4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro/Air Users Thread v5, Share your joy and your pain here ;)

Ojimaru
post Jun 4 2010, 11:04 PM

561 posts

QUOTE(nimrod323 @ Jun 4 2010, 09:57 PM)
haha i used to use it in my MB white, yep its choppy not a complete solution tongue.gif 10.6.4? cool my mbp will have this functionality too yeah biggrin.gif
I'm a little confused. Doesn't 10.6.3 already have momentum scrolling (for the track pad)?
Ojimaru
post Jun 6 2010, 07:05 PM

561 posts

QUOTE(Eithanius @ Jun 6 2010, 06:25 PM)
Mine's plugged to a 24" display on clamshell mode, so it's using the dedicated one... whenever i play video or music over external HDD, fan speed goes up to 5200rpm, ph34r.gif pretty audible at this speed.. CPU temp went up, but I guess that's normal... but fan speed... sweat.gif

I'd just happened to open the lid without triggering any extended display mode (didn't know I can do that - System Profiler says internal monitor not connected), fan speed went down to 3400rpm... so clamshell mode does trap heat to a certain extent...?  doh.gif

EDIT: Fan speed at 3600+rpm watching a 480p video on external HDD, heavy downloading, and medium browsing...
5200 rpm? Wow... At this point I'd first ask about the ambient temperature and the location of the MBP.
Ojimaru
post Jun 8 2010, 10:55 AM

561 posts

QUOTE(arshad @ Jun 8 2010, 10:45 AM)
How much is the Snow Leopard selling ey?
http://store.apple.com/my/product/MC573Z/A?mco=MTc1MDE2NTQ
Ojimaru
post Jun 9 2010, 10:21 AM

561 posts

QUOTE(LYW @ Jun 9 2010, 10:03 AM)
has anyone been noticing like the i5 model gets kinda hot when ur multitasking with aperture, and office 08??
You're surprised that running two processor intensive applications makes your laptop warm? Just checking.
Ojimaru
post Jun 10 2010, 04:07 PM

561 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Lonely @ Jun 10 2010, 01:43 PM)
hi dude, i planning to upgrade my macbook 13 to mbp 15 when i travel to UK ltr\

can anyone tell me the UK retail apple store hav mbp with US keyboard layout? or all is UK layout?
UK layout.
Ojimaru
post Jun 10 2010, 07:54 PM

561 posts

QUOTE(terence8 @ Jun 10 2010, 07:20 PM)
huh..is there any difference between the layout?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/UK_keyboard_l...#United_Kingdom
Ojimaru
post Jun 11 2010, 06:17 AM

561 posts

QUOTE(ginolo @ Jun 11 2010, 04:11 AM)
Guys, have u tried out ur mbp with this before?

Is this normal?

i found my fingers feel shocked recently and i take the screwdriver for test..and i found the light is on!
Normal. Apple products are ELECTRIFYING!!!!

Or it could be static electricity.
Ojimaru
post Jun 11 2010, 10:44 AM

561 posts

QUOTE(LYW @ Jun 11 2010, 10:10 AM)
what does that mean??? no joke??? pardon me for my stupidity, but what if suddenly the whole battery electric discharge and shock kao me??? what then??
Then shock loh...

Anyway, I'm assuming this only happens when you're charging. So try using the extension cable when you're plugged in.
Ojimaru
post Jun 11 2010, 02:40 PM

561 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Jun 11 2010, 02:18 PM)
Nice. Hang on tight to that woman biggrin.gif
And while your hands are busy, you can let me hang on to the Macbook. biggrin.gif
Ojimaru
post Jun 14 2010, 09:31 AM

561 posts

QUOTE(mememe12 @ Jun 14 2010, 01:55 AM)
my MBP gone crazy d.. need help sad.gif

just now when i m working (open firefox, read pdf) suddenly no matter what i click.. sure will get beachball for about 10 seconds..

then i cannot tahan and i reset it.. ctrl+cmd+power... then after restart.. still same.. no matter what i click.. sure will beachball for long time..

