5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Model Kits/Toys Painting, Building, Modding Thread, v3

amduser
post Jun 28 2011, 06:53 PM

5,542 posts

want to ask, how to remove the top coat? let's say i sprayed some part with top coat but it is too think until it appear whitish color, so i want to remove the top coat and spray again, how?
amduser
post Jun 28 2011, 07:34 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Jun 28 2011, 07:01 PM)
the only way i know is to sand it down
i dunno use chemicals, eg thinner or Mr. Paint Remover works or not  hmm.gif
if sand it down then will have scratches on the kit, if paint with top coat again wont it look bad? hmm.gif

QUOTE(nazrul90 @ Jun 28 2011, 07:09 PM)
i use gundam eraser marker pen
it works
if the top coat is thin then maybe, but if thick you will need a lot of marker remover
amduser
post Jun 29 2011, 01:15 AM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(shauno @ Jun 29 2011, 12:52 AM)
whitish night be due to frosting. easiest thing to do is to 'bathe' it in modelling thinner. sanding also works, but make sure you go up to a high grit to avoid having any scratches. people will normally go from 600 -> 1000 -> 2000 wetsand.
i only got leveling thinner and 1200 grit sandpaper

what's the difference between leveling thinner and modeling thinner anyway? some say it is the same, the only difference is modelling thinner dry faster than modelling thinner hmm.gif

amduser
post Jun 30 2011, 09:51 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(shauno @ Jun 29 2011, 08:49 AM)
leveling thinner has retarder in it as well, so if you wanna do handpainting, you no need to add retarder. so, it doesn't make the thinner dry slower, but makes the paint dry slower.

get different grits of sandpaper. my advice is, lower grits like 500 or 600 can get from hardware, but 2000 should get tamiya's
why want to make paint dry slower? to get better consistency of color tone across the kit?

how much did a spray can cost in normal hardware store?
amduser
post Jun 30 2011, 10:15 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(mf_yamato @ Jun 30 2011, 09:57 PM)
for the 2nd question the answer is between 7-15rm
price differ according color....heheheh
so what kind of color is more expensive? is there a choice between small, medium and big can?

i wonder if there is any shinny/chrome gold paint to make my strike freedom inner frame shine like gold plated tongue.gif
amduser
post Jun 30 2011, 10:28 PM

5,542 posts

if 400ml cannot use finish, feel like a bit wasted

how is flourescent color look like?
amduser
post Jul 2 2011, 09:12 AM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(mf_yamato @ Jun 30 2011, 10:33 PM)
you can see it here...
http://www.samuraipaint.jp/index.php?page=products

u can try sparkling gold to have shiny gold..huhuhu
like the my thruster....but in gold
i wonder if ace hardware got sell the paint hmm.gif

QUOTE(shauno @ Jul 1 2011, 12:01 AM)
if you handpaint, the paint simply dries too quickly thus leaving brush strokes. that's why you need the paint to dry slower to avoid the brush strokes. for AB, there is also a reason why leveling thinner is better, but i forgot why liao.
ic...

so normally if hand painted, then we will paint the color first before do the panel lining using gundam marker?

QUOTE(lawliet88 @ Jul 1 2011, 02:19 AM)
flourescent spray can color somewhat look like the color from highlighter pen.
and texture is more flat than normal flat spray..

thats my 'result' after use dpi/anchor fluorescent blue.

*note tat final color might vary depends on ur plastic base color
the color look kind of weird to me rclxub.gif

let's say i want to color the inner frame with spray can, is it okay to use only masking tape to cover the armor part with take out? i too lazy to take out the wing of MG strike freedom, so much work shakehead.gif
amduser
post Jul 2 2011, 11:21 AM

5,542 posts

i see....later will try to find it in ace hardware, then head to time square for the tamiya premium cutter

i wonder which shop give cheaper price for the cutter hmm.gif
amduser
post Jul 2 2011, 06:00 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(lawliet88 @ Jul 2 2011, 04:04 PM)
as i noe ace hardware dun hav samurai spray  smile.gif
but nearby my house no bike shop sad.gif

QUOTE(Tiger I @ Jul 2 2011, 05:01 PM)
Graffiti Toys are selling premium cutter at RM96 each
ic...
amduser
post Jul 3 2011, 09:31 PM

5,542 posts

SF wing is not black color actually, but dark blue

but spray both black or dark blue also can la tongue.gif

i want to touch up then better use dark blue marker another method is to use your current black marker to cover the nub, then use thinner + tissue to rub it off then paint again, repeat the process until you see just nice

before doing all this step, use cutting knife or small piece of sandpaper to smoother the surface

to be honest, mine is even worst than yours tongue.gif but now i painted it with gloss top coat and the nub are not visible, but it still visible under bright light
amduser
post Jul 4 2011, 01:40 AM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(daydreaming @ Jul 3 2011, 09:40 PM)
i think i need to get black gundam marker instead of the normal permanent black =_= that 1...somehow very hard to clean it. and yeah, i know it's those very dark blue...not exactly black :T

so does the tamiya polishing compound helps? can make it looks glossy again ka?

i don wan paint / spray ler. trying to avoid....coz it might end up becoming a bigger mess for a beginner like me
i would recommend gundam paint marker, but that time i lazy use the paint marker, i just use my grey panel marker laugh.gif

get a gundam marker remover as well, it help a lot

not sure about those polishing product, never try before

amduser
post Jul 4 2011, 02:07 AM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(nazrul90 @ Jul 4 2011, 02:04 AM)
i suggest get a spray can and higher/lower grid sandpaper..
sand it with 600 grid and later higher grid which 1000 or 1200 grid.. but it will left a rough surface(obvious it is?)
take a spray can and spray it about 30 cm from kit(use sweep motion which leaves a smooth and thin surface)
if you want glossy effect get a can of clear spray(for example DPI Anchor clear)

hope this help you.. all item i mentioned can get in hardware shop
dont worry about it.. even i as beginner can do it, why you cannot too? icon_rolleyes.gif
you sand the whole kit before spray?
amduser
post Jul 4 2011, 08:43 AM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(nazrul90 @ Jul 4 2011, 02:10 AM)
oh yes, but i screwed coz got paint chipping
no primer to cover the kit sad.gif
rough surface also need primer?

