126 Pages « < 29 30 31 32 33 > » Bottom

V3. Swiftlet Keeping Discussion, Home of Fuciphagus Domesticus

Tweeter
post Sep 1 2010, 08:44 PM

57 posts

Are we using the right frequency speakers?

Please read my posts in http://mynewventureswiftlethome.blogspot.c...&max-results=15

Any comments on the subject are welcome.

This post has been edited by Tweeter: Sep 2 2010, 02:21 PM
West Wing
post Sep 2 2010, 10:51 AM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(Tweeter @ Sep 1 2010, 08:44 PM)
Are we using the right frequency speakers?

Please read my posts in http://mynewventureswiftlethome.blogspot.c...&max-results=15

Any comments on the subject are welcome?
Interesting! Are we using the right tweeters or even sound for that matter?

Or do we really need any sound or tweeters to ensure that the birds build nests which is what we are looking forward to?

Let me give you a case history....which of course is mine. This BH of mine is flooded due to an over flooding of the blocked water chute and cause the rain water to flowed in the ceiling of my BH causing alot of damages; maggi type of nests and a wet electrical board which caused the main fuse to blowed.

So, the Bh was without any electricity and since I never like to allow people into my BH for security reason, therefore, I rather wait for the electricity board to dry out by itself and that take approximate 6 months and since then, this BH of mine is without any sound or humidifier working and walau, this six months has seem the most increment of nests in the history of this BH. Since then, even the electricity is back to normal, I still do not use any sound for that BH and only use humidifiers. The serious problem with the BH is that most of the nests in the BH now become alittle brownish due to contamination from the rain water.

This tell me that sound or mist may not increase your nests but just that it attract birds to visit your BH and play but to stay and make nest, it is another matter and I don't think it concern with the sound or mist but the quality of the nests surely depend on the conditions of the BH.

My little experience to share with friends.
Tweeter
post Sep 2 2010, 01:08 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(West Wing @ Sep 2 2010, 09:51 AM)
Interesting! Are we using the right tweeters or even sound for that matter?

Or do we really need any sound or tweeters to ensure that the birds build nests which is what we are looking forward to?

Let me give you a case history....which of course is mine.  This BH of mine is flooded due to an over flooding of the blocked water chute and cause the rain water to flowed in the ceiling of my BH causing alot of damages; maggi type of nests and a wet electrical board which caused the main fuse to blowed.

So, the Bh was without any electricity and since I never like to allow people into my BH for security reason, therefore, I rather wait for the electricity board to dry out by itself and that take approximate 6 months and since then, this BH of  mine is without any sound or humidifier working and walau, this six months has seem the most increment of nests in the history of this BH. Since then, even the electricity is back to normal, I still do not use any sound for that BH and only use humidifiers. The serious problem with the BH is that most of the nests in the BH now become alittle brownish due to contamination from the rain water.

This tell me that sound or mist may not increase your nests but just that it attract birds to visit your BH and play but to stay and make nest, it is another matter and I don't think it concern with the sound or mist but the quality of the nests surely depend on the conditions of the BH.

My little experience to share with friends.
Dear Sifu WW,

Thanks for your comments and sharing of your case.

For your case, was it possible that your house then already had hundreds or thousands of bird staying inside?
Thus there were enough of birds' natural sound inside.

Also with the flooding, the whole building were dampen and hence had very good humidity.
Both incidences gave very good conditions to your bird house and nest increment.

You are right, we used sound to attract birds to visit our BH. Only the right conditions inside will make them stay and make nest.
All of us (newbies) here are counting on you and also all the Sifus here to share with us on tips of how to do and maintain those
right conditions apart from the basic.

Thank you for your sharing as always.

This post has been edited by Tweeter: Sep 2 2010, 02:03 PM
tuckfook
post Sep 2 2010, 01:12 PM

360 posts

http://bit.ly/9Nz1Bc

The above is AlJazeera report on swiftlet houses in Heritage Georgetown.

Penang State acknowledges receiving the 1 GP but has yet to finalise on how Penang will adopt the 1 GP.

Added on September 2, 2010, 1:29 pmThe best way to determine whether the tweeters we purchase are in the correct sound range is by using an oscilloscope.

We can also determine roughly whether a tweeter produces the correct sound range from just listening, as the sound range produced must be audible to us humans as well.

