passive DP to DVI/HDMI adapter. A native DP on GC like on all(most) ati/amd 5870 cannot use the passive adapter, the digital signals are simply not compatible.

As it has been mentioned many times.
HDMI (1.2) = DVI + digital audio. ..... Not many GC or Displays implement HDMI 1.3 fully.

p.s. DP can carry audio too....

BeastX
post May 17 2010, 02:40 PM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(wildwestgoh @ May 17 2010, 11:17 AM)
doh.gif LOL.. assumption base on image, cause saw no audio output from U2311H.
Darn, just wiki-edĀ  tongue.gif
So there's always an active adapter to get the job done, is that correct?
I have seen DP to D-Sub VGA, DP to DVI (not sure if it's -D), but haven see any DVI to DP (GC's DVI to Monitor's DP). hmm.gif

Will we see DP vs HDMI like Blu-Ray vs HD-DVD?? Or is it already happening? sweat.gif
I don't believe that there are DVI port on any GC that pass-through DP signal.... DP to VGA (rare?)or SL-DVI/HDMI... is the same as DVI to VGA pass-through adapter.

You can only use DP to VGA or SL-DVI/HDMI if the DP port supports it. Not every DP port on GC has this. For example 6edition ATI 5870 has 6 mini-DP ports, only 2 DP ports is backward compatible to SL-DVI, all 4 other outputs can only support DP signal (nothing else).

DP vs HDMI... advantage DP... open license, no royalties, not tied to legacy devices,....

This post has been edited by BeastX: May 17 2010, 02:41 PM
BeastX
post May 17 2010, 05:54 PM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(logit85 @ May 17 2010, 05:35 PM)
pc gc wil use lates like GTX480 many people have problem LCD TV resolution 1920x1080 will black screen
but 1360x720 will work too waste i prefer LCD Monitor
Or you TV spec/model, could be a problem there... or how about pushing a 1080i signal.
BeastX
post May 18 2010, 08:47 AM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(wildwestgoh @ May 18 2010, 08:02 AM)
Dell is darn good about their service, I saw one review regards the older G2410 that has slightly bleeding, yes, just slightly under no light condition, and he RMA it (call Dell) 3 times and still the same so he gave up (what the f**t, 3 times.. @.@")

Anyway, we should see some reviews before we make a move on the new ultrasharp series, some people said it's from NEC panel maker, cannot confirm, since there's very few local reviewer, we might have to wait for it to be available in the US or UK.

And yes, Dell has outlets/agents all over Malaysia, if not mistaken usually within 2~3 business day (Mon~Fri, Sat?). Buy here and bring to Australia also can, door-2-door service.

p/s: Ahh, should have see some of his post before reply to him shakehead.gif , next time iggy him whistling.gif
3 times .... Many had claim to make 5 or more times RMA...

I don't believe NEC make panels....but NEC takes the cream of the crop IPS from LG or PVA from Samsung and makes the ultra expensive Pro monitors with their electronics ... Same with Eizo. Dell takes what left over for their ultra series, it's a luck of draw on Dell, but you pay less than half for it than an Eizo or NEC.

This post has been edited by BeastX: May 18 2010, 08:50 AM
BeastX
post May 20 2010, 09:32 PM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(objectifyme @ May 20 2010, 09:25 PM)
Sigh. Well, a little too late to cry now. But looking at the bright side, at least I saved RM 349 (bought a refurbished unit). biggrin.gif
u2410 for RM1250?

BeastX
post May 21 2010, 08:55 AM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(objectifyme @ May 21 2010, 12:52 AM)
Cheap but no guarantee after the 3-days personal warranty. It's risky. smile.gif
Get the same model from dell brand new (with other rerurb. units) for multiple monitors... The 3 year warranty can be in-a-way (not morally right) be applicable to the 3 day warrant monitor(s) as well. You are not encourage to do so, though...
BeastX
post May 24 2010, 09:36 AM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(Top-Gun @ May 23 2010, 11:32 PM)
To be honest, I'd take an IPS over a TN monitor over any day, here are my reasons:
4. Picture quality 2 - IPS panels are generally higher resolution than their TN counterparts (not sure how true is it now), eg 8-bit U2311H panels vs 6-bit TN panels? or the 10-bit U2410 panel vs similar 24" 8-bit TN panels.
Resolution does not equal to colour depth.
BeastX
post May 24 2010, 09:41 PM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(gstoh @ May 24 2010, 08:21 PM)
perhaps you should buy those LCD TV with fast motion engine (100hz or 200hz)
the effect is even better than CRT  tongue.gif
TV with 100Hz - 200Hz... also know as fake generated/artificial rate (in the market now/past year)... Real 3d capable TV are being introduced now, these are truly high frequency displays (cost arm/leg/kidney), though lacks media/hardware a.t.m.

True 120Hz monitors are the TN types capable for 3d gaming/movie.....
BeastX
post May 25 2010, 11:14 AM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(gstoh @ May 24 2010, 10:34 PM)
so you mean those what we can see in the demo units are faked because the video shown in the demo is artificial rate ?
Demo pics/video.... Of cource fake... how do you tell the screen to run half at 100Hz and the other half at 60Hz at the same time.

What I meant by fake and not true (100Hz/200Hz) is that the input the TV receives is still 60Hz... the processors/software artificially generate the 100Hz/200Hz to be output on the screen.
BeastX
post Jun 1 2010, 12:21 AM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(UltraConductor_41 @ May 31 2010, 11:44 PM)
is HDMI port really that important?~ i thought displayport is far more better than HDMI~
QUOTE(captvizcenzo @ May 31 2010, 11:50 PM)
i believe hdmi is important for those who wants to consoles to their monitor... but still, it is not very helpful if the monitor does not comes with speaker...  tongue.gif
QUOTE(Zakov @ May 31 2010, 11:51 PM)
If you had devices(PS3 for example) that can make use of the HDMI port then yes, it is important.

