125 Pages « < 45 46 47 48 49 > » Bottom

Nokia N900 Thread V2, Firmware FR 1.2 is FINALLY OUT

Eiraku
post May 19 2010, 09:50 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(dasonyeoh @ May 19 2010, 08:25 AM)
wanna ask is there chinese "pinyin" available so that i can write chinese in the conversation??
There's MSCIM, which is actually native (as in it works seamlessly with the OS) but really quite problematic. You lose the VKB for one, and my fonts feel funny now after installing it.

But I HAVE TO SAY, it DID NOT cause the "APPLICATION ERROR" problems that I had earlier. Further research states that it was the Enhanced-Kernel, version 28, that screwed up my system to the point to reflashing. Aisehman.

*DISCLAIMER* I AM NOT LIABLE FOR ANY DAMAGES DONE WITH THE STEPS BELOW. Always backup, and always prepare reflashing tools in advance. You never know what can happen. What to do, THIIIIIIIIIIS IIIIIIIIIIIS LIIIIIIIIINUX!

How to use MSCIM (if you don't mind losing your VKB and other nice stuff):

1. Enable extras-devel.
2. Download the MSCIM, MSCIM Tables Module, the appropriate MSCIM table for your language (chinese-pinyin), and the Symbols table (needed as it disables CTRL+FN).
3. Check the MSCIM configuration in settings.
4. Restart.
5. ...
6. Profit. Press CTRL+SPACE anywhere to switch input language and start typing.

Difficulty of procedures: VERY easy, at least compared to the one below. But MSCIM changes a LOT of system files AND disables inline word completion (and capital letters after period, the CTRL+FN Symbol list, etc etc), so I really don't know how safe it is in the long run.

Plus it makes your Phone app slightly buggy (as if it wasn't a problem to begin with).

Only other option is to install N900 Emacs, which is a SHIT POWER text editor that can do a number of wonderful things, including calls, SMS, web browsing AND MOST IMPORTANTLY text input in MANY different languages (CJK included).

Details on how to install HERE.

Summary for Emacs install:

1. Download the given debs.
2. Make sure you have rootsh installed from extras-devel.
3. Install using terminal (paste the given codes enough)
4. Install TTF-Droid font package
5. Remap your keyboard to include the keys ESC, / and TAB (a bit hard, but doable).
6. Create an .emacs file in /home/user/ , paste the required things in.
7. ...
8. Profit. Use Emacs for Chinese input, cut, paste into conversations, send.

Difficulty of procedures: slightly on the high side. A LOT of manual config file editing in steps 5-6, and even some MANUAL COMPILING if you wish to go further (web browsing, sms, calling) with Emacs. But you can do a heck of a lot more in Emacs then just MSCIM.

Also you touch less system files (only keyboard mapping - which ALSO replaces the euro sign and the pound sign with | and ~, much needed in programming/modding), which means more stability in the long run. Plus you get to keep the VKB, CTRL+FN Symbols table and inline world completion.

In short:

If you NEED easy Chinese input, BUT don't want the bugs, wait for a stable version of MSCIM.

If you REALLY NEED Chinese input. backup regularly and don't mind bugs, install the current MSCIM.

If you're an advanced user, just go play with Emacs edi.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: May 19 2010, 10:07 AM
dasonyeoh
post May 19 2010, 10:03 AM

282 posts

wow.... never thought there is so much procedure for it....lolx...BTW thanks a lot Eiraku for the comprehensive sharing...

I dont know is it worth to do these setting as i seldom use chinese. Only uses chinese character once in a blue moon.. Scared it will affect my normal usage
kfthoo
post May 19 2010, 10:36 AM

410 posts

just curious, how come the hong kong and taiwan model can have stable chinese input? is it really pr1.2 or nokia just install some input module into the phone.... blink.gif
ccgenius
post May 19 2010, 11:03 AM

1,349 posts

QUOTE(.:BreT:. @ May 19 2010, 12:17 AM)
guys, any of u got problem after installing the sygic? my media player now listed those default ringtone as well... -.-"
well, i experiencing this also, i m afraid of moving the file to other folder and also scare if i make it hidden, the navigation wont work o.o
mayb i can try..

Added on May 19, 2010, 11:21 amanyone know how to extract the flash file from web? so that i can play it in n900?

