Renovations A Big "NO NO" to this contractor, Bad contractor not to be appointed!!!

TSBabygal23
post Apr 2 2010, 11:54 AM, updated 16y ago

Hi Folks,

Just to share my thoughts here and hope that there wont be others who will be "victime" of this guy.

I signed up with this contractor, named Ah Kam for my house renovation at Klang Valley. This renovation is just a simple renovation that includes re-roofing, re-tiling of bedrooms and car porch, concealing of the wiring and repainting of the exterior of house. The renovation started since beginning of Jan 2010 till now. I would consider this renovation a minor to a medium range of renovation that doesnt requires such a lot of time.

The renovation started January 2010 and everything seems pretty okay on the beginning phase. However, during the mid of the renovation after the re-roofing is completed, he claimed that he quoted us wrongly on the price for it. He quoted less by RM2k and which we can top it up. Since myself and my husband hopes the renovation to proceed smoothly without much hassle, so we agreed to top up this amount with an unwilling heart.

Recently, we found out from the house's neighbour that there seems to be some old roofing mixture with the new one on the backyard roof and when we approach the contractor about it, he just pretend he dont know anything about it and kept denying on his act. It proven that how dishonest this fellow is, whereby he thought by mixing the old with the new roof at the backyard's roof, wont be obvious or noticeable by us.

Another problem arised last week, whereby we planned to go for awning at one part of the car porch as recommended by this guy. However, last minute, he gave a lot of reason to support that this awning cant be installed!! Since he is the expertise and we are not, so we ask him for an alternative. He gave us an advise by saying we should have something similar to our neighbour and we agreed to let him proceed.

Suprise, suprise..... I was at my new house one afternoon and I found out that my contractor was installing an awning that is having the different design and different size as what my neighbour had. When I called him up to questioned about why everything is different from what we agreed, he only informed us that he cant have the similar one with our neighour. I'm so pissed out with him so I get another advise from another contractor whether is it possible to have the similar one with my neighour and the contractor said "of course, it is possible" !!! It again proven that, the contractor that I signed up with is not honest in his work!!!

How can a contractor change his mind on the design before he got the approver from the owner? This guy really make me so frustrated and when I questioned him that he should come to us before he installed it and he just gave all sort of nonsense reasons.

Just a cent of advise to those that are looking for contractor for your house renovation, never ever sign up with this fellow with the named of Ah Kam. He is from Puchong Perdana and driving a silver Matrix. His unprofessional way of doing things really pissed me off and now, we are thinking of changing contractor althought we need to incurr more money !!!!

This post has been edited by Babygal23: Apr 2 2010, 11:57 AM
nandayryu
post Apr 2 2010, 11:59 AM

1,072 posts

Klang valley,loads of bu||5hiters contractor
kons
post Apr 2 2010, 01:47 PM

Конс
6,180 posts

It's great that you share this kind of stories. Sad to say, there is no rules saying that a contractor must be honest.

i.e., a contractor can quote us for a 110 bucks power socket but in the end, he got us those 80 bucks one. We can't really go to the shop and buy because these contractors buy in volume and they might be old buddies, while new faces like us won't get a rate close to them.

And also, be good to your contractor, nothing is worse than a pissed contractor renovating our house.
dvinez
post Apr 2 2010, 02:23 PM

Limited Edition
1,475 posts

most of them are like this, usually sure got amount to add during renovation, usually they give cheaper products, just pray it is not a lot cheaper product. i'm sure you signed him because he is cheaper if he is not, then he is an axehole.

however, the roof part is overboard. you might want to disclose his contact number for fellow lyn to avoid him.
TSBabygal23
post Apr 2 2010, 02:37 PM

Hi Guys,

I do understand that normally the quotation is not the final price as sometimes we do add in additional items to the list. This is totally understandable.

However, being dishonest and unprofessional are characters that is totally unacceptable!!! We are so nice and flexible to him, never ever been harsh in our sentence althought i feel like doing so but my hubby kept on hinting me to be nice...... What else can I do? He really thought that he can bully us as we are soft from the surface..... this is really bad....

His contact 012-5366683....

Tohsan
post Apr 2 2010, 02:44 PM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(Babygal23 @ Apr 2 2010, 02:37 PM)
Hi Guys,

I do understand that normally the quotation is not the final price as sometimes we do add in additional items to the list. This is totally understandable.

However, being dishonest and unprofessional are characters that is totally unacceptable!!! We are so nice and flexible to him, never ever been harsh in our sentence althought i feel like doing so but my hubby kept on hinting me to be nice...... What else can I do? He really thought that he can bully us as we are soft from the surface..... this is really bad....

how much u still owe him? how much he charge you for the whole thing?
TSBabygal23
post Apr 2 2010, 02:50 PM

QUOTE(Tohsan @ Apr 2 2010, 02:44 PM)
how much u still owe him? how much he charge you for the whole thing?
We still owe him around RM5k only, the whole renovation comes out to be around RM50k...

cheraspeople
post Apr 2 2010, 02:52 PM

756 posts

QUOTE(Babygal23 @ Apr 2 2010, 02:37 PM)
Hi Guys,

a lot of con man. i also kena con before by a man name STEVEN LIEW from Puchong.
Tohsan
post Apr 2 2010, 02:54 PM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(Babygal23 @ Apr 2 2010, 02:50 PM)
We still owe him around RM5k only, the whole renovation comes out to be around RM50k...
don pay anymore monies until things done to your satisfaction.

mind to list down the reno work?
TSBabygal23
post Apr 2 2010, 02:59 PM

QUOTE(Tohsan @ Apr 2 2010, 02:54 PM)

Major renovation work listed down in my thread.

There are some minor thingy as well, for example, installation of the down lights and drop down lights, repainting of the grills and conceal of wiring.

Hope u got a clearer pic now.

joey85
post Apr 2 2010, 03:30 PM

~Yeah~
924 posts

QUOTE(Tohsan @ Apr 2 2010, 02:54 PM)

agree with Tohsan... dont pay him anymore untill his work completed with satisfaction... btw thanks for sharing icon_rolleyes.gif
kons
post Apr 2 2010, 03:50 PM

Конс
6,180 posts

QUOTE(joey85 @ Apr 2 2010, 03:30 PM)
agree with Tohsan... dont pay him anymore untill his work completed with satisfaction... btw thanks for sharing  icon_rolleyes.gif
Some they require payment up front to cover for the raw materials which they buy.
Unless we are really close to the contractor, then only they are willing to finish everything then only collect money.
Or else, the contractor is also afraid that we will disappear once they have finished renovating.
Tohsan
post Apr 2 2010, 04:09 PM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(kons @ Apr 2 2010, 03:50 PM)
Some they require payment up front to cover for the raw materials which they buy.
Unless we are really close to the contractor, then only they are willing to finish everything then only collect money.
Or else, the contractor is also afraid that we will disappear once they have finished renovating.
i still think its better to withold the balance payment rather than pay them all becos contractor have the tendency to drop things and run as soon as they recover their last part of payment leaving the work unfinish.

This post has been edited by Tohsan: Apr 2 2010, 04:10 PM
kons
post Apr 2 2010, 04:18 PM

Конс
6,180 posts

QUOTE(Tohsan @ Apr 2 2010, 04:09 PM)
i still think its better to withold the balance payment rather than pay them all becos contractor have the tendency to drop things and run as soon as they recover their last part of payment leaving the work unfinish.
Usually before the start of the renovation, the payment issues should have been agreed upon.
Easiest is 50% mid of the reno phase, and remaining 50% after the reno is done, fair and square.

It is a headache to get problematic contractor.
joey85
post Apr 2 2010, 04:24 PM

~Yeah~
924 posts

QUOTE(kons @ Apr 2 2010, 03:50 PM)
emm but the house is still there wor... hard for house owner to run away hehehe... house owner also scare the contractor to come kacau lo lol tongue.gif

QUOTE(Tohsan @ Apr 2 2010, 04:09 PM)
yeap coz this contractor very problematic....

QUOTE(kons @ Apr 2 2010, 04:18 PM)
Usually before the start of the renovation, the payment issues should have been agreed upon.
Easiest is 50% mid of the reno phase, and remaining 50% after the reno is done, fair and square.

yes... good idea~~~ icon_idea.gif
Tohsan
post Apr 2 2010, 04:40 PM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(kons @ Apr 2 2010, 04:18 PM)

u don pay 50% tats too risky, you go by work progress. You pay only what is done.

Then u should also buy your own material, tat way u can choose the kind of quality u r looking for. I have done that with my contractor. I will top up whatever the contractor agree on and get a better material & quality.
newbie99
post Apr 2 2010, 05:02 PM

667 posts

Usually what I did was sign a contract. List down the areas need to be completed before payment made. Gradual payments done as work progressed. I usually withold the 10% until 6months to 1yr later. Need to withold the 10% until rainy season comes especially for the roof or the wall crack lines appearing after a few months.

This post has been edited by newbie99: Apr 2 2010, 05:03 PM
joey85
post Apr 2 2010, 05:25 PM

~Yeah~
924 posts

QUOTE(Tohsan @ Apr 2 2010, 04:40 PM)
u don pay 50% tats too risky, you go by work progress. You pay only what is done.

Then u should also buy your own material, tat way u can choose the kind of quality u r looking for. I have done that with my contractor. I will top up whatever the contractor agree on and get a better material & quality.
yeap progress payment is a very secure method... need to find material which is good quality... that need bit knowledge... for someone like me not really good in this... maybe need to ask when purchase at hardware / material shops... happy.gif
kons
post Apr 2 2010, 05:45 PM

Конс
6,180 posts

QUOTE(Tohsan @ Apr 2 2010, 04:40 PM)
depends on what material..
things like tiles, home appliances, we can choose and buy ourselves.
stuff like paint, plugs, we can go and survey the price and tell them what to buy.. make sure they don't quote us more expensive then.
stuff like air-cond tubes, electric wires, these can only be provided by them, coz we do not know the length needed and the type needed.
SUSlokideangelus
post Apr 6 2010, 03:42 PM

350 posts

10% - Agreement / start work
30% - Half way
50% - Finish
10% - Completion/satisfactory
TSBabygal23
post Apr 11 2010, 03:27 PM

Hi All,

Just an update on the last phrase of my renovation. Today will be the last day on the final touch up before the contractor hand back the house to us, however a very big surprise from him a few hours ago. He did help us to installed a few ceiling fan on the house few weeks back and only now he found out that the fans are not functioning at all due to the wiring problem.

