Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V39!, The Orange Legion

jamesies
post Apr 21 2010, 12:43 AM

28 posts

i think problem goes to my setting =(

im setting at F8, iso 800, 1/30, with flashy 1/16
shot in raw n converted back to jpg later on..

Zicron
post Apr 21 2010, 12:45 AM

Come to the Dark Side
899 posts

QUOTE(jamesies @ Apr 21 2010, 12:43 AM)
i think problem goes to my setting =(

im setting at F8, iso 800, 1/30, with flashy 1/16
shot in raw n converted back to jpg later on..
why f8? f4 not sharp?
jamesies
post Apr 21 2010, 12:47 AM

28 posts

aren't f8 sharper ?
neo_lam
post Apr 21 2010, 12:48 AM

Player
1,921 posts

QUOTE(jamesies @ Apr 21 2010, 12:47 AM)
aren't f8 sharper ?
depends...wat lens u are using??
porkchop
post Apr 21 2010, 12:52 AM

Lalala Life's Sweet
6,633 posts

hazril, thanks waitin for your bouncecard sampole kekeke
Zicron
post Apr 21 2010, 12:52 AM

Come to the Dark Side
899 posts

QUOTE(jamesies @ Apr 21 2010, 12:47 AM)
aren't f8 sharper ?
does not apply to all lens. Normally is to step 2 stop down is the sharpest point of a lens

This post has been edited by Zicron: Apr 21 2010, 12:53 AM
ieR
post Apr 21 2010, 12:53 AM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

F8 is peak, so to say, but it doesnt meant it is not sharp from beginning. smile.gif
neo_lam
post Apr 21 2010, 12:55 AM

Player
1,921 posts

QUOTE(Zicron @ Apr 21 2010, 12:52 AM)
does not apply to all lens. Normally is to step 2 stop down is the sharpest point of a lens
yeah..ususally most lenses got their sweet spot on f4.5 to f5.6..
zstan
post Apr 21 2010, 01:16 AM

15,856 posts

oooo..so f3.5 doesn't mean its sharp lar?@@
hazril
post Apr 21 2010, 01:18 AM

.: This Is Brazil! :.
3,070 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Apr 21 2010, 12:29 AM)
max is 400. 800 then start got noise. beyond that is a nightmare. cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
bro...which do u worry most...???not capturing the moment or noise level....???
zstan
post Apr 21 2010, 01:20 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(hazril @ Apr 21 2010, 01:18 AM)
bro...which do u worry most...???not capturing the moment or noise level....???
errrrrr....pics with high noise also not really nice right? okok..will try iso 800 more often...><
albnok
post Apr 21 2010, 01:28 AM

Alpha Male
4,956 posts

wingster: I paid USD199 for DxO Optics Pro Elite in 2009 when they had a promotion. Best money I ever spent to get 2 stops more out of my RAW files! Cheaper than buying a Nikon D700 and you get better color and a lot of handy correction tools. Of course this was before IDC and ACR and Lightroom all got major noise upgrades.

The NEX if that is what it is called, is still mirrorless. The sensor is a bigger 24x16mm instead of Micro FourThirds' 17.3x13mm.

zstan:

EVIL = Electronic Viewfinder, Interchangeable Lens (no mirror)
SLR = Single Lens Reflex (one lens, must have mirror)
TLR = Twin Lens Reflex (two lenses, mirror on top lens)

farex: IDC is pretty good, but not as 'complete' as the proper serious RAW converters. I particularly like DxO's Lens Modules (it has a profile for certain lenses so it corrects lateral chromatic aberration and lens distortion automatically based on the lens' unique distortion.)

Where DxO is excellent at, is when you use their Fill Light... it looks better to me lah compared to using DRO Level 5 on-camera. They have a Multi-Point Color Balance picker and excellent parallel line correction (for fixing geometry and perspective!)

jamesies: Nice complete scene. Thanks for paying attention to what they are promoting!

