Astro B.yond V4.1, WELCOME TO THE NEW WORLD OF HD

AjkR06
post May 21 2010, 11:39 PM

that's me
1,548 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ May 21 2010, 11:26 PM)
Is there any SD channel on B.yond that should get "digitally enhanced"? wave.gif
digitally enhanced? what u mean? blink.gif
moving from standard interlaced scan (576i) to progressive scan (576p)? - 576 scan lines because M'sia is a PAL country..

This post has been edited by AjkR06: May 21 2010, 11:40 PM
AjkR06
post May 22 2010, 07:53 AM

that's me
1,548 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ May 21 2010, 11:48 PM)
The right term is EDTV. It's better than SD but not HD. 576p is possible?

Meanwhile, AFHD on ch124 is on.
Yes, it's possible for Astro to convert all of their channel from SDTV to EDTV.
But as you know, older decoder that only have RF, Composite and S-Video, did not support progressive scan output.
So, only decoder that have component (YPbPr) output (at least) can support it. For Byond, that's not problem at all.... smile.gif
and also, the question of bandwidth will rise again. Progressive scan videos consume much more bandwidth than interlace videos.
Some more, not all their subscribers are using TV that can accept progressive scan videos... blush.gif
576p is also the same quality of standard DVD. It will give the more superior picture quality than current SD PQ now... They also can change the channel aspect ratio to 16:9 by using anamorphic method.

* I'm just in learning process now, If some sifu here find that my information are incorrect, please forgive me... notworthy.gif *

This post has been edited by AjkR06: May 22 2010, 07:55 AM
AjkR06
post May 22 2010, 09:59 AM

that's me
1,548 posts

channel 124 now only showing moving graphics... like ESPN HD...
AjkR06
post May 22 2010, 07:10 PM

that's me
1,548 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ May 22 2010, 06:19 PM)
what time till they close they operational? now can call?

but, isnt that Astro Hotline / Technical Assistance, I thought to install byond is

03-9543 7333 ?
yes, you need to call astro hotline (1300 82 3838) .., after select your language, the IVR will said "FOR ASTRO BYOND, Press 5" biggrin.gif
they operate everyday, including public holiday, from 8am - 12 midnight....
AjkR06
post May 22 2010, 10:08 PM

that's me
1,548 posts

AF IN HD REALLY AWESOME!!!! Salute Astro! notworthy.gif
AjkR06
post May 22 2010, 11:35 PM

that's me
1,548 posts

QUOTE(cam40729 @ May 22 2010, 11:32 PM)
Yes, 1st of June
Are u sure?? 1st June? Mind to explain more to us...
can I record using my own external HDD? drool.gif
AjkR06
post May 22 2010, 11:47 PM

that's me
1,548 posts

QUOTE(kaspersky-fan @ May 22 2010, 11:40 PM)
yea it records everything one go... basically the idea is like ure downloading a .mkv/.ts file, where depending on the .mkv or .ts file having multiple audios or multiple subtitles, but of course you are downloading at a much higher bitrate being allocated to that channel... imagine 8Mbps hd channel... you are downloading and saving to ure hdd with that speed, ahahaha its freaking fast indeed =D

heck if you have a proper setup, u can record the whole frequency block the tuner is tuning to... so the file you get might have 5 video tracks with 5 audio tracks lol... it can be done with rtm digital, recording all the channels at one go for a specific frequency that is being tuned to, fun stuff indeed =D
Thanks for your good explanation, but, can we record on Byond with just using USB Pendrive maybe? But the higher capacity one la, like 8GB above maybe... rolleyes.gif
USB 2.0 maximum transfer speed is 480Mbps, isn't it? and HD channel on byond was transmitted in 8Mbps.... so, can we easily record without any stuttering because of bandwidth problem?
AjkR06
post May 24 2010, 10:24 AM

that's me
1,548 posts

QUOTE(zwanvedder @ May 24 2010, 10:23 AM)
dont trust rumours... biggrin.gif no words from Astro yet... sweat.gif
yes... I also did not want to be happy first cry.gif , unless official announcement from astro already given biggrin.gif .
Already "terkena" by them with Discovery HD....