What kind of excuses is this? I really dont understand why didnt he check on the wiring after the completion of the installation and why must he waits until today only he starts his checking.

About the roof tiles that I mentioned on the beginning on this thread. Till this morning, he still havent renew the old roof tiles to the new one. Both my husband and myself are really tired dealing with him and we decided to put a stop today althought there are lots of work havent been completed from his end.

We got no choice but to get another new contractor to finish up the works on behalf of him. Pity the newly appointed contractor that need to clean up the "shits" !!

For those who is currently looking for contractor, please be aware of this guy. You will be having lots of headache if you appointed him to be the contractor for your property.

I really hope I dont have to dislose the name of this company here but sorry to say that, I need to as I'm very angry and unsatisfied with his service ~~~ TOTALLY UNSATISFIED !!!!

Company Name: HT Construction & Renovation
Contractor Name: Tam Mun Kam, aka Ah Kam
HP Number : 012-6706683 or 012-9875548 or 012-5366683

PLEASE BE AWARE, FELLOW LYN MEMBER~~~~

This post has been edited by Babygal23: Apr 11 2010, 03:29 PM
joey85
post Apr 12 2010, 03:44 PM

~Yeah~
924 posts

QUOTE(Babygal23 @ Apr 11 2010, 03:27 PM)
Hi All,

Just an update on the last phrase of my renovation. Today will be the last day on the final touch up before the contractor hand back the house to us, however a very big surprise from him a few hours ago. He did help us to installed a few ceiling fan on the house few weeks back and only now he found out that the fans are not functioning at all due to the wiring problem.

What kind of excuses is this? I really dont understand why didnt he check on the wiring after the completion of the installation and why must he waits until today only he starts his checking.

About the roof tiles that I mentioned on the beginning on this thread. Till this morning, he still havent renew the old roof tiles to the new one. Both my husband and myself are really tired dealing with him and we decided to put a stop today althought there are lots of work havent been completed from his end.

We got no choice but to get another new contractor to finish up the works on behalf of him. Pity the newly appointed contractor that need to clean up the "shits" !!

For those who is currently looking for contractor, please be aware of this guy. You will be having lots of headache if you appointed him to be the contractor for your property.

I really hope I dont have to dislose the name of this company here but sorry to say that, I need to as I'm very angry and unsatisfied with his service ~~~ TOTALLY UNSATISFIED !!!!

Company Name: HT Construction & Renovation
Contractor Name: Tam Mun Kam, aka Ah Kam
HP Number : 012-6706683 or 012-9875548 or 012-5366683

PLEASE BE AWARE, FELLOW LYN MEMBER~~~~
thanks for sharing... really need to aware of this kind of contractor =.=''
chance
post Apr 23 2010, 03:45 PM

54 posts

now a day really need be careful to choose a contractor...
for my case my grill contractor was run away until today my auto gate stil got problem... during renovation a new house sure got many story.
last year i also have open a new topic in LYN to complaint a big furniture shop, but the topic only survive in LYN 2 months only, cox it found by her staff, and the big boss call me n threaten me, also her son call me in mid night to kacau me, and the end i jus delete the topic.... but i jus tell the true in here...
4n5 Workshop
post May 1 2010, 03:24 PM

23 posts

Before I comment about the contractor, I would like to ask Babygal23 a question: Did the contractor gave you a proper bill of quantities (quotation) and contract by stating what materials/construction method/design to be used? I will consider that as a must to protect "The Owner" and "The Contractor" from controversial issue. Usually "The Client" will require "The Contractor" to state it with a written note either formal or informal but not verbally to protect both parties.

Let me have a very simple example for you (Babygal23);

It's written in quotation: to supply and install plaster ceiling board at the living room. (However it does not state 9mm thk ceiling board or 12mm thk ceiling board -it makes alot of differences in terms of price and quality! conflict usually will occurs in this circumstance)

Prior to the confirmation of the awning design with a written note (catalog, sketches and endorsement from both parties), you could have avoided that.

In the case, "The Contractor" is obviously guilty for all the issues but personally I think Babygal23 is too kind to "The Contractor" rendering "The Contractor" to take advantage on your flexibility.

Yes i think accommodate with REASONABLE issues will be tolerable but not to "wrongly quote" and "the awning count not be done" these kind of issues. You have the right to NOT TO PAY "The Contractor" as what has been written in contract will be the final price and you have the right to ask "The Contractor" to rectify every defects within the liability period of 2 years

Besides, a pre-drafted schedule should be simulated by "The Contractor" to determine the exact work scopes and project duration. This scheme is meant to protect both parties eg. "The Owner" has the right to penalty "The Contractor" for extension of time (Project duration)

I know you (Babygal23) would like to be flexible to "The Contractor" but it's always recommended not to due to most of "The Contractor" will "take opportunity" to generate more income that will cause problems to you.

Anyway, just my advice for you as a person in the industry and I have no intention to "lecture or offend" you but you are partially responsible for the incidents

This post has been edited by 4n5 Workshop: May 1 2010, 03:27 PM
Headlight
post May 2 2010, 03:58 PM

127 posts

post his photo here la so that we can be cautious seeing the guy.
khongts
post Nov 23 2010, 08:42 AM

23 posts

I would like to share my bad experience with one trade contractor recently.
I think we should exercise extra cautions when dealing with some of these contractors. They can be quite un-etiquette when money is concern. In my case, it is a tiler by name of Chin Thin Fook (Ah Fook) 017-8799240
Yee Tar Tiles Marble Engineering
H 439, Kampung Aman, Seri Kembangan
03-9430997

Meet up with Ah Fook in late Sept this year. Showed him the house and even gave him some dimensions for him to check out. We even meet up a few times at the house for him to verify a few things. It was agreed that I will supply all the tiles. After we have agreed on the price, he asked for a deposit of RM 1,000 claiming that this is so that the owner will not change his mind on engaging him when the time comes to start work. Since I read a good comment from one of the renovation blog, I agreed and paid him the money. He issued me a receipt and I have also got him to sign documents to acknowledge receipt. It was also agreed that he will be personally be involved in the work. That's was the main reason why I decide to engaged him in the first place although his price is slightly higher then the market price. You have to pay higher to get quality workmanship.
As part of the scope of work, it was agreed that he will finish up some of the tiling work for the bathrooms (one day's work) first so that the works on the upper floors can be tidy up. The major works are located on the ground floor.
On early Nov, he finally got someone (his friend) to do up the tiling work for my bathrooms (replacing some damaged wall and floor tiles)
When I asked him to proceed with the tiling work for the ground floor, he asked for 40% of the contract amount saying that this is the industrial norm. Well, since I was convinced that he is trustworthy and a no-nonsense guy, I gave him a cheque for another RM 2,800 on 2 Nov. He got his friend to start work on my kitchen wall. His friend with another helper only work for 3 days and did not turn up for work after that. That was after the cheque has cleared.
I tried calling Ah Fook on his mobile the whole day. He did not answer. Finally when I managed to get him on his mobile, he claim that he cannot proceed with the work. I told him that since he is adamant that he is not willing to finish the job, then he should refund that balance of monies paid less the work done. He then claim that he will only refund RM 500 (although I did not agree that his work done justify RM 3,800 - 500 = 3,300) and asked for my bank account which I promptly gave him. After a few days with no sign of the refund from him, I called him. When I finally got him, he claim that he was busy to go to the bank and asked for a few more days. Now that the few days are up and he still has not bank in the money, I have not been able to get him on him mobile. He does not answer my calls.

Well, this is how contractors can be. So, beware.
Eleganz Concept
post Nov 23 2010, 10:26 AM

582 posts

QUOTE(Babygal23 @ Apr 2 2010, 02:50 PM)
I would say you really so kind to this contractor, can wait for 1 years time only thinking to change contractor, and somemore pay for almost 90%.
ADJ
post Nov 23 2010, 10:37 AM

..::fairlight::..
2,921 posts

QUOTE(Eleganz Concept @ Nov 23 2010, 10:26 AM)
I would say you really so kind to this contractor, can wait for 1 years time only thinking to change contractor, and somemore pay for almost 90%.
I would say you really love to rub salt on an open wound as well. what a nice interior designer shakehead.gif
myonedeco
post Nov 23 2010, 12:04 PM

written quotation, black and white between both parties are good to avoid misunderstanding.
Eleganz Concept
post Nov 23 2010, 12:40 PM

582 posts

QUOTE(myonedeco @ Nov 23 2010, 12:04 PM)
written quotation, black and white between both parties are good to avoid misunderstanding.
quotation is not really enough, if able to attach with a set of lay-out and detail drawing, to show how the thing look and what is the measurement, and sign by both parties, then will be nice.
kelvyn
post Dec 10 2010, 05:32 PM

3,173 posts

QUOTE(Eleganz Concept @ Nov 23 2010, 01:40 PM)
quotation is not really enough, if able to attach with a set of lay-out and detail drawing, to show how the thing look and what is the measurement, and sign by both parties, then will be nice.
Well, you are partially right. What you have mentioned can basically be implemented if the house owner is well verse with preparing layout plans and drawings. Not many house owners are well verse in this matter. Then, if they engage a ID consultant, the consultant will be able to provide that. But then it is the cost factor...

Sometimes the house owner just want to carry out some simple reno work which does not involve ID consultants.