Use a good RAW converter, or the latest IDC and you should see a very usable ISO1600!
hazril
post Apr 21 2010, 01:35 AM

.: This Is Brazil! :.
3,070 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Apr 21 2010, 01:20 AM)
errrrrr....pics with high noise also not really nice right? okok..will try iso 800 more often...><
800+with flash still ok bro...u should try...even 1600 still nice to see if enuff light...moreover we will be printing 4R size so i think the noise wont be that noticeable bro... smile.gif

QUOTE(porkchop @ Apr 21 2010, 12:52 AM)
hazril, thanks waitin for your bouncecard sampole kekeke
here u go bro....2 of my flash bounce card setup....

setup 1

setup 2

zstan
post Apr 21 2010, 01:40 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(hazril @ Apr 21 2010, 01:35 AM)
800+with flash still ok bro...u should try...even 1600 still nice to see if enuff light...moreover we will be printing 4R size so i think the noise wont be that noticeable bro... smile.gif
here u go bro....2 of my flash bounce card setup....
well if lightining is good 400 enough for me...but its usually trickier in dark conditions...will try in future!thanks..

btw..what's d use of the bonce card? is a diffuser much better?
ieR
post Apr 21 2010, 01:41 AM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Apr 21 2010, 01:16 AM)
oooo..so f3.5 doesn't mean its sharp lar?@@
no, let say the 18-70 kitlens at 18mm, the sharpest peak was F3.5(centre), F5.6 were not as sharp. funny how lens works. F8 arent super sharp(as we thought so) at 18mm either(centre loses its sharpness, but corner gain light sharpness)

so it's hard to argue, coz the sharpness, is not excately visible to our eye. there are time, because u shoot at 1/40, the sharpness is not there due to lack of speed, motion blur were captured. hence, how do we define sharp? shoot at 1/4000 fulltime? F8? then what iso would we need?

most important in photography, is just a simple image that tells the message. let it be 20x20px, if it tells a message, its a good pic.
neo_lam
post Apr 21 2010, 02:03 AM

Player
1,921 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Apr 21 2010, 01:28 AM)
wingster: I paid USD199 for DxO Optics Pro Elite in 2009 when they had a promotion. Best money I ever spent to get 2 stops more out of my RAW files! Cheaper than buying a Nikon D700 and you get better color and a lot of handy correction tools. Of course this was before IDC and ACR and Lightroom all got major noise upgrades.

The NEX if that is what it is called, is still mirrorless. The sensor is a bigger 24x16mm instead of Micro FourThirds' 17.3x13mm.

zstan:

EVIL = Electronic Viewfinder, Interchangeable Lens (no mirror)
SLR = Single Lens Reflex (one lens, must have mirror)
TLR = Twin Lens Reflex (two lenses, mirror on top lens)

farex: IDC is pretty good, but not as 'complete' as the proper serious RAW converters. I particularly like DxO's Lens Modules (it has a profile for certain lenses so it corrects lateral chromatic aberration and lens distortion automatically based on the lens' unique distortion.)

Where DxO is excellent at, is when you use their Fill Light... it looks better to me lah compared to using DRO Level 5 on-camera. They have a Multi-Point Color Balance picker and excellent parallel line correction (for fixing geometry and perspective!)

jamesies: Nice complete scene. Thanks for paying attention to what they are promoting!

Use a good RAW converter, or the latest IDC and you should see a very usable ISO1600!
you make me wanna try DxO...wats the difference between DxO and Adobe Camera RAW??
ieR
post Apr 21 2010, 02:04 AM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

stop complaining bout iso1600, i used to be the spoiled brad that even complains iso200 is noisy on A300 (okay, i'm a little over exaggerating LOL)

if u complain iso400 is noisy, u just level 0 photographer.

if u complain iso800 is noisy but iso400 is nice, u just up level to level1.

if u complain iso1600 is noisy but iso800 is okay, u just level 2.

u require level10 to pass noob level. i am far from level10.... my iso1600 pic

This post has been edited by ieR: Apr 21 2010, 02:19 AM
eddybeh
post Apr 21 2010, 02:09 AM

830 posts

ieR: do u mean tat, the noise is actually not that bad and can say it's nothing tat spoil the photo?
ieR
post Apr 21 2010, 02:12 AM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

i'm using A300 too. look the before above u, judge the photo wink.gif
eddybeh
post Apr 21 2010, 02:16 AM

830 posts

for 1st,4th n 5th 1 i don see any noise. 2nd 1 i can accept as an effect tat makes it nicer. 3rd 1... a little cant accept. keke.. tongue.gif

125 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 43 > » Top

0.0284sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 11:27 AM