Garmin vs Papago

views

SUSOptiplex330
post Jul 2 2011, 08:28 PM

10k Club
12,696 posts

QUOTE(BboyDora @ Jul 2 2011, 06:25 PM)
tumpang thread..

After my research.. most GPS , I mean stand alone, the price is ranged from RM 370++ to RM 1000 ++..

wanna know is there any that below RM 300?

Noob here biggrin.gif
I have never used any standalone GPS but I can go everywhere I wanted to go with my phone GPS. So I reckon, the most cost effective way is to get a smartphone with big screen, get a in car charger and you are good to go. Furthermore, the smartphone can be your office on wheel running Office document, listen to music, watch movies, play games and oh....also make phone calls.

SUSOptiplex330
post Jul 4 2011, 08:06 AM

10k Club
12,696 posts

QUOTE(BboyDora @ Jul 3 2011, 03:21 PM)
Actually last time I used before phone + GPS... but not so responsive ( end up miss some turning and get lost). this is the reason I wish to get a GPS stand alone.

I`m currently using iphone 4 also but dunno which apps is good. any recommendation?
Is it due to:
1. Lousy map or out of date maps?
2. Slow in calculating routes?

SUSOptiplex330
post Jul 7 2011, 10:33 AM

10k Club
12,696 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Jul 7 2011, 10:25 AM)
What if your destination is not found in the map?  I've experienced it before.  Want to visit new property area, don't know how to go.  Searched Ovi Maps, blank area.  Google Maps, blank area.  Enter area name into Papago, BAM, it shows me the way.  This is a very important factor for me, because usually I use GPS for unplanned trips.  If planned, I have other sources like Internet, ask friends, use real maps, etc.

Tip:  don't use Papago to lock onto the GPS, use another software, then switch to Papago.  No problems every time.