QUOTE(daydreaming @ Jul 4 2011, 08:22 AM)
wah have to use spray? i stay in a condo...donno where to spray =_=

this is what i have in mind and not sure if it works.

1- now that i've filed it...i will get the higher grit sandpaper to sand it down

2- use gundam dark blue marker to paint n touch up. problem is, i asked the shop keeper...he refused to tell me which is the closest color ! so i might need to mix around black + default blue :T

3- once dry, use Tamiya polishing compound coarse and fine to make it glossy
ok, seriously, i m not sure if this works. thought of spraying it since only the wings part....but strike freedom wing is not that easy to spray. need masking tape bla bla bla. :| stress
the shopkeeper suppose to tell you which color is the gundam marker, else you can find the number and look for it, each color is represent by 5 number, for example, 059, 038 and so on...
amduser
post Jul 4 2011, 09:20 AM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(daydreaming @ Jul 4 2011, 09:08 AM)
ok ok, the shop keeper told me "coloring is up to u...it's a symbol of ur personality...bla bla bla"

until i geram "is this blue? if yes, i'll take it. "

for a beginner like me, i don even know the color code!

nvm, i will go check the booklet n see tongue.gif
verandah....my mum's flowers will wither and she will throw all my gundams out of the condo =_=
what he say is true actually tongue.gif

btw, where you buy the tools? i would recommend you to go to time square, nice shop and nice boss thumbup.gif

QUOTE(mf_yamato @ Jul 4 2011, 09:11 AM)
hehehe if like that u need to go downstairs la....but can spray take less time to dry...so not a problem to be in hot sunny day downstairs..hehehe
use hair dryer laugh.gif
amduser
post Jul 4 2011, 12:53 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(daydreaming @ Jul 4 2011, 09:31 AM)
i went to toys n hobbies i think, at e-curve, next to gamers hideout. smile.gif the price is quite ok for pj, and it's near my place.

actually i understand what he said.....but for a beginner, u should at least give some pointers la. telling me something so advanced n subjective, will make me blur only.

anyway, i will most likely use my panel line black gundam marker to touch up the wing, and use cotton bud or something to wipe it so that it looks tidier. then possibly polish it with the tamiya polish compound.

will try tat tonite. if really cannot save already, i'll have to think of a way to spray =_=
your situation same as mine, but no worry i guess, the SF wing have a lot of nub to begin with

Added on July 4, 2011, 1:03 pm
QUOTE(nazrul90 @ Jul 4 2011, 09:31 AM)
it will melt the plastic whistling.gif
dont switch to super hot la tongue.gif

This post has been edited by amduser: Jul 4 2011, 01:03 PM
amduser
post Jul 4 2011, 01:57 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(daydreaming @ Jul 4 2011, 01:45 PM)
midvalley is a hopeless place.

ACE Hardware's finest sandpaper is 320 =_=
Jusco staff donno if Jusco sells sandpaper

and XL Shop only has "fine" tamiya polishing compound.

omg...in the end i wasted my lunch time and could only get a brush !
sandpaper go outside hardware shop buy, i bought 1200 grit near my house there last time
amduser
post Jul 4 2011, 11:08 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(lawliet88 @ Jul 4 2011, 10:49 PM)
@daydreaming, my mg strike freedom(not burst mode) in progress as well, spray black ok ma  tongue.gif

wing parts and rail cannon (low reso with ipod camera  cry.gif )

try paint it pink instead tongue.gif

amduser
post Jul 6 2011, 10:53 AM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(daydreaming @ Jul 6 2011, 10:19 AM)
mmm true la. but some ppl panel line it when its on the ..er..'tray' ? :| easier to hold. but too late for me since i've assembled tongue.gif
oooo coz mine the colors already a bit dull after all the sanding :| thought of polishing it to make it looks shiny again tongue.gif
it is called runner

if dull after sanding then use 1200 grit or 1500 grit sandpaper to polish one more time to give smoother finish, but dont sand too much until the plastic gone

then spray top coat, everything covered
amduser
post Jul 7 2011, 02:36 PM

5,542 posts

i wonder what will be the effect is if i spray flat top coat as base then spray another coat of gloss top coat hmm.gif

and also, what's the difference between resin and plastic?
amduser
post Jul 8 2011, 01:51 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(rayloke @ Jul 7 2011, 09:33 PM)
Rust consist of thousands of colors, there's no 1 color can recreate it.

It's just like during school your art class. what water color will u use to paint rust on a piece of color?

look for brown series color, get at least one brown, 1 yellowish brown (eg tan), 1 redish brown. with at least these few colors, u can create realistic rust effect.
1. flat first then gloss, u ll just get not very glossy gloss.

2. These r 2 totally different material.
then what's the difference between resin and plastic?

so far gunpla is all plastic?

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0471sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 11:01 AM