Release Valve's STEAM Coming to Mac (May 12, 2010), Left 4 Dead 2, Team Fortress 2, CS, etc.
Ojimaru
May 7 2010, 09:54 AM
QUOTE(tarvalslain87 @ May 7 2010, 09:37 AM) So what are the games that are playable through steam in malaysia? Would like to know as Im thinking of subscribing to steam.... Other then CS that I know what other games that will be supported by the mac version of steam? Ars Technica Preview of Steam for Mac (Malaysian pun not intended) Beta signup is closed, but Half Life 2, CS, Portal and Left 4 Dead 2 will be on. The only other third party publisher that's getting on so far is Tripwire Interactive (Killing Floor, Red Orchestra).
Ojimaru
May 10 2010, 05:17 PM
QUOTE(tarvalslain87 @ May 10 2010, 05:06 PM) So that means 2 more days it will be officially available on Mac? and growl need to be installed for those pop up notifications... Guess ill be singing up for an account soon... Now if only they'll port Torchlight...
Ojimaru
May 12 2010, 09:44 AM
One more day! And the first games to come are Portal and Torchlight! Wootz
Ojimaru
May 12 2010, 03:28 PM
QUOTE May 11, 2010 - Valve announced that Steam will launch on the Mac platform this Wednesday, May 12.
On subsequent Wednesdays, additional collections of Mac titles will become available, each designed to highlight specific functionalities of Steam on the Mac.
The first collection of Mac titles will demonstrate "Steam Play," which allows customers to purchase a game once and play it on all Steam supported platforms.
Portal, in addition to supporting Steam Play, will be the first of Valve's Source engine based games available on the Mac. Native OS/X support for the Source engine is also available immediately to licensees for use in their games.
Among the initial titles available on Wednesday will be Runic Games' critically acclaimed Torchlight. "We're very excited to be bringing Torchlight to the Mac," said Max Schaefer, co-founder of Runic Games. "Having Steam for the Mac solves so many problems for us as a developer. We look forward to our future games coming out on the Mac as well."
In addition to bringing the online functionality of Steam to the Mac, Valve will also make its Steamworks suite of publishing and development tools available on the Mac platform. These include product key authentication, copy protection, auto-updating, social networking, matchmaking, anti-cheat technology, and more. The features and services available in Steamworks are offered free of charge and may be used for both electronic and tangible versions of games.
For more information on Steam, please visit www.steamgames.com. They'll start with 2 and roll out more as time goes on. It's a sensible marketing move to (re)introduce titles to the Mac community. I wouldn't worry about Valve games (Half Life, Counter Strike: Source, etc) since Valve owns Steam anyway. I'm glad Runic Games jumped on early with Torchlight, so I'm hoping more developers - indie or otherwise - do the same with future releases.
Ojimaru
May 13 2010, 06:15 AM
It's here!!!! Portal is free! Torchlight at 50% off! And there's more than 2 games for the Mac! Go get it!!
Ojimaru
May 13 2010, 10:00 AM
QUOTE(siawgu @ May 13 2010, 09:49 AM) may i ask, do TF2 listed in the steam? cause mine dun have it. I bought is under my account, but din see it. TF2 isnt available on the Mac yet. Maybe next Wednesday. There seems to be a number of new releases that claim to be Mac compatible, like the Secret of Monkey Island bundle. Can anybody confirm?
Ojimaru
May 13 2010, 10:05 PM
Been playing Torchlight at full graphical settings without lag, bar a few instances of frame-rate drops. The body of my MBP doesn't even get warm after 1-2 hours of gaming.
Ojimaru
May 15 2010, 06:19 AM
QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ May 14 2010, 07:46 PM) haha same here.. 3 hours gameplay  i got a bug though... can't see through my portals after a few levels That's a bug that's been reported alot in the Steam forums, unfortunately. Anybody tried Torchlight yet? Been having some minor issues with the controls "sticking".
Ojimaru
May 15 2010, 02:51 PM
QUOTE(frega @ May 15 2010, 12:38 PM) Is it just me or is there patches for Portal almost everyday? 39mb yesterday 71mb today. Valve has been working their behinds off trying to fix all the bugs with Steam and games.
Ojimaru
May 17 2010, 02:42 PM
You could try deleting the Steam app and re-installing. I've got similar with Steam on Windows before.
Ojimaru
May 17 2010, 04:11 PM
QUOTE(tarvalslain87 @ May 17 2010, 03:00 PM) Ok Ill go back and try this method out.. But will this also delete my game as Im currently downloading it... Just scared after halfway downloading and uninstalling it will remove the game and I have to redownload all over again... Or is it saved in my steam account? Don't have my MBP with me now, but the download should be inside the .app file. It may be possible to dig into the app, look for the partial download and back it up. Can't guarantee it will work. The alternative would be to try and leave the update window run. As I understand it the Steam servers have been hammered by eager Mac users this week, so connections can be bad.
Ojimaru
May 18 2010, 09:36 PM
ARGH!
Steam updated and broke Torchlight*.
GG....
* Everybody who bought the game at 50% off have their games reverted to demo version.
Ojimaru
May 19 2010, 10:09 AM
QUOTE(Ojimaru @ May 18 2010, 09:36 PM) ARGH! Steam updated and broke Torchlight*. GG.... * Everybody who bought the game at 50% off have their games reverted to demo version. Update: Steam has fixed the problem.
Ojimaru
May 19 2010, 12:14 PM
QUOTE(tarvalslain87 @ May 19 2010, 11:34 AM) Ok cool... Time to buy that game... But too bad it cant be played with other players together like diablo etc... Added on May 19, 2010, 11:35 amOh BTW how big is the file? <600 MBs Yes, a game that's not counted in gigabytes!
Ojimaru
May 19 2010, 12:53 PM
QUOTE(tarvalslain87 @ May 19 2010, 12:18 PM) Rofl serious shit? Thats pretty small.... Cool 1 night should be able to finish downloading it... Btw how do you purchase the games through steam... I cant access team website in my company right now (blocked due to games website) Do they use Credit cards or by paypal? They take credit cards. I paid using my RHB Debit Card (Mastercard). QUOTE("Steam FAQ") We accept the following forms of payment: Credit/debit cards - Visa - Mastercard - Discover - American Express - JCB PayPal - For more information on PayPal, please visit http://www.paypal.com/ClickandBuy - For more information on ClickandBuy, please visit http://www.clickandbuy.com/'Visa Electron - Please contact your card issuer to ensure that your Visa Electron card is enabled for online purchases before attempting to purchase games on Steam.
Ojimaru
May 19 2010, 03:17 PM
QUOTE(nimrod323 @ May 19 2010, 02:47 PM) hey guys whats the performance like on the new MBPs especially MBP 13 with 320M? Uh, it's... fast, snappy and I've found a strange need to open 20 tabs in each of 10 Chrome windows, each tab running some silly Flash BS while watching a DVD via an external monitor. At which point I'll be wishing for more power. In short, it's intoxicating. Obviously.
Ojimaru
May 20 2010, 06:25 AM
Steam is a buggy beast. Not to say Valve hasn't been scrambling to solve the million and one bugs that pop up. Unfortunately games perform better when you bootcamp into Windows and play there. I've been told the reason is that Windows' DirectX is far superior than the OpenGL OSX and Linux uses. ---- New games for Mac Steam QUOTE Killing Floor - $13.39 Madballs in Babo:Invasion - $4.99 Altitude - $4.99 Hearts of Iron III - $29.99 Chains - $4.99 Caster - $4.99 Eschalon: Book I - $19.99 Windosill - $2.99 Simplz Zoo - $4.99 Europa Universalis III Complete - $29.99 The games that support multiplayer will allow PC and Mac users to play together, if they want to. This post has been edited by Ojimaru: May 20 2010, 09:47 AM
Ojimaru
May 21 2010, 10:48 AM
New (early) stats from Valve: QUOTE - Roughly two thirds of all Steam Mac users are running on a laptop.
- Portal (with the same code base across platforms) is one fifth as likely to crash on a Mac than on Windows.
- And one week after launch, already more than eleven percent of all Steam purchases are for the Mac.
Source
My only issue would be with the third piece of statistic. The 11% can't be considered anything more than a spike due to a) people trying out Steam and b) the Steam indie bundle being so damn cheap.
Ojimaru
May 25 2010, 07:58 PM
QUOTE(siawgu @ May 25 2010, 06:13 PM) Guys, may I know it there Team Fortress 2 listed in the games list? cause I found "Team Fortress 2" Icon in Applications Folder [attachmentid=1593956] and Attitude is not a mac Game anymore? Team Fortress 2 hasn't been ported to the Mac yet. Altitude is available for the Mac. It was available to play for free last weekend, as well as a 50% promotion during the same weekend.
Ojimaru
May 26 2010, 10:05 AM
QUOTE(siawgu @ May 25 2010, 10:52 PM) ya. it was free, and i downloaded and played it but now i unable to play it. You misunderstand. It was free to play for that particular weekend only. Anyway, Steam News. 1) Portal updated » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Updates to Portal have been released. The updates will be applied automatically when your Steam client is restarted. The major changes include: Portal - Performance improvements - Fixed crash during offscreen rendering - Fixed overbright screen when rendering with Radeon X1x00 on 10.5.8 - Fixed subtitle mode to not include sounds, use close captioned mode for that functionality - Fixed achievement awarding being delayed to map change - Fixed view jumping when coming back from the in-game UI to the game - Improved support for using the Command key as a key bind via Steam News2) If you're a strategy game fan, Hearts of Iron 3 and Europa Universalis 3 Bundle on Steam has been released for US$29.98 (i.e. 50% discount on each game). 3) Or, Midweek Madness has LucasArts Adventure games, including 2 Indiana Jones games, Loom and the Dig, are on sale for US$4.99 (i.e. total saving of ~US$15) and... Half Life 2 Comes to Mac Tomorrow~~~~This post has been edited by Ojimaru: May 26 2010, 10:30 AM