English Clubs Liverpool Football Club- The Kop Talks 2010, Hodgson in the house!
Apr 20 2010, 09:37 AM
734 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: Sri Petaling |
when we played poorly but still can get 3-0 result,i think thats showed how good our squad are...pity we dont do it on a consistent basis
Apr 20 2010, 09:42 AM
and as they say, u have to make ur own luck in order to get it
Apr 20 2010, 10:00 AM
hope they'll realize,not many 20 year old striker at EPL as good as Ngog...bendtner??..nope he's older..vela??..macheda??..rodwell??..has the potential but still way behind Ngog right now..sturridge??...yeaaa right!!!
how many goals he scores in EPL rite now?...more than 5 i think |
Apr 20 2010, 04:16 PM
Rafa Benitez believes there are already signs that our new-look Academy is producing exciting talent.
The gaffer instigated big changes down in Kirkby last summer, with the likes of Frank McParland, Kenny Dalglish, Pep Segura and Rodolfo Borrell being drafted in. One player they are nurturing is 15-year-old left-back Jack Robinson, who was invited to train with the first team last week. Benitez is hopeful the teenager and several other Academy scholars will soon be ready to train regularly alongside the likes of Jamie Carragher and Steven Gerrard. "Jack was okay," the boss told Liverpoolfc.tv. "He was a little bit shy at first, a little bit quiet. But the senior players were helping and supporting him. The first training session is never easy but little by little he was better. "We have to go one step at a time, they have to progress through different teams, but it's always important to meet someone and give the others the message that they can progress if they're doing well. It's a good message for the others now because they have extra motivation. "We didn't have too many players of the level we were expecting but now the atmosphere is really good and we have more players with quality. "They have some players in each group and the other day I got a report with different names and different players - but still they are young so they have to keep working very hard if they want to be in the Reserves and then the first team." Asked what changes had been made at the Academy since last summer, Benitez added: "When I talk with them it's clear they're doing a very good job and all the staff are working very hard to improve and change things. We are really pleased with them. "We are trying for a different approach in training sessions. The mentality and the way they have to behave is more or less the same because it already wasn't bad. "The technical plan and how to push the players is now a little bit better." u can take watever time u need rafa!!..rome wasnt built in one day |
Apr 21 2010, 10:37 AM
QUOTE(Poyo fc @ Apr 21 2010, 02:02 AM) Totally agree with the asessment on Rafa..but the problem with the setup is when Torres gets injured. no jovanovic????...he's a left footed player..comfortable playing as a left winger or striker That is a very high propabality situation especially as LIVERPOOL play with one striker...the ball will go to Torres most of the time as he is the lone striker (target man) I think its better to have someone to pair up with him. Also agree with the assesment on the crosses must come with more target man to benefit from the cross. But most of the time when Liverpool attack there will be men in the middle. Even when we counterattack, if it's out on the wing, the player will hold the ball and then cross but i think players like Babel, Benayoun - do not cross as much as to be desired. Kuyt is not a natural winger but has fill in the role for quite some time...but still much to be desired. Maybe Maxi will change into that type of winger. Lineup for next season (if no money) Reina - GK Agger - CB Carra - CB Johnson - RB/LB Aurelio - RB/LB Mascherano MD Aquilani MD Maxi MD Benayoun MD Gerrard AMD Torres ST Reserves Bennayoun Babel Skrtel Insua Ngog Kuyt |
Apr 21 2010, 03:00 PM
QUOTE(koolspyda @ Apr 21 2010, 02:27 PM) Lfc the long travel to madrid game (europa), looks like atletico starts as favorites given long journey saps players mental strength. so i hope our fanz will understand if liv got beaten by atletico hopefully by narrow margin look at barcelona last night, got whacked 1-3 after the long bus journey to milan from spain for the game. |
Apr 21 2010, 04:01 PM
Apr 23 2010, 06:09 AM
after watchin this game, leftback is a must next season...Agger is good but he's juz OK at leftback...that simao chance nearly cost us 2nd goal
all in all we should be thankful it only a solitary goal after a dismal performance..if not for reina, it could've been a bigger margin This post has been edited by leftist: Apr 23 2010, 06:11 AM |
Apr 26 2010, 12:00 AM
those burnley fanz was pure class!!!...i really doubt some of our fanz will react the same after what they goin thru this season...better luck next time burnley...nice playin with ya!
This post has been edited by leftist: Apr 26 2010, 12:01 AM |
Apr 26 2010, 09:14 AM
QUOTE(de_sengal @ Apr 26 2010, 07:43 AM) If Rafa want to buy a striker or winger, better find someone who able to keep up with Aqua 1-touch. Last night game showed that only Gerrard able to read and keep up with Aqua 1-2 and 1 touch ball and maybe Babel. But for Kuyt and and Maxi, they certainly struggle to keep up with the passes. Really great performance from the Italian, and I'm wondering how it would turn out if Aqua play for Arsenal or Barca. i on the other hand tot maxi is great playing a quick 1 touch futbol |
Apr 26 2010, 09:28 AM
£3m Charlton starlet Jonjo Shelvey to reject Arsenal, Chelsea and Spurs for Liverpool
By Sportsmail Reporter Last updated at 10:26 PM on 25th April 2010 * Comments (0) * Add to My Stories Liverpool are ready to pip Chelsea, Tottenham and Arsenal to the signing of Charlton teenager Jonjo Shelvey. The 18-year-old, who made his first team debut aged 16 years and 59 days, is one of the best young players in the country and already has over 40 appearances under his belt. He can play as a winger, attacking midfielder or second striker and Liverpool hope to tie up a £3million deal as soon as the season finishes. Charlton starlet: Jonjo Shelvey has been linked with Arsenal, Spurs and Chelsea Charlton starlet: Shelvey (right) has been linked with Arsenal, Spurs and Chelsea They are keen to bring in more English players during the summer and have also rekindled their interest in Manchester United youngster John Cofie who they tried to sign from Burnley two years ago. But Shelvey will prove a real coup for the Anfield club as he has been coveted by London's big clubs for some time and follows their signing of Raheem Sterling from QPR in January. Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/...l#ixzz0m9jjEFTu i know its from daily fail but still... |
Apr 26 2010, 03:07 PM
Apr 28 2010, 05:10 PM
"Shelvey travelled to Merseyside on Tuesday and has already undergone a medical, with the Merseysiders set to pay an initial £1.7m fee.
The result of Shelvey's medical at Anfield will be revealed on Wednesday. " http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/t...tic/8647872.stm welcome jonjo!! |
Apr 29 2010, 08:53 AM
waiting our own fanz writing off this jonjo kid eventho he's not yet playing for us
Added on April 29, 2010, 9:02 amLiverpool will wear Carlsberg on their shirts for the final time at Anfield this weekend - but it'll be with a difference. The Danish brewers' name has adorned the red shirt at every home game over the last eighteen years - but as Carlsberg prepare to sign off as the club's shirt sponsors at the end of the season their name will be displayed in Chinese language for the clash with Chelsea on Sunday afternoon. With Liverpool the only UK city exhibiting at World Expo in Shanghai - its twin city - later this year, Carlsberg officials came up with the novel idea of interacting with the club's massive fan base in that part of the world. Carlsberg Group Sponsorship Director Keld Strudahl said, "We're delighted to have been able to bring about this momentous occasion. We believe it's a nice little gesture to our friends and fans of Liverpool FC in China, where we know the Club devoted huge support in working things out and we also worked hard with all parties to mark this special occasion for the World Expo." In addition to the change on the front of the players' shirts, Chinese messages will be displayed during the match on the perimeter advertising boardings and in the Carlsberg Lounge at Anfield a Chinese competition winner will present a trophy to the "Man of the Match" after the final whistle. The Chinese Carlsberg logo will be only the fifth logo ever printed on a Liverpool FC shirt. Liverpool FC's first sponsor was Hitachi, followed by Crown Paints, Candy and then Carlsberg in 1992. liverpoolfc.tv so tell me..how to spell carlsberg in chinese? This post has been edited by leftist: Apr 29 2010, 09:02 AM |
Apr 29 2010, 09:22 AM
Chelsea, Liverpool and Man United to fight it out for Newcastle starlet Published 28/04/10 By Alan Nixon Newcastle are facing a fight to keep super Slovenia kid Haris Vuckic - with Manchester United, Chelsea and Liverpool ready to make bids. The 17-year-old attacker was watched by top representatives of all three clubs as he sparkled for the Toon reserves in midweek. Vuckic, who has already made one substitute's appearance for the Toon first team, may even start for the Geordies this weekend as they try to convince him he should stay with them. However, Mr. Ferguson has already shown a keen interest on him, and now both Frank Arnesen and Kenny Dalglish - hired to find the best young talent for both Chelsea and Liverpool - are on the case as well. Newcastle have not yet pinned down Vuckic on a long-term contract and an offer of around £1.5million may steal him away. http://www.mirrorfootball.co.uk/news/Trans...icle408649.html rafa lovessss kid! |
Apr 29 2010, 01:38 PM
![]() probably this will appear in front of our jersey this sunday...macam gampunk! This post has been edited by leftist: Apr 29 2010, 01:39 PM |
Apr 30 2010, 11:14 AM
u wont hearing this often after this...lucas clearly outshone gerrard this morning!...disappointing performance from gerrard in this big european night..sorry gerrard fanboyz but thats the truth..to those anti lucas brigade..eat that!!
