QUOTE(Farlz_89 @ Jul 4 2011, 12:39 PM)
papago maps looks so ugly, aura is much prettier, plus it locks much faster than papago. this is my experienceGarmin vs Papago
Garmin vs Papago
Jul 4 2011, 03:29 PM
1,954 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
Jul 4 2011, 03:32 PM
919 posts Joined: Dec 2010 |
Jul 4 2011, 04:00 PM
6,113 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Pokey Oaks |
Jul 4 2011, 04:53 PM
328 posts Joined: Feb 2010 From: Wonderland |
for phone i choose aura faster lock than papago. heard that ovi is great but never use any nokia smart phone before. for navigator i think garmin better.
Jul 4 2011, 08:41 PM
Jul 5 2011, 12:36 PM
Jul 5 2011, 02:46 PM
Ok i will try it. TQ
Jul 5 2011, 04:30 PM
3,542 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Puchong, Selangor |
Don't only look for those Navigator but lack in Maps update-lah.
Some maps might hv better graphic & etc but when comes to POIs & new roads & etc..You can't even find inside the maps. Other than Garmin & Papago which having weekly & Monthly updates respectively from malfreemaps or malsingmaps (For Garmin wth Junction view), Other Navigators are really pain in the ass...Even Ovimaps..superior interm of UI & etc but lack in road & POIs.. Even the SKVE and LEKAS highways already in malfreemaps since last year still not updated in the latest Ovimaps, google maps & etc and BTW, for the latest LATAR expressway, even before opening, malfreemaps already updated the maps! |
Jul 5 2011, 04:44 PM
QUOTE(stimix @ Jul 5 2011, 04:30 PM) Don't only look for those Navigator but lack in Maps update-lah. OIC..if come like that better im stick with papago Some maps might hv better graphic & etc but when comes to POIs & new roads & etc..You can't even find inside the maps. Other than Garmin & Papago which having weekly & Monthly updates respectively from malfreemaps or malsingmaps (For Garmin wth Junction view), Other Navigators are really pain in the ass...Even Ovimaps..superior interm of UI & etc but lack in road & POIs.. Even the SKVE and LEKAS highways already in malfreemaps since last year still not updated in the latest Ovimaps, google maps & etc and BTW, for the latest LATAR expressway, even before opening, malfreemaps already updated the maps! |
Jul 5 2011, 04:49 PM
Yes pls stick for maps updates. Anyway, if you dun update yours also useless haha
For latest papago android maps (Dated 1/6/11) - (I think Jul should be out within this dfew days... http://www.malfreemaps.com/viewtopic.php?f=23&t=11008 Just follow screen instruction after DL but remember to choose papago X5 otherwise it will not work. Thereafter just copy the whole 31 files to your SD card under NaviSea>Maps>Malaysia folder QUOTE(Farlz_89 @ Jul 5 2011, 04:44 PM) |
Jul 5 2011, 05:37 PM
QUOTE(stimix @ Jul 5 2011, 04:49 PM) Yes pls stick for maps updates. Anyway, if you dun update yours also useless haha Oo..thanksFor latest papago android maps (Dated 1/6/11) - (I think Jul should be out within this dfew days... http://www.malfreemaps.com/viewtopic.php?f=23&t=11008 Just follow screen instruction after DL but remember to choose papago X5 otherwise it will not work. Thereafter just copy the whole 31 files to your SD card under NaviSea>Maps>Malaysia folder Btw currently im use this map http://www.mobilesmania.com/forum/topic/10...s-map-01032011/ Its that any different from map at link u given? Sorry for my bad english This post has been edited by Farlz_89: Jul 5 2011, 05:40 PM |
Jul 5 2011, 09:24 PM
same maps lah but outdated. MFM=malfreemaps. the link I given is direct from the original mapper themselve.
