13 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Bottom

Garmin vs Papago

Dannyl
post Jul 13 2011, 08:32 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jul 12 2011, 08:22 AM)
LOL I have Sport Tracker but never use. I thought it's only suitable for short running track and didn't know it can be used to record long.....say 50 or 100-km driving distance.

On voice instruction. I just found how bad Garmin can be. For example, it told me to turn left and a split second later, told me to keep right  rclxub.gif

Not to say there are no mistakes with OVI but those are typically telling you to take the longer way but at least it's less confusing.
Err.. nothing wrong with turning left then keeping right, yes?
SUSOptiplex330
post Jul 13 2011, 09:44 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Jul 13 2011, 08:32 AM)
Err.. nothing wrong with turning left then keeping right, yes?
My mistake. It ask me to keep right and then turn left on a dual lane carriage.

buntutwoman
post Jul 13 2011, 10:15 AM

182 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jul 12 2011, 12:01 AM)
For sure Garmin having lack of world maps-lah.. Anyway, you can Dl, whole Indonesia maps from nagigasi.net, Phillipines & etc if you google. Those are free maps similar to malsingmaps & malfreemaps. There are others as well such as New Zealand & else where..Otherwise there is a database on other countries via http://mapcenter.cgpsmapper.com/catalogue.php (Well not so detail). Anyway, Agreed that ovimaps is superior on overall world maps other than Malaysia, Thailand & indonesia haha.. biggrin.gif

On your comparison, not a suprise..I found lotsa OLDER roads not in malfreemaps too and lotsa backlanes, sidelanes & factory roads on ovimaps but not in malfreemaps.. reason been..those roads probably not useable anymore, no one track those roads, guarded by guards, & lotsa obstacles that trackers can't enter... smile.gif  teleatlas, the maps supplier for Ovimaps probably traced those roads from Googlemaps/google earth & draw...Well lotsa errors bcos googlemaps having alliggnment error & certain roads already no longer there but they still traced it.  smile.gif

Malfreemaps based on contribution & lotsa new areas..are awaiting tracker/mappers to tracks & they do have lotsa volunteers there...inc me haha biggrin.gif
hahahahhaa dun cycle at night or you will inconvenience me again hahahahahahaa knnccb u

btw mfm is compiling for igo. stupid sunny is gonna be receiving his training soon. oh and i got hold of the new igo. they gave me 1 more unit to play with. manyak cantik. betul betul manyak cantik.
stimix
post Jul 13 2011, 10:34 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Ow...malfreemaps atlast going for IGO..My china made PND that runs on IGO really sxxks without a singl;e POIs...Too bad that Chinamade PND kaput liao..haizzz...

Now hopefully malfreemaps going for Sygic..this one lagi chun..lotsa 3D buidings....also if only ovimaps going for malfreemaps instead of teleatlas...I would hv ditch Garmin long time ago haha...The 2 bugs really killing my patient...papago - the search function really lowyah wan!
buntutwoman
post Jul 13 2011, 10:44 AM

182 posts

ovimaps sux from the beginning of time till now over here in m'sia/sg/indon/thai
between garmin and papago i still like garmin. only thing that kills my patience is the stuff i told u long long time ago about the poi searches.
for poi searches i still like papago's predictive and indexed tabs. fast. for browsing of poi's i'd still use garmin.

yea i saw sygic. not really fantastic yet but they are heavily improving. next time we yam cha i show u igo primo's latest tech. got hold of it not too long ago.

stimix
post Jul 13 2011, 11:15 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Hmnnn yeahkah on papago search? But my waifu papago X5 searcjing a POI so susah wan..Not like my Garmin wor..

Wondering anything about Tom-tom on malfreemaps..You expert on Tom-tom us should fight to get OngCC and Sunn negotiate wth them mah haha..now they already have it for Galactio...Dun see this galactio available in m'sia wor
stimix
post Jul 13 2011, 11:56 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Garmin do not hv any app for android lah. They do hv for balckberry & Apple but only for US version.