This post has been edited by ccgenius: May 19 2010, 11:21 AM
Eiraku
post May 19 2010, 11:45 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(kfthoo @ May 19 2010, 10:36 AM)
just curious, how come the hong kong and taiwan model can have stable chinese input? is it really pr1.2 or nokia just install some input module into the phone....  blink.gif
Is it actually stable? I'm partial to thinking someone just repackaged MSCIM to be less buggy (but no more stable). If it IS stable somebody should port it over already, I can hack it to run Japanese input.

QUOTE(ccgenius @ May 19 2010, 11:03 AM)

Added on May 19, 2010, 11:21 amanyone know how to extract the flash file from web? so that i can play it in n900?
Try FlashLauncher, it's in devel IINM. PR1.1.1 needs the experimental one.
ccgenius
post May 19 2010, 12:15 PM

1,349 posts

thanks eikaru smile.gif
QUOTE(.:BreT:. @ May 19 2010, 12:17 AM)
guys, any of u got problem after installing the sygic? my media player now listed those default ringtone as well... -.-"
i tried making it hidden, then the sygic wont work =.=

This post has been edited by ccgenius: May 19 2010, 12:21 PM
fai79ruz
post May 19 2010, 12:53 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ May 19 2010, 07:21 AM)
confirm your browser problem because its working fine here
Dear bro aspire,

what do you mean by browser problem? actually what i try to say is i able to open the website but it said nothing to be download. do i need to find it where is the application myself like searching from this both website rapidshare or megaupload? (sorry wrong info earlier)
meLi
post May 19 2010, 12:56 PM

674 posts

aspire2oo6

do u have like this case. Rubberized and this color.

TQ
nicholas_oh
post May 19 2010, 12:59 PM

180 posts

yaya... aspire.. do u have rubberized than crystal case ??? xD we like this so much xD

TQ
jloi
post May 19 2010, 01:08 PM

SHIN-EVOLTO
3,989 posts

QUOTE(meLi @ May 19 2010, 12:56 PM)
aspire2oo6

TQ
i also wan..get annoyed wif my leather case adi XP
juven69
post May 19 2010, 01:20 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(meLi @ May 19 2010, 12:56 PM)
aspire2oo6

TQ
i want it oso drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif
ccgenius
post May 19 2010, 01:30 PM

1,349 posts

ya that case is nice o.o
.:BreT:.
post May 19 2010, 01:47 PM

wTf~~~! |'m a NerD!!?
1,302 posts

but that casing add extra bulkiness.... sad.gif
kinfei
post May 19 2010, 01:50 PM

ENDLESS RAIN
1,109 posts

im willing to trade the freebies with a kiss from the event girl drool.gif
Eiraku
post May 19 2010, 01:56 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

Trying out the Rubberized case from MugenDC (the Epikcase guy), should be here this weekend or next week.

If it's any good I can try start bulk. Asked about the resin case, no go he says, not yet.
Cannibal
post May 19 2010, 01:59 PM

287 posts

fit or not? or loose loose one
kfthoo
post May 19 2010, 02:19 PM

410 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ May 19 2010, 09:50 AM)
Summary for Emacs install:

1. Download the given debs.
2. Make sure you have rootsh installed from extras-devel.
3. Install using terminal (paste the given codes enough)
4. Install TTF-Droid font package
5. Remap your keyboard to include the keys ESC, / and TAB (a bit hard, but doable).
6. Create an .emacs file in /home/user/ , paste the required things in.

7.  ...
8. Profit. Use Emacs for Chinese input, cut, paste into conversations, send.

hi...eiraku, i've follow ur steps but dunno how to remap the keyboard... the command wget http://sumoudou....rx-51.qole how to use?? when key in using the x terminal...it says sh wget not found.

This post has been edited by kfthoo: May 19 2010, 02:22 PM
firstknight
post May 19 2010, 02:24 PM

2,681 posts

price update.

2k in pavilion.... good price i say....
RViN
post May 19 2010, 02:25 PM

There Is Only One United
5,827 posts

QUOTE(ccgenius @ May 19 2010, 12:15 PM)
thanks eikaru smile.gif
i tried making it hidden, then the sygic wont work =.=
You can make it so the tracker doesnt index the folder. You will need to edit the tracker.cgf file. It is pretty explanatory
kaoru
post May 19 2010, 02:29 PM

353 posts

QUOTE(juven69 @ May 19 2010, 01:20 PM)
i want it oso  drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif
I want it as well

125 Pages « < 45 46 47 48 49 > » Top

0.0318sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled