Help Cracked Palmrest !, Will Apple replace ?

dunkiedonuts
post Apr 25 2010, 06:26 PM

171 posts

It seems that the new unibody macbook white is suffering the same fate as the previous generation, but at a much faster rate (cracks occuring after just a few months of usage). Head on to macrumours forums, you will find that there are others who are complaining about it too. It just that Apple hasn't publicly acknowledge it yet.
dunkiedonuts
post Apr 27 2010, 08:36 AM

171 posts

QUOTE(tarvalslain87 @ Apr 26 2010, 11:50 PM)
I know the old model of macbook white does have this problem and apple gave free service for it eventhough no warranty... But so far the promotion has ended and Im not sure now will they charge for it... Maybe can call them up and ask..
Erm. I thought the crack is a known problem publicly acknowledged by apple? I don't think it is a "promotion". It is more like you can get the crack(s) fixed anytime even though your warranty has expired.
dunkiedonuts
post Apr 27 2010, 08:23 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Mar 29 2010, 09:57 AM)
Send the Mac to any nearest Apple Authorized service center or Apple Store, refer to any certified Apple Tech. Get them to refer to "TS1964" on Apple site. They will know what to do.
I don't think there was a specific duration stated for macbook white users to repair their cracked palmrest (or other areas). Referring to http://www.appleinsider.com/articles/09/04...ks_casings.html, as long as the crack is not caused by human abuse, I guess you can fix the cracks for free, regardless of whether your macbook is under warranty or not. Anyone can correct me if I am wrong in any way. =)

0.0156sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 12:35 AM