Tom-tom tarak.
SUSOptiplex330
post Jul 13 2011, 12:11 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(buntutwoman @ Jul 13 2011, 10:44 AM)
ovimaps sux from the beginning of time till now over here in m'sia/sg/indon/thai
between garmin and papago i still like garmin. only thing that kills my patience is the stuff i told u long long time ago about the poi searches.
for poi searches i still like papago's predictive and indexed tabs. fast. for browsing of poi's i'd still use garmin.

yea i saw sygic. not really fantastic yet but they are heavily improving. next time we yam cha i show u igo primo's latest tech. got hold of it not too long ago.
I lot of people says that and may be the older version suck but definitely not the newer version OVI 3.04.

Having heard so many great things about Garmin and how lousy is OVI, I decided to try both out and I can tell you for sure Garmin's voice navigation is no where as good as OVI. So if OVI suck, then Garmin super suck because it can be super dangerous by giving conflicting instruction or no instruction when you expected it to.

The No.1 problem with OVI is the maps, it does not have many POI comapred to Malfreemaps (honor should go to Malfreemaps and not to Garmin). OVI is now available on iPhone and Andriod and should OVI decided to let the community input POI, it will be very positive development for everybody.

buntutwoman
post Jul 13 2011, 12:36 PM

182 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jul 13 2011, 11:15 AM)
Hmnnn yeahkah on papago search? But my waifu papago X5 searcjing a POI so susah wan..Not like my Garmin wor..

Wondering anything about Tom-tom on malfreemaps..You expert on Tom-tom us should fight to get OngCC and Sunn negotiate wth them mah haha..now they already have it for Galactio...Dun see this galactio available in m'sia wor
lu mia china pnd lagi ah ? haih dowan fight fight with ongcc and sunn. malas oredi. i drove up to ipoh the other day and met up with ccwong. had teh with him. chit chat chit chat. then ask him for galactio unit lemme look see look see. manatau he dun hap. haih.
anyway let you try igo first. this time around i quite impressed liao. but got 10000 functions that i dont need.

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jul 13 2011, 12:11 PM)
I lot of people says that and may be the older version suck but definitely not the newer version OVI 3.04.

Having heard so many great things about Garmin and how lousy is OVI, I decided to try both out and I can tell you for sure Garmin's voice navigation is no where as good as OVI. So if OVI suck, then Garmin super suck because it can be super dangerous by giving conflicting instruction or no instruction when you expected it to.

The No.1 problem with OVI is the maps, it does not have many POI comapred to Malfreemaps (honor should go to Malfreemaps and not to Garmin). OVI is now available on iPhone and Andriod and should OVI decided to let the community input POI, it will be very positive development for everybody.
no, its mainly user problem when you relate it that way.
voice navigation should provide clear cut instructions, and when in doubt , go for visual confirmation. usually seasoned veterans do both as the guidance to the next turn and the turn after that is needed. you as a newbie should begin that principle and understanding it.
this problem is easily rectified if the retailer or the seller guides the person who made the purchase. Not many are capable and professional. They just sell without providing proper usage instructions.

and Ovi maps i have to say again, is lousy. Whether last time or now it is still lousy to me. What was rubbish for SEA is still lousy for SEA now.

as far as voice navigation goes, the clear cut instructions are handed down perfectly well by all. it is how the user interprets it. I personally love tomtom as i'm very used to it. Some find papago annoying and long winded, some love the clear cut instructions from it. At the end of the day, is whether the user can interpret it or not and how fast.

If POI's are your major concern then it shows how much of a newbie you are. So listen to me and listen to me well. the purpose of a navigational unit is to bring you there. Without POI's you can still do a search using road names. It's not difficult to use your eyes to lookout for where the specific shop or place you are looking for is; on that road. The main purpose of POI is to guide and plot for necessary centres such as police stations, clinics and banks and other important locations.

The most important factor in getting a good map, is the routing. How it routes you, is the #1 factor that determines and makes a good map. No point of buying something that routes you and forces you to go on the opposite direction of a 1 way street now is it ?
As an ex-mapper of MFM , i will gladly tell you that the strength of MFM is in its routing system, NOT the number of POI's it has. That would be secondary.

SUSOptiplex330
post Jul 13 2011, 01:07 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(buntutwoman @ Jul 13 2011, 12:36 PM)
voice navigation should provide clear cut instructions, and when in doubt , go for visual confirmation. usually seasoned veterans do both as the guidance to the next turn and the turn after that is needed. you as a newbie should begin that principle and understanding it.
this problem is easily rectified if the retailer or the seller guides the person who made the purchase. Not many are capable and professional. They just sell without providing proper usage instructions.

and Ovi maps i have to say again, is lousy. Whether last time or now it is still lousy to me. What was rubbish for SEA is still lousy for SEA now.

as far as voice navigation goes, the clear cut instructions are handed down perfectly well by all. it is how the user interprets it. I personally love tomtom as i'm very used to it. Some find papago annoying and long winded, some love the clear cut instructions from it. At the end of the day, is whether the user can interpret it or not and how fast.

If POI's are your major concern then it shows how much of a newbie you are. So listen to me and listen to me well. the purpose of a navigational unit is to bring you there. Without POI's you can still do a search using road names. It's not difficult to use your eyes to lookout for where the specific shop or place you are looking for is; on that road. The main purpose of POI is to guide and plot for necessary centres such as police stations, clinics and banks and other important locations.

The most important factor in getting a good map, is the routing. How it routes you, is the #1 factor that determines and makes a good map. No point of buying something that routes you and forces you to go on the opposite direction of a 1 way street now is it ?
As an ex-mapper of MFM , i will gladly tell you that the strength of MFM is in its routing system, NOT the number of POI's it has. That would be secondary.
You may like to reinvent the wheel but normal people don't so listen to me well. While we can indeed find the coordinates by doing some research on the Internet before leaving home, it is far easier if those POI are already in the map because otherwise, it would not be called "Point of Interest", would it? And for tourist like me, Point of Interest means famous sightseeing landmark and nice restaurant, not finding police station and clinic like you do.

As for voice instruction, you acknowlege it should be clear cut so stop making excuses to defend Garmin when it doesn't. Now tell me, how do you interprete "Left" and a mere second later (not 5 seconds later), "turn Right" sounded to you on a multi lane road? Furthermore, the turn is a mere 20+meters away making taking immediate action dangerous. This is clearly a instruction problem and not a interpretation problem. Visual and audio works hand in hand in navigation. To take eyes off the road is dangerous. Do you actually drive a car?

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Jul 13 2011, 01:32 PM
buntutwoman
post Jul 13 2011, 01:49 PM

182 posts

point of interests. NOT the points of YOUR interests.

and like is said, this is all user problem so it is your problem.

If you think there is an issue with voice guidance via MFM maps, do lodge a report for that particular section with co-ordinates provided and a brief explanation to your encounter. Your issue will be considered and sent for verification and resolve as best as they can.

I have no idea which section you are talking about and since stimix is here you can report to him on that section. Just give him the co-ordinates to your encounter.

And again i will repeat to you on the same matter. A seasoned user will rely on audio interpretation first and then use visual for confirmation. Doing both together is unadvisable.

You say visual and audio works hand in hand, yet you say taking your eyes off the road is dangerous. So what message are you trying to relay to me ? Is it the fact that we have to see and hear the gps ? or the fact that we should just hear and not see as per your 2nd statement ? You are confused and you are confusing me.

And no, i do not drive a car. But i can bet you my bike is a lot more expensive than your car.
stimix
post Jul 13 2011, 02:33 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Aigooo..war gonna start liao..haha..

