12 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

RTS Starcraft 2 V3.0, Anticipated Launching Date July 27, 2010

evofantasy
post May 31 2010, 02:28 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 31 2010, 02:19 PM)

he, or the video? get your facts right.

Added on May 31, 2010, 2:26 pm

see, i have no problems when people actually post constructive comments and doing it for say, JUST few times. going on and on about the SAME DAMN ISSUE for 2 THREADS is kinda tiring. hey, at least husky gave me kittens, im happy with kittens. these QQ'ers on the thread dont. and i am not happy with them :/
hmmm how to look at this...
i'm the one having the positive point of view about bnet 2.0 looking at these changes positively (in his word its negative)...
see the irony?
evofantasy
post May 31 2010, 02:36 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 31 2010, 02:33 PM)
i personally dont like bnet 2.0, considering i was a bnet heavy user in the war3 days, and as husky said it, its pretty much a step back. however i like sc2, and to not play sc2 because of these issues, just dont sit well with me. hell, bnet and online aside, theres STILL the single player aspect of it and i do want to continue on the storyline of the SC universe.

most importantly, you dont see me qq'ing about the same god damn thing for 2 god damn threads :/

Added on May 31, 2010, 2:33 pm

if thats what you want, you're getting it now already.
to me, those are just 'features'...
as long as the gameplay is solid (single player, multiplayer, plot, balance etc), its a good game...
after all bnet is a platform that is subjected to change overtime...

bashing/ boycotting the game due to these features is a joke...
why not just bash sc2 cause its popular? (thus potential to be milked off)...

Added on May 31, 2010, 2:37 pm
QUOTE(kianweic @ May 31 2010, 02:34 PM)
Bought Starcraft 1 and Diablo 2 for USD15.

Tested out the download from Battlenet.

Some noticeable improvement. Now it has estimated time to go and MB left to download.

Download client from Battlenet US website is still very slow and has the tendency to break thereby making the executable non functional.  Speed wise is faster to download the whole game from Battlenet (after executing the client)
if i'm nt mistaken, blizz uses p2p for downloads...

This post has been edited by evofantasy: May 31 2010, 02:37 PM
evofantasy
post May 31 2010, 03:15 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ May 31 2010, 02:44 PM)
They are thinking in the same way as the corrupted Blizzard.

I see the Battlenet 2.0 the same way as IWNet: An instrument to control the entire game, including it's life span regardless on the integrity of the community. At the same time, Activision Blizzard wants to capitalised on the game. Competitive crowd is definitely gone,if Blizzard doesnt want to add those missing features.

The casual wont care,and Activision still earn millions from these people.

I'll buy it, because SC2 is a sequel i have been waiting since BW, but definitely wont play it as long as TF2 or DoW1.
Those "private" servers are why SC1 and DotA become famous. Without them, SC1 would be forgotten long time.Taking away LAN will not fix the piracy problem. Hackers will still find ways to emulate the whole server. I heard that they somehow manage to get it work now.

I doubt removing LAN is just because of piracy,as Blizzard themselves said fighting piracy is a losing battle.
The main game client download seem much faster for me,IMO.
ok guys...
let us all listen to his words of wisdom...
activision (publisher) blizzard (developer) is gonna milk the heck out of the sc universe and leave the game to die...
just because they have the same publiser as MW2, the game is bound to fail...
everything publishes by activision gonna fall flat to the ground...
sc2 gonna fail cause only LAN would make competitive gaming works cause every1's ISP is as shitty as tmnut...
only pirate f2p servers would popularized e-sports...

u have it here first guys...
remember the day sc2 falls, this is where it was predicted...

Added on May 31, 2010, 3:18 pm
QUOTE(windboy @ May 31 2010, 03:13 PM)
lol, i don't really care about much on LAN or whatever cross region play anyway, u can call me self-fish bastxxx or no-life dude.

i prefer play at home using internet with my friends and i don't go to lan party (call me no life pls =D).
And for the cross region, there is no point for me to connect to EU,US region while i will be getting 300+ping with constant crazy lag and spike during the gameplay (thank to our tmnet streamyx ya).
So i prefer playing in SEA server with 0 lagless (i hope so) and i won't get pawn badly by some bronze league noobs due to stupid lag in cross region gameplay.

