Lyn Djing, Turntablism & Production Thread v4, A place for dj cum producers to hang out
KoNz3n
May 12 2014, 09:09 AM

QUOTE(takalimc @ May 2 2014, 10:26 AM) This from swee lee singapore? Then the products are from malaysia or singapore? Looking to get a studio monitor over the next month or so whats the price for a krk rokit 5 now  hahaha taka chan :3
takalimc
May 14 2014, 09:28 AM

QUOTE(KoNz3n @ May 12 2014, 09:09 AM) aduh... sini pun kena hahaha
faiz92
May 14 2014, 02:41 PM
DarkEmotion88
May 16 2014, 01:54 PM
Hi, any recommendations for controller for a beginner to start off?
I'm eyeing on either:
Numark Mixtrack Pro Pioneer DDJ ERGO Pioneer DDJ weGO2 Hercules DJConsole RMX 2
If there's any other suggestions that would be great.
takalimc
May 19 2014, 02:13 PM

QUOTE(DarkEmotion88 @ May 16 2014, 01:54 PM) Hi, any recommendations for controller for a beginner to start off? I'm eyeing on either: Numark Mixtrack Pro Pioneer DDJ ERGO Pioneer DDJ weGO2 Hercules DJConsole RMX 2 If there's any other suggestions that would be great. Personally I'd prefer the Numark Mixtrack Pro. I think I could get a good deal on the RMX2 as my friends shop has new old stock. Pretty solid build though...
hanleon
May 19 2014, 02:56 PM

@Darkemotion88 You should definitely check out second hand items. Usually quite value for money if it's a good unit and well taken care of. The Pioneer stuff is more expensive due to brand, you should try cheap solutions to wet your feet first.
takalimc
May 20 2014, 03:23 PM

@hanleon How much for hire
hanleon
May 22 2014, 12:06 PM

@takalimc Depends on a number of factors  event type, venue, duration, # pax, equipment, and so on.
takalimc
May 26 2014, 09:53 AM

QUOTE(hanleon @ May 22 2014, 12:06 PM) @takalimc Depends on a number of factors  event type, venue, duration, # pax, equipment, and so on. @hanleon Wah semua kasi pau edi la haha where ya playing now bro?
hanleon
May 26 2014, 12:46 PM

QUOTE(takalimc @ May 26 2014, 09:53 AM) @hanleon Wah semua kasi pau edi la haha where ya playing now bro? ^^ It's just a calculation for consideration, these factors should always come into play when considering price. Not that I have a regular gig anywhere at the moment, like I said just amateur right now!  I have played for a bunch of events and house parties before though, just did a nice corporate gig last Wed! You can check out the recording at www.mixcloud.com/playmochi and gig pics on my Facebook page. I wonder, how do DJs go about advertising their services here in Malaysia? I'm really keen on working as a DJ, but have no idea where to start. Any ideas @takalimc? This post has been edited by hanleon: May 26 2014, 03:38 PM
takalimc
May 26 2014, 04:59 PM

QUOTE(hanleon @ May 26 2014, 12:46 PM) ^^ It's just a calculation for consideration, these factors should always come into play when considering price. Not that I have a regular gig anywhere at the moment, like I said just amateur right now!  I have played for a bunch of events and house parties before though, just did a nice corporate gig last Wed! You can check out the recording at www.mixcloud.com/playmochi and gig pics on my Facebook page. I wonder, how do DJs go about advertising their services here in Malaysia? I'm really keen on working as a DJ, but have no idea where to start. Any ideas @takalimc? depends what you mean by working as a DJ. U want to be an event by event like corporate functions or private parties, then you could work with one of the talent management or booking agencies around. If not, you want to work as a resident dj then you can just go through one of the pubs or bars and start as a warm up dj. Just need to see what your goal is at the end of the day
hanleon
May 27 2014, 10:03 AM

I think doing both would be fun. Will look into the pub/bar thing! any suggestions welcome  What would you say is lacking in the DJ scene here in Malaysia?
takalimc
May 28 2014, 08:35 AM