Simple logic prevails, in that if your first nest is not built next to if not on a tweeter then there is reason to suspect.

Also, by observation, new birds should cling on to the tweeters otherwise the sound or tweeter is not quite right.

After a BH is populated we can reduce the internal sound gradually, this will also encourage the birds to also build nests on the flat areas and not corners.

Bear in mind that the birds build nests near tweeters because they think they are within a large colony and therefore secure. In a well populated BH, the natural night sound from the birds is probably louder than having the tweeters on low, so it becomes redundant and also the natural nesting sound is probably better.

This post has been edited by tuckfook: Sep 2 2010, 01:29 PM
West Wing
post Sep 2 2010, 01:48 PM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(tuckfook @ Sep 2 2010, 01:12 PM)
http://bit.ly/9Nz1Bc

We can also determine roughly whether a tweeter produces the correct sound range from just listening, as the sound range produced must be audible to us humans as well.

Simple logic prevails, in that if your first nest is not built next to if not on a tweeter then there is reason to suspect.

Also, by observation, new birds should cling on to the tweeters otherwise the sound or tweeter is not quite right.

After a BH is populated we can reduce the internal sound gradually, this will also encourage the birds to also build nests on the flat areas and not corners.

Bear in mind that the birds build nests near tweeters because they think they are within a large colony and therefore secure.  In a well populated BH, the natural night sound from the birds is probably louder than having the tweeters on low, so it becomes redundant and also the natural nesting sound is probably better.
You are right...the sound make the swiflets feel at home and once they feel safe, they will start their family by building a nest........by looking at the shit below will tell you if the bird is still scare or not.

BH with alot of birds meaning nests need no sound exp at night cos the original sound produce by the birds is better than the artificial sound you play and at time, we may even scare the birds off with the sudden on or off sound from our amp.
Try entering the BH in the middle of the night and you will hear their original bird call.
sosos
post Sep 2 2010, 10:46 PM

81 posts

QUOTE(West Wing @ Sep 2 2010, 01:48 PM)
You are right...the sound make the swiflets feel at home and once they feel safe, they will start their family by building a nest........by looking at the shit below will tell you if the bird is still scare or not.

BH with alot of birds meaning nests need no sound exp at night cos the original sound produce by the birds is better than the artificial sound you play and at time, we may even scare the birds off with the sudden on or off sound from our amp.
Try entering the BH in the middle of the night and you will hear their original bird call.
rclxms.gif notworthy.gif thumbup.gif biggrin.gif

uncle ww,nice ....

can i ask you , how many number of swiflet bird we hit the target, then we just can off the internal sound at night?my BH open sound 1 year already,now got 80 swiftlet bird, so can i off my internal sound at night??when i off and when can i on??
West Wing
post Sep 4 2010, 09:35 AM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(sosos @ Sep 2 2010, 10:46 PM)
rclxms.gif  notworthy.gif  thumbup.gif  biggrin.gif

uncle ww,nice ....

can i ask you , how many number of swiflet bird we hit the target, then we just can off the internal sound at night?my BH open sound 1 year already,now got 80 swiftlet bird, so can i off my internal sound at night??when i off and when can i on??
Just say thru my experience from day one
1. Town BHs shouldn't use night sound at all as the sound will disturb your kind neighbours. Be considerate and understanding to the needs of our neighbors inless your BH is free from people staying there.
Technically, it is good to have low internal sound during the night as it will make the bird feel safe and confidence to make nests. secondary, if there is no sound during the night and suddenl;y, in the morning, your tweeters start to blast and all the birds will panic and rush out of the BH but try sleeping next to a BH during the night and you will understand why so many complaints about the BH's disturbances esp.during the night.
I never use night sound for my BH @ town cause I care and do appreciate their understanding and support for the BHs. At least, I don't want them to be anti BH; if not pro BH but at least be neutral about us then our battle is half won. To give you confidence, my BHs are successful without the night sound. "I preach what I do" unlike my consultants or so all friends giving solution that they don't even know why or didn't done it or tried out or just heard so.

At agriculture land, use internal sound all the time but never too many tweeters as I have seem hundreds of tweeters in some BH ( my personal view) as this will not be helpful and good for the development of your BH but on the contrary. At agriculture land, there are alot of unwelcoming sound outside and so, good internal sound is definitely a good way to give sense of confidence and safety.....a feeling that they are in a huge family of birds.

