24 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Turtles, Terrapins and Tortoises V5

SAMPERTH
post Aug 10 2010, 05:51 PM

517 posts

In regard to the permission / permit .... to rare certain species as in slackerz's case Indian Star which has no export quota ....etc and maybe another sp like Radiated ...etc

Are there any clause stating how you can dispose of your animals when you grew tired of it or when your interest ware off ?? Adpot it off and legally pass on ownership ? or a certain state-owned zoo or facility will willingly care for it for the rest of its life ?

---------------------

Just Slackerz got his ? any others got theirs ?

Thanks for reading
SAMPERTH
post Aug 10 2010, 07:42 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(Azazel @ Aug 10 2010, 07:09 PM)
The others are convicted criminals or future convicted criminals/breeders. This factor may have influenced the authorities decisions.

p.s. That's why I keep and breed geckos LMOA!
YA cant agree more MUCH more profitable than any biz I have tried so far !! LOL
SAMPERTH
post Aug 11 2010, 05:27 AM

517 posts

QUOTE(SheNightOwl @ Aug 10 2010, 04:03 PM)
Sorry just reply I've been busy lately hehehhehehe. Fumak/ siomak is a veggie that mostly used in chinesse food, I think I have a picture of it

YesI peel off

Olive oil will moisturized it and it save too (it's natural) my friend use it to his istar. But I don't know if it can cure any wound. But it's fine I guess. But I never heard of aloevera, a natural aloevera will be sticky don't you think? But it's really up to you. hehehehhehe. I will remind you again I'm not expert just love Tortoise and I have to say this I envy your government that take action about endangered animal, when my government will took action like yours?. If you visit my country and go to Pasar Pramuka you will cry like a baby .. sooooo sad seeing a lot endangered species being sold there. Once I wear my WWF shirt and go there and what happen is all the store closed hahahahhaha but still I have no army to do action  cry.gif
If your government is to take the same or similar action you will be crying( trust me ) beside lossing/spending lots of money to right things !! (we are next door neighbour on the map)

As for those store you should thank them for bringing , selling you CITES I animals ie your Radiated like nobody's business !!

---------------------------------
On the fumak/siomak part

Try Yumak or Cos lettuce in your local wet market or supermarket !!

Not the best of green but at least better than normal lettuce

This post has been edited by SAMPERTH: Aug 11 2010, 05:27 AM
SAMPERTH
post Aug 11 2010, 05:43 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(Azazel @ Aug 11 2010, 05:20 PM)
Regarding that, how did you manage to find their "genuine" buyers?! Over here in Peninsular, all I have met so far were all liars. When you present something big (which they had requested earlier), upon viewing they will want something bigger. Really really pissing me off, especially when the ones that came pronounced them as "Pokei". Nak jer aku sepak! smile.gif
When you mention present something big - How big ? If price resonable I might be the " genuine buyer " LOL

As too many liar - both so call buyer and seller alike so no-one telling the truth !!

Also there are many "man-made " altered to required weight lizard in the market SO many buyer/broker are warry about what they buy !!

------------------------------------------------------------------

Real buyer will want just 300g and up (bigger better) and pay accordingly per 10g increment !!

Broker will want "insurance weight" and thus require say 10g or 20g above 300g for the 300g pricing .....etc Just to make sure the lizard will still be at least 300g without feeding in broker's care LOL

SAMPERTH
post Aug 20 2010, 01:28 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(CreepyCrawly @ Aug 20 2010, 01:53 PM)

Anybody can help me to id this turtle?  Thnks got it from a petshop in pasar today :-)

Added on August 20, 2010, 12:54 pmA river terrapin i guess?
For now I am guessing Asian leaf , C.dentata
A picture of it's underside will confirm !!

SAMPERTH
post Aug 20 2010, 01:49 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(CreepyCrawly @ Aug 20 2010, 02:44 PM)
Here it is

100% sure now and I am saying a F !!
SAMPERTH
post Aug 20 2010, 02:12 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(CreepyCrawly @ Aug 20 2010, 02:59 PM)

I suppose this is an adult?
Bought it at rm30 only, the petshop owner said it has been there for quite some times, a malay guy sold it to her.  a wc i guess.

