Release Valve's STEAM Coming to Mac (May 12, 2010), Left 4 Dead 2, Team Fortress 2, CS, etc.
Ojimaru
May 15 2010, 06:19 AM
QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ May 14 2010, 07:46 PM) haha same here.. 3 hours gameplay  i got a bug though... can't see through my portals after a few levels That's a bug that's been reported alot in the Steam forums, unfortunately. Anybody tried Torchlight yet? Been having some minor issues with the controls "sticking".
frega
May 15 2010, 12:38 PM
Is it just me or is there patches for Portal almost everyday?
39mb yesterday 71mb today.
dvlzplayground
May 15 2010, 01:51 PM
ah yes, everyday i launch steam got updates around 20-35mb... what's up with that? Added on May 15, 2010, 2:33 pmAlso, i get stuck on the "Updating Steam...Verifying installation" pop up. it doesnt seem to do anything  still can use Steam during this though Added on May 15, 2010, 2:36 pmoh good news, after patching today, the can't see through portals thing is solved. yey! This post has been edited by dvlzplayground: May 15 2010, 02:36 PM
Ojimaru
May 15 2010, 02:51 PM
QUOTE(frega @ May 15 2010, 12:38 PM) Is it just me or is there patches for Portal almost everyday? 39mb yesterday 71mb today. Valve has been working their behinds off trying to fix all the bugs with Steam and games.
shanecross
May 15 2010, 02:52 PM
im having issues, after updating, my steam does not work, it says "not responding" on the dock.anyone with same issues.
tarvalslain87
May 16 2010, 11:13 PM
(•_•) / ( •_•)>⌐■-■ / (⌐■_■)
Wow still so many issues for steam on Mac? Hmm... Im downloading it now... Scared to use it... LOL..
dvlzplayground
May 16 2010, 11:43 PM
just try ur luck. i got through all advanced chambers and also got gold on all chambers with least portals yesterday without running into any bugs
kunamiya
May 17 2010, 10:09 AM
I have download the portal games , and I would like to see the FPS how to see leh ?!
tarvalslain87
May 17 2010, 12:15 PM
Ive just installed steam and now downloading Portal... it seems everytime I open steam, there is a pop up message stating updating steam but dont seem to be running.. I just close it and continue download portal... Hopefully there is nothing wrong with it... Cant wait to try first game on my mac.. Haha
kunamiya
May 17 2010, 01:58 PM
QUOTE(tarvalslain87 @ May 17 2010, 12:15 PM) Ive just installed steam and now downloading Portal... it seems everytime I open steam, there is a pop up message stating updating steam but dont seem to be running.. I just close it and continue download portal... Hopefully there is nothing wrong with it... Cant wait to try first game on my mac.. Haha same problem here ..
tarvalslain87
May 17 2010, 02:08 PM
Hmmm everyone is facing the same problem... Guess we will have to wait for an update from Steam for Mac.... Guess should be updated real soon as its kinda irritating to have the pop up box..
Ojimaru
May 17 2010, 02:42 PM
You could try deleting the Steam app and re-installing. I've got similar with Steam on Windows before.
tarvalslain87
May 17 2010, 03:00 PM
Ok Ill go back and try this method out.. But will this also delete my game as Im currently downloading it... Just scared after halfway downloading and uninstalling it will remove the game and I have to redownload all over again... Or is it saved in my steam account?
dvlzplayground
May 17 2010, 04:09 PM
i'll just wait for valve to fix it.
is there a way to set steam to launch in offline mode on default?
Ojimaru
May 17 2010, 04:11 PM
QUOTE(tarvalslain87 @ May 17 2010, 03:00 PM) Ok Ill go back and try this method out.. But will this also delete my game as Im currently downloading it... Just scared after halfway downloading and uninstalling it will remove the game and I have to redownload all over again... Or is it saved in my steam account? Don't have my MBP with me now, but the download should be inside the .app file. It may be possible to dig into the app, look for the partial download and back it up. Can't guarantee it will work. The alternative would be to try and leave the update window run. As I understand it the Steam servers have been hammered by eager Mac users this week, so connections can be bad.
dvlzplayground
May 17 2010, 04:24 PM
the downloaded files shud be here:
Users/~/Documents/Steam Content
tarvalslain87
May 17 2010, 04:34 PM
Hmm yea downloads are in the steam content folder... I guess I can try to leave the steam update pop up a little longer to see if it really updates.. Like ojimaru said, it maybe due to huge load of traffic causing it to be congested... Ill go back and try it out.. Hope I can finish DLing by tonight =) 3GB is hella big file
fumjusta
May 18 2010, 02:59 PM

QUOTE(kunamiya @ May 17 2010, 10:09 AM) I have download the portal games , and I would like to see the FPS how to see leh ?! Make sure the console is enabled by going to Options > Keyboard > Advanced > Enable Developers Console. While playing, press "~" on the keyboard and the console will pop up. Type "cl_showfps 1" into console command line. Press submit and your FPS will show up at the top right of the screen. "net_graph 1" shows you fps, bandwidth usage, ping and other stuff too. edit: to remove it, just change the number to 0. This post has been edited by fumjusta: May 18 2010, 03:00 PM
tarvalslain87
May 18 2010, 03:16 PM
Cool info there.... Ive just finished dling portal... Going to give it a try tonight! Its quite fast for a 3GB file... I thought its going to take at least 2-3 complete days to complete
Ojimaru
May 18 2010, 09:36 PM
ARGH!
Steam updated and broke Torchlight*.
GG....
* Everybody who bought the game at 50% off have their games reverted to demo version.