Swiftlets get excited when hearing your bird call and investigate and that's good and so, as I always tell my friends, never change the sound when the good is stull going and only do change when we find the birds is no longer interested in our music and require a new sound to ensure their returning to our BH. To stay or not is still another matter entirely.

My opinions and views to share with friends here. Your view on the above subject will be appreciated.

This post has been edited by West Wing: Sep 4 2010, 10:42 AM
sosos
post Sep 4 2010, 03:39 PM

81 posts

QUOTE(West Wing @ Sep 4 2010, 09:35 AM)
Just say thru my experience from day one
1. Town BHs shouldn't use night sound at all as the sound will disturb your kind neighbours. Be considerate and understanding to the needs of our neighbors inless your BH is free from people staying there.
Technically, it is good to have low internal sound during the night as it will make the bird feel safe and confidence to make nests. secondary, if there is no sound during the night and suddenl;y, in the morning, your tweeters start to blast and all the birds will panic and rush out of the BH but try sleeping next to a BH during the night and you will understand why so many complaints about the BH's disturbances esp.during the night.
I never use night sound for my BH @ town cause I care and do appreciate their understanding and  support for the BHs. At least, I don't want them to be anti BH; if not pro BH but at least be neutral about us then our battle is half won. To give you confidence, my BHs are successful without the night sound. "I preach what I do" unlike my consultants or so all friends giving solution that they don't even know why or didn't done it or tried out or just heard so.

At agriculture land, use internal sound all the time but never too many tweeters as I have seem hundreds of tweeters in some BH ( my personal view) as this will not be helpful and good for the development of  your BH but on the contrary. At agriculture land, there are alot of unwelcoming sound outside and so, good internal sound is definitely a good way to give sense of confidence and safety.....a feeling that they are in a huge family of birds.

Swiftlets get excited when hearing your bird call and investigate and that's good and so, as I always tell my friends, never change the sound when the good is stull going and only do change when we find the birds is no longer interested in our music and require a new sound to ensure their returning to our BH. To stay or not is still another matter entirely.

My opinions and views to share with friends here. Your view on the above subject will be appreciated.
how about my BH? now got 80 swiftlet birds in 15months , got 20 full nest plus 10 markings ,is it consider successful?? so can i off my internal sound at night??when i off and when can i on??

actually how many tweeters should i put into my BH per floor???? size 20FX80F BH ,3 storey.

how can i distinguish that i should change my internal and external sound??? i use them 1 year already, should i change new sound???

if i change the external sound ,how i distinguish my swiftlet my bird still will come back to my bh sleep??

b4 i change the sound got 80bird, after change sound,also same with 80bird.
but sometimes i found that the bird decrease 2-5days,after that increase again ,like up and down the number of bird come back my BH....why????what the reason??sometimes found that 1hundred above come back for few days only..is it ok??or got problem????? notworthy.gif thanks

and one problem is the marking nest still is marking nest...they dun continue make nest after 1month already,is it got problem???that mean they dun come back make the nest again??what should i do???thanks
West Wing
post Sep 4 2010, 05:42 PM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(sosos @ Sep 4 2010, 03:39 PM)
how about my BH? now got 80 swiftlet birds in 15months , got 20 full nest plus 10 markings ,is it consider successful?? so can i off my internal sound at night??when i off and when can i on??

actually how many tweeters should i put into my BH per floor???? size 20FX80F BH ,3 storey.

how can i distinguish that i should change my internal and external sound??? i use them 1 year already, should i change new sound???

if i change the external sound ,how  i distinguish my swiftlet my bird still will come back to my bh sleep??

b4 i change the sound got 80bird, after change sound,also same with 80bird.
but sometimes i found that the bird decrease 2-5days,after that increase again ,like up and down the number of bird come back my BH....why????what the reason??sometimes found that 1hundred above come back for few days only..is it ok??or got problem????? notworthy.gif thanks

and one problem is the marking nest still is marking nest...they dun continue make nest after 1month already,is it got problem???that mean they dun come back make the nest again??what should i do???thanks
Dear friend,

I think that I need to answer your questions one at a time and point by point lah

If you are getting what you are getting now, so what more do you need as you are already very good by the present standard, 80 nests in 15 months and still growing so why ask how and why? Continue what you are doing and only do the needful when needed.

