16 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Photography Micro Four Thirds (m43) User Thread V2, Panasonic G/GH/GFx & Olympus E-P/E-PLx

SUSgogo2
post Jun 27 2010, 11:52 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(awyongcarl @ Jun 27 2010, 11:33 PM)
Well, RAW also same bah unless noise reduction is applied.
I'm shooting on JPEG, the noise is quite obvious - -"
I guess, can't compare it to a APS-H >.<

That said, provided if light is sufficient, it's pretty fine.

60; F8; 400ISO

Same setting, but ugghh look at the noise = =
can you try disable Shadow Adjustment Technology (SAT)?
the gradation? I scared it trying to lift up dark area for you...with high ISO than 400
eventhough u select 400 only...

--> meaning change gradation to Normal..

This post has been edited by gogo2: Jun 27 2010, 11:54 PM
SUSgogo2
post Jun 28 2010, 12:25 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(awyongcarl @ Jun 28 2010, 12:14 AM)
I'm on normal for gradation :/
Default. Which I don't know what LOL.
Anyway, made a short blog post.
Please have a look smile.gif
http://kuzuryu.wordpress.com/2010/06/28/ep...ring-14-kosmos/
increase noise reduction haha...

when u said, some people accept such noise, I think I might accept it... because I'm using m43 as casual
shooting... hehe..
SUSgogo2
post Jun 28 2010, 09:22 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(obee @ Jun 28 2010, 09:00 AM)
SS2 night market? ph34r.gif

it seems shooting under dark/low light condition is a problem for every m4/3 owner sweat.gif

do you guys always jump into post processing or stick with the image taken? E-PL1 has in-camera editing IINM.
since most of us using m43 for non-pro reason, normally we just stick with it.. but I see mostly GF1 user will post process.. brows.gif

But what is the use of m43 is its not usable in low light? to me, it is still usable compare to compact... smile.gif
SUSgogo2
post Jun 28 2010, 12:02 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(kimi @ Jun 28 2010, 10:54 AM)
anyone can share some tips for noobies on taking videos with epl1 and 20mm - i experienced the epl1 with kit lens constantly trying to focus when subject move or panning - got lot of blurs

thx
you can't really take video with C-AF on... try to lock on focus.... disable AF... and start the video... then
use manual focus...

No one really use C-AF for video taking...

unless of course, u're using GH1 with G VARIO 14-140mm lens which is more specialize video lens...

but really, use Manual focus...it save your headache....
SUSgogo2
post Jun 28 2010, 02:33 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(kimi @ Jun 28 2010, 02:18 PM)
ok for video good to assign one of the fn button to on-off AF

thx
no problem..haha, have fun shooting video...
SUSgogo2
post Jun 28 2010, 03:49 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(kari_convention @ Jun 28 2010, 03:46 PM)
Hye guys..

Went for EPL-1 hunting yesterday at MidValley. Went to 2 shops, one is FOTOKEM & another one is Olympus Store (same level).

Well, actually now Olympus got some promotion until 15th July where if u buy a camera u get 1 or 2 free gifts or can buy accessories in cheaper price.

The salesman offer me:

1) EPL-1+kit lense+everything inside the box (d'uh)
2) this:
3) 3 years warranty (normal is 1 year)
4) 8GB hi-speed SD card

Price: RM2599

What do u guys think? And how much is 20mm pancake lens that can fit EPL-1 without using adapter?

Sorry if my question is noob, I AM A NOOB! biggrin.gif
Deal not too shabby...

1) RM2200
2) RM100
3) RM100
4) RM100
= RM2500.. ok ok lo the price...

About the pancake, u dun need to use adapter. Its RM1350 or lower by the way....
SUSgogo2
post Jun 28 2010, 04:18 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(kimi @ Jun 28 2010, 02:18 PM)
ok for video good to assign one of the fn button to on-off AF

thx
by the way, try another thing, increase your aperture to bigger aperture.. like >f8... see if it try to refocus or not...
SUSgogo2
post Jun 28 2010, 05:41 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(frequency @ Jun 28 2010, 05:27 PM)
wow the price seems dropped lot sad.gif
camera price always drop... and I think sometimes... some shop is much much cheaper...
SUSgogo2
post Jun 29 2010, 10:24 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(frequency @ Jun 29 2010, 10:10 AM)
Panny 20mm + E-PL1 (food test)

Exposure:  0.077 sec (1/13)
Aperture:          f/4.0
Focal Length:  20 mm
ISO Speed:  800

Sacrifice ISO bit since no much light blink.gif

edit with picasa for saturation
oo0oo.. yummy... nice food pics...
SUSgogo2
post Jun 29 2010, 10:44 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(jacklsw86 @ Jun 29 2010, 10:41 AM)
you can also set bigger aperture (set lower f-stop) to allow more light to expose. but need to be more steady holding the cam lo tongue.gif
sometimes, we need to have smaller aperture to capture more things...hehe... else, DOF too thin will lose all the nearby details..
SUSgogo2
post Jun 29 2010, 02:33 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(kevafk @ Jun 29 2010, 02:15 PM)
I got my e-pl1 for RM2650 and whats come with it :-

1. E-PL1 + dual kit lens *available in black only sad.gif*
2. 2x 8gb memory card
3. Tri-pod
4. Chapalang UV filter, which i threw it away *for temporary ok lars*
5. Screen protector *by default should comes with it, changed with better ones after*
6. 1 year warranty (optional to extend)
7. Olympus bag

I wish it was abit better like.. 16gb single card, better UV filter, extra battery and other color options :/

Oh and im planning to get an EVF over panny 20mm first.. since i have 2 lens to play with, any opinion? and E-PL1's lcd kinda pixel-ish compare with GF1, really  like the GF1's lcd :/
To me, 8gb x 2 is better because if 1 card corrupt,
still got another card. Which class you get? Normally people get Class 6 for better video taking performance.