EDIT: wow, posted almost at the same time as captivizcenzo.
Not really (Moot point).... just an adapter and you can run HDMI through the SL-DVI (DVI-D) input ...
BeastX
post Jun 2 2010, 01:18 PM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(irone @ Jun 2 2010, 11:13 AM)
does't this mean TN is ok for me if i wanna use mainly on ps3 or U2311H will provide better quality? (U2331H minus hdmi damn)
GC output through VGA or DP ..PS3 through SL-DVI (D).... done....

you want more digital connections... get a HDMI/DVI switch...

or want to be cheap.. get a M to F, DVI extension and HDMI to DVI adapter..

This post has been edited by BeastX: Jun 2 2010, 01:36 PM
BeastX
post Jun 4 2010, 03:15 PM

5,987 posts

Potentially cheaper than 3008.... lacks imputs though....
A New 30" Contender: HP ZR30w Review
BeastX
post Jun 5 2010, 11:38 PM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(captvizcenzo @ Jun 5 2010, 05:11 PM)
if u noticed, the contrast ratio of LED back-lighted LCD monitor is far higher than LCD monitor... so in terms of image quality, IINM there is no difference between ordinary LCD and LED back-lighted LCD... smile.gif
Difference in Back-light.... the panel being the same, the biggest difference is colour reproduction, white LED are equal or poorer than CCFL.... RGB tri-colour LEDs are much better than both (single wave length per LED type). Contrast is subjective, not really comparable, (some high-end monitors may employ local LED dimming on certain areas, which CCFL cannot do). Power saving, longer-life span, very little colour drift as the LED age...
BeastX
post Jun 7 2010, 09:49 AM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(Pbbseller @ Jun 7 2010, 12:13 AM)
May I ask if using a Hdmi -> Dvi converter to a DisplayPort connection will result in image quality loss?
Assuming all these are passive connectors/adapters .Hdmi -> Dvi converter to a DisplayPort.....

HDMI Monitor input....**TO**..... DP GC output .... will work only if the DP on the GC pass-through SL-DVI signal. Direct pass through no signal lost/change.

DP Monitor input...**TO**..... HDMI GC output .... almost certain 100% will not work (I believe there are no HDMI that pass-through DP signal).

If your're using a active DP to DVI/HDMI converter... pure digital to digital there should not be any signal lost/artifacts.. but you may introduce added lag. Depends on how good the signal processors are you may loose image quality too (That's colour range)

BeastX
post Jun 8 2010, 04:13 PM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(mcchin @ Jun 8 2010, 02:33 PM)
QUOTE(V3nz @ Jun 8 2010, 02:53 PM)
hmm,this is nice knowledge! thumbup.gif

but if they have warranty,i dun mind tongue.gif
Faulty observation/ inaccurate knowledge...

While it's true panel maker cut a big piece of glass to make different size panels. You can tell that a 24" (1920x1200) panel has likely no relation to the 23" inches out there (at least with the 1920x1080 IPS Dell U2311H or TN). One telling sign is the dot-pitch pitch of the panel used, if these panels are cut from the same glass they would have the same dot-pitch. Same dot-pitch/Same panel technology....and there's a possibility of it being cut from the same glass.

Think of it this way... resolution is fixed. ..... (be it 1920x1200, 1920x1080,1600x1200, 2560x1600 etc...etc)... Whatever panel (with a particular dot-pitch) will be cut to fit those standard resolution. Different (big) glass panel, different dot-pitch, different screen size.

This post has been edited by BeastX: Jun 8 2010, 04:15 PM
BeastX
post Jun 8 2010, 05:29 PM

5,987 posts

Edit... removed...

This post has been edited by BeastX: Jun 8 2010, 08:46 PM
BeastX
post Jun 11 2010, 05:39 AM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(munak991 @ Jun 11 2010, 12:33 AM)
its red colour dead pixel. try to scratch it pump it JD it nothing happen.
its a full square red dot.

Woot i was able to caught the red pixel!

here you go

Red.... would mean the blue and green are dead....

(1). on a red screen/background.. it should almost appear normal

(2). on black background.. it should be dark too, (3) if it lights up red too, then you have a red bright stuck sub-pixel.

By Dell's stated policy below ... only brignt (stuck) pixels ..... so only the occurrence of case (3), then you'll qualify. One dark/dim/dead pixel (3 sub-pixels) probably cannot get an exchange. So, purposely state it's a bright pixel during your claim with Dell, eventhough it may not be the case.
QUOTE(captvizcenzo @ Jun 10 2010, 11:02 PM)
[attachmentid=1620849]  smile.gif
This post has been edited by BeastX: Jun 11 2010, 10:17 AM
BeastX
post Jun 11 2010, 10:50 AM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(rmvbplayer @ Jun 11 2010, 10:28 AM)
May I ask, I want to use Eyefinity. I got old TN Dell LCD without DisplayPort. So, how to I buy extra 2 monitor?

If i use old TN as side monitor, I think it'll be bad sinceĀ  look from
side, the color will be wrong instead of looking directly.

So I'm really not sure sad.gif
One of the 3 monitors will have use DP for Eyefinity (or for triple display for that matter)..... so assign your TN in the middle and another 2 at the sides of which one must have DP input. .... Actually all 3 can be TN, arrange the 3 in a concave manner to minimise the limited TN viewing angle....
And another thing all 3 displays must have identical resolutions.

This post has been edited by BeastX: Jun 11 2010, 10:53 AM

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0416sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 10:42 AM