I would say that these unscrupulous contractors are giving the industrial a bad name... vmad.gif

I think anyone who have come across these kind of contractors to list them here for the benefit of everyone.
Candice NWW
post Jul 15 2011, 02:05 PM

Hi all, I'm in the dillema with our house reno contractor too. The wet works started since mid March and it yet to finish still!!! It just the wet kitchen and 2nd floor balcony extension, tiles installments for toilets, wet kitchen, car porch and this took us like ages sad.gif
The uncle always don't show up until we called to check, different unacceptable excuses (bad weather, car breakdown,sick, license need to renew) are given and didn't show the sincerity of apologize when they broke our toilets mirror, cause leaking of water pipe till we found out.
We are still holding about 10k and wondering if anyone can help on how to draft a black n white agreement to defer the payment until it pass the safe period (6 mths?) to ensure the quality of his work?

Our missed Here is WRONG contractor and don't have any black n white
With him earlier on, sad.gif
kelvyn
post Jul 16 2011, 06:03 PM

3,173 posts

QUOTE(Candice NWW @ Jul 15 2011, 03:05 PM)
Hi all, I'm in the dillema with our house reno contractor too. The wet works started since mid March and it yet to finish still!!! It just the wet kitchen and 2nd floor balcony extension, tiles installments for toilets, wet kitchen, car porch and this took us like ages sad.gif
The uncle always don't show up until we called to check, different unacceptable excuses (bad weather, car breakdown,sick, license need to renew) are given and didn't show the sincerity of apologize when they broke our toilets mirror, cause leaking of water pipe till we found out.
We are still holding about 10k and wondering if anyone can help on how to draft a black n white agreement to defer the payment until it pass the safe period (6 mths?) to ensure the quality of his work?

Our missed Here is WRONG contractor and don't have any black n white
With him earlier on, sad.gif
Sorry to hear of your bad experience with your renovation contractor.

Not sure about the extend of your wet works. But having started in mid March and to date, have not completed is a very long time.

I doubt very much that your current contractor will agree to your intention to defer payment unless there is an incentive for him or it was agreed to before he started work.
As for the black & white, you could just have this written in English or Chinese or BM depending on you and the contractor. Just a simple agreement with the terms and conditions will do. Both parties sign. If you intend to legalise it, then you should get a lawyer.

This post has been edited by kelvyn: Jul 16 2011, 06:04 PM
weikee
post Jul 16 2011, 06:20 PM

12,019 posts

Need to send for stamping also.
SUSsakura888
post Jul 17 2011, 02:03 AM

207 posts

QUOTE(Babygal23 @ Apr 2 2010, 12:54 PM)
Hi Folks,

Just to share my thoughts here and hope that there wont be others who will be "victime" of this guy.

I signed up with this contractor, named Ah Kam for my house renovation at Klang Valley. This renovation is just a simple renovation that includes re-roofing, re-tiling of bedrooms and car porch, concealing of the wiring and repainting of the exterior of house. The renovation started since beginning of Jan 2010 till now. I would consider this renovation a minor to a medium range of renovation that doesnt requires such a lot of time.

The renovation started January 2010 and everything seems pretty okay on the beginning phase. However, during the mid of the renovation after the re-roofing is completed, he claimed that he quoted us wrongly on the price for it. He quoted less by RM2k and which we can top it up. Since myself and my husband hopes the renovation to proceed smoothly without much hassle, so we agreed to top up this amount with an unwilling heart.

Recently, we found out from the house's neighbour that there seems to be some old roofing mixture with the new one on the backyard roof and when we approach the contractor about it, he just pretend he dont know anything about it and kept denying on his act. It proven that how dishonest this fellow is, whereby he thought by mixing the old with the new roof at the backyard's roof, wont be obvious or noticeable by us.

Another problem arised last week, whereby we planned to go for awning at one part of the car porch as recommended by this guy. However, last minute, he gave a lot of reason to support that this awning cant be installed!! Since he is the expertise and we are not, so we ask him for an alternative. He gave us an advise by saying we should have something similar to our neighbour and we agreed to let him proceed.

Suprise, suprise..... I was at my new house one afternoon and I found out that my contractor was installing an awning that is having the different design and different size as what my neighbour had. When I called him up to questioned about why everything is different from what we agreed, he only informed us that he cant have the similar one with our neighour. I'm so pissed out with him so I get another advise from another contractor whether is it possible to have the similar one with my neighour and the contractor said "of course, it is possible" !!! It again proven that, the contractor that I signed up with is not honest in his work!!!

How can a contractor change his mind on the design before he got the approver from the owner? This guy really make me so frustrated and when I questioned him that he should come to us before he installed it and he just gave all sort of nonsense reasons.

Just a cent of advise to those that are looking for contractor for your house renovation, never ever sign up with this fellow with the named of Ah Kam. He is from Puchong Perdana and driving a silver Matrix. His unprofessional way of doing things really pissed me off and now, we are thinking of changing contractor althought we need to incurr more money !!!!
why dont u put up his company name instead of ah kam ? there are thousands of ah kam in klang valley...which some are doing renovation. <---- ok, sorry didnt see the later posting smile.gif

Added on July 17, 2011, 2:09 am
QUOTE(chance @ Apr 23 2010, 04:45 PM)
now a day really need be careful to choose a contractor...
for my case my grill contractor was run away until today my auto gate stil got problem... during renovation a new house sure got many story.
last year i also have open a new topic in LYN to complaint a big furniture shop, but the topic only survive in LYN 2 months only, cox it found by her staff, and the big boss call me n threaten me, also her son call me in mid night to kacau me, and the end i jus delete the topic.... but i jus tell the true in here...
you should have recorded the call, and the expose them. The next week, you send a LEGAL LETTER TO THE COMPANY, with the reference to the 'EVIDENCE", demanding them for certain obligations. This is to defend yourself from certain people who have done wrong things, earning money through wrong ethics yet still want to harm people. These are the people that gave chinese the bad names to malays...that's why u always see malay are very cautious when deals with chinese.

Added on July 17, 2011, 2:16 am
QUOTE(LittleBear @ Jul 16 2011, 07:24 PM)
I did encountered such a contractor when I needed someone to renovate 3 toilets at home. Job was slow, gave excuses not to come, job was done half way & later on they didn't show up.

Managed to get an Indonesian guy with his wife to complete the job & it was cheap, fast & superb workmanship.  rclxms.gif

Chinese contractors doesn't mean they are good. Next time it's best to ask someone to recommend you a reliable contractor before starting on reno works.
yes, agreed very much. These days, chinese are nothing anymore(the fact that they are prone to cheating due to hunger of INSTANT money instead of long term business...which they are silly anyway), in fact same line with indonesians...

the problem with indonesian is their workmanship is not nice, and some are quite lazy...

This post has been edited by sakura888: Jul 17 2011, 02:20 AM
Jo_da48
post Aug 13 2011, 12:07 AM

1,529 posts

I just have an argument with my X-Contractor about the settlement and end up I told him is fine that if you think that the correct amount, as I just didn't want to have any business with him.

The story start like this:-
Initial he job are doing very good and prof way, but once it extentin til second floor, I start noticed problem as the wall a bit slip a side and I has have warmed him and lucky about to get it correct.
After than I have more caustion and end up more correction require lol.
The explore happen when it came to the front gate pillar, as instead of build through concreate it just use brick for the two pillar, hence I contact the gate folk to check whether it could suitain my gate or not (I'm ordering 16F gate), and been advise better use concreate due to the gate size, and normally the fault area is the connector between pillar and gate which causing problem due to the build of pillar. So I have ask the contrator redo the whole thing else I will not pay him. Sure he will *&&^%^*.
After he redo, I noticed that from side view (pillar to pillar), the one whole the dushband is more front than another, hence I complained again and he have to re-cememat the whole thing again...after he done it and it look fine again.
Few weeks later while I discussed with next door, and next door asking my "Adik, why you pillar build funny and side one side?", I ask what you meant? than only noticed from pillar look into the house, it not a line and it go to the door. I used the measurement tape and check. What the hack, front pillar 6 in and back pillar 9 inch, sure it look funny. Than when I complained, guess what answer I got.... flex.gif Your house a slip one side, and I get him 4 letter word and ask him, you solve out or you gone.

After the incident a week, I told him I will put the tiles and paint out from him ...

Today when he called up for the settlement, and told me him done this / that, need charge and so on and all rubbish talk....and basically want extra 1K just to settle the claimed I charge back to him due to the concreate leaking task that I informed him and he claimed not free, and agreed me to ask Indo to get it solve....

So member here, learnning point is
1) Get Black and white and itemize down what the jobs is
2) Even a small task that is agreed FOC or charge, wrote it down
3) review every 2 weeks on the agreement
4) Cheap not meant Good and may need pay extra more just like me...(Extra almost 10K to clear "Shit" for him by other)

Why I pay the extra? 1) With extra 1K I didn't need to have nightmate what he will do 2) 1K to know a guy is expensive but someone is also a good news thumbup.gif , at least I will not further refer him to other people. I also sound the lady who introduce me on the contractor better dont introdce him further.

COmpany name: Walmxx contriction
Name: Wong xx
Phone: 016-3924xxx / 016 - 3611xxx
Base: Serdang

Initial is a good guy but endup is another joker.

This post has been edited by Jo_da48: Aug 16 2011, 12:52 AM
wrb7878
post Aug 13 2011, 12:21 AM

843 posts

Hope my contractor din give me such problem. No black and white. All based on trust.
@Adele
post Aug 13 2011, 02:25 AM

1,042 posts

erm..my contractor is indon, don't know how to bind him in contract. i afraid he wont sign also la, coz he also afraid wot..

sl2007
post Aug 13 2011, 09:30 AM

285 posts

Hi Adele,

For indon Sub-Contractor, I dont think u able to bind them except u r the Employer who holding they employment pass..

If you using indon SC, u need close monitoring and lots of basic construction knowledge.. If not, sure the works are not done according to Standard Practise..
Gary1981
post Aug 13 2011, 10:09 AM

1,610 posts

All contractors are same, these ppl try to con something out of their cients. So as a client, we have to be alert and able to control the entire situation of reno works.
I using the same contractors with my wife sisters, but I heard she had big argument and complaint abt the contractor. But, I don't have such big issue with the same contractor which only minor matter which I still can absorb. At final day handover key, the contractor boss himself help me clean and wash the entire carporch and till now he haven't collect his final settlement from me..

Also, he is the among cheapest of all contractors. The cheap means bangla price also no near to compete. However, I still deal with him all with black and white especially those progreesive claim..

Contractors are prone to find loop holes of the job scope, if we as client clear with our job scope and these contractors has no chance to make out of these loop holes job scope, hence they will do the job accordingly.
As a client, if we able and know-how to handle them, I believe issue will be minimize.

I told my contractor: whatever things that I had obstructed u not to do, pls do listen to me. I do not sound out does not mean I can't see.
sl2007
post Aug 13 2011, 10:23 AM

285 posts

Bro,

I agreed with you if you dealing with Local (Malaysian) renovator, black & white no problem.. If you deal direct with Indon or Bangla, are u giving them B&W as well.. smile.gif

I'm sure majority of renovation works was done / quoted w/o proper drawing or specification, how u wanted to say a Contractor doesn't perform accordingly.. I'm sure a lot of layman here just look at the outcome @ final product..

@Adele
post Aug 13 2011, 10:30 AM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(sl2007 @ Aug 13 2011, 09:30 AM)
Hi Adele,

For indon Sub-Contractor, I dont think u able to bind them except u r the Employer who holding they employment pass..

If you using indon SC, u need close monitoring and lots of basic construction knowledge.. If not, sure the works are not done according to Standard Practise..
i think my job is not big, no re-building from scratch etc. Hmm..i think tiling and hacking works is ok for them to do la, maybe wiring and stuff i get someone else
Gary1981
post Aug 13 2011, 10:45 AM

1,610 posts

Fyi, a bangla quoted me before with verbally only. Howeve I pursued him that I need written quote, he indeed did so and write in a letter all scope and of course not glamour english but I able to read with his signature. Later he pass some leaflet of his services to my letter box..

My plaster ceiling contractor don't know english, but I also not know chinese, hence indeed he draw the picture for all scope of work with signature.

To my wet work contractors, he only a secondary graduate which don't know english and write any receipts, hence I prepared the receipts and he sign..

In short, we as client must be control and don't follow their way.

Just my opinion and the way I deal with contractors.

cwhong
post Aug 13 2011, 12:22 PM

Growth company seeker ..... :)
4,342 posts

from a basket of apples for sure there is bad apples too, know how to differentiate between good and bad apple is advantage lah but if dunno then try to minimise the risks is the only way
Jo_da48
post Aug 13 2011, 02:49 PM

1,529 posts

QUOTE(cwhong @ Aug 13 2011, 12:22 PM)
from a basket of apples for sure there is bad apples too, know how to differentiate between good and bad apple is advantage lah but if dunno then try to minimise the risks is the only way
That what I done but will pay more extra. mad.gif
I should listen to my uncle since begine, get the 2nd expensive (next to the lower) on your list, instea fo lower. The Higher mostly will be the one who look for "Water First", the lower mostly want to have the job but not sure end up with (this is what I'm having now), the medium will be those still make $$$ but reasoable "Water fish" doh.gif

Eleganz Concept
post Aug 13 2011, 03:04 PM

582 posts

QUOTE(Jo_da48 @ Aug 13 2011, 02:49 PM)
That what I done but will pay more extra.  mad.gif
I should listen to my uncle since begine, get the 2nd expensive (next to the lower) on your list, instea fo lower. The Higher mostly will be the one who look for "Water First", the lower mostly want to have the job but not sure end up with (this is what I'm having now), the medium will be those still make $$$ but reasoable "Water fish"  doh.gif
Jo, ur wet work still not done yet? is seem very long time already o?
Jo_da48
post Aug 13 2011, 04:27 PM

1,529 posts

QUOTE(Eleganz Concept @ Aug 13 2011, 03:04 PM)
Jo, ur wet work still not done yet? is seem very long time already o?
Friend, all wet work done almost 1.5 months ago, than I removed the contract and get new tiles folks to solve more, than other all done by Indo (intrudction by the tiles sife)...by next week my plaster ceiling plus skim coat will be done as well....
Hope by end Sept everything should done...

Yes, it really take long for my renovation. It start after Chiness New year till now, which almost 6 months time...even my friend as me build the whole new house kah??? rclxm9.gif

cwhong
post Aug 13 2011, 04:40 PM

Growth company seeker ..... :)
4,342 posts

QUOTE(Jo_da48 @ Aug 13 2011, 02:49 PM)
That what I done but will pay more extra.  mad.gif
I should listen to my uncle since begine, get the 2nd expensive (next to the lower) on your list, instea fo lower. The Higher mostly will be the one who look for "Water First", the lower mostly want to have the job but not sure end up with (this is what I'm having now), the medium will be those still make $$$ but reasoable "Water fish"  doh.gif
huh, pity u all who have all experience the hard way of renovations..... wish more will aware all the tricks play by the bad apples.....
Eleganz Concept
post Aug 13 2011, 10:59 PM

582 posts

QUOTE(Jo_da48 @ Aug 13 2011, 04:27 PM)
Friend, all wet work done almost 1.5 months ago, than I removed the contract and get new tiles folks to solve more, than other all done by Indo (intrudction by the tiles sife)...by next week my plaster ceiling plus skim coat will be done as well....
Hope by end Sept everything should done...

Yes, it really take long for my renovation. It start after Chiness New year till now, which almost 6 months time...even my friend as me build the whole new house kah???  rclxm9.gif
O, 6 months, is really can build a house already, biggrin.gif , anyway, your nightmare is going to end next month, hope everything go smooth. ^^
Jo_da48
post Aug 14 2011, 01:44 AM

1,529 posts

QUOTE(Eleganz Concept @ Aug 13 2011, 10:59 PM)
O, 6 months, is really can build a house already,  biggrin.gif , anyway, your nightmare is going to end next month, hope everything go smooth. ^^
Yah...I hope so. That I could concentra my lighting / alarm / CCTV / gate....

Jo_da48
post Aug 14 2011, 08:48 PM

1,529 posts

Finally, get him out from my way after given him the final outstanding...

Purposely as him come to new house to collect the cheque, than when he arrived, I just point him
1) to the concreate car pourche: you see till now the leaking still can't solve
2) you see the car part is higher than next door 3 inch? Thanks for you addition high which cause the tile folks have to align to what you have done
3) you see my living hall, it is higher than normal, it thank for your extra work.

and I just handover the cheque and get the receipt, just turn back and walk in.

Yes, I may be no respect but sorry I can't respect this type of people.

kelvyn
post Aug 14 2011, 09:06 PM

3,173 posts

QUOTE(Jo_da48 @ Aug 14 2011, 09:48 PM)

Purposely as him come to new house to collect the cheque, than when he arrived, I just point him
2) you see the car part is higher than next door 3 inch? Thanks for you addition high which cause the tile folks have to align to what you have done
3) you see my living hall, it is higher than normal, it thank for your extra work.

With all the defects and also paying the contractor already giving him face already
tiensong
post Aug 15 2011, 02:01 PM

2,237 posts

I met a lot of contractors who do not keep their promises and like to berbelit-belit their words...conclusion: only believe on black and white...even designs also draw them out and sign by both parties...even freebies also write them out and sign by both parties...remember, still have a lot of "unprofessional" contractors (lack of educational) out there (which do not educated with moral lessons) unless you engaged to BIG & reliable company....

Added on August 15, 2011, 2:33 pm
QUOTE(Jo_da48 @ Aug 13 2011, 12:07 AM)
I just have an argument with my X-Contractor about the settlement and end up I told him is fine that if you think that the correct amount, as I just didn't want to have any business with him.

The story start like this:-
Initial he job are doing very good and prof way, but once it extentin til second floor, I start noticed problem as the wall a bit slip a side and I has have warmed him and lucky about to get it correct.
After than I have more caustion and end up more correction require lol.
The explore happen when it came to the front gate pillar, as instead of build through concreate it just use brick for the two pillar, hence I contact the gate folk to check whether it could suitain my gate or not (I'm ordering 16F gate), and been advise better use concreate due to the gate size, and normally the fault area is the connector between pillar and gate which causing problem due to the build of pillar. So I have ask the contrator redo the whole thing else I will not pay him. Sure he will *&&^%^*.
After he redo, I noticed that from side view (pillar to pillar), the one whole the dushband is more front than another, hence I complained again and he have to re-cememat the whole thing again...after he done it and it look fine again.
Few weeks later while I discussed with next door, and next door asking my "Adik, why you pillar build funny and side one side?", I ask what you meant? than only noticed from pillar look into the house, it not a line and it go to the door. I used the measurement tape and check. What the hack, front pillar 6 in and back pillar 9 inch, sure it look funny. Than when I complained, guess what answer I got.... flex.gif  Your house a slip one side, and I get him 4 letter word and ask him, you solve out or you gone.

After the incident a week, I told him I will put the tiles and paint out from him ...

Today when he called up for the settlement, and told me him done this / that, need charge and so on and all rubbish talk....and basically want extra 1K just to settle the claimed I charge back to him due to the concreate leaking task that I informed him and he claimed not free, and agreed me to ask Indo to get it solve....

So member here, learnning point is
1) Get Black and white and itemize down what the jobs is
2) Even a small task that is agreed FOC or charge, wrote it down
3) review every 2 weeks on the agreement
4) Cheap not meant Good and may need pay extra more just like me...(Extra almost 10K to clear "Shit" for him by other)

Why I pay the extra? 1) With extra 1K I didn't need to have nightmate what he will do 2) 1K to know a guy is expensive but someone is also a good news  thumbup.gif , at least I will not further refer him to other people. I also sound the lady who introduce me on the contractor better dont introdce him further.

COmpany name: Walmxx contriction
Name: Wong xx
Phone: 016-3924xxx
Base: Serdang

Initial is a good guy but endup is another joker.
wow...my bad experience with contractor also base serdang....also name Wong xx...0193066xxx..his house is behind the hong leong bank at Jalan Besar, Serdang, Seri Kembangan

Initial he is a good guy too but at the end when i found out a lot of shits, he changed his face...

Summary of the bad experience:
a) Doing work without measurement....at the end, found out wall, window frames, fencing, façade all not in straight line...
b) Bad workmanship in wall plastering...
c) When my air-con contractor hacked the floor at my terrace to conceal the air-con water pipe, found out that empty under the floor...偷工減料...
d) Replace the whole roof with new roof tiles but already leaking within half year...
e) Don't have floor levelling...at the end, have to use the a lot of sand+cement to do floor levelling by tiles contractor...twice the money spent in material cost...
f) Do not keep promises....Today make promise but next week he will deny it by giving a lot of excuses...

This post has been edited by tiensong: Aug 15 2011, 02:42 PM
Jo_da48
post Aug 16 2011, 12:58 AM

1,529 posts

QUOTE(tiensong @ Aug 15 2011, 02:01 PM)

Added on August 15, 2011, 2:33 pm
wow...my bad experience with contractor also base serdang....also name Wong xx...0193066xxx..his house is behind the hong leong bank at Jalan Besar, Serdang, Seri Kembangan

Initial he is a good guy too but at the end when i found out a lot of shits, he changed his face...

Summary of the bad experience:
a) Doing work without measurement....at the end, found out wall, window frames, fencing, façade all not in straight line...
b) Bad workmanship in wall plastering...
c) When my air-con contractor hacked the floor at my terrace to conceal the air-con water pipe, found out that empty under the floor...偷工減料...
d) Replace the whole roof with new roof tiles but already leaking within half year...
e) Don't have floor levelling...at the end, have to use the a lot of sand+cement to do floor levelling by tiles contractor...twice the money spent in material cost...
f) Do not keep promises....Today make promise but next week he will deny it by giving a lot of excuses...
Sound like him except i didn't know actual he staying. He own a Camry / MYVI and a old lori.
a / b / e & f is part of issues I'm facing too.

tiensong
post Aug 16 2011, 11:59 AM

2,237 posts

QUOTE(Jo_da48 @ Aug 16 2011, 12:58 AM)
Sound like him except i didn't know actual he staying. He own a Camry / MYVI and a old lori.
a / b / e & f is part of issues I'm facing too.
Not the same guy..but I know his relative (wong xx) also doing construction..

My contractor is driving a old benz....

jforjean
post Aug 16 2011, 03:45 PM

424 posts

QUOTE(Jo_da48 @ Aug 14 2011, 08:48 PM)

The contractor give you shit, u stil willing to pay him the balance, really too nicely la!
How good if every time i can meet a owner like you...??
somebody which never take moral lesson at primary school, they even didnt clear the balance to me, although i done all the job he want me to do.
When I call up to chase for the payment, he even shout to me & hang off the phone...!!

Jo_da48
post Aug 16 2011, 04:04 PM

1,529 posts

QUOTE(jforjean @ Aug 16 2011, 03:45 PM)
The contractor give you shit, u stil willing to pay him the balance, really too nicely la!
How good if every time i can meet a owner like you...??
somebody which never take moral lesson at primary school, they even didnt clear the balance to me, although i done all the job he want me to do.
When I call up to chase for the payment, he even shout to me & hang off the phone...!!

I dont like to "O" any body and also didn't want to have trouble because of $. If he think that he done his job and the $$$ is what he should earn for. We not talking about few hundre thounsand. If few K knowning a personal better than been hit by more bigger hole.
Next time if saw him on road site, he will be the one who need to find way to avoid me, not me cool2.gif

Are you facing probelm with Rich people who don't pay u bill?

jforjean
post Aug 16 2011, 04:19 PM

424 posts

QUOTE(Jo_da48 @ Aug 16 2011, 04:04 PM)
I dont like to "O" any body and also didn't want to have trouble because of $. If he think that he done his job and the $$$ is what he should earn for. We not talking about few hundre thounsand. If few K knowning a personal better than been hit by more bigger hole.
Next time if  saw him on road site, he will be the one who need to find way to avoid me, not me  cool2.gif

Are you facing probelm with Rich people who don't pay u bill?
Emmm, you're right too.
I also don't like to hutang ppl $$...
coz i know it's "blood sweat money"

Emmm. not RICH ppl don't pay me bill.
is a UNCLE with low educated, im quite angry when he shout to me.
but i got nth to do, he even owe me around rm7k, but still shout loudly toward me!!
I'm not racism, but i do meet few different race ppl dont clear the balance to me.
so im quite afraid to entertain those ppl now too...
am i too unluck, or mayb im too nicely?!

This post has been edited by jforjean: Aug 16 2011, 04:20 PM
Eleganz Concept
post Aug 16 2011, 05:47 PM

582 posts

haha, i guess i am more unluck compare to u, the 1 owe me money is a RICH ppl, or i should said, a ppl pretend rich, when work in progress, keep on adding thing, and say, money is not a problem, the problem only happen when payment is due. but is been a old case, i not even want to chase anymore, useless, that about 30k rclxub.gif
wrb7878
post Aug 16 2011, 05:53 PM

843 posts

i m getting my contractor from forum as well. so far no problem, hope the bad thing no come to me.
kelvyn
post Aug 16 2011, 05:54 PM

3,173 posts

Sometimes you will get mislead by these so called RICH people. They just do not have the intention to pay. Probably this is how they become rich in the first place.
jforjean
post Aug 16 2011, 10:14 PM

424 posts

QUOTE(Eleganz Concept @ Aug 16 2011, 05:47 PM)
haha, i guess i am more unluck compare to u, the 1 owe me money is a RICH ppl, or i should said, a ppl pretend rich, when work in progress, keep on adding thing, and say, money is not a problem, the problem only happen when payment is due. but is been a old case, i not even want to chase anymore, useless, that about 30k  rclxub.gif
rm30k.... not little bit amount leh... sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif
why never chase? unless u also RICH ppl, rm30k to you is small small case tongue.gif
u can hire a lawyer & sue the RICH!!

Eleganz Concept
post Aug 17 2011, 11:41 AM

582 posts

QUOTE(jforjean @ Aug 16 2011, 10:14 PM)
rm30k.... not little bit amount leh... sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
why never chase? unless u also RICH ppl, rm30k to you is small small case  tongue.gif
u can hire a lawyer & sue the RICH!!

haha, we did hire lawyer, and 3 warning latter already, but some how, we realise... he not a (normal) rich man, haha, so becoz of own family safety.. forget about it...
weikee
post Aug 17 2011, 12:13 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(Eleganz Concept @ Aug 17 2011, 11:41 AM)
haha, we did hire lawyer, and 3 warning latter already, but some how, we realise... he not a (normal) rich man, haha, so becoz of own family safety.. forget about it...
Put it this way, if he own you something, it will pay back maybe not in monetary term. Is call Karma smile.gif

There is a saying, what goes around comes around.
Eleganz Concept
post Aug 17 2011, 12:27 PM

582 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Aug 17 2011, 12:13 PM)
Put it this way, if he own you something, it will pay back maybe not in monetary term. Is call Karma smile.gif

There is a saying, what goes around comes around.
Ya, that what i believe too, so i sure my life will getting well, and i sure he will in the other way. ^^
kelvyn
post Aug 17 2011, 12:56 PM

3,173 posts

QUOTE(Eleganz Concept @ Aug 17 2011, 01:27 PM)
Ya, that what i believe too, so i sure my life will getting well, and i sure he will in the other way. ^^
Well, that's one positive way of looking at it and get on with life tongue.gif

This post has been edited by kelvyn: Aug 17 2011, 12:57 PM
wos
post Sep 27 2011, 11:38 AM

908 posts

Not only from contractor...it occurred on me when buy furniture.. especially you order from catalog when showroom don't have the actual thing. What you see is not what you get it...and what shop promise you, is not what them going to do. When shit happen, I was told I need to pay to change back what I want :s ...
silverong
post Sep 27 2011, 03:27 PM

344 posts

Hi there,

Just a share story for my renovation which start on last year.

About Sept 2010, I had appointed Kejuruteraan Keris Emas to renovate my house in Puchong.
On Oct and Nov 2010, the work progress is quite fast and I'm quite happy with that. However, start from Dec 2010, the work all stop and hardly to find the contractor name Indra Haliz. Everytime once his pick up my call (sometime I had to use different phone number to call him), he will provide bunch of reasons, e.g. waiting for parts, workers runaway, his vendor still pending and bla bla bla...

On Feb/Mar 2011, I managed to get his family and he come to me said that he will continue the rest of work. Again, he just show few times and only done 90% of my landscaping (this is another story again within him and the guy who doing the landscaping, it is also unhappy), but later on also doesn't show up and pickup my calls. Has contact his family again, his family told that he said there already too much works on my house and lossing so much of $$, should not continue my works. I just $%^$^#^#$% and again his family also totally does not pick up the calls.

On Apr 2011, finally I have made a police report and reported to tribunal court.

Below is the items which haven't complete:
1. Autogate system does not deliver and install.
2. Kitchen table top and cabinet does not deliver and built/setup.
3. 1 toilet does not tiles (originally I didn't plan to change the tiles but he dismantled my tiles due to mistake)
4. all toilet accessories include the toilet bowl does not install and 1 toilet bowl installed in wrong toilet which the size if different.
5. number of downlights install less than per contract agreement stated.
6. Autogate door comes with cheap quality but not follow the design that I choose, but still charge my RM4k+ included the autogate system as per contract.
7. Air con points and some power points does not install.

