8 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro/Air Users Thread v5, Share your joy and your pain here ;)

TSmememe12
post Apr 23 2010, 06:47 PM

Nikon + MBP i7 :)
2,849 posts

my MBP hang again.. this time i know what is the problem already.. but i dunno the solution yet..

when i have network drive connected.. for dunno wat reason.. i cant connect to my server tru finder..

then i press eject also nothing happen (the drive still there with an eject icon beside)

then since i cannot connect to my network.. i relaunch Finder... and.. i got this error "the application finder cannot be opened 10810"

and my finder cannot open d..

i search tru google and found ppl having the same problem but no solution yet..

anyone know how to solve?

------------------------
added:
this problem happened when the mounted drive restart or the mounted drive sleep.. then when we wanna access to the mounted drive again.. it stucked..

i believe this is the cause... icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif

altho a hard-restart will solve this problem.. but i m trying to find a method to solve without restarting the Mac..

This post has been edited by mememe12: Apr 23 2010, 07:01 PM
TSmememe12
post Apr 24 2010, 01:17 PM

2,849 posts

QUOTE(nimrod323 @ Apr 24 2010, 11:06 AM)

lol.. biggrin.gif

btw.. i hv some question regarding the folder management/organisation... it is related to here..

where do u guys usually put your document / music and etc to? put in Macintosh HD by creating folder name work / entertainment? or create folder in <computer name> ?

TSmememe12
post Apr 25 2010, 10:45 PM

2,849 posts

QUOTE(harmeet15 @ Apr 25 2010, 08:43 PM)
i cant say abt the previous ones...
mine is the new model..
surprising the salesperson was very convinced tat it wudnt transmit sound...but guess he was wrong..smile.gif
u bought from apple reseller? or others?
TSmememe12
post Apr 27 2010, 12:35 AM

2,849 posts

QUOTE(cRazYee @ Apr 26 2010, 10:25 PM)
anyone with i7 MBP here?
wanna check the temperature underload
i am using it now.. how to check eh?

QUOTE(tarvalslain87 @ Apr 27 2010, 12:14 AM)

Added on April 27, 2010, 12:14 amand I will get the mstand =D
feel like wanna buy too.. but i think not so fast.. bcoz need to buy external keyboard first b4 the stand..

btw.. do u guys restart or shut down your mac? or just put it into sleep? my mbp just now beachball until i TL.. then i restart it.. now seems ok..

i was doing photoshop for the whole day since i on my MBP... just now when i wanna type in Chinese character in my photoshop.. things get slow until always get beachball when
1) i swap my language input from eenglish - chinese - english, i get beachball
2) i click on the words i wanna edit, i get beachball
3) i click on other apps such as skype, beachball
4) click back to the Photoshop app, beachball
5) wanna quit photoshop, beachball!!!!

apps running: Photoshop, google chrome (about 20 tabs), firefox (5tabs), skype like tat only..

each time the beachball may varies from 5 to 15 seconds.. is it normal?
TSmememe12
post Apr 27 2010, 12:59 AM

2,849 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Apr 27 2010, 12:48 AM)
run a permission repair.
thanks!

u mean go to utilities > disk utilitiy > click on 500.11GB Toshiba blabla > Repair Disk Permissions?

usually this will solve problem of beachball or lagging?
TSmememe12
post Apr 27 2010, 07:48 AM

2,849 posts

QUOTE(wiraone @ Apr 27 2010, 07:38 AM)
I don't usually shutdown my MBP, I let it run for few weeks before I restart it. On why too many beachballs .. check the activity monitor and see what processes consume lot of cpu time or check the hard disk activities .. On your chrome or firefox, did any of the tabs contain any Flash application? I've removed both chrome and firefox out of my MBP since sometime they consumed lot of cpu time for no reason .. only left is safari and its the default anyway.
thx for sharing.. yea.. shud hv check the activity monitor.. last nite was blur.. cant figure it out where is the ctrl+alt+del for Mac.. then straight i restart.. after that only think back it is at activity monitor.. will see nx time to find out.. however.. i see the google chrome using a lot of memory, each new tabs consists of 25-35MB if not mistaken.. name as google chrome helper as the process name..

is it bcoz chrome still in beta stage? that's why got this problem?
TSmememe12
post Apr 27 2010, 11:02 AM

2,849 posts

QUOTE(izact @ Apr 27 2010, 10:09 AM)
WTA : what are the things that people normally do on Windows based PC but not on MAC?
i m new to Mac smile.gif at the moment.. i think it is Internet Explorer (to run some ActiveX stuff)... and .exe files.. and some non-mac compatible software (such as FIFA10 sad.gif) but to overcome that.. u hv to install windows in Mac lor.. (by Bootcamp/VMware/Parallel)
TSmememe12
post Apr 27 2010, 02:34 PM

2,849 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Apr 27 2010, 11:10 AM)
cannot say yet. an MBP is not a hand-built machine...it rolls out of a manufacturing plant like any other products out there. electronics, cars, etc. any manufactured products will got bad batch, it's impossible to have every single unit sold to be perfect. that's y we have warranty. so juz because one i7 MBP become very hot, doesnt mean all i7 is very hot. we'll have to wait
quicksilver can do much more stuff than just launching apps. if you're gonna use quicksilver only for that, juz use spotlight~ dats y i uninstall quicksilver hehe...only used it to launch apps last time. now spotlight very useful can become calculator smile.gif
- pay, install, update, scan antivirus, n ending up infected anyway
- overclocking
- play with registry files, DLL
- deal with 'troubleshooting' that makes u go in a circle
- install desktop themes and dock to look like OSX
- put apple logo sticker on their PCs
- post in forums bashing apple and mac users

thumbup.gif
hahaa... rclxms.gif rclxms.gif funny
TSmememe12
post Apr 27 2010, 04:31 PM

2,849 posts

QUOTE(beguiler @ Apr 27 2010, 04:25 PM)
actually i was about to go pick up an i7 macbook pro 17inch but after read the review just now , i wonder is it really a good choice to go for 17inch i7 macbook pro -.-
why is it so bad about i7 eh? is it only in 17inch or involve 15inch as well?
TSmememe12
post Apr 28 2010, 02:17 AM

2,849 posts

QUOTE(goldlion @ Apr 27 2010, 08:39 PM)
spot the non-apple notebooks. i spot 3 biggrin.gif

wow... that's crazy!

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Apr 27 2010, 10:48 PM)
remember the review is only for a single unit. as i said, it's a manufacturing product. one unit cannot represent the entire production line.
juz get the i7. anything happens, got warranty. hehe
yea.. using the i7 one now.. hopefully no need to claim warranty tongue.gif
TSmememe12
post Apr 28 2010, 01:50 PM

2,849 posts

anyone using Mac to do web coding and testing the site by using MAMP here? i have some question smile.gif
TSmememe12
post Apr 29 2010, 03:09 AM

2,849 posts

when looking at the memory column at the iStat... my memory status is like below.. is it healthy? hmm.gif
wired: 9xxMB
active: 1.9xGB
inactive: 0.98GB
Free: 16MB
TSmememe12
post Apr 29 2010, 11:08 AM

2,849 posts

guys.. for those newbie Mac like me.. i found this link quite useful..

just to share with u guys.. http://www.macforbeginners.com/page.php?id=189

enjoy your mac smile.gif
TSmememe12
post Apr 29 2010, 12:23 PM

2,849 posts

QUOTE(viper-xs @ Apr 29 2010, 12:05 PM)
Looks ok for 4gb. What's page ins and out?
aiks.. forget to check that.. last nite when comp very slow.. forgot to see.. btw.. now pg in and out is 18gb and 2gb...

what value is healthy?
TSmememe12
post Apr 29 2010, 06:22 PM

2,849 posts

QUOTE(viper-xs @ Apr 29 2010, 01:42 PM)
Pg out 2GB? I guess you must be doing alot of videos/pictures editing is it? Pg out the best would be 0 ideally then again as low as possible. Try reboot and monitor all your stats including pg out especially. In long run with constant pg out is not healthy as it is sort of like thrashing the disk. With high pg outs means I need to use alot of your disk to swap things out.
If you run alot of editing maybe you can compare your stats with other regular here as I only use mine for browsing, some picture editing (but nothing fancy), iTunes, games, iChat, torrent and other normal stuff.

Can try to detect any programs with memory leak?
I would recommend reboot and check the memory usage. Then use is as normal and check again.

Your wired seems high though but that's just my opinion. Those if Im not mistaken are the ones being used by the system so it will stay in memory resident and will not be swapped in/out. Mine running snow leopard with wired ~450MB. Otherwise all other stats give looks ok.
There are other means of monitor the memory in mac/*nix like vmstat etc just in case you're interested.
thx viper notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

yea.. i do photo editing heavily.. and i always open about 2 browsers with total of 15-25 tabs.. sweat.gif itunes playing mp3.. stickies showing some stuffs.. sometimes also running MAMP and Dreamweaver..

but high page out will cause the HDD crash faster? is there anyway to solve it? add ramh? sad.gif
and how to know about memory leak?