This post has been edited by AjkR06: May 24 2010, 10:27 AM
AjkR06
post May 24 2010, 09:13 PM

that's me
1,548 posts

Oh My...
i hate this new LYN layout.... sad.gif
AjkR06
post May 25 2010, 07:17 AM

that's me
1,548 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ May 25 2010, 06:53 AM)
any change in the layout?

not really noticed sweat.gif

wat changed so far?
Before that, I want to apologize if what I posted here somewhat like Off Topic notworthy.gif

See below screen shots ...

* I don't know whether actually it's my web browser problems or LYN truly have changed the new layout.... hmm.gif

AjkR06
post May 25 2010, 11:08 AM

that's me
1,548 posts

QUOTE(apexg2 @ May 25 2010, 10:25 AM)
is channel 124 permanent...if no, until when?
channel 124 already removed since yesterday, about 12 midnight.... rolleyes.gif
AjkR06
post May 25 2010, 03:54 PM

that's me
1,548 posts

QUOTE(MyDevil @ May 25 2010, 03:28 PM)
Astro to unveil B.yond PVR
The Star
From the statement above,
is that actually astro will launch another "Byond" box that can act as PVR? Like Astro Max?
or just software update...
OMG! I getting more confused now..... rclxub.gif

Added on May 25, 2010, 3:58 pm
QUOTE(cam40729 @ May 25 2010, 03:54 PM)
not heard of it.
there are 2 types of HD recording services

1) Byond
- using external USB HD (only works with 320GB Western digital AV HD)
- single tuner, only record and view max 1 channel at 1 time

2) PVR (Astro-MAX-like)
- internal HD
- dual tuner, can record and view max 2 channels at 1 time
So, we need to buy external Hard disk that is provided by Astro?? sweat.gif

And how much is the price for the new PVR? Surely it will cost us DA-BOMB! shocking.gif

Added on May 25, 2010, 4:03 pm
QUOTE(marky @ May 25 2010, 01:51 PM)
Just scroll down to the bottom of the page and click desktop version
Bro.. Thanks a lot! rclxm9.gif
problem already solved..... icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by AjkR06: May 25 2010, 04:03 PM
AjkR06
post May 25 2010, 05:40 PM

that's me
1,548 posts

and how much do we need to pay... hmm.gif
AjkR06
post May 25 2010, 05:58 PM

that's me
1,548 posts

1 week to go.... smile.gif
AjkR06
post May 25 2010, 10:21 PM

that's me
1,548 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ May 25 2010, 10:07 PM)
I wonder if i can swap the B.yond decoder with new PVR (Astro-Max like) from Astro instead?
I think yes, we can surely swap the decoder. But surely Astro will charge us.... We need to buy that decoder. Like Astro max some time ago, we can exchange our decoder, but need to pay RM800 something. But if u add max as 2nd decoder, only pay RM500 something..... blink.gif so, expect now that probably this new PVR with HD, will costs more than Max. notworthy.gif Anyway, need to wait until 1 June for official announcement from Astro. I'm afraid to make early conclusion.... But if they give the options , I will choose to buy WD AV external HDD instead of changing my decoder to new HD PVR....

This post has been edited by AjkR06: May 25 2010, 10:23 PM
AjkR06
post May 25 2010, 10:30 PM

that's me
1,548 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ May 25 2010, 10:26 PM)
How do i know which WD AV external HDD is fitting with B.yond decoder? icon_question.gif
hmm... maybe you can ask bro cam for further explanation. Or better you just wait until 1st June 2010... tongue.gif
I'm really sure that actually bro Cam cannot elaborate and expose more information about astro new PVR and new Byond software... sweat.gif
But thanks to him because give us some "hint"... nod.gif

This post has been edited by AjkR06: May 25 2010, 10:30 PM
AjkR06
post May 26 2010, 11:08 AM

that's me
1,548 posts

QUOTE(writesimply @ May 26 2010, 11:00 AM)
Yes, I know how 2-tuner PVRs work. I said SHOULD, as in the features the PVR should have to make the idea more interesting.