one of the biggest dissapointment is the chat room thou =(, however, this game still in my buying list as i'm waited this game for sooooooooo long. It's like hey, i'm driving a car with lower cc and functions compare with previous car, but life still goes on and i still able to enjoy the sc2 gameplay.
p/s sorry for my bad english
blizzard learnt that having general chat is doomed to ruin the community...
dun believe me?
make a wow trial account and go to barrens (horde side) and listen to all the wonderous chuck norris facts...

again, u have chatrooms for u, frens, groups and clans (just that group and clans has not been implemented yet)

This post has been edited by evofantasy: May 31 2010, 03:18 PM
evofantasy
post May 31 2010, 03:24 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ May 31 2010, 03:20 PM)
There is DRM for Starcraft 2 (ie. CD-Key and Battlenet)

However, whether it will or will not get in the way of people enjoying the game would be another matter.
ya its sorta DRM in a way where u need to log into bnet...

Added on May 31, 2010, 3:26 pm
QUOTE(windboy @ May 31 2010, 03:22 PM)
so u mean if i want to make fren with random malaysians and i need to add them to my friend list first?
err i dont really care the spams, who cares anyway?
in w3 battlenet, i don't even care about the public spam, and yea i do make fren with some ppl in public channel, and i can quickly loop into some (self created) channel to chat with my frens OR make fren with anonymous.

P/S : Sorry no offend >.< i don't wan to turn this into flaming war again
very simple question...
can u really make frens via the spamming general chat?
or do u make frens with random malaysian that u played a game with?
i'm sure the 2nd one make more sense...

even in WoW, i leave the trade and general chat...
the massive amount of spam is omg...
even in raid areas, u can see all those stupid spams...
and i doubt blizz would have the manpower to moderate all of these...

nah healthy discussion >.<
no offense taken %.%

This post has been edited by evofantasy: May 31 2010, 03:26 PM
evofantasy
post May 31 2010, 03:44 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(windboy @ May 31 2010, 03:35 PM)
ermmm,  how about custom channel? like Husky mentioned, W3 do have those custom channel which u can join/create without problem. Example u can join in channel "Malaysia" play games and get to know them too (Without addding them or asking email from them in the first place).

And i do make fren with random malaysia when i played a game with them. I did get know of my clan leader during a custom game in "Malaysia" channel in warcraft 3 last time.
Furthermore, i also played with those famous players in w3 last time in "malaysia"channel also, example scrubbie and some tournement winners etc. A very good place for you to find practice partner

As u mentioned that you can leave the trade and public channel due to random spam, but this also imply in w3 bnet too.
see, u met random people through games, not the general channel...
again husky didnt read the part (the link i posted) about having friends, group and clan chat (if he did he wont qq about not being able to chat wit clan members lol)...
u can all chat within the group chat still...
the whole chat channel issue is overblown by QQ-ers in the first place...

This post has been edited by evofantasy: May 31 2010, 03:45 PM
evofantasy
post May 31 2010, 03:49 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ May 31 2010, 03:46 PM)
Whatever i say, it's just a waste of effort and time, as there is nothing to say to you people. You are happy with the game so be it then, but is there a need to go on and on with this? The videos and so on are proves, but you all just ignore it. Fine by me.

You want me to post a warez link? No thanks. Go find it yourself,and these things will happen sooner or later.
wow now we have video proofs?
husky is just some guy out there...
i rather have day[9] commentary over husky anytime lol...

we are happy with the game...
but u go on and on and on QQ-ing about the game (more like activision lol)...
cause-and-effect...
u are the course of us going on and on...

for future hate related discussion, please head over to the i hate sc2 thread rclxms.gif

Added on May 31, 2010, 3:50 pm
QUOTE(kianweic @ May 31 2010, 03:48 PM)
Cheese,

If you gonna write an email to Blizzard please CC me as well.

I need to write something to them but I haven't got the time these days.

Also, I kinda forgotten what issues I faced previously therefore, I need to recap.
u dun have to email blizz...
they have the feedback section within the beta...
use that instead, its the proper channel...

This post has been edited by evofantasy: May 31 2010, 03:50 PM
evofantasy
post May 31 2010, 03:58 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(windboy @ May 31 2010, 03:50 PM)
ops i forgot to add in, i met him in the channel, and that time i was asking him for a friendly game, so is it count as i met him first at the channel before the game?
i'm not too sure about the group channel, is it we only can add ppl to the group chat after we added them as friend?
from the link i've given few pages ago

IncGamers: Another thing I thought you'd promised was chat rooms within Battle.net...
Nope. No plans for specific chat rooms at this time. You'll be able to open up chats direct with your friends, and when we add clans and groups there'll be chats for your clans and groups, but no specific plans for chat rooms right now. Do you really want chat rooms?

again, there's not enuff details given yet...
but all the QQers are claiming that there is no chat except party and whispers LOL...
too soon to assume anything just because activision is the publisher notworthy.gif
evofantasy
post May 31 2010, 04:17 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/S...ory_532544.html

SG servers...
and why are the haters still complaining?
evofantasy
post May 31 2010, 04:29 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 31 2010, 04:25 PM)
inb4 "OMG I TOLD U SO MAN!!!"

in all seriousness though, i enjoyed barrens chat tongue.gif

and i would honestly like to have chat rooms, i still participate in quiz bots for war3 tongue.gif

Added on May 31, 2010, 4:26 pm

post and you can enjoy a vacation
lol...
WoW quiz bots are kinda fun as well >.<

barren chat gets old after multiple alts...
u should try ICC chat during raid hours...

all the 6lines spam/ macro...
is really annoying >.<
evofantasy
post May 31 2010, 04:42 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 31 2010, 04:30 PM)
trade channel is a good feature, agreeably, removing it is definitely a step back on bnet 2. its a shame, however things like these definitely does NOT hinder sc2 in any form as the naysayers/doom singers may claim so
u should see thau's trade channel...
the spam is OMFG fast...
u cant read a single thing...

i dun want to go through the same thing in sc2 lol...
evofantasy
post May 31 2010, 04:58 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

have a look at...
this article sums up why i am supporting region lock...
as well as the whole chat room issue (good point about CS not having chatrooms)

http://www.gosugamers.net/starcraft2/news/...-are-we-missing

This post has been edited by evofantasy: May 31 2010, 05:00 PM
evofantasy
post May 31 2010, 06:01 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(w3er @ May 31 2010, 05:49 PM)
Look, if u don't like to enter chatroom channel, dun join it. Some ppl finds chatroom useful. But No not u. U always c thing in the negative side. That what i've been saying about u earlier. U dun like it. U dun need it, doesn't mean others must follow u too.  spam bot make u headache??? U can always join other channel with less ppl or just dun join!!!
as stated in the article, do CS have any chat channel?
is it still a e-sport game?
it doesn't even have a lobby LOL...

lol have u even been to such channels with the spam...
let me break it down, 10 lines within 1sec constantly coming non stop...
now tell me u can read 10lines within 1 sec...

btw again THERE IS FRIENDS, GROUP AND CLAN CHAT...

ps: lol @ ur personal attacks from me having no life -> no frens -> negative
who's the one being negative about bnet 2.0 changes...
read the articles i linked, i'm glad ppl at gosugamers can see the positive side of these changes (-cough- its negative to u -cough-)

This post has been edited by evofantasy: May 31 2010, 06:03 PM
evofantasy
post May 31 2010, 06:17 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(HaVoC @ May 31 2010, 06:09 PM)
I think the key thing to note here is options.
With removal of chat rooms and regional lock, there is absolutely NO option and zero freedom (oops, shouuld I say, extra fees charged) for those people that uses them.
I have no idea why some people delight on options removed from others, when they can stray away from the option in the first place, that's the cause of some of the confusion here.

And there are so many flaws on the article from Gosugames, I practically LOL'ed. Seriously, try harder guys.
removal of such features doesn't spell doomsday as the haters/QQ bandwagons are doing now...

Added on May 31, 2010, 6:18 pmps: wut are the flaws? possible to point it our for me so i might understand better? thanks

This post has been edited by evofantasy: May 31 2010, 06:18 PM
evofantasy
post May 31 2010, 07:17 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

finally some constructive post instead of flaming activision lol...

with their connection, i think they could still do the same without LAN...
the ping from my place to a local server is around 10ms and that is with screamyx...
LAN is one of the biggest source of piracy, with the current technology HSSB, a WAN could perform pretty much similar to LAN...
and dun tell me regional tournaments uses LAN rite?
how about ladders? dun tell me all ladders uses LAN as well...
thus LAN is not a prerequisite for e-sport

true on this...
which is why i nvr mention this part in my points

- there's no stopping that guy if he wanna play with his frens, but how about competitive wise... would be love to have a ladder match with latency issues?
- if u play MMORPG, u would understand how server migation kills the community
- hardware issues... imagine every1 flocking to a server, imagine the server load especially during peak hours... dun forget, the games are hosted on blizz's server and not really p2p based as the older games...
- on the region lock, i would say that blizz learnt a low from WoW (their biggest success after all) and i fully understand the reason for this...

as i said, blizzard do have their very own servers for tournaments (WOW-arena servers)...
if there would be cross region tournaments, it would be through such servers with so much better connectivity (though costlier)...
u gotta be among the best within ur region before u can compete on a larger platform after all rite?

there's a difference between spam blocking algorithms on emails and those on live system...
do u know the complexity of effective spam blocking?
the amount of computational requirements (both time, processing and memory)?
do u expect the server to handle all of these when it involves 20k users at the same time that could spam 5-6lines within 1 sec?

Added on May 31, 2010, 7:18 pm
QUOTE(Instant_noodle @ May 31 2010, 07:04 PM)
this is something interesting...

i believe most of them might referring to g*rena-like environment where you can flame n troll chat with random people while waiting for a game but srsly have you guys ever seen mess as below...

i'd believe most of the time you guys be switching IMs on most of the time and set to busy status during play (well, i dun do it becoz my pc is getting too old for this...) wonder how disabling general chat would hurt people other than relieve them from mass spam done by account sellers, haxxor, real no-lifer

srsly, they haven't seen how chat channel getting spammed mercilessly by people in blizz's MMO... although... some chuck norris facts are quite interesting...
lol, i think we been through large scale communities with spams that even blizzard GMs cant enforce...

This post has been edited by evofantasy: May 31 2010, 07:18 PM
evofantasy
post May 31 2010, 08:31 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(HaVoC @ May 31 2010, 08:19 PM)
[/spoiler]

Yes, let's have a proper discussion.
1. NO. Korea could not have been a sucess without LAN. SC1 proscene started 10 years ago. LAN was the foundation back then. I'm not arguing that Internet cannot replace LAN forever, that's naive. But in some places like M'sia today, LAN > Internet. 10ms is still lower than LAN latency. Besides, ping is only 1 of the problems, what about disconnection, service interruptions and the trademark slow "INTERNATIONAL" connections? And I'm still awed at how CCs have not protested at the idea of account locking. I highly doubt this game will sell to CCs.
It's a little naive to say no LAN directly = less piracy, no? What about private servers, isn't that another form of piracy?

3. Isn't region free better for server cap and better to solve the peak hour issue since everyone is on the same time zone? Again I stress that region lock does not solve the server population issue. It just changes the cost: in WOW, migrate = relvl character to lvl 999 la! In SC2, = Pay extra RM250!

4. No choice is left for me. I pay what ever I need to, and you still let me in anyway. Just please just don't say this is for for a better experience sake and bla. And who decides who gets access to these servers? Wouldn't that make non top level tournaments harder to organize? Wouldn't there be a bias towards sponsors and event organizers?

5. Chat channels. And whatever happened to the "You're typing too fast." message?
If I make a random channel called "Lowyatians" and 20k people come in and spam, Blizzard should be happy because they have officially sold the game.  rclxm9.gif
And how is mass spamming more difficult to stop than gaming piracy, region to region latency and server migration that made Activision completely lose hope on it?

And why has nobody start on the privacy issue and Facebook "integration" yet?  laugh.gif
true back then it was all LAN...
but currently i think LAN is not the requirements anymore...
and majority are having better net than us...
and currently i'm not having any issues...
wut more recent articles points of blizzard servers in SG for SC2 (thus 20ms latency to sg)...
about private servers, these are still piracy but how many people could own such a server?
what about the running cost?
its cheaper to just buy the game (just like how ps3 have no piracy due to blueray cost)

by region locking, u could do maintanance off peak hours (compare to tuesday peak hours in msia for WoW due to the servers in US)
how many people are wiling to pay another RM250 just to play with frens on the other region?
10% of those in region A buying region B with 90% still in region A vs 90% of region A decided to go region B after a while leaving 10% stucked at region A...
btw in wow, u could create anotehr character at another server for free, u only pay to xfer an existing character to another server...

in WoW, u could pay to get to those servers (for the hardcores)...
some people qualify for those servers through their performance...
and honestly, would u bother joining some low level tournaments (where 1 above average player jz wipe the floor clean) or one that is recognised/ approved bt blizzard themselves?

those are implemented in WoW...
and it didnt stop the spam...
why? because these are limited to individual basis but the community as a whole could be spamming it...