On May/June 2011, I have appointed new contractor and below is the more finding and fixing:

1. Water leak on extended kitchen, required to redo the waterproof system.
2. Change the lamps in L-box from fluorescent lamp to T5 and redo the wiring.
3. The wiring mostly just loop and loop, some wiring redo only (recently found the sockets on dining room does not provide enough power)
4. Extended kitchen landscaping does not doing well, one side of the wall is just 110 degree but not 90 degree.

Below is the information regards Kejuruteraan Keris Emas and Contractor information:

Forum ID: AzimAdhwa
Kejuruteraan Keris Emas
ROB: SA0056842U
Name: Indra Haliz
Birthday: 21 Sept 1986
H/P: 019-3795792
Phone: 03-33746963
Email: kkerisemas@yahoo.com
Address: LOT 449, JALAN SUNGAI BERTIK, 41100 Klang, Selangor
CIMB Bank Acc: 12210009564057
Maybank Acc: 162544000249

Until now he still haven't return me the advance payment and also the defect works, but I still saw he is active in the forum, so now has wrote this topic and inform all the forumers to beware of this.

wrb7878
post Sep 27 2011, 05:10 PM

843 posts

He is still very active for past few month....
weikee
post Sep 27 2011, 05:28 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(silverong @ Sep 27 2011, 03:27 PM)
Hi there,

About Sept 2010, I had appointed Kejuruteraan Keris Emas to renovate my house in Puchong.
On Oct and Nov 2010, the work progress is quite fast and I'm quite happy with that. However, start from Dec 2010, the work all stop and hardly to find the contractor name Indra Haliz. Everytime once his pick up my call (sometime I had to use different phone number to call him), he will provide bunch of reasons, e.g. waiting for parts, workers runaway, his vendor still pending and bla bla bla...

On Feb/Mar 2011, I managed to get his family and he come to me said that he will continue the rest of work. Again, he just show few times and only done 90% of my landscaping (this is another story again within him and the guy who doing the landscaping, it is also unhappy), but later on also doesn't show up and pickup my calls. Has contact his family again, his family told that he said there already too much works on my house and lossing so much of $$, should not continue my works. I just $%^$^#^#$% and again his family also totally does not pick up the calls.

On Apr 2011, finally I have made a police report and reported to tribunal court.

3. 1 toilet does not tiles (originally I didn't plan to change the tiles but he dismantled my tiles due to mistake)
4. all toilet accessories include the toilet bowl does not install and 1 toilet bowl installed in wrong toilet which the size if different.
6. Autogate door comes with cheap quality but not follow the design that I choose, but still charge my RM4k+ included the autogate system as per contract.

On May/June 2011, I have appointed new contractor and below is the more finding and fixing:

3. The wiring mostly just loop and loop, some wiring redo only (recently found the sockets on dining room does not provide enough power)
4. Extended kitchen landscaping does not doing well, one side of the wall is just 110 degree but not 90 degree.

Below is the information regards Kejuruteraan Keris Emas and Contractor information:

Kejuruteraan Keris Emas

Until now he still haven't return me the advance payment and also the defect works, but I still saw he is active in the forum, so now has wrote this topic and inform all the forumers to beware of this.

Go his house / office

http://www.cidb.gov.my/directory/local_con...?cont_id=128640
Skydrop
post Sep 27 2011, 07:46 PM

361 posts

Thank you for sharing Silverong. I almost contacted this person for quotation. Now can struck off already. Really sorry to hear what you went through.
ckwong111
post Oct 1 2011, 09:43 AM

38 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Sep 27 2011, 05:28 PM)
Good for you to file a police report and report to tribunal court.

When people take your hard earn money, they think you can afford it mah....they have no right!!!

I am interested what can the police and tribunal court can do to protect victims of this type of fraud.

Do update on this forum so that victims or potential victims know what to do in this kind of case...

chinyen
post Oct 1 2011, 10:15 AM

754 posts

kam engineering a?
edwin32us
post Oct 28 2011, 09:28 AM

593 posts

Talking about bad experience with a contractor. Last month, September i noticed that my roof was leaking at my kitchen and then i saw a name card in my letter box who advertise themselves as Roof Waterproofing Specialist. That day i rang them up and explain about my problem and ask them to provide me some quotation.

They mention they will send their specialist team to my house on the very afternoon but i was not free and ask them to come the following Saturday. So they came and provide their specialist advice they are able to solve this and quote me RM850. At first i was reluctant to pay but they insured me that they provide me 1 year warranty is there is still any leaking at the same spot. So i let them repair my roof and unexpectedly they just paint a water proofing epoxy around my kicthen roof between the metal gutter and the wall and insured will they will be no problem.

The next few days, there was a heavy storm and i noticed there was still leaking on my kitchen plaster ceiling after i can repainted it after the roof was fixed. Frustated i rang up the company to complaint and ask them to come to check and fix it since it was still under warranty. After calling them daily and complain then only they send their team to check. ( I was wondering why the post service is so bad and they only come after two weeks of complaining which does not match with their initial service which they will come right on the spot when i call them the first time!!)

Then the roof specialist team went up to the roof and check and explain that during heavy storm the water will splatter in between the gutter and roof tiles (again i was questiong myself, if they were specialist why did they found the problem during the initial inspection) and then they recommend to put another feet of zinc sheet on top of the roof to prevent the roof leaking. ( Initial, i was happy that they found the root cause but here comes the nightmare and they mention that they will charge another extra RM600 for this service).

I was shocked when they mention that they will charge me extra but i mention it was still in warranty and they should fix it for free but they mention the warranty was for the waterproof epoxy coating which they did before and they mention there was no crack on the coating. I tried to argue that the warranty was for the roof leaking which they had initially insured me that it wont leak again at the same spot. In my mind, painting the water proofing epoxy was just too expensive which i could buy a top grade waterproof epoxy for RM 150 and paint it myself.

After mentioning that it is still warranty and they should repair it for free, they provide so many excuse and reason then lastly i was frustated and requested them to bare at least 50% of the cost and i pay them RM300 but they refused. I was totally dissapointed with their dishonesty and integrity about the warranty that they insured me and told them off that i will not continue their service for the following repair required.. So i would like to kindly advice please think twice to request for services from those advertise name card and this particular company

Company Name : Top Form Water Proofing Specialist
Contact Number : 012-2302370

Lastly i requested another roof specialist recommend by neighbour and he only charge me Rm200 to repair and it was excellent. The company Top Form really charge very expensive ,dishonest in the warranty insured and bad after sales service.

This post has been edited by edwin32us: Oct 28 2011, 09:33 AM
kelvyn
post Oct 28 2011, 09:56 AM

3,173 posts

From my own experience, I will never get these so called specialist to carry out any repair work. Those that go around distributing calling cards, etc. If they are good, they don't this kind of advertisement. People will find them by word of mouth. Not only that they are way over priced & out to make a quick buck from people's misery; but they are not experience and knowledgeable. It is quite common that they push to the house owner to pay for additional work that they have overlooked previously (from lack of experience)
metermanic
post Nov 2 2011, 03:52 PM

Good Day,

I could sense your frusturation. I'm a contractor myself. Usually for mid size to large project I would have a CA (Cotractors Agreement) with the house owner. In this agreement we would set terms like due date (where a contractor will be penalised for delays on agreed due date) and terms on agreed work and materials to be supplied. ( ussualy consist of a long detailed list ). Furthermore the agreement would also state that contractor would need prior written consent from owner for additional work and charges. Payment terms will also be covered in the agreement. Final payment will only be given after hand over of the project whereby customer has to be satisfied with the work done. Any damage incurred during project, customer could appoint another contractor or chose the same contractor to repair the damge and all cost would be the contractors liability.
This CA will ensure house owners are protected and the contractors will stick by the agreed terms n conditions. Thus situation like above could be avoided. Why waste your hard earned money just like that. You should get for what you paid for.

Hope this helps (moving forward)

jerrykok
post Nov 3 2011, 12:13 PM

QUOTE(edwin32us @ Oct 28 2011, 09:28 AM)
Talking about bad experience with a contractor. Last month, September i noticed that my roof was leaking at my kitchen and then i saw a name card in my letter box who advertise themselves as Roof Waterproofing Specialist. That day i rang them up and explain about my problem and ask them to provide me some quotation.

They mention they will send their specialist team to my house on the very afternoon but i was not free and ask them to come the following Saturday. So they came and provide their specialist advice they are able to solve this and quote me RM850. At first i was reluctant to pay but they insured me that they provide me 1 year warranty is there is still any leaking at the same spot. So i let them repair my roof and unexpectedly they just paint a water proofing epoxy around my kicthen roof between the metal gutter and the wall and insured will they will be no problem.

The next few days, there was a heavy storm and i noticed there was still leaking on my kitchen plaster ceiling after i can repainted it after the roof was fixed. Frustated i rang up the company to complaint and ask them to come to check and fix it since it was still under warranty. After calling them daily and complain then only they send their team to check. ( I was wondering why the post service is so bad and they only come after two weeks of complaining which does not match with their initial service which they will come right on the spot when i call them the first time!!)

Then the roof specialist team went up to the roof and check and explain that during heavy storm the water will splatter in between the gutter and roof tiles (again i was questiong myself, if they were specialist why did they found the problem during the initial inspection) and then they recommend to put another feet of zinc sheet on top of the roof to prevent the roof leaking. ( Initial, i was happy that they found the root cause but here comes the nightmare and they mention that they will charge another extra RM600 for this service).

I was shocked when they mention that they will charge me extra but i mention it was still in warranty and they should fix it for free but they mention the warranty was for the waterproof epoxy coating which they did before and they mention there was no crack on the coating. I tried to argue that the warranty was for the roof leaking which they had initially insured me that it wont leak again at the same spot. In my mind, painting the water proofing epoxy was just too expensive which i could buy a top grade waterproof epoxy for RM 150 and paint it myself.