QUOTE(hanleon @ May 27 2014, 10:03 AM) I think doing both would be fun. Will look into the pub/bar thing! any suggestions welcome  What would you say is lacking in the DJ scene here in Malaysia? Haha all the best  What's lacking? Definitely not skills or music selection from what I see... Just my two cents... it's a growing industry and there are alot of positives and talents out there but of course there are alot of minor minor negatives and setbacks here and there. I think what we're really lacking is there's not really a strong enough community (or union) that can get all the djs and producers on the same channel to really push the industry forward? We need to all be on the same page and push forward to create a standard for organizers and venue owners to understand the value of our industry.
hanleon
May 28 2014, 10:36 AM

That's a very good point @takalimc, and also very true. I think a DJ union/community would be a great thing to have, especially when creating events requires so much like permits, organization, and people.
In Singapore event management goes to a one-stop department to do everything related to holding events. I wonder how one would set up something like that here?
GalaxiasWilliam
May 29 2014, 02:28 PM
Hi! First of all, i'm just stating my position and I'm not discriminating anything! just want to get that out of the way first. I'm having a youth camp for my church, and I don't have access to the venue anymore until the date itself which is on 3rd June 2014. There's going to be a high praise session and I don't want to mess that up and my problem is, the mixer is in a booth directly next of the stage, so I can't hear properly what the congregation is hearing. So I need a way to place my own mixer (not the existing mixer) to somewhere else preferably laterally further from the existing booth. is there a way to do that? Maybe signal into the booth's mixer, then out into mine? is that possible? and how? The existing mixer at the venue is a Behringer Eurodesk SL3242FX-PRO. The one that I'm bringing in is not confirmed yet. The venue is a hall as big as 5 badminton courts side by side with about 2 metres of space between the walls.
Choongster
May 30 2014, 02:13 PM
QUOTE(GalaxiasWilliam @ May 29 2014, 03:28 PM) Hi! First of all, i'm just stating my position and I'm not discriminating anything! just want to get that out of the way first. I'm having a youth camp for my church, and I don't have access to the venue anymore until the date itself which is on 3rd June 2014. There's going to be a high praise session and I don't want to mess that up and my problem is, the mixer is in a booth directly next of the stage, so I can't hear properly what the congregation is hearing. So I need a way to place my own mixer (not the existing mixer) to somewhere else preferably laterally further from the existing booth. is there a way to do that? Maybe signal into the booth's mixer, then out into mine? is that possible? and how? The existing mixer at the venue is a Behringer Eurodesk SL3242FX-PRO. The one that I'm bringing in is not confirmed yet. The venue is a hall as big as 5 badminton courts side by side with about 2 metres of space between the walls. what are you trying to do in the first place. you want to play and mix music ? if you going to run a set of music mixing and everything.. just connect your mixer output into one of the behringer's input the volume for your input must be at optimal level , so the rest is controlled by your own mixer... you can't put signal into your mixer because your mixer got no output to the speakers in the hall ..
Phsycoidiot
Jun 2 2014, 11:54 AM
QUOTE(Choongster @ May 30 2014, 02:13 PM) what are you trying to do in the first place. you want to play and mix music ? if you going to run a set of music mixing and everything.. just connect your mixer output into one of the behringer's input the volume for your input must be at optimal level , so the rest is controlled by your own mixer... you can't put signal into your mixer because your mixer got no output to the speakers in the hall .. I want to be able to mix the whole band. Because right now, all the XLR is connected to the existing mixer and can't be stretched
hanleon
Jun 2 2014, 12:13 PM

You'll most likely have to find a way to get your output from your board into the existing board input. Not sure how you will do that as I have no experience linking boards. Probably set existing board EQ at all flat, then connect your board into a channel?
Either that or bring a lot of XLR cables and extend the XLR's from the existing booth all the way to where you want to set up. In any case, plan to be there super early to set up, test, and make sure everything works to your satisfaction.
darthbii
Jun 2 2014, 02:06 PM
anyone here into producing? i just want to ask, what sounds make up electronic music? what i mean sounds is like drums, white noise, pads, leads, bass that kind of thing (i still dont know what some are and how they sound  ). tried googling on sounds use in electronic dance music but as always i cant find a good resource, thats why im here  .
hanleon
Jun 3 2014, 09:46 AM

@darthbii Most likely consists of a kick drum, snare, noises of all kinds. There are hundreds of sample packs available online (free and paid) that people take and use to create electronic music. The variety is infinite when you take into account the many ways you can add FX to a simple kick drum, making it into something completely different sounding.