2. actually how many tweeters should i put into my BH per floor???? size 20FX80F BH ,3 storey.

Answer: same answer, let it be as you are doing well as no one can really and sincerely tell the correct answer as there is none. Only can say is too many tweeters can do no good and too few has no effect .......be contented with what you have.

3. how can i distinguish that i should change my internal and external sound??? i use them 1 year already, should i change new sound???
Answer: Why change if the good is still running. Even if you have a good run for 5 years, why change as 5 years of good run will get you like a few thousand nests???????

4.if i change the external sound ,how i distinguish my swiftlet my bird still will come back to my bh sleep??

Answer: Normally, What yours is yours ( only during desperate situation will the old ones change home like we human) and only the new ones are the problem as they may just dislike your BH and go to another BH in the vicinity.

5. b4 i change the sound got 80bird, after change sound,also same with 80bird.

Ans: What you see coming in also include birds visiting your BH so they are not all yours. Also, what the most importance of all is the amount of nests. Even for your birds, not all will return everyday.........so, your counting of daily numbers cannot decide on your BH success. When you change the external sound, your aim it to get more birds visiting your BH and if there is no improvement or increment of bird entering your BH, then your changing of sound isn't successful as old birds will return even you play MJ songs over your tweeters. Watch out only the new fledged birds which is important to you and not the old ones which will remain faithful to your BH, their home and not you.

6. and one problem is the marking nest still is marking nest...they dun continue make nest after 1month already,is it got problem???that mean they dun come back make the nest again??what should i do???thanks

Ans: If you haven't make any serious repair or modification like sound changes in the nesting room over your BH, they will start very soon. One advice to you is why change internal sound if your old one has been successful as you need not change internal good sound as they are to make the birds feel at home which you have successful did at the first try. Only the external sound need to change when the good time start to go bad ie when the increment is not as expected.

Hope that the forum agree with what I said and I wish to hear any disagreement so that we all learn esp me.

SELAMAT BERPUASA and SELAMAT HARI RAYA to our all our muslin friends.
sosos
post Sep 4 2010, 08:24 PM

81 posts

QUOTE(West Wing @ Sep 4 2010, 05:42 PM)
Dear friend,

I think that I need to answer your questions  one at a time and point by point lah

If you are getting what you are getting now, so what more do you need as you are already very good by the present standard, 80 nests in 15 months and still growing so why ask how and why? Continue what you are doing and only do the needful when needed.

2. actually how many tweeters should i put into my BH per floor???? size 20FX80F BH ,3 storey.

Answer: same answer, let it be as you are doing well as no one can really and sincerely tell the correct answer as there is none. Only can say is too many tweeters can do no good and too few has no effect  .......be contented with what you have.

3. how can i distinguish that i should change my internal and external sound??? i use them 1 year already, should i change new sound???
Answer: Why change if the good is still running. Even if you have a good run for 5 years, why change as 5 years of good run will get you like a few thousand nests???????

4.if i change the external sound ,how i distinguish my swiftlet my bird still will come back to my bh sleep??

Answer: Normally, What yours is yours ( only during desperate situation will the old ones change home like we human) and only the new ones are the problem as they may just dislike your BH and go to another BH in the vicinity.

5. b4 i change the sound got 80bird, after change sound,also same with 80bird.

Ans: What you see coming in also include birds visiting your BH so they are not all yours. Also, what the most importance of all is the amount of nests. Even for your birds, not all will return everyday.........so, your counting of daily numbers cannot decide on your BH success. When you change  the external sound, your aim it to get more birds visiting your BH and if there is no improvement or increment of bird entering your BH, then your changing of sound isn't  successful as old birds will return even you play MJ songs over your tweeters. Watch out only the new fledged birds which is important to you and not the old ones which will remain faithful to your BH, their home and not you.

6. and one problem is the marking nest still is marking nest...they dun continue make nest after 1month already,is it got problem???that mean they dun come back make the nest again??what should i do???thanks

Ans: If you haven't make any serious repair or modification like sound changes in the nesting room over your BH, they will start very soon. One advice to you is why change internal sound if your old one has been successful as you need not change internal good sound as they are to make the birds feel at home which you have successful did at the first try. Only the external sound need to change when the good time start to go bad ie when the increment is not as expected.