The reason for three tuners is simple: most people often want to record two programs that they want to watch over and over again. The third program they don't have to keep but to pass the time. 2-tuner PVRs work best when you're not at home or asleep when the programs are on but 3-tuner PVRs work better when you are at home and recording.

That said, launching the HD PVR service right now would be a minor disaster for Astro. Most people would likely use it to record SD content as HD content is still paltry and of those who want to record SD, they would have had Astro Max already. I reiterate: the PVR box should have 500GB HDD at least, three tuners, one e-SATA port for HDD extension and Wifi/LAN connectivity.

Added on May 26, 2010, 11:01 am No, I didn't experience the same thing. Reset your B.yond. Disconnect and reconnect your HDMI cable from B.yond.
fuad
Bro Writesimply @ Fuad...
are u working on Astro technical department ?
For me, you looks very PRO in television industry.... notworthy.gif
AjkR06
post May 26 2010, 12:12 PM

that's me
1,548 posts

QUOTE(klseet @ May 26 2010, 12:01 PM)
Agreed, I still think Astro's first priority is NOT to enhance/improve their intended services as promised, beside already making big $$, they'll still continue to "squeeze" more $$ .......

Instead of "playing" with these highly "misery" recording thingie, why can't they just focus on more HD channels ? doh.gif

What to do, like I said before, we are merely at Astro's mercy, in such monopoly "setup" landscape ...... shakehead.gif

I have a strong feeling when come 1st June, it's going to be a totally new Byond box with that recording function, the current Byond customers perhaps can only upgrade firmware (which still don't know how & what), or pay some big $$ again to change the new box (and it's indeed the same box!) .... blink.gif

This is really frustrating .....  unsure.gif
I'm pretty sure that Astro actually wanna make 2 version of HD decoder....
Just like older SD version, one is normal version, other one are equipped with PVR functions (astro max)....
so, now like this, Byond is normal version and the other one which schedule to be launch this 1st June, the PVR version (probably the name will be Byond Max)...
Yes, it's pretty confusing now..... rclxub.gif Because before this, Astro promise that they will make Byond to functions just like PVR..
but now, already "lain".... notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by AjkR06: May 26 2010, 12:13 PM
AjkR06
post May 26 2010, 07:29 PM

that's me
1,548 posts

QUOTE(dxjb @ May 26 2010, 06:48 PM)
Dont call them..they always KIV and delay our request..
Just do it online..the request will be done in 24 hours..
N yes..you add or you drop package, RM10 will be charged... doh.gif
Bro..
adding or upgrading package will not be charge RM10...
Astro will only charge RM10 to us if we downgrade the package.... sweat.gif

AjkR06
post May 26 2010, 09:01 PM

that's me
1,548 posts

QUOTE(razuryza @ May 26 2010, 08:03 PM)
ya ya.. tru.. add or upgrade no charge lor.. only duwngrade or reconnecting after late payment.. doh.gif
and.. please upgrade by online.. very fast.. several hours later got msg to my handphone.. upgraded already  thumbup.gif
wah... that's so fast!
I'm also have trying upgrading my package through online form in their website,
and you know what, it takes 2 days for them to done it! And surpriseingly, they called me first for confirmation rclxub.gif
but don't sure now, maybe the process now have different from that time. BTW, I'm doing it about 3 years ago... tongue.gif

Added on May 26, 2010, 9:02 pm
QUOTE(whatsupbro @ May 26 2010, 08:56 PM)
I heard new HD channels is coming in JUNE... so that is not long from now... (Only if the news is true or should I say rumor)
for the time being, you only should say it's just rumor. Unless official announcement from Astro are made.., then, yes, we can say that news are True... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by AjkR06: May 26 2010, 09:02 PM

7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0483sec    0.21    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 02:20 AM