Anyway, irregardless of whatever navigators which have their own pros & cons, The most important thing is the routing, the most updated maps & also POIs (Yeah important to me too..This one I wanna tembak buntut saying not important)

If only ovimaps able to use or years back decided to use malfreemaps instead of teleatlas..I also already stop using Garmin liao haha..Imagine nice voice, much better routing & more updated roads & POIs in ovimaps - That will be great...Too bad they decided otherwise & now more & more commercial navigator wanna use malfreemaps liao..like the mio/IGO navigator or the existing Galactio, papago & Garmin
buntutwoman
post Jul 13 2011, 02:43 PM

182 posts

haih, my main job last time is to ________. u think i dunno meh. problem u encountered i also encountered but much much worse mia. if i not mistaken ahmun cleared your backlog for you. but then he passed me his backlog. which i'm sure got some of yours i think.

and then it all went downhill from there coz more and more poi and less and less categories to put it in. during my time i alone 1 hero and i am the only person who makan up 22 customed categories. ahmun only use 2 i think. ant also use a few. but i use 22 u say leh. let em $#$#!@#$! me kau kau summore.

anyway no war la. i retired and not gonna waste time with newbie. these newbies can all go join the ranks of aspire and xploit and whats the other funny fella also i forgot liao.

all pandai talk but dunno nothing.

SUSOptiplex330
post Jul 13 2011, 02:50 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(buntutwoman @ Jul 13 2011, 01:49 PM)
point of interests. NOT the points of YOUR interests.

and like is said, this is all user problem so it is your problem.

If you think there is an issue with voice guidance via MFM maps, do lodge a report for that particular section with co-ordinates provided and a brief explanation to your encounter. Your issue will be considered and sent for verification and resolve as best as they can.

I have no idea which section you are talking about and since stimix is here you can report to him on that section. Just give him the co-ordinates to your encounter.

And again i will repeat to you on the same matter. A seasoned user will rely on audio interpretation first and then use visual for confirmation. Doing both together is unadvisable.

You say visual and audio works hand in hand, yet you say taking your eyes off the road is dangerous. So what message are you trying to relay to me ? Is it the fact that we have to see and hear the gps ? or the fact that we should just hear and not see as per your 2nd statement ? You are confused and you are confusing me.

And no, i do not drive a car. But i can bet you my bike is a lot more expensive than your car.
I don't care what is your interest. I only care about what the general public interest is, hence the word "Point of Interest" and why I uses it.

The Malfreemaps looks fine to me. It has the road correctly shown on the map so stop dragging those mapper into it. My limited knowledge seems to indicate it is the navigation software (Garmin) being the problem and not the map. Point is, voice navigation should be correct and you are merely finding indefensible excuse as to why it doesn't have to be correct (because you should also see map to verify).

A responsible driver will get a co-driver to look at the map but I bet you don't know what the word "co-driver" and "responsible' mean. People like you are a menace to other drivers.

stimix
post Jul 13 2011, 02:53 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

I also semi retire liao there...Only cycle once in blue moon to collect tracklogs haha..That also few mths once..not as active like last time..

Haha...damn you making feel guilty for not updating those outstanding contributed POIs... Nowadays, getting more POIS sy..damn crowded and even Ah Cong, Ali & Muthu sdn Bhd also in the maps....Will be very difficult to maintain esp those co/restaurant chaplap....

BTW, Oldboy Bdr Puteri chaplap liao..no more Teh si special liao

QUOTE(buntutwoman @ Jul 13 2011, 02:43 PM)
haih, my main job last time is to ________. u think i dunno meh. problem u encountered i also encountered but much much worse mia. if i not mistaken ahmun cleared your backlog for you. but then he passed me his backlog. which i'm sure got some of yours i think.

and then it all went downhill from there coz more and more poi and less and less categories to put it in. during my time i alone 1 hero and i am the only person who makan up 22 customed categories. ahmun only use 2 i think. ant also use a few. but i use 22 u say leh. let em $#$#!@#$! me kau kau summore.

anyway no war la. i retired and not gonna waste time with newbie. these newbies can all go join the ranks of aspire and xploit and whats the other funny fella also i forgot liao.

all pandai talk but dunno nothing.
This post has been edited by stimix: Jul 13 2011, 02:55 PM
buntutwoman
post Jul 13 2011, 02:58 PM

182 posts

wah finally chap lap liao. never mind la, still got plenty of places more.
alot of POI's is one good thing, the person who compiles that is in deepshit. this i know for a fact.
but sooner or later which i perceive is that you keep adding but no one takes it out. that's when you're left with a whole load of deepshit to clean. now got about close to 500k if i'm not mistaken.