After mentioning that it is still warranty and they should repair it for free, they provide so many excuse and reason then lastly i was frustated and requested them to bare at least 50% of the cost and i pay them RM300 but they refused. I was totally dissapointed with their dishonesty and integrity about the warranty that they insured me and told them off that i will not continue their service for the following repair required.. So i would like to kindly advice please think twice to request for services from those advertise name card and this particular company

Company Name : Top Form  Water Proofing Specialist
Lastly i requested another roof specialist recommend by neighbour and he only charge me Rm200 to repair and it was excellent. The company Top Form really charge very expensive ,dishonest in the warranty insured and bad after sales service.
Hi Edwin,

I had the exactly same experience as you. Two weeks back I notice that my extended kitchen roof was leaking. I was looking around for ppl to fix it when I come across this flyers in my mailbox stated that they r the "roofing specialist".. I call them up and they r at my place within an hour. Told me that I need to put up zinc on my roof to prevent any leakage. Ok So I engage them and they quote me 2k to put up all the zinc and some pipe and gutter as well. At first I was happy with their service.. They did it within a day and demanded for payment. I pay them as I can see the job is done.

After about a week, I notice that one part of my roof is still leaking after a heavy thunderstorm. I call them up to complain as it stated that they will give a warranty of 1 yr. They say they will come back n rectified the problem.. is only small matter. After 4 days still nobody is at my place to fix it. I call them up again daily saying that why nobody is here yet. Again they give me the same excuse..the report have been send up maybe the contractor is not free, got many job.. bla bla bla.

After reading your story that they will charge u extra when they actually provide the so call "warranty", I'm also scared to ask them come back now. This people is so dishonest.

You mention that you engage another roof specialist to get the job done for only RM 200, how was the job done? Still got leak? Can share on the contacts ?

Anyway, the name of the company I mention above is :

EPS Waterproofing Construction

Never never engage them!!
coldman86
post Nov 3 2011, 02:47 PM

110 posts

To all Owner,

I'm a designer and i do design and build. In the market now. Alot of ppl will consider us as a contractor and just let me explain between designer and contractor.

Contractor.
Contractor normally u all will face Main Con and there will sub all the thing to other ppl do. Maybe himself onli doing some controlling. They just wan to find the work asap and grab money and tat end of the stroy. THIS IS CALL CONCTRACTOR.

Designer
Beside we designer firm onli do the design part we aso will gv alot of service on QC and coordinated with all the subcon and main con to make sure they to they work well. will good finishing and we are learn to provide our service to customers.

So if u all next time wan to play safe please attach to a design firm. Our Knowledge on renovation is more then contractor and so owner itself.

Thx

Best Regards,
Benny.W

P/S i just sick of those this kind of contractor. it make our market suck to the max. lolx

cheers
maxim concept
post Nov 3 2011, 02:57 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(coldman86 @ Nov 3 2011, 02:47 PM)
To all Owner,

I'm a designer and i do design and build. In the market now. Alot of ppl will consider us as a contractor  and just let me explain between designer and contractor.

Contractor.
Contractor normally u all will face Main Con and there will sub all the thing to other ppl do. Maybe himself onli doing some controlling. They just wan to find the work asap and grab money and tat end of the stroy. THIS IS CALL CONCTRACTOR. 

Designer
Beside we designer firm onli do the design part we aso will gv alot of service on QC and coordinated with all the subcon and main con to make sure they to they work well. will good finishing and we are learn to provide our service to customers.

So if u all next time wan to play safe please attach to a design firm.  Our Knowledge on renovation is more then contractor and so owner itself.

Thx
Best Regards,
Benny.W

P/S i just sick of those this kind of contractor. it make our market suck to the max. lolx

cheers
What coldman86 is very very true. I couldn't agree more.

To all property owners out there, please be alert and careful with your selection.
ozak
post Nov 3 2011, 03:14 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(coldman86 @ Nov 3 2011, 02:47 PM)
To all Owner,

I'm a designer and i do design and build. In the market now. Alot of ppl will consider us as a contractor  and just let me explain between designer and contractor.

Contractor.

Designer

So if u all next time wan to play safe please attach to a design firm.  Our Knowledge on renovation is more then contractor and so owner itself.

Thx
Best Regards,
Benny.W

cheers
coldman86, open a new thread here and tell us more about your company and etc. I guess many ppl here happy to know more and engage design company like your 1. smile.gif
falto13
post Nov 22 2011, 11:02 PM

19 posts

For Johoreans around the Skudai area;

Beware of this Indonesian conman contractor, http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100003102748980
alias: Falto Warsito Yudya.
Tel:0137893835 / 0167489787

Quoted a lump sum.

Never finish the work and absconded with victims's money. Victims also included one building material suppliers, window suppliers and his indonesian sub-contractors-workers. All also looking and hunting for him.

Left the un-finish work in a mess behind.

Disappeared and refused to show up any more in person but still operating in Johor and taking calls.

We need help from public and anyone with info can post on http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100003102748980.

Also you may get his info and warns your friends and neighbour who will be doing renovation.

falto13
post Nov 22 2011, 11:05 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(silverong @ Sep 27 2011, 03:27 PM)
Hi there,

Kejuruteraan Keris Emas

For Johoreans around the Skudai area;

Beware of this Indonesian conman contractor, http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100003102748980
alias: Falto Warsito Yudya.
Tel:0137893835 / 0167489787

Quoted a lump sum.

Never finish the work and absconded with victims's money. Victims also included one building material suppliers, window suppliers and his indonesian sub-contractors-workers. All also looking and hunting for him.

Left the un-finish work in a mess behind.

Disappeared and refused to show up any more in person but still operating in Johor and taking calls.

We need help from public and anyone with info can post on http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100003102748980.

Also you may get his info and warns your friends and neighbour who will be doing renovation.

pall
post Jan 4 2012, 11:29 PM

QUOTE(edwin32us @ Oct 28 2011, 09:28 AM)

Company Name : Top Form  Water Proofing Specialist
Hi Edwin,

Mind to share the contact of the roof specialist that manage to solve your problem.

edwin32us
post Jan 5 2012, 01:54 AM

593 posts

Samy ( Malay)

You have to buy your own materials and it would be best to follow him to the shop and he will ask for the material for you and you can choose whehter to get the quality or cheap item which is up to you
benzee
post Feb 9 2012, 02:57 PM

103 posts

My new condo just finish renovated by Ahkam that you mentioned. I didn't saw this post when I engaged his service. I saw a post in other forum saying him is good in the Kitchen cabinet. After looking at his workmanship seems medicore because most of the stuff not done by him but he sub out to other people.. Planning to let him change all the tiles for two toilet..now I think I have to think again.

He got give me black and white..then payment is okay also..
hai5273
post Feb 10 2012, 11:45 PM

Hi All, If you need house renovation in butterworth and penang. Please email me for the quotation. We provide black & white and itemize those renovation breakdown as well. This is to prevent miscommunication between us and owner.

okkconstruct28@gmail.com
JasonOoi
bestsane
post Jun 27 2012, 11:44 AM

55 posts

I would like to share my bad experience with this contractor recommended in this forum, named David Chow Yong Ee, from BELLWAY HOMES, based in Jalan PU 2/5, Puchong, Selangor. First of all, I'm not blaming you (if you are a real customer of his). Maybe he did a good job on you, but in my case, if anybody who reads this wants me to sum up him in one word, it would be IRRESPONSIBLE. I'm not being ill-hated or malicious by writing this statement, I'm just using my consumer power to stop irresponsible, reckless, unreliable and bogus contractor from having a place in our world.

So, let me tell a real, true story, experienced first hand by myself as an owner of my house and as his customer.

I just moved into a 20x60 house. Not that big. I wanted all my parquets in my house to be replaced with tiles. So I called him up some time in April 2012, and the rate he agreed to give me was RM4.50/sqft. Based on 557 sqft, the charge was RM2,500. On top of that, I would like the floor tiles of my 2 bathrooms (much less than 200 sqft) to be replaced with new tiles. The charge was RM1,600, inclusive of installation of water basin and toilet bowl. All the charges include workmanship, but excluding tiles, water basin and toilet bowl, which I wanted to buy on my own.

Before his guys started working, he (David Chow) told me that the work could be finished in 1 week. Of course I don't trust any word from a person I barely know, so I predicted it could be in between 7-8 days to complete. The work was done by two (2) Indonesians from Jawa Timur, not David. I suspected they are just 19 or 20 or even younger. The work was done every day by those 2 guys, except 2 or 3 days when only 1 worker (named Amin from Sulawesi) did the job. The reason was the 2 guys who were supposed to do the job were not fed by their employers. I was told by them sometimes they were not even paid. So I believe they retaliated by not coming to work. Fortunately I didn't just sit there and let them starve. How do you expect 2 guys not properly taken care of do their work?

After 8 days passed by, the work was still not completed. I called up this David guy every day, and every time we engaged in a conversation, he assured me that the work can be completed today. Today and today and today for the next 4 days. Obviously this young guy didn't know what he was talking about. The work was completed on the 13th day.

Regarding the quality of the work, I would rate 5 in a scale of 1 to 10. After the work was completed, they were still small holes between two tiles. So I asked them to put cement (or whatever it is called). OK, the job was done. But now, the holes seem to reappear again. So I guess the workmanship is not that good, flawed to its best. Not to mention that now they are hairline cracks on the skirting of the wall that they put up.

The most pathetic part is this. After installing the toilet bowl, the water flow to the manhole seemed to be clogged. So the Amin guy took it out, scooped the things he could find in the pipe with his bare hands and found some algae, and re-install the toilet bowl again. It seemed it was OK after several flushings. About less than a month later, the toilet bowl began to clogged up again. Water can be seen exiting through the base of the bowl (the one that connects the bowl and the floor) when it was flushed. Water also rose up when it was flushed. I suspected it was clogged again. Note that the toilet is a guest toilet, which was rarely used. So no toilet paper or anything similar get disposed of into the bowl. So, I called up this David guy. To my surprise, HE REFUSED TO LOOK INTO IT because the Amin guy had de-clogged the toilet before. OK, fine, at that moment I promised that I will do everything in my power to tell the world what kind of a contractor he really is.

