Help Cracked Palmrest !, Will Apple replace ?

bjonbjonbjon
post Apr 2 2010, 08:29 PM

268 posts

a friend of mine had the same problem..took them 2 weeks to replace for free.
TShuiyin_hsu
post Apr 2 2010, 10:27 PM

169 posts

did she still have the warranty or some sort? which apple centre did she go to?
bjonbjonbjon
post Apr 3 2010, 12:27 AM

268 posts

He was still under warranty, he send it the shop he got it from perth.
E|dan
post Apr 3 2010, 03:36 AM

532 posts

as far as australia its ok, with or without APP..like i said, its a design flaw that apple made.
man_hakim87
post Apr 10 2010, 01:30 PM

276 posts

Wow. That isnt just a crack! Its chipped off. shakehead.gif Good luck with the apple ppl. Btw how much we have to pay for a new one?
raining again
post Apr 10 2010, 05:48 PM

It's raining again, again ... and again
895 posts

i guys, can anyone guide me for a replacement? i have a 2007 macbook white n it has a very much cracked armrest just like ts. unfortunately it's already more than 3 years and no warranty left. which i dont know is which apple shop should i head to? isit possible to replace regarding my situation? thanks =)
billhambridge
post Apr 11 2010, 12:14 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(raining again @ Apr 10 2010, 05:48 PM)
i guys, can anyone guide me for a replacement? i have a 2007 macbook white n it has a very much cracked armrest just like ts. unfortunately it's already more than 3 years and no warranty left. which i dont know is which apple shop should i head to? isit possible to replace regarding my situation? thanks =)
where do u brought it..? it'll quite costly also cz yr warranty is over.. btw gud luck for you to get the replacement from these center :
http://store.apple.com.au/asia/FMPro?-db=a...x=70&-find.y=18 thumbup.gif
OmniAtlas
post Apr 16 2010, 03:47 PM

946 posts

They replaced mine even though it was out of warranty (haha by like 3 years) because apple care made me truck my macbook to the service center get it fixed, leaving it there for more than a week, then telling me that they can't fix it because its out of warranty.

I complained like hell b/c there was an extension program for it and the time period had just lapsed and I didn't know about it until recently. They finally gave in and replaced it for free.

Over the 4 years I've had my black macbook I've had the following replaced for free:

1. Logic board
2. Battery
3. Crack palm top
4. and most recently, HARD DRIVE....the most frustrating of them all because it just failed. Luckily the extension program was there, and Apple quickly replaced it (for free) with a larger hard drive, but I lost all my photos sad.gif

So the lesson to learn is

1. NEVER NEVER EVER buy 1st gen Apple products
2. Backup your data!
static
post Apr 25 2010, 03:36 PM

782 posts

my new macbook white has a very very very thin line on the left palm rest. WTF seriously? It's only 2 months old.

Added on April 25, 2010, 3:57 pmuser posted image

This post has been edited by static: Apr 25 2010, 03:57 PM
dunkiedonuts
post Apr 25 2010, 06:26 PM

171 posts

It seems that the new unibody macbook white is suffering the same fate as the previous generation, but at a much faster rate (cracks occuring after just a few months of usage). Head on to macrumours forums, you will find that there are others who are complaining about it too. It just that Apple hasn't publicly acknowledge it yet.
static
post Apr 25 2010, 08:13 PM

782 posts

Sigh, i am heartbroken now. Though it is barely visible, somehow i'm pretty sure there will be more sad.gif. Gonna get moshi palmguard now. Stupid Apple *curses*
tarvalslain87
post Apr 26 2010, 09:54 AM

(•_•) / ( •_•)>⌐■-■ / (⌐■_■)
5,054 posts

Eh, Im not sure if my gf's macbook white faces the same fate as you guys as it is protected by moshi palmguard.. Where exactly that you guys get the crack? Somewhere at the btm edge? Or the side edge?
static
post Apr 26 2010, 01:17 PM

782 posts

I got mine on the top of the palmrest. Might be a scratch, but i will bring it to Machines this coming weekend for it to be looked at. Then perhaps, see what accessories i can buy hehe.
tarvalslain87
post Apr 26 2010, 01:18 PM

5,054 posts

Oh top section.... Hmm I guess I couldnt check it out as its covered by the moshi palmguard... Mac shop all products so expensive.. I want to buy also tak sampai hati cause so expensive =(
static
post Apr 26 2010, 01:21 PM

782 posts

RM120 for the palmguard sad.gif. How old is your MB? Mine is only 2 months old, MIGHT be a scratch, but we'll see. I check the other sections of the MB, seems to be okay. But i didnt remove the Speck cover, cos it's too tight. Cannot remove it LOL.
dvlzplayground
post Apr 26 2010, 01:27 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(static @ Apr 26 2010, 01:21 PM)
RM120 for the palmguard sad.gif.  How old is your MB? Mine is only 2 months old, MIGHT be a scratch, but we'll see. I check the other sections of the MB, seems to be okay. But i didnt remove the Speck cover, cos it's too tight. Cannot remove it LOL.
maybe u or someone was wearing a watch/bracelet while using ur macbook?

the speck cover quite hard to take out hehe...b very2 careful la, u might break off the latches ;p mine cannot put on dy haha
tarvalslain87
post Apr 26 2010, 01:30 PM

5,054 posts

My gf's macbook white is bought in January so till now about 4 months plus...

LOL so delicate ar the speck... Hmm need to think carefully as its quite expensive... RM160 for the speck see thru satin... Didnt know it can break so easily.. haha
static
post Apr 26 2010, 04:13 PM

782 posts

I dont weat watches at home, perhaps isolated case that i didnt realise. *kek sim* ... sad.gif

But, my Speck case full of scratches on the top part dy cos i put in my bag. Thought if get a foofbag, can protect it from further scratchings, but apparently the foofbag wouldnt be able to fit the MB with Speck sad.gif
dj.sars
post Apr 26 2010, 11:09 PM

255 posts

my previous macbook suffered from this problem too
wonder if i can get it fix
anyone in malaysia without warranty was able to get this fixed for free ?
tarvalslain87
post Apr 26 2010, 11:50 PM

5,054 posts

I know the old model of macbook white does have this problem and apple gave free service for it eventhough no warranty... But so far the promotion has ended and Im not sure now will they charge for it... Maybe can call them up and ask..

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0205sec    0.58    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 08:03 PM