Added on July 13, 2011, 3:07 pm
QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jul 13 2011, 02:50 PM)
I don't care what is your interest. I only care about what the general public interest is, hence the word "Point of Interest" and why I uses it.

The Malfreemaps looks fine to me. It has the road correctly shown on the map so stop dragging those mapper into it. My limited knowledge seems to indicate it is the navigation software (Garmin) being the problem and not the map. Point is, voice navigation should be correct and you are merely finding indefensible excuse as to why it doesn't have to be correct (because you should also see map to verify).

A responsible driver will get a co-driver to look at the map but I bet you don't know what the word "co-driver" and "responsible' mean. People like you are a menace to other drivers.
no idea what tokking u, go play far far ok ?

1st you said point of interests.
then i say yes, but not points of YOUR interests.
then you say poi's are like restaurants and not police station or clinics.
now u cakap balik saya ? say u dont care of my interest and only care about general public's interest ????

polis stesen/hospital tu la yang general public's interest bodo !
your favourite dining restaurant is who's interest ??? to halal people or non halal people ? to vegetarians tak ?

lagi how do you determine best restaurant ? where to classify ? u see category in papago for halal or vegetarian or not ? do u see it in garmin or igo or not ? do you see it in tomtom or not ? if not there how to put in ? classify under what ?

bodo punya orang, pigila tengok baik baik dulu sebelum buka mulut yer

This post has been edited by buntutwoman: Jul 13 2011, 03:07 PM
SUSOptiplex330
post Jul 13 2011, 03:08 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jul 13 2011, 02:53 PM)
I also semi retire liao there...Only cycle once in blue moon to collect tracklogs haha..That also few mths once..not as active like last time..

Haha...damn you making feel guilty for not updating those outstanding contributed POIs... Nowadays, getting more POIS sy..damn crowded and even Ah Cong, Ali & Muthu sdn Bhd also in the maps....Will be very difficult to maintain esp those co/restaurant chaplap....

BTW, Oldboy Bdr Puteri chaplap liao..no more Teh si special liao
And too much POI is making the phone uncomfortably slow. Is there a way of deleting some of those POI in our phone's Malfreemaps and only leaving those we are interested in?

Or is there a way of downloading those POI onto our computer, do some deletion and then transfer it back to my phone's OVI?

Added on July 13, 2011, 3:10 pm
QUOTE(buntutwoman @ Jul 13 2011, 02:58 PM)
no idea what tokking u, go play far far ok ?
So kid, what are you going to do about it if I stay? Cry to mama? Get real...

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Jul 13 2011, 03:11 PM
buntutwoman
post Jul 13 2011, 03:27 PM

182 posts

no but i'll laugh at your every statement and keep calling you stupid.

deleting some poi's in mfm ..... hahahaha stupid betul. this kinda mentality where to find hahahaha.
summore leaving only those that he is interested in ........ hahahahaha.

Its called making your own map la idiot. I can do it and i have done it. But now can you ? No cause you're too stupid.

get real sendiri la hahahhaa bodohnye orang ini

bluffy83
post Jul 13 2011, 03:29 PM

481 posts

Roooot in hell Stupid~~~

Trolllllinnnngg tongue.gif

buntutwoman
post Jul 13 2011, 03:36 PM

182 posts

trolled and suksesful.

btw this is the realistic part to opti whatever's question.

cross platform does work if you know certain binaries. so assuming you want the poi's from mfm or msm or any other maps, you can copy them out to a certain extent. definitely not all. only some and a very selected some.

that's the easy part. the hard part is the insertion.
lazy man's way is to compile under customed groupings or if not alot, then my fav's folder.
the hard part is the insertion to map via indicators and those are just going to be fake indicators but still triggering as a marker.

13 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0247sec    0.77    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 05:22 AM