Brought it home since they keep it in a dirty tank :-)
Ya should be its max out size already !! They rarely pass 30 cm SCL !!
SAMPERTH
post Aug 20 2010, 05:42 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(CreepyCrawly @ Aug 20 2010, 01:53 PM)

Anybody can help me to id this turtle?  Thnks got it from a petshop in pasar today :-)

Added on August 20, 2010, 12:54 pmA river terrapin i guess?
QUOTE(tortoisecrazy @ Aug 20 2010, 05:59 PM)
Hi Samperth.... Mind sharing, how to tell the different between C.Dentata and H. Grandis??? hmm.gif
The faint stripe around the neck on the above picture and the lack of vertebral keel on the shell of the above picture @ C.Dentata ??

If base solely on the pattern of plastron one might even confused or mis-taken a Spiny turtle for the Asian leaf or the Grandis !!

-----------------

Telling the sub-species of the dentata is harder and beyond me !!

SAMPERTH
post Aug 20 2010, 09:37 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(camillenoir @ Aug 20 2010, 09:02 PM)
mind if i help with this?

got back at 6.45 and snapped some photos of whatever I could before it is too dark.

i'll send in some photos for comparison in a couple of hours.
When it comes to turtle you are the king - beside being a breeder of both sp mentioned !!
SAMPERTH
post Aug 30 2010, 10:31 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(Blutangskink @ Aug 30 2010, 11:20 PM)

Malaysian giant turtle (Orlitia. borneoensis)
SAMPERTH
post Aug 31 2010, 01:12 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(cooler8 @ Aug 31 2010, 01:43 PM)
Hi all,

Just got 3 Russian Torts recently and is quite new to keep them,Any advice from anyone who has been keeping them for awhile?I have been searching for info abt them online and are feeding them with a mix of romaine lettuce, endives and hibicus leaves..Someone just recommended me some pellets but is wondering what to lookout for such dry feed..Will try to upload some pics later.Cheers
Just in case you dont know , those are CITES listed animals - hope you have the proper paper work to keep them !!

99% of them in the trade are wild collected specimen(WC) 1% or less being CB/CH (know of local keeper breeing them for sale )
Before you start worrying about what to feed start with Vet check (due to them being WC animals )

If they are healthy and not in poor health (from capture , import stress , dehydration ....etc ) They are not the hardest to keep sp of tortoise !!

Good luck !!

Added on August 31, 2010, 1:21 pm
QUOTE(BenSow @ Aug 31 2010, 10:45 AM)
will turtles continue growing large in small tank unlike fishes? fishes if in too small tank their exterior stop growing but their internal organs will keep growing and they will die... how abt turtles?

Added on August 31, 2010, 10:46 ami jus read tat i should strcitly avoid raw meat and frozen ones!! crap i feed my turtles frozen raw prawn quite often...
What you read - any direction ? just curious !!

I feed mine both raw and frozen meat / seafood and they not only do alright but grow up normal and breed like nobody's biz !!

----------------------------------------------

Only downside ( I know of ) on frozen seafood is the loss of a certain type of Vitamin thru freezing (cant remember which read long long time ago !! )

This post has been edited by SAMPERTH: Aug 31 2010, 06:19 PM
SAMPERTH
post Aug 31 2010, 06:21 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(`arthas @ Aug 31 2010, 07:18 PM)
why no people post their cute turtle picture? >"<

come share your picture with us!

Gone are the days where keeper willingly share , post their pets picture !!
SAMPERTH
post Aug 31 2010, 06:59 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(cooler8 @ Aug 31 2010, 07:32 PM)
thanks for ya advice. I have checked with a vet and confirmed that all 3 torts are healthy.Btw, the vet mentioned that russian torts are not listed in CITES as of now and after checking online with CITES site, I dont seems to see them under their list too. Am trying to find out more info about keeping themas one of my buddy mentioned that their dietary requirements are almost similar to that of ST...Cheers
As far as I know - 2010 CITES export quota http://www.cites.org/common/quotas/2010/ExportQuotas2010.pdf they are still there

Look under Uzbekistan's quota for Testudo horsfieldii Unless that is not Russian Tortoise !!
SAMPERTH
post Sep 2 2010, 12:43 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(Predator10 @ Sep 2 2010, 12:11 AM)
hello guys, new here

just want to ask 1 question..

if i mix my baby RES with some fishes, will it eat them? especially the baby fishes
Answer depends on the following
- size of tank holding them (actual water depth to be exact )
- age of turtle
- type of fishes

But for now YES and NO !!
SAMPERTH
post Sep 5 2010, 06:57 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(NicoleACY @ Sep 5 2010, 07:24 PM)

I'm new here and my father kept a pair of Indian Star Tortoise for nearly 5 years already.