Hope that the forum agree with what I said and I wish to hear any disagreement so that we all learn esp me.

SELAMAT BERPUASA and SELAMAT HARI RAYA to our all our muslin friends.
sorry uncle ww,not 80 nests la,is 80 ekor swiftlet birds,so how?ok?
notworthy.gif

really really thanks u uncle ww...

one more question again, i heard some sifu says that internal sound no need run 24 hours per day, they suggest run on from 6am until 12pm only. coz this is good for swiftlet bird communicate with their family ,friend ,husband ,and wife, so can improve the number of nest....is it true????

but i am still scare this ..coz i run internal sound 24hours one year already, but i will try it and off 1 hours by increase 1 hours off the internal sound like :
first week off from 5am to 6am,
2nd week=>off from 4am to 6am,
3rd week=> off 3am until 6am,and.........so on until off from 12am until 6 am...

is this ok?????good try??can try it???can give me some advice?thanks

This post has been edited by sosos: Sep 4 2010, 08:37 PM
tuckfook
post Sep 5 2010, 10:00 AM

360 posts

WW you are without doubt one of the most observant and magnanimous on Swiftlet matters that I have ' met '

I have often said to many new swiftlet ranchers that they must spend time to observed what is happening in their BHs to try achieve optimum results, sadly some prefer to pay and believe what the consultants say after a few minutes visit. Each house has it's unique properties.

What is the best level at which the night internal sound should be played ? Switch off all the artificial sound, use a ladder to approach some nestlings, touch the nest or rap the planking and then listen carefully at how loud the young birds are calling their parents. That is probably the optimum level your internal sound should be at night.

In my nest BH, it's either that or the share market, I plan to put a tweeter at almost every corner, hopefully eliminating the use of corner pieces. This will perhaps fool the birds into thinking that there is a nestling at every corner. With so many tweeters, it'll create the sense that there are many birds at many locations and not just loudness creating the false impression of many birds.

With the sound at the correct level, there will not be the necessity of turning the sound off at night ?

So, why do we need to play the sound louder daytime ? Well, I really don't know as we all started that way ! After my nest BH I'll tell y'all. I guess louder helps to fool the birds !

External sound is good at attracting all the birds but recently I have found and therefore have reason to believe that it causes the death of some young swiftlets. Young birds learn to fly and they are also attracted to this sound which is usually OUTSIDE the BH being made by chasing birds circling the BH. So my belief is that they get attracted to the calling sound that some of us use to lead birds into the depths of the BH. These birds either collide into the wall or are so attracted to the sound that they get entrapped by their attraction and die from starvation as they never get outside to learn to feed. Though not many but there are deaths near these internal callers.

I had previously thought that young birds get attracted and head for the sunlight outside. It is probably both. I have lost more fledglings in a house that has more corners to turn before getting to the outside than one with a very open concept but a common factor is that it happens near the internal callers.

Everyone please report your observations, any info will help.

The number of birds occupying a house does not necessarily indicate the success of a new BH. Eg. in an area where everyone gets 100 nests in the first year, 20 nests is certainly below par whereas in an area that 20 nests in the first year is norm, then 40 nests would be good.

One possible mistake I find is that the same music is played by more than one house within the same district. Then one complains that the same music played is not attracting the birds whilst the other is doing well. Does that not say something ? So change the sound only when you find the birds not being attracted to the music. OTOH if your music initially attracted the birds but fail to do so later on, then there is probably a serious underlying problem. It may be the house or the surroundings. Act fast before the house is blacklisted and it'll be difficult to reverse.

West Wing
post Sep 5 2010, 07:00 PM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(sosos @ Sep 4 2010, 08:24 PM)
sorry uncle ww,not 80 nests la,is 80 ekor swiftlet birds,so how?ok?
notworthy.gif
really really thanks u uncle ww...
one more question again, i heard some sifu says that internal sound no need run 24 hours per day, they suggest run on from 6am until 12pm only. coz this is good for swiftlet bird communicate with their family ,friend ,husband ,and wife, so can improve the number of nest....is it true????

but i am still scare this ..coz i run internal sound  24hours one year already, but i will try it and off 1 hours by increase 1 hours off the internal sound like :
first week off from 5am to 6am,
2nd week=>off from 4am to 6am,
3rd week=> off 3am until 6am,and.........so on until off from 12am until 6 am...

is this ok?????good try??can try it???can give me some advice?thanks
Oh Bro, you really surprised me if you can tell that you have 80 birds today and now you have short of afew birds. I only can tell by the number of nests and shits patches on the floor. I can only see if many birds are returning to my Bh or not but can't tell if I am afew short or more.