we played well but individual defensive mistake cost us..hope fulham could win it...YNWA!! |
Apr 30 2010, 03:16 PM
QUOTE(digilife @ Apr 30 2010, 03:01 PM) its good tat We din get through to play the Final wif Fulham WTH???!!!...r u sure u support liverpool fc arrr ??? think carefully if not, rafa will still helm the team next season and we wont get to buy quality players and play wif his shitty tactics tat dun suit EPL it would be better if we lose to Chelsea this weekend and tat would be the FINAL nail into his "coffin" at anfield way to go Rafa................... |
Apr 30 2010, 08:45 PM
its an easy job to sack rafa...but its not easy to find his replacement..i can only see jose mourinho a step up from rafa...other than that will be a step down...o'neill??..nahhhhh...harry redknapp??..too ugly...mancini??..i dont think so..wenger??..in ur wet dreams arsenal gonna let him go to liv!...rafa is not perfect,he has his flaws..every manager do...but he's the best we had rite now...in fact we are lucky to have rafa...6 season and we are thru to 4 semi's in european competition is not that bad
Apr 30 2010, 11:48 PM
Liverpool youth coach Rodolfo Borrell has revealed how surprised he was by the poor quality of the club's academy when he arrived at the club in 2009.
Borrell, who came with Jose Segura from Barcelona, believes it could take another two years before a player breaks through into the first team. "The reality of what we found here was unacceptable," Borrell told BBC Sport. The likes of Jamie Carragher, Steven Gerrard, Robbie Fowler and Michael Owen all came through the Liverpool ranks. But since that crop of talented youngsters, the Liverpool academy has struggled to develop a regular supply of players ready for the demands of the Premier League and European football. Striker Neil Mellor featured intermittently under Liverpool boss Rafael Benitez before being released to Preston, while full-back Stephen Warnock has gone on to play for England since leaving the Reds for Blackburn and then Aston Villa. This season, Jay Spearing, Martin Kelly and Daniel Pacheco have been limited to occasional forays off the bench. Benitez - who has signed highly rated Charlton midfielder Jonjo Shelvey, 18, and 15-year-old England youth international Raheem Sterling from QPR recently - says the club have a long-term plan to bring "British players with passion" to the club. "(We want) players who you can feel what playing for Liverpool means to them," said Benitez, "Shelvey is one of these and we have two or three names ready so we will try to do the best for the club. "I was trying to sign Gareth Barry before and Glen Johnson was the same idea - we have this long-term plan in place and we will try to follow the plan." Benitez has expressed his frustration at the lack of talent coming through and moves to restructure the youth structure began when former Liverpool winger Steve Heighway stepped down as academy coach in April 2007. The club created a new position of academy technical manager, a post initially taken by former Ajax player Piet Hamberg before he was replaced by Segura in May 2009. Borrell, who joined at the same time to coach the under-18s, said they have been working hard to introduce the practices that functioned to great effect at Barcelona's academy, which produced seven of the team who beat Manchester United in last year's Champions League final. "The under-18s had no centre forward, no balance. They had no tactical level, no understanding of the game," said Borrell, who spent 13 years at Barcelona, where he worked with Cesc Fabregas and Lionel Messi. "We are working hard, but you can't change things overnight. "I think we have made a lot of progress over eight months, but we need to improve a lot more to get more players into the first team. "I think if we keep working hard maybe in two years somebody can appear in the first team." Liverpool's academy features players from Hungary, Iceland, Czech Republic, Denmark, Germany, Spain, Portugal and Australia, but Borrell says the priority is to produce English players. "When I arrived the first thing Rafa told me was that the biggest interest is to try to develop English players," he said. "I agree - the best players to defend the Barca shirt are Catalan players, the best players to defend the Liverpool shirt are English players. "The rest of the players who are not English, they must be massive, massive quality. "We have to fight to make English players arrive. If in two or three years one of our players does make the first team, I think he will be English." http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/t...ool/8611991.stm hope our academy will improve after rafa manage it...borrell knew what he's talking about |
| Change to: | 0.0787sec
8 queries
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 03:58 PM |