The male isn't growing for about few months alreadt while the female is still growing every month my father checked on their size and weight.

My father actually love the pyramids on their shells, but is it unhealthy for them to have it? I read that it is not healthy for the growth of organs. Can anyone advise me on this?

My father was thinking of letting them to mate. It will be fun to have baby tortoise around. Does anyone know under what condition they will mate? Thanx!
Whats their size now ? Male in this sp usually dont grow as large as the female !!

Female will have to be at least 6.5 inch before laying , while Male will have to be at least 4 inch to be able to give viable eggs !!
SAMPERTH
post Sep 5 2010, 08:30 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(NicoleACY @ Sep 5 2010, 09:19 PM)
The male one is 5 inch (about 0.6 kg), female one is 8 inch (2.34 kg). And the female one is extremely huge.

BTW, sorry for the wrong info, Dad just corrected me, they are 4 years old.

And I'm not sure if the female one is having excessive growth as it loves bean sprout so much. And I've read that too much of protein is actually a wrong way of feeding to them.
That 4 years is not the best indicator of their true age (that only start when they reaches you ) Looking at their size they should be more than ready to breed unless they are distorted from power feeding (like the bean sprout you mention )

Healthy chelonian will be interested in mating almost anytime especially after a rain or two !! If not try seperating them for a week or two (or longer ) before introducing them togather again and see what happen !!
SAMPERTH
post Sep 6 2010, 12:56 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(camillenoir @ Sep 6 2010, 12:34 AM)
the female looks fine for breeding smile.gif
I think the male will have trouble holding on to the female - He is too FLAT !! Thinking his concave plastron will be minimal ?

NicoleACY
May we see a pic of the Male's plastron - to be sure of my above statement ? But since you have good help ie Camillenoir you should be just fine even without posting !!
SAMPERTH
post Sep 11 2010, 07:01 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(atok194 @ Sep 11 2010, 06:38 PM)
i once had my RES but most of them died because of the shell are cracken by something..i am somewhat sad..

Does RES can reach gigantic size?
NO - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Red-eared_slider
The female red-eared slider grows to be 25–33 cm (10–13 in) in length and males 20–25 cm (8–10 in). The red stripe on each side of the head distinguishes the red-eared slider from all other North American species.

SAMPERTH
post Sep 13 2010, 01:07 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(gangc @ Sep 13 2010, 01:17 PM)
Its feed with some Vegies.
It doesn't seems like M. emys, as it looks a bit brighter in terms of the shell color, and the head is in white color.

The enclosure size seems to be fine for the tortoise (90cm X 50 cm).
The tortoise seems to be fine when my friend bought it as a juvenile, only happen when it grow bigger (2 yrs+ old).
Some Vegie but mostly which type as some vegie are bad to tortoise !!

Since you say not M.emys could it be I.elongata - their shell are brighter in colour and head range from white to yellow to pink !! (localy theres only 3 type of tortoise in case you didnt know - only I.elongata has a bright shell )

I am suspecting something else - hows the poo ?

-----------------

Might as well post some picture of the actual patient - take the guessing work out on which sp it is and the even-ness of the shell tells a story !!

This post has been edited by SAMPERTH: Sep 13 2010, 01:09 PM
SAMPERTH
post Sep 13 2010, 03:35 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(gangc @ Sep 13 2010, 03:11 PM)
Just check on the image of "Indotestudo elongata", that's the tortoise that i'm talking about, thanks for the id.

Sorry for not able to upload the pic, as i don't have any camera with me now, my phone cam's resolution is suck.

Added on September 13, 2010, 2:49 pmJust read an article about "Metabolic Bone Disease" as what suggested by Ryo.

Here's the summary >>

If you are indeed talking about elongata add more fruit and meat into its diet !!
----------------------

I am almost into F2 in this sp already (pending eggs to hatch only )

This post has been edited by SAMPERTH: Sep 13 2010, 03:36 PM

24 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0459sec    0.23    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 07:59 PM