Added on May 31, 2010, 8:32 pmoh ya on the facebook integration thingy, it has already been implemented in WoW and i am loving it so far...
its not such a privacy issue compared to the iphone app that upload ur pics automatically to FB LOL

Added on May 31, 2010, 8:43 pmps: i'm not saying i dun prefer choices, but all i'm pointing out is that sc2 could still be a good game without these features (not the last sc2 since it will fail and activision/blizzard gonna go bankrupt)

This post has been edited by evofantasy: May 31 2010, 08:43 PM
evofantasy
post May 31 2010, 11:33 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Damian @ May 31 2010, 11:13 PM)
cry.gif

Xeno stop posting~ i'm so frustrating for unable to play SC 2.
i thot u found 'some server' LOL
evofantasy
post Jun 1 2010, 11:15 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 1 2010, 11:02 AM)
if ur game dragged, dont tell me ur gonna stick to tier 1's forever? no man, id be rollin em zealots with carriers.
ur teammate can share ur enuff resources to mass pump carriers...
those would carry ur win (like 10++ carriers) lol...

Added on June 1, 2010, 11:18 am
QUOTE(Damian @ Jun 1 2010, 09:01 AM)
Yea SC 1 Server  whistling.gif
good job for removing LAN blizz, u just stopped one possible piracy case

This post has been edited by evofantasy: Jun 1 2010, 11:18 AM
evofantasy
post Jun 1 2010, 12:48 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

http://day9tv.blip.tv/file/3695696/

nazgul's all in stalkers with blink play

Added on June 1, 2010, 12:49 pm
QUOTE(XenoFr3ak @ Jun 1 2010, 11:45 AM)
Wanna counter Zeus is easy ... just call Kratos, Ex-God of War biggrin.gif

Ok .. now back into topic  whistling.gif

Btw, which Terran units can counter mass hydra?
3-4 siege down in slow pushes...
use marauders to tank the front (with concussive, they could buy u time to burn down the hydras and not to mention they hit hard)...
some helions for lings...

This post has been edited by evofantasy: Jun 1 2010, 12:49 PM
evofantasy
post Jun 2 2010, 12:32 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 1 2010, 03:27 PM)
both together? lol. and huge IF on the baneling breaking through (which they COULD), you're pretty much instant gg'ed on the spot there and then lol.
well TLO block the ramp with a barracks and a factory...
his reason was due to baneling bust-in..

Added on June 2, 2010, 12:37 pm
QUOTE(XenoFr3ak @ Jun 2 2010, 11:05 AM)
Patch 14 still no love for Terrans ... bah humbug!
terran is already good enuff at it is...
zerg have a hard time vs terran's mech...

as for the viking, 5-6 viking is enuff to cause chaos at the zerg's base...
recently, for Asia vs EU - TLO did a viking/helion build vs Sen which he won of course...
that's how good terran is (viking is way underrated)...

This post has been edited by evofantasy: Jun 2 2010, 12:37 PM
evofantasy
post Jun 2 2010, 07:08 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Jun 2 2010, 06:23 PM)
What a load of bullshit from these people.

Even if they have the awesome custom map editor, it doesnt mean the game gonna last if the servers are shit. IAH needs to go and get someone else like Hypernia to host the servers.

CoH is still the best RTS ever, in terms of graphics, animations and gameplay. No RTS, even SC2 come close to it. I hate it when people put SC2 like a gift from god,while other RTS are rubbish.

If you play a game for 2-3 years, thats good enough for me and no way im gonna stick to a game for 10 years. There is always improvements in gaming,and i find it is better to keep moving forward with newer games than sticking to one forever.

Also,

Cost of TF2: 50USD to 2.50USD once.
The fun im getting: Infinite, as one server down, i can move to the other servers.

Cost of SC2: 109SGD x 3, as it's 3 games now.
The fun im getting: None, as IAH is incompetent.

IAH are the people who put me off buying Hellgate a few years back, not the game quality. Even though it sucks too.
u cant compare apple with orange...
CoH is more to squad based RTS (which i dun really prefer)...
to me sup comm is still the best RTS i've played >.<

12 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0495sec    0.16    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 06:15 AM