Tea (Chinese/ Oriental/ Japanese /Green), Come share your experience
cuebiz
May 27 2011, 10:39 AM
QUOTE(PSG-1 @ May 27 2011, 08:22 AM) It's located in Tow Boo Keong Temple Ipoh. The address is: No. 2, Jln Tokong, 31650 Ipoh, Perak U can google for "Tow Boo Keong Temple Ipoh" for the map. It's located just further from The Store Jln Kampar. If u want to see night life in Ipoh, u can check out Ipoh Garden East (just further from Jusco) and Ipoh Greentown. Airport near Jusco is considered a luxurious place to spend in Ipoh... There are Dayi and Mengku there but it is fake. Other tea is ok as it is reasonable price. One good thing about China store is that you can nego for low prices.
cuebiz
Jun 2 2011, 03:09 PM
How much you bought? I stay away from iron cake since it will takes ages for it to mellow.
cuebiz
Jun 3 2011, 10:06 AM
If wrong purchase, just return back to tea vendor. I did that sometimes.
cuebiz
Jun 6 2011, 03:03 PM
There are reasons for tea merchants to label the date differently but they should be honest with buyers when comes to year of production. For example, 88 ching bing is not from year 88. It is just a label.
cuebiz
Jun 24 2011, 02:36 PM
QUOTE(auhckw @ Jun 23 2011, 10:02 PM) A gift from a SG friend. Thank you if you are reading this  Btw, can someone translate what it says on it's cover? y2000 Ripe   This ripe tea is quite cheap. You can get them for less than RM20 but beware of imitation. Nice tea to drink.
cuebiz
Jun 25 2011, 10:22 PM
QUOTE(auhckw @ Jun 25 2011, 07:04 PM) 2005 Liu Bao (Golden Award from Tea Expo) - This is one out of the forty blind tasting samples sent out to participants interested to try before the Expo. It eventually won the gold award after being voted by hundreds of tea drinkers. It is the only Liu Bao that won the gold award. I was with a senior today, and he was saying he don't want to try/buy cause it will be just another Liubao and he has plenty (young and very old). Eventually we went to try. And we were suprised how good it is at the price. The taste is very good for a young liubao. Very warm feeling when drinking. Strong aroma and deep flavored. As it gets lighter from many infusions, it remains sweet. It gives a very longlasting overtaste. The booth that is selling this is crowded with people and most of them are all praising it. Eventually we bought it  I drank this before at Ipoh last time. Selling less than half of what is at the expo. Now wins gold award, the price fly sky high.
cuebiz
Jun 26 2011, 08:37 AM
QUOTE(auhckw @ Jun 25 2011, 10:28 PM) When did you drink it? The shop owner said after expo, price will increase. Her story was she got 30 baskets and sold it to many people... don't tell me she bought it from the 'lat chiu chai' shop?  Not too long ago I drank this. Someone bought the whole lot and consign the tea for her to sell. All I know this tea is limited as they can't reproduce the flavour anymore due to lack of raw material in China.
cuebiz
Jun 26 2011, 01:06 PM
QUOTE(auronthas @ Jun 26 2011, 11:28 AM) How much is Liu Bao per kg? I bought 1 basket Liu Bao (Guangxi Wuzhou, 'Three Crane' brand) approx. 5.6kg for RM 180. It depends on age and grade. I think you bought at good price. 3 cranes brand are more expensive liu bao tea. The puer tea you got also quite good.
cuebiz
Jun 28 2011, 02:50 PM
You should get someone to buy on ur behalf cause I think it is limited to one pax per day.
cuebiz
Jun 28 2011, 10:33 PM
QUOTE(auhckw @ Jun 28 2011, 06:20 PM) Jing Mai 2010 Raw - Single Estate harvest. This gives a very good aroma and light soothing flavor. Though it is 2010, it is very easy to drink now. Not bitter and not astrigency. This falls nicely under 'buy 2 drink now' category. Women fav raw puerh. Nowdays hardcore drinker are looking for Bing Dao. Soon to be as pricey as Lao Ban Zhang.
cuebiz
Jun 29 2011, 10:14 PM
QUOTE(auhckw @ Jun 29 2011, 09:24 PM) 1960s Poh Lan 229 Liu Bao - Price tag Rm3500 (USD1129) per KG. Aroma and Taste like medicine herb. Sweet. Smooth. So goood... I didn't realised it fetch such high price now. There are better Poh Lan series than this.
cuebiz
Jun 30 2011, 09:47 AM
QUOTE(slimfox @ Jun 29 2011, 11:27 PM) well actually I'm new to tea drinking too that is why I have been going around testing and drinking. The type of tea that captured my taste buds are Taiwanese tea. So I've been hoping to learn from you seniors about good shops with good selections with good pricing etc. Hope you guys can share  There is one shop in Amcorp Mall specialising in Taiwan High mountain tea. You should go there and give it a try
cuebiz
Jun 30 2011, 09:50 PM
Xiaguan tuo from Teali?? How much each?
cuebiz
Jun 30 2011, 10:29 PM
QUOTE(auhckw @ Jun 30 2011, 10:07 PM) Few months ago they had this. RM2.5/tuo and it was sold out. This is someone's purchase, and he asked teali to sell. RM5/tuo It is a good tea, but I find it lacking the xiaguan usual 'smoky' taste  RM5 is expensive liao. The 250g in the box is selling RM13 at the tea expo recently.
cuebiz
Jul 1 2011, 11:31 AM
Ya. This is the only tea shop there. they source their own tea and their tea is not bad..
cuebiz
Jul 4 2011, 09:47 AM
QUOTE(slimfox @ Jul 3 2011, 11:20 PM) I am new to this hobby. Can you please tell me which type of tea variant is overprice and (this is what I want to know most) which shops are over price so I can just avoid them. You can't judge a tea by its price. You have to taste it first and if you think it is good and reasonable pricing, then you buy. Shops that are slightly expensive are those at shopping centre such as Purple Cane, Hojo etc due to its high rental but they still got some premium tea that you can't get it elsewhere...
cuebiz
Jul 5 2011, 12:29 PM
cuebiz
Jul 6 2011, 04:46 PM
QUOTE(auhckw @ Jul 6 2011, 12:00 AM) From the pic, it seems that it may not hold up to the weight for long. Looks a bit tilted towards the right. I suggest you get a steel cabinet.
cuebiz
Jul 7 2011, 11:47 AM
Wa.U guys damn relax..Got time to go to teashop during office hours..haha
cuebiz
Jul 8 2011, 12:05 PM
Sg Wang got 2 tea shop. One near to toilet at LGF and another at 2F near Parkson. The upper floor got better teapot, teaware and puer tea. I bought much stuff from there.