Added on April 29, 2010, 6:33 pmand anybody know why some fonts can be seen in Windows but when copy to Mac will face some error and unable to use?

This post has been edited by mememe12: Apr 29 2010, 06:33 PM
TSmememe12
post Apr 30 2010, 12:54 AM

2,849 posts

QUOTE(jonrwg @ Apr 29 2010, 06:39 PM)
LOL.. i got that error too.. calibri font sth like tat.. but mine can use just tat when u open the file there will be an error message...

argh.. i m getting frustrated with this! when ppl send me excel file with chinese word.. i open it and end up seeing weird sign.. is there a way to solve this? icon_question.gif

QUOTE(cottonkandy @ Apr 30 2010, 12:41 AM)
oh, i found the apple online store already. is it cheaper to order from there? sorry for asking newbie questions. icon_question.gif
if u are student.. buy online to get student price.. 13inch MBP cost about 3588 if not mistaken.. safe RM300... smile.gif
TSmememe12
post Apr 30 2010, 01:30 AM

2,849 posts

QUOTE(jonrwg @ Apr 29 2010, 06:39 PM)
LOL.. i got that error too.. calibri font sth like tat.. but mine can use just tat when u open the file there will be an error message...

argh.. i m getting frustrated with this! when ppl send me excel file with chinese word.. i open it and end up seeing weird sign.. is there a way to solve this? icon_question.gif

QUOTE(cottonkandy @ Apr 30 2010, 12:41 AM)
oh, i found the apple online store already. is it cheaper to order from there? sorry for asking newbie questions. icon_question.gif
if u are student.. buy online to get student price.. 13inch MBP cost about 3588 if not mistaken.. safe RM300... smile.gif
TSmememe12
post Apr 30 2010, 01:31 AM

2,849 posts

QUOTE(viper-xs @ Apr 30 2010, 01:13 AM)
Yes add more ram. I bet you must be getting beachball alot. Browser will not eat alot as I have around the same tabs opening. I suspect 2GB page out is from mainly heavy photo editing

How to know memory leak, same as windows method. If a program eat 100MB when you first using it and after long usage suddenly it turn out to be eating 500MB then something amiss.
add ram meh? cry.gif cry.gif my newly bought MBP already 4GB ram.. if add... then is 8GB d blink.gif
TSmememe12
post Apr 30 2010, 01:52 AM

2,849 posts

QUOTE(viper-xs @ Apr 30 2010, 01:43 AM)
Yea...8GB is the way to go...hahaha. Mine 4GB as well but old C2D.

No need to add more i guess. More like use then wait then see...If alot and always beachball and pageouts becoming alot more then put that as first priority action.
If I'm not mistaken there are ways to make it more efficient. If I recall correctly if you use photoshop then there are option to specify scratch disk. From what I know it can increase performance but not sure if it's the case still or whether the info is right. That info maybe like more than 5 years ago...hahaha
haha. thanks for sharing.. i think adding ram would not be appropriate at the moment.. i will fund for another iMac maybe in 2 more years.. that time the iMac must have 8GB tongue.gif

btw... do u know anyway to solve the chinese character stuffs? ppl send me excel file with chinese words, when i open, i see weird sign... i already copy fonts from my windows.. but not all usable sad.gif icon_question.gif
TSmememe12
post Apr 30 2010, 02:28 AM

2,849 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Apr 30 2010, 02:06 AM)
maybe u can try this. go to system preferences, language n text, input sources. tick the chinese one u need. i dunno if it works lah, i dun have any chinese character files tongue.gif

juz wait for 4gb ram module to go down in price... eventually they will... good to know u can support 8gb smile.gif
i already enable the chinese language there smile.gif will google more when free.. this week too busy d.. if anyone know the solution pls share ya.. thanks notworthy.gif

Added on April 30, 2010, 2:47 amyea.. and regarding the memory.. my firefox is opening 20 tabs.. the real memory in activity monitor is 295MB...

google chrome, 2 browsers, 17tabs.. chrome taking 101MB but have about 17 google chrome helper which taken up about 15-20MB per file averagely..

is there any problem for this?

This post has been edited by mememe12: Apr 30 2010, 02:47 AM

8 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0447sec    0.74    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 03:06 PM