click a folder, beachball.. click spotlight, beachball.. i wanna open disk utility, beach ball.. and i need to wait about 1 minute to open the disk utility.. what the f is wrong with it..

hv no clue at all.. sad.gif

Added on June 14, 2010, 2:32 ami did verify disk permission and repair disk permission.. now seems like ok d.. anyone know what is happening ?
What did you use to read the pdf with?
Ojimaru
post Jun 14 2010, 12:25 PM

561 posts

QUOTE(mememe12 @ Jun 14 2010, 10:29 AM)
i use acrobat reader lor...
At this point I'm suspecting a malformed pdf that tried to mess with a Windows system. Why not use Preview to read the PDF, out of curiosity?
Ojimaru
post Jun 17 2010, 11:42 AM

561 posts

Also, I read that Itunes can be used to trim song , I searched iTunes for awhile, i dont seem to see the feature of this ?
Select the song > Get Info > Options
Set Start Time and/or Stop Time
Close Get Info
Advanced > Convert to [insert format of choice]

This post has been edited by Ojimaru: Jun 17 2010, 11:43 AM
Ojimaru
post Jun 19 2010, 09:26 AM

561 posts

QUOTE(senbonzakura @ Jun 18 2010, 06:52 PM)
guys, how come when i select "set time zone automatically using current location" the only thing that comes out is "unable to determine current location at this time"? any way to solve this?
Were you connected to the internet when you tried?
Ojimaru
post Jun 20 2010, 01:13 PM

561 posts

QUOTE(Jing-leBelle @ Jun 20 2010, 11:57 AM)
Ever since i used up 13", i'd found that it's small for my web surfing + photo editin. But anyway, with 13" is easier for traveling and i'd add up an external LCD for better view at home smile.gif
Yup, that's what I do too. biggrin.gif The 13" is great for portability and I leave any heavy duty image editing when I'm home with the 24" LCD.
Ojimaru
post Jun 20 2010, 06:30 PM

561 posts

Congratulations, you have found the elusive Blue Screen of Mac Death.

j/k.

Never had this problem with iBook G4 (mini-display to VGA) or 2010 13" MBP (mini-display to DVI)
Ojimaru
post Jun 22 2010, 10:02 AM

561 posts

QUOTE(fakerdemit @ Jun 21 2010, 11:45 PM)
Hi there. New 15 MBP user here.
Still new to mac. But have been using mac for a while right now.
But still, I don't know what to install. Any recommendation ?
How about being more specific with your wants, needs and uses of your MBP?
Ojimaru
post Jun 23 2010, 07:38 AM

561 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Jun 23 2010, 05:31 AM)
not sure but it IS annoying
But at the same time it wards off random groping hands on the laptop. *nods*
Ojimaru
post Jun 24 2010, 06:44 PM

561 posts

QUOTE(CreamMilk @ Jun 24 2010, 05:46 PM)
heh? But with more RAM you can run more apps concurrently isn't it?
What do you mean most consumer apps only supports up to 4GB??
This. If a software uses up all 4GB of RAM, at least there'll be extra for your iCal, Mail, Safari, etc.

This post has been edited by Ojimaru: Jun 24 2010, 06:45 PM
Ojimaru
post Jun 26 2010, 05:44 PM

561 posts

QUOTE(izact @ Jun 26 2010, 03:42 PM)
Guys..i bought a original dvd (movie) and played with normal flat CRT TV..(not yet LCD hehehe). The picture quality is up to my expectation (apatah lg kalau LED @ LCD hehehe)..so my thought was if the DVD were to played on my mbp..the quality would be better..but it turns otherwise.. it was similar to other notebook quality...maybe im lack of display technologies knowledge..and hope someone might advice..tq
What kind of quality were you expecting? And what are your MBP specs?
Ojimaru
post Jun 26 2010, 07:10 PM

561 posts

QUOTE(gurus @ Jun 26 2010, 05:54 PM)
what codec should i use if i got no sound playing my hd movies? .avi....
It depends on the codec used to encode the avi in the first place.
These days, just use VLC Player.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0504sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:00 AM