I support you get EVF for outdoor shooting... if shooting indoor mostly, 20mm is better choice...
SUSgogo2
post Jun 29 2010, 03:57 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(masahito @ Jun 29 2010, 03:22 PM)
so i have gr3.

i want to upgrade to m4/3 and have a 2nd camera.

size not too big. because im not a dslr faggot.
i prefer body only coz i want to put m-mount lens

suggest me
e-pl1 with single lens for RM2200.
You can sell the single lens later.

You need Olympus because Olympus will stabilize all your m-mount lens....

SUSgogo2
post Jun 29 2010, 08:18 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(faidz85 @ Jun 29 2010, 06:00 PM)
RM80? Why not do us a favour and help us who wants to get that case? xD

@ frequency how much do you plan on selling the lens?
he want to buy the lens and the adapter... not selling tongue.gif

QUOTE(masahito @ Jun 29 2010, 08:15 PM)
why epl1 instead of ep1 and ep2?
because its cheap, have flash, smaller, better jpeg output, etc....
really worth it...
SUSgogo2
post Jun 29 2010, 11:43 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(frequency @ Jun 29 2010, 08:53 PM)
When rainbow meets the sunset....

sweat.gif not managed to try a different setting, it faded away =(...wasted the good scene..
not bad... thanks for posting....need more pics..haha

QUOTE(masahito @ Jun 29 2010, 09:36 PM)
epl1 looks ugly, maybe i go with ep1
e-p1 looks very retro... I got White E-P1.... some people said silver is more retro... go and get it now smile.gif

QUOTE(faidz85 @ Jun 29 2010, 09:53 PM)
Better get E-P2 then. You might need the VF-2 in the future if you are planning on using legacy lenses.
Yeah, I have to agree. E-P2 is better if need VF-2 or other accesories might use the port...

QUOTE(kevafk @ Jun 29 2010, 10:03 PM)
EP-2 or EP-1 definitely have alot of things to play with.. like leatherettes, nice leather half case etc.. unlike E-PL1 but i like e-pl1 because has better grip, lighter and cheaper tongue.gif so.. if you got the money go for EP-2 instead smile.gif
to me, e-pl1 really bridge the compact and dSLR.... its cheap, small and have flash...
SUSgogo2
post Jun 30 2010, 11:09 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Jun 30 2010, 10:42 AM)
Silver E-P2 la best ... eventhough I've succumbed to the darkside.. still lust for a E-P2 sad.gif
which darkside you go? NEX? haha
SUSgogo2
post Jun 30 2010, 01:48 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Jun 30 2010, 01:32 PM)
DSLR la.... NEX side is ghey side tongue.gif
Remember I ask you to get dSLR? No regret right?
SUSgogo2
post Jun 30 2010, 03:09 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Jun 30 2010, 01:52 PM)
No regret... if I bankrupt myself from buying lenses and then terjun building... I come back to haunt you ok? tongue.gif
Kakakakkaka
hahaha.. okok.. .I wait for you.... remember to PM me for address before u terjun...
SUSgogo2
post Jun 30 2010, 08:19 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(jacklsw86 @ Jun 30 2010, 07:01 PM)
apparently the facebook lumix club has been bombarded by the fans due to their biased judging on the photography contest. http://www.facebook.com/mylumixclub
wah... a lot of people butt hurted there...
SUSgogo2
post Jul 1 2010, 11:34 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(Vieri777 @ Jul 1 2010, 10:46 AM)
Hi all,
okay i just bought an EPL1 with 2 kit lens..the 14-42 and the 40-150mm
still undecided whether to get GF1 or EPL1, and there is no clear conclusive winner in any battle between these 2. if got please paste the link here cos i havent found one. hehe

the shop was kind enough to let me play for a couple of days n allow me to change to GF1 is i wanted to.

So, my question, if i trade in one of the lens for the panny pancake, tht would be an awesome pairing....yes/no ?
Which kit lens should i trade, the 14-42 or the 40-150 ?
fyi, my usage is more family snaps, holidays with some landscapes.
p/s: not a serious photographer here..................yet. heheheh
Family snaps + landscape = 14-42mm
Indoor family snaps = panny pancake

So... of course u need to trade in 40-150mm... no need to think at all...

BY the way, using 20mm f/1.7, the winner to me is E-PL1 because 20mm will be stabilized by E-PL1.... .....
but that's just me...

This post has been edited by gogo2: Jul 1 2010, 11:35 AM
SUSgogo2
post Jul 1 2010, 11:36 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(joeong @ Jul 1 2010, 11:34 AM)
im using a gf1 with 20mm pancake.
i read about 15+ reviews and the gf1 won about 10 of them(very slim, comes down to personal preference). but due to affordability of lenses,
even after good reviews on the gf1, most still get the epl1. due to OIS, and better ISO, they just have to be a leeeetle bit more patient with the autofocus especially at night.
also after the EPL1's firmware upgrade its autofocus is now much faster and more tolerable....
if u plus the panasonic lens, the 20mm gets OIS which is friggin fabulous too...
so even tho i love the gf1 to death, i think the epl1 is a smarter alternative now!
(im noob so read up more by yourself and wait for more sifus to comment haha)
this win all I think... but that's what I think only... GF1 user might think otherwise.... any other GF1 user want to comment?

16 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0468sec    0.74    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 05:13 PM