Sorry if what you are saying is birds and not nests cos if only birds and not nests then you have serious problems internally and need to observe very carefully to where your mistakes are if any......

Rules Of Having successful BH

If you can attract birds to enter your BH and if they don't stay, you got problems with your internal settings and need to check it out. Those birds coming to check out your BH and refuse to stay, meaning that you got a good external sound but fail badly to secure their confidence to build their home there. Check out the internal sound, temperature, humidity, all disturbances including that of light and wind....all including your source of planks and even prefume if your are using it.............remember everything.

Caution!! you must solve your internal problem before your external sound becoming bored to the birds or else you will soon find that the birds ignore your BH...then it's susah time for you.

Like having excellent advertisement for your hotel and when your guests arrive but what they see, they don't like it so you should know what I meant and what needed to do. Best of luck to you and hope to hear good news from you in afew months time.........maybe tek Tarik and roti chanai celebration............to celebrate your becoming the father to many baby chicks.
sosos
post Sep 6 2010, 10:19 AM

81 posts

QUOTE(West Wing @ Sep 5 2010, 07:00 PM)
Oh Bro, you really surprised me if you can tell that you have 80 birds today and now you have short of afew birds. I only can tell by the number of nests and shits patches on the floor. I can only see if many birds are returning to my Bh or not but can't tell if I am afew short or more.

Sorry if what you are saying is birds and not nests cos if only birds and not nests then you have serious problems internally and need to observe very carefully to where your mistakes are if any......

Rules Of Having successful BH

If you can attract birds to enter your BH and if they don't stay, you got problems with your internal settings and need to check it out. Those birds coming to check out your BH and refuse to stay, meaning that you got a good external sound but fail badly to secure their confidence to build their home there. Check out the internal sound, temperature, humidity, all disturbances including that of light and wind....all including your source of planks and even prefume if your are using it.............remember everything.

Caution!! you must solve your internal problem before your external sound becoming bored to the birds or else you will soon find that the birds ignore your BH...then it's susah time for you.

Like having excellent advertisement for your hotel and when your guests arrive but what they see, they don't like it so you should know what I meant and what needed to do. Best of luck to you and hope to hear good news from you in afew months time.........maybe tek Tarik and roti chanai celebration............to celebrate your becoming the father to many baby chicks.
thanks,but i saw 80-90 swiftlet birds come back to sleep in my BH everyday last 2 months until now.
but they still dun make nest, so may be i need waiting them???some nest make until partial nest already,some is marking.
and i got 20 full nest inside BH last 2months. i found that the number of birds increase come back to my BH.so the problem now is i need to wait the time ,and wait them make nest, right?
West Wing
post Sep 6 2010, 12:21 PM

1,397 posts

The GP is already out and tomorrow, there will be a meeting to discuss the GP @ KL. Ask you local Association about the coming meeting and maybe, they will keep you informed once they return from the meeting.

Why held at this time when the traffic is at the worst and I hardly can move around the town not to mention going to KL to the meeting but I wasn't invited anyway.... anyone here attending the meeting may give some insight on the matter after the meeting.

Added on September 6, 2010, 12:31 pm
QUOTE(sosos @ Sep 6 2010, 10:19 AM)
thanks,but i saw 80-90 swiftlet birds come back to sleep in my BH everyday last 2 months until now.
but they still dun make nest, so may be i need waiting them???some nest make until partial nest already,some is marking.
and i got 20 full nest  inside BH last 2months. i found that the number of birds increase come back to my BH.so the problem now is i need to wait the time ,and wait them make nest, right?
You said that they don't make nests and yet you told us that some partially nests and some marking on the planks and what are these ...there are signs of birds preparing for nest building and unless there are disturbances, you will have nests in the marked area.

First time is the crucial time in the bird's life and it's either they do it or not. After their first batch of fledged chicks, you will be ensured of the family returning for the rest of their life, unless you make it so impossible for them to be there......like having some perfume that make the birds want to faint or die.

This post has been edited by West Wing: Sep 6 2010, 01:30 PM
sosos
post Sep 6 2010, 07:30 PM

81 posts

QUOTE(West Wing @ Sep 6 2010, 12:21 PM)
The GP is already out and tomorrow, there will be a meeting to discuss the GP @ KL. Ask you local Association about the coming meeting and maybe, they will keep you informed once they return from the meeting.

Why held at this time when the traffic is at  the worst and I hardly can move around the town not to mention going to KL to the meeting but I wasn't invited anyway.... anyone here attending the meeting may give some insight on the matter after the meeting.

Added on September 6, 2010, 12:31 pm

You said that they don't make nests and yet you told us that some partially nests and some marking on the planks and what are these ...there are signs of birds preparing for nest building and unless there are disturbances, you will have nests in the marked area.

First time is the crucial time in the bird's life and it's either they do it or not. After their first batch of fledged chicks, you will be ensured of the family returning for the rest of their life, unless you make it so impossible for them to be there......like having some perfume that make the birds want to faint or die.
so ur meaning is that i need to waiting them until they make the full nest,right?also mean it is successful coz got marking,right?thanks
West Wing
post Sep 7 2010, 09:12 AM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(sosos @ Sep 6 2010, 07:30 PM)
so ur meaning is that i need to waiting them until they make the full nest,right?also mean it is successful coz got marking,right?thanks
How successful depend on location so only those around the area will know if you are successful or n ot but then you are OK by today standard as so many are going to tempt birds to their BHs. By my own way of doing BH, I always allow the birds to complete their first cycle and only if thing seem to be stagnant, then I will decide to put my mind in the working gear.r.

Many consultants may not think likewise as they have reason for wanting you to repair or to renovate cos it's money to their coffer. If you want to gamble, then gamble as you may increase the population of the birds or you may end up losing those which started to show interest in your BH. Personally, I have time and only interested in wanting the birds to stay.

Increment of birds are really difficult to predict as in one of my BHs, during the 3rd. years, I have over a thousand nests but the 4th.year bring me additional 2 thousand nests without any renovation. In all my BH, I never spend alot but only utilized what there was in the building and only break a wall or two if required. Practically all in the building remain the same but consultant would like otherwise as they make money out of renovation too. Not that renovation is bad but can you afford it but I am a not wastage person and will not spend unnecessary unless required and will improvise later if required cos like you, I am no swiftlet but only like to think like a swiftlet and trying hard to talk like lone but not being successful and if anyone here know how to talk like a swiftlet or just know what they are talking, I would be interested in learning...hahahaha.

Like in the casino, you has won a thousand in one hour, and you only need to place all your winning in a single hand and you will win many time that amount in the next few minutes...so what will you do but remember you may lose all your winning and lose in the end. Good luck to you

This post has been edited by West Wing: Sep 7 2010, 11:45 AM
sosos
post Sep 7 2010, 10:57 AM

81 posts

QUOTE(West Wing @ Sep 7 2010, 09:12 AM)
How successful depend on location so only those aroung the area will know if you are successful or n ot but then you are OK by today standard as so many are going to tempt birds to their BHs. By my own way of doing BH, I always allow the birds to complete their first cycle and only if thing seem to be stanant, then I will decide to put my mind in the working gear.r.

Many  consultants may not think likewise as they have reason for wanting you to repari or to renovate cos it's money to their coffer. If you want to gamble, then gamble as you may increase the population of the birds or you may end up losing those which started to show interest in your BH. Personally, I have time and only interested in wanting the birds to stay.

Increment of birds are really difficult to predict as in one of my BHs, during the 3rd. years, I have over a thousand nests but the 4th.year bring me additional 2 thousand nests without any renovation. In all my BH, I never spend alot but only utilised what there was in the building and only break a wall or two if required. Pratically all in the building remain the same but consultant would like otherwise as they make money out of renovation too. Not that renovation is bad but can you afford it but I am a not wastage  person and will not spend unnecessary unless required and will improvise later if required cos like you, I am no swiftlet but only like to think like a swiftlet and trying hard to talk like lone but not being succesful and if anyone here know how to talk like a  swiftlet or just know what they are talking, I would be interested in learning...hahahaha.

Like in the casino, you has won a thousand in one hour, and you only need to place all your winning in a single hand and yuou will win many time that amount in the next few minutes...so what will you do but remember you may lose all your winning and lose in the end.  Good luck to you
rclxms.gif notworthy.gif thumbup.gif

uncle WW, i get ur point.......thanks....... notworthy.gif

so i will waiting them again for 6 months...if very month got increase whether 2 or 3 full nest,i still waiting until 2 years..then just make decision to renovation...but i will make small renovation by small renovation ,not suddenly make big renovation coz i also scare will loss my old bird rolleyes.gif
West Wing
post Sep 7 2010, 11:40 AM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(sosos @ Sep 7 2010, 10:57 AM)
rclxms.gif  notworthy.gif  thumbup.gif

uncle WW, i get ur point.......thanks....... notworthy.gif

so i will waiting them again for 6 months...if very month got increase whether 2 or 3 full nest,i still waiting until 2 years..then just make decision to renovation...but i will make small renovation by  small renovation ,not suddenly make big renovation coz i also scare will loss my old bird rolleyes.gif
No, just a month or two at the most and you shall see result or otherwise, do the needful.....my personal recommendation.

One little joke as I always told my friends that don't worry cos the bird that is in your pant will always be there......unless you did the unexpected!!!!

tuckfook
post Sep 7 2010, 11:50 AM

360 posts

WW, have you or your friends tried any hormones, potions, etc. ? Do they do any good or harm ?

From advertisements, they are very tempting but do they work ?

I have an area in my BH that is almost completely empty so it'll be a good place to experiment but of course the birds have not nested in this area probably for a reason known best only to them as we do not speak their language and think like them, I can only speculate on the reasons, which I will not reveal for now .........until after the experiment!

Also, do you find more dead baby birds near your internally located outside sound tweeters?

West Wing
post Sep 7 2010, 03:28 PM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(tuckfook @ Sep 7 2010, 11:50 AM)
WW,  have you or your friends tried any hormones, potions, etc. ?  Do they do any good or harm ?

From advertisements, they are very tempting but do they work ?

I have an area in my BH that is almost completely empty so it'll be a good place to experiment but of course the birds have not nested in this area probably for a reason known best only to them as we do not speak their language and think like them, I can only speculate on the reasons, which I will not reveal for now .........until after the experiment!

Also, do you find more dead baby birds near your internally located outside sound tweeters?

Well, honestly, we do have our special portion which is a secret to only our group but then, before 2008, we didn't use any potion for our BHs and we were successful but only recently, I created a portion for BH for our group of friends and they seem to work well for new BHs. I told them to keep it a secret so I too need to comply even that I did create the portion and share freely with my closes friends in my town only. Called me names or call me selfish but I still need to keep the secret hahahahhaaaaaaa

So, portion or perfume or whatever, not that it doesn't work but then you need to be careful. Best apply alittle at a small area and observe the result, then if good, do it for the rest of the area. But i find those in the market selling too expensive.

All portion cannot store too long as they will lose their effectiveness. I didn't know how effective the market perfume is but just be wise as they cost so much but sometime, feel stupid for being taken for a ride and worst, if it has negative effect on your BH cos some chemical can and do worsen the situation in your BH.......

As for the dead babies, I occasionally do find afew cos sometime the babies do missed their footing and fall and if they are lucky that I am there, I will put them back to their craddle and if they die, then it is faith. As for your case, outside tweeter or near the external tweeter is very rare and I do find some fledged one by the roadside during harvesting season. Normally, only newly fledged birds can be found near the entrance and if they can get there, there is no reason that they fail to fly out...........that's my opinion on the matter and other may have their opinion if they wish to share.

Let discuss your BH problem together, my friend. If your BH has only one area empty of nests...........then, a little portion will just do the trick but make sure that it's the right magic portion cause it has to do with smell in the area that keep the bird out of the area concerned. What you need to do is the musk the plank. Beware of fake portion as today's technology, anything can be happening and what you see isn't the real thing at all unless you do see it with your own eyes and even then, your eyes may betray you.......welcome to the world of magic....aha

ps.....have you check if any insect such as ants and friends making their home there that discourage them from building nests in the area. All are possibilities......as the swiftlet do have sensitive nose. I once has a similar problem and it is due to ants and I solve it by putting ant powder for the ants to carry back to their hive to eliminate all.

126 Pages « < 29 30 31 32 33 > » Top

0.0324sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 11:48 AM