Anyway, the review on Sygic maps also featured in MFM site here: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1945731 Really impressive & as others mentioned much better UI & graphic than papago/Garmin..too bad as those users said- lack of maps updates & detail maps for Malaysia |
Jul 5 2011, 11:26 PM
QUOTE(stimix @ Jul 5 2011, 09:24 PM) same maps lah but outdated. MFM=malfreemaps. the link I given is direct from the original mapper themselve. Oic..thanks 4 your clarification Anyway, the review on Sygic maps also featured in MFM site here: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1945731 Really impressive & as others mentioned much better UI & graphic than papago/Garmin..too bad as those users said- lack of maps updates & detail maps for Malaysia Ya..the Sygic ui & graphic look really tempting..if always got update sure i will go with Sygic.. Thanks 4 your help |
Jul 6 2011, 12:12 AM
2,021 posts Joined: May 2009 From: Kℓαทg 吧生 |
Garmin better in searching place, papago better in routing
Jul 6 2011, 09:09 AM
QUOTE(stimix @ Jul 5 2011, 09:24 PM) same maps lah but outdated. MFM=malfreemaps. the link I given is direct from the original mapper themselve. lack of map updates doesn't effect the usability of this navi, i tried getting lost in some back roads inside a city before and it took me (using the shortest route) out of there, this navi is very accurate and effectiveAnyway, the review on Sygic maps also featured in MFM site here: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1945731 Really impressive & as others mentioned much better UI & graphic than papago/Garmin..too bad as those users said- lack of maps updates & detail maps for Malaysia This post has been edited by stormlcc: Jul 6 2011, 09:10 AM |
Jul 6 2011, 09:19 AM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
35,468 posts Joined: Oct 2006 |
Sorry sifu apple is apple. How good also if there is a road and now block it will still show you that route too. If there new road existence even there is a better or even shorter route your outdated map wont know
Jul 6 2011, 09:38 AM
QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Jul 6 2011, 09:19 AM) Sorry sifu apple is apple. How good also if there is a road and now block it will still show you that route too. If there new road existence even there is a better or even shorter route your outdated map wont know well it's better than papago that won't work on devices with low gps receiving like the desire HD. it takes forever to lock gps using papago, it takes about 5 seconds for aura. I'll take the long route any day because I'll actually REACH MY DESTINATION before the gps locks on papago, thank youplus, this is malaysia, they r ALWAYS blocking, fixing, changing roads, what's the point of updating the map when it will be outdated every week or so. What we need is an accurate navi that will get us out of a fix when we needed it the most, fast response to route changing and reliable. and aura has the most POIs (and very update too), this is what u needed most when u go to a place u don't know anything about. If u travel a lot u will agree with me on this This post has been edited by stormlcc: Jul 6 2011, 09:46 AM |
Jul 6 2011, 11:22 AM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
35,468 posts Joined: Oct 2006 |
Nvm sifu someday it happen to u then u understand u will understand how important is up to date map like garmin. Rushing and ure lost and it lead u in circle.
Jul 6 2011, 03:05 PM
Your arguement reminded me of another guy in Nokia N8 thread that mati-mati wanna protect the superiority of Ovimaps compare to Garmin
He even highlight the superiority of ovimaps routing but from my testing- Ovimaps routing is really bullshit An updated maps is way more important & so do the routing, POIs search & etc...I already in the GPS since early stage of GPS started in Malaysia...I was using the 1st batch of available maps by malsingmaps and that time so dissapointed that the whole of Puchong, only about 50% coverage. That's started my contribution and learning to contribute to the communities...Tnx god, by now, roads surrounding Puchong is updated in Garmin/papago malfreemaps weeks or even months before residents or highway completed BTW, comparing to those maps by sygic/Aura, they are just commercial based maps & not as detail & updated as those community based mapps....Give yopu an example...This area in Puchong Bdr Puteri, the new shop houses & also the new Section 6 has just been completed and the road in the shoplots only half tarmac-ted when I mapped it (Via MTB) on Sunday...Well, It will be updated./publish next Monday...just check how updated is malfreemaps... http://www.malfreemaps.com/viewtopic.php?p=154573#p154573 ![]() QUOTE(stormlcc @ Jul 6 2011, 09:38 AM) well it's better than papago that won't work on devices with low gps receiving like the desire HD. it takes forever to lock gps using papago, it takes about 5 seconds for aura. I'll take the long route any day because I'll actually REACH MY DESTINATION before the gps locks on papago, thank you plus, this is malaysia, they r ALWAYS blocking, fixing, changing roads, what's the point of updating the map when it will be outdated every week or so. What we need is an accurate navi that will get us out of a fix when we needed it the most, fast response to route changing and reliable. and aura has the most POIs (and very update too), this is what u needed most when u go to a place u don't know anything about. If u travel a lot u will agree with me on this |
Jul 6 2011, 03:14 PM
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « wow u so free to write so much stuff here, and who's protecting what now??? I'm not protecting Aura, it's just I've used both papago and Aura before, and it's my personal preference of using Aura, that's all This post has been edited by stormlcc: Jul 6 2011, 03:14 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0291sec
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 10:04 AM |