Then, I called up my old contractor who renovated my house previously. He came eventually, and looked into that. He took out the bowl, used his designated pole (not with his bare hands) to check whether it is clogged or not. IT WASN'T CLOGGED. The reason why water came out through the base of the bowl is there was not enough mixture of cement put at the base of the bowl. In other words, IT WAS THIS DAVID'S DOING ALL ALONG. Now the toilet is doing just fine.

So, a very valuable lesson learned. My advice is don't ever ever appoint a young, inexperience young contractor like David Chow Yong Ee. I don't think he has ever done any hands-on work related to construction. He only came to my house 2-3 times in about 30 minutes each time to supervise his workers, whereas my previous contractor, Mr. Tan did the work himself with his workers. If you want Mr. Tan's contact number, please PM me.
RickOoi
post May 3 2013, 02:56 PM

403 posts

I would like to seek fellow sifus advice how to proceed with my contractor that "disappeared" from working at my site for a week now.

The only Indoan worker left (the rest run away) claimed that he was not paid for whole month of April.

I do not know how to settle this since the contractor is not picking up my calls.

Can anyone plaese help to advice.
Chigme
post May 3 2013, 04:29 PM

700 posts

QUOTE(RickOoi @ May 3 2013, 02:56 PM)
I would like to seek fellow sifus advice how to proceed with my contractor that "disappeared" from working at my site for a week now.

The only Indoan worker left (the rest run away) claimed that he was not paid for whole month of April.

I do not know how to settle this since the contractor is not picking up my calls.

Can anyone plaese help to advice.
Have experienced an ID in Singapore also not picking up calls, work halfway done but we have paid 100%. He owed contractor and suppliers money until they knocked on our doors to ask for payment. As long as your contractor phone not terminated you still have chance. Keep on calling or sms, you must be nasty and make sure he come to see you. Then you can settle with him face to face. This issue will prolonged so be prepare that work will standstill for many months.

This is the ID guy's face you can find in the link below. I heard he has venture into Indonesia , in case he decide to come here , for the benefit of Malaysian please take note:

http://kingrosedesignpartnership.blogspot.com/

This post has been edited by Chigme: May 3 2013, 04:30 PM
RickOoi
post May 3 2013, 04:40 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(Chigme @ May 3 2013, 04:29 PM)
Have experienced an ID in Singapore also not picking up calls, work halfway done but we have paid  100%. He owed contractor  and suppliers money until they knocked on our doors to ask for payment.  As long as your contractor phone not terminated you still have chance. Keep on calling or sms, you must be nasty and make sure he come to see you. Then you can settle with him face to face. This issue will prolonged so be prepare that work will standstill for many months. 

This is the ID guy's face you can find in the link below. I heard he has venture into Indonesia , in case he decide to come here , for the benefit of Malaysian please take note:

http://kingrosedesignpartnership.blogspot.com/
Thank you so much Chigme for your advice.

I am very warry since this contractor exhibited all those 'run away' contractor signs like:
1) Don't pikc up calls,
2) Give lame excuesses for not showing up at work site ("Today rest day", "My car broke down"),
3) Keep asking for money and advancements,
4) Workers not paid,
5) Promises not kept,
6) Lying.

He even has the gut to ask me to recommend people to him.
onnying88
post May 6 2013, 08:36 PM

2,663 posts

Can anyone recommend me a contractor for repair roof leaking? Location sri petaling. Please pm me.Thanks.
Lion LIM
post Jul 24 2013, 09:55 PM

42 posts

BAD CONTRACTOR !!!

DO NOT TRY THIS GUY AT YOUR HOME!!!

Company = STYLE RENOVATION & DESIGN
Name = YEE KOK LIN
IC# 750131-08-5925
Mobile# 016-71 999 11

HONG LEONG BANK ACC# 19700019828
MAYBANK ACC# 151203997118

He threaten me to give balance 100% payment (i had pay almost 80%) after he done 50% of work only!
I refuse, then this contractor start to act like samseng and stop work, postpone the work ... macam macam hal buat...

Also, he always act no money to give salary.
His subcontractor all complaint cause he always give empty promise and bounce check to them. Is a jerk ass man!

Finally he abondoned the site and ask his subcontractor to stop half way work.... a night mare to me now..
Informationiac
post Nov 12 2013, 07:35 PM

147 posts

Bad experience with this contractor

Name = Yap Kam Hong
Mobile# 0122427313

1 phrase to describe "Run-away contractors with money" need more to say?
Even worst, ask for deposit for many things, but never pay them to the sub contractors.
butterdog
post Nov 27 2013, 03:11 AM

My experience with bad contractor (main con) & his sub-contractor.

Main con: HENG AIK SIONG (Star Home Renovation), knows only tiling work, will collect $$$ & talk talk talk.
Sub con: MURUGAYA@EMGI@SAM (Buildfact Enterprise), a fat indian guy who is really irresponsible & knows nothing about renovation.
Overall, 80% of the work done but with bad workmanship. The finishing works are non-existence. Waterproofing are done extremely poor. Tiling works are of 2nd grade. Luckily I did not pay them the whole amount, left 15% of the total amount. Beware!!!
nikolas010
post Mar 2 2014, 07:33 AM

21 posts

BAD CONTRACTOR Ben Chuah Eng Lock

Recently, somebody has been cheated again in Dec 2015. Read comment from the victim.
http://www.complaintsboard.com/complaints/...or-c702538.html

Name: Ben Chuah Eng Lock
H/P: 017-2604042
Car plate: WNG 6808
Company address: LOT 765-B-10, JLN SUBANG 4, SG PENAGA, USJ SUBANG.
Private FB: https://www.facebook.com/englock.chuah
Company FB: https://www.facebook.com/ZANOTTASTUDIO
Company website: http://www.zanotta.com.my/

Please read this blog for the sad cases.
http://badcontractorbenchuah.blogspot.com/

This post has been edited by nikolas010: Mar 9 2016, 06:31 AM
sandd international
post Mar 4 2014, 04:45 PM

27 posts

[quote=lokideangelus,Apr 6 2010, 03:42 PM]
10% - Agreement / start work
30% - Half way
50% - Finish
10% - Completion/satisfactory

Agree!! Not all contractor are bad. Better engage with design firm. 50% upon start and 50% upon completion I think mostly contractor cannot complete the job and end up run away.
NomNom
post Apr 14 2015, 09:17 AM

1,075 posts

I just have a really bad experience on my contractor. It's a condo, i just do Full renovate 2 toilet, kitchen cabinet, plaster ceiling and kitchen cabinet. it took me 160days and havent including defect and touch up.
During the confirmation, the contractor say it can done within 3months. but extended extra 1month twice from management. the worst part is the last week before the deadline, he call me to help him open the door and let his sub-con to come in and do the work.
i have deducted his balance sum, on he took away the my ceiling fans, spoil the rain shower mixer, and others defects. he start to act like samseng.
really disappointed on his job.
even my condo security guard also laugh on me and ask, why your contractor come to do work 1 days and missing for 1-2weeks.
i believe that maybe some of the people here able to get a good job from him. but he really did a bad job on my house. now i suffer on the water leaking issue on my master room toilet. NIGHTMARE!

Ray's Renovation
Name: Raymond Hii
H/P: 016-229 3475
Company address: 136, Jalan Seroja 1/1,
Sungai Buloh Country Resort,
47000 Sungai Buloh,
Selangor Darul Ehsan, Malaysia

Company FB: https://www.facebook.com/RaysRenovation
Company website: http://www.renovation-contractor.org/

jardel123jay
post Jan 6 2019, 11:33 AM

What a fxxking shitting company. I had bad experience with them.Called them for the roof leaking service due to the leaks from roof to kitchen.I was told the plumber will come over to check the cause of the leaking and will give the quotation then only I will decide whether or not to accept their service. But this plumber(Mr Lim) insisted to repair it and the price he quoted for RM800.00,What a ridiculous price!!!When I put him on the phone to speak to my husband and my husband told him we will consider his offer but definitely not the same day carry out the repairing work.When the plumber(Mr Lim)heard that he immediately demanded for RM 200 service charge if we don’t accept his repair service.
This is the first time I encountered in my life as i’ve deal with so many contractors..that we need to pay the service charge when they come over to give us the quotation and if we do not use their service.
I was not told about this charges will be incurred if they come over just to check and give quotation when I called Boon Chye Plumbing and Electrical Service to inquiry about their plumber service.I personally think that should there be any charges for quotation only,they have to advice and alert the customer in advance before sending their plumber to the site,the plumber then demanded for the service charge.This is really not the appropriate.If your company have this “term” or “rules” of collecting the service charge for just to check and give quotation,kindly inform us,your potential customer,first.This is not honest!

suyin922
post Jul 22 2020, 01:04 PM

27 posts

Three years ago, I did my porch tiling through this contractor, Jin Soo Deco & Renovation, Sam Tan Ching Liong 016-6341618. Before I decided to appoint him, I told him to do proper leveling so that water flowing outwards and not inwards. He agreed so I appointed him. After appointing him and when he started the tiling works, because only my old dad at home during weekdays, he simply just replaced the tiles without proper leveling. In other words, just merely changing tiles. After completion, water puddling at my main door entrance won't flow away even after rain stopped. I called him to come to rectify, every time like having to beg and pester, took very long for him to come. Finally he did came to do minor rectification. Now water still flowing inwards when rain is heavy, just that will flow away eventually after rain stops. This contractor is a BIG NO especially if you don't have muscular man at home as he knows who he can bully. My dad did remind him to do proper leveling but he ignored him. He charged me RM7,800 for an area size of approx 15 x 18 ft. And the tiles he bought from a factory that liquidated 6 months after the tiling works. Quite a number of the tiles cracked in less than a year.

This post has been edited by suyin922: Jul 23 2020, 07:32 PM

Attached image(